Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Computing and Electronic Engineering/Systems

• 22-02-2009 10:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

I am looking to enter either of these course in the GMIT and hoping to find someone who has/is studying either of these. I'm not the greatest at mates, but i wouldn't mind studying it again. can anyone tell me how hard is, how many projects are there in the year?i would have a few more questions and would be delighted if some one could talk to me about it.

with thanks
    clusterfuk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

clusterfuk wrote: »
    I am looking to enter either of these course in the GMIT and hoping to find someone who has/is studying either of these. I'm not the greatest at maths, but i wouldn't mind studying it again. can anyone tell me how hard is, how many projects are there in the year?i would have a few more questions and would be delighted if some one could talk to me about it.

I did the course while it was still called Electronic engineering, the majority of the new Electronic engineering course should still be based on it.

First year consisted of a few projects, nothing to complicated, second year projects were a little harder. In third year tho the projects got a lot harder.
    The maths through out the first three years I found very tough, but I don't like maths at all so that could have been the problem for me.

The final two years of the course for me were very very tough, but I have to say I really enjoyed them. Since my year graduated tho the final two years have become a lot easier so I would not worry to much. The maths in fourth and fifth year are very easy to.

As long as you are prepared to work hard then you will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

I would do the non-systems course if I were you. The maths isnt that bad really and I myself dont take to maths that well at all. With a bit of work you'll get by no problem. A lot of the maths is just learning a method and applying it over and over.

Also afaik the systems lads cant do the addon course afterwards which leaves you with not much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Psychobiker

Do Engineering. Systems seems to be a little less open, you qualify with your Ordinary Bachelor's in Engineering vs in Science, and henceforth your options are a lot wider.

I'm in my last year of the ordinary degree and do not intend on spending two years doing one (everywhere else) year's work.

I was offered a job last week, which I took with both hands. They knew I was only staying in Ireland until I leave for Canada - proof that if you know your way around, there are jobs out there despite the recession. And the Honours propaganda crowd :D.

On that note, while the Honours is a good add-on, don't be fooled that Ireland is the be-all-and-end-all of it. It's as Henry Ford said, you can have any color you want, as long as it's black.
    Far too much software for my liking, I want to get into RF/comms engineering and frankly, Ireland isn't too hot for that. Since fees were scrapped, the degreed:non-degreed ratio has closed drastically, diluting the efficacy of having a degree. Be wary of the 'you won't get a job without an Honours' mindset. It isn't the case outside of Ireland. Believe me.

char cat[]="Among_pigeons"; :p

Be wary of the 'you won't get a job without an Honours' mindset. It isn't the case outside of Ireland. Believe me.

True but the level you can get to with an ordinary degree is limited.

Valid point, in Ireland it's worse than the rest of the world. I personally am leaving post-Ordinary degree and studying part time whilst working.

Experience and study.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 michaelpeyton

came across this randomly through google, I'm in third year of the engineering course in GMIT, Its a good course, very hands on so you need good attendance, first year was quite handy and I hear they've introduced Java into the the first year syllabus -which I'm envious of!
    As for the maths element I struggled a bit but got through it, the guys doing Systems now have to do 30 hours of Maths over 10 days at the end of this month and a further week in September followed by an exam to progress onto the 2-year add-on. I would say save yourself the hassle of that and just do engineering.. HOWEVER, the flipside of that is if you're as bad as maths as I am you'll end up repeating it -but at least its spread out over a period of time... there isn't that much difference between the courses anyway we do largely the same subjects and the ones that are "different" but they tend to call them different names for some reason.
    Anyway I hope this was somewhat helpful I'm half way through my exams at the minute and really don't know how I stumbled on this page, I wasn't even searching for anything remotely related to this... later chumps

True words from Mike! Turn up!!

I feel cheated though, all that work and they look down their noses at you if you don't do 'their' add-on. I just hope that mindset doesn't permeate the students.

