Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The All Ireland Talent Show - Feb 22nd 2009

• 22-02-2009 6:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

Rapture up first. Were very good, though they are world champions, not sure it's fair to let them in. Camera work again was absolutely terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

grainne's hair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭The Bull

im afraid that 7 is just too young for this show. She did her best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Confirms everything I think about this country when I flick on the box and see our national tv station broadcasting a 7 year old chipmunk squaking at a level that almost bursts my eardrum. How is this acceptable tv?

Hope the panel break her heart now so her dream ends and she can get on with becoming an accountant or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Berti Vogts

The Bull wrote: »
    im afraid that 7 is just too young for this show. She did her best

+1, how can you objectively judge a 7 year old? Makes a laugh of the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Well done Chicken.....

Strange thing for Grainne to say.

Pigman II wrote: »
    Confirms everything I think about this country when I flick on the box and see our national tv station broadcasting a 7 year old chipmunk squaking at a level that almost bursts my eardrum. How is this acceptable tv?

Hope the panel break her heart now so her dream ends and she can get on with becoming an accountant or something.

i dont no in god name how the judges combined gave her a better score than the dancers:confused:

poor old shane lynch "9" you must be frackin joking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

i dont no in god name how the judges combined gave her a better score than the dancers:confused:

poor old shane lynch "9" you must be frackin joking

Tryin to figure that one out meself. This is the first time Ive seen the show. My sister told me. Its impossible for anyone who dosent come first or second from the judges votes to win.

Jeysus the two boys from Kilbarrick are brutal

simon cowell is needed, thought those lads just murdered iris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Blánniidggge - wtf fek is that all about?

Last two lads very young as well. Bit pointless when you put a load of kids (who are really only learning how sing and play their instruments) against each other. Marking then tends to reflect their ages. Nobody is prepared to put the car into 6th and drive straight through the rabbit.

ah the dublin lads, sure when they bomb out tonight, there on the fast track to blaming socitey for not been given there big break on the all ireland talent show. so guys ya better vote for them or they could be highjackin your electric powered car in the future:p

Samurai wrote: »
    simon cowell is needed, thought those lads just murdered iris

I thought so too, judges seem afraid to hurt feelings.

These judges are spinless, none of them will make a stand or be indifferent. all the same scores 8s or 7s whers the frackin 4s and 5s and in most cases tonight 2s

Flippin hell. Yer man playing the neck of the guitar is deadly. Shane Lynch puts the tone deaf twins thru and gives the chipmunk a nine, and this dude only an eight. Some cheek

This cant be the best the country has to offer, can it

Now that was talent.

That was beautiful.

"Not vocally challanging" Who does Shane Lynch think he is

Those judges are crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Yeah and the cheek of him to say that after licking the hole off the two little dublin scummers.

And the opera singer is last, what a joke! The judges are clueless and spineless.

pretty daft alright

Yeah what the **** like! As if the show couldn