5 years = masters. No questions. Anyone who mentions the ****ing 'diploma' course has obviously not read the Bologna Accord

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bologna_Accord

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 clusterfuk

cheers for the info. i'm going for the engineering!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 John_Dillinger

Like i've seen earlier, if you put the work in you'll do grand! Theres a lot of Maths and Physics involved, also heard our course (Eng) has the 2nd highest failure rate in GMIT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Secoundrow

*Bump*

Just accepted the C & E Engineering course on the CAO

Anyone have anymore info?
    Or anyone else doing it this year?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 galwayhalfpint

accepted tat too...
    sure what kind of info ya looking for?
    I have heard that certain names may be changing on the course but haven't heard anything more! and nothing else was said on that!
    all i know is i'm starting on the 7th!:p

Ah your right just excited;)

See You on the 7th

Met des The course head is well during the year,, all the heads from the engineering department came to our school to do a presentation
    Hes bang on so he is!
    anyone know if he does any of the lectures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 gizzemoto

Tis a good course,And the very best of Luck - Rise to the Challenge - This year there will be PAL (Peer Assisted Learning) sessions set up for first years, I will be one of the PAL leaders for computer & Electronic Eng, so if your looking for good help and advice on a broad range of stuff be there and get involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

I accepted the systems course. Anyone done that one or is it much the same as the engineering one??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 gizzemoto

Tis much the same except for less maths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Is there any way of doing an honours degree with the systems one??

If you read the beginnig of the thread sum1 mentioned this

The add on honours degree in gmit to the engineering stream (software & digital media {or sumtin of that sort})

Can not be done by the systems students without sitting a special maths exam, so basically if you do systems and want to do the add on, Youll eventually have to do all that scary math anyway:)

from what i'v heard, is that they can sit a maths course, at the end of it!
    and i think there trying to get the add on course to link to the systems!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 KeepOnPimpin'

hi does anyone have the timetable for comp and ele engineering cant find it online or a link thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Bummer

hi does anyone have the timetable for comp and ele engineering cant find it online or a link thanks.

Its not online as the timetable website can only be accessed inside the college..Its only the first week so it may be changed in the coming week also :)

can anybody give some advice

Ive just started 1st year in the engineering course and was in all last week and im registered and all:)

but I caught the flu over the weekend and now I cant go in to college all this week

am I missing a load of important stuff or will this freshers week just be a doss anyway:confused:

as pissed off as I am about missing all the craic freshers week Im more worryed about falling behind:o

I wouldn't worry about it. Most people probably won't turn up for lectures but they'll have them anyway. Just get the notes the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 galwayhalfpint

Secoundrow wrote: »
    can anybody give some advice

Ive just started 1st year in the engineering course and was in all last week and im registered and all:)

but I caught the flu over the weekend and now I cant go in to college all this week

am I missing a load of important stuff or will this freshers week just be a doss anyway:confused:

as pissed off as I am about missing all the craic freshers week Im more worryed about falling behind:o

ya poor thing & missing freshers week! email des o'reilly to find out info!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

ya email him!

I e-mailed him yesterday and he replyed this morning

Seems like a awful sound lad

thanks for the comments guys:)

ah ya made it in for class, well done!!!lol.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭son-of-plunder

anyone here in group C (systems)?

nope but I no 2 or 3

flynn the header is in your group

nope but I no 2 or 3

flynn the header is in your group
    Last time i looked i was the only flynn in the group. Haha

Well unless your from Headford I'm not talking about you.
    Your location says Loughrea, so I'm guessing your the lad I'm talking about.

Maybe he got moved to D when they swapped round group numbers:rolleyes:

Well unless your from Headford I'm not talking about you.
    Your location says Loughrea, so I'm guessing your the lad I'm talking about.

Maybe he got moved to D when they swapped round group numbers:rolleyes:

fair enough. now you know who i am, who are you?? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭chriz

Im thinking of doing engineering and systems next year. I have experience in vb java and will be doing java script soon i can easiy make web sites as well. Im curious how hard is the maths cos im crap at it. I haven't done it scene secondary school could someone post the type of maths your doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭deadbloke

chriz wrote: »
    Im curious how hard is the maths cos im crap at it. I haven't done it scene secondary school could someone post the type of maths your doing?

Others will be able to give you more exact details, but expect integration, differentiation and plenty of partial fractions.

I was in a similar situation when I started, I didn't even look at a calculator for years before I started the course. But back then we had Donnacha for maths and there was nothing he wouldn't do to help you. The maths can be tough but not impossible - I never got higher than 50-odd percent, but I still came out of the honours degree course with a decent result. Like any other subject, if you make an effort and go into your lectures, it'll fall into place.

Donnacha was a great man alright, nothing he wouldn't do for a student that show half an effort to pass Maths.

Its the same as anything else, you work at it, you'll get rewarded. If you don't, well :(

Maths is one of the hardest parts of the course. Its not impossible but its necessary. If you have a logical way of thinking you'll be fine with it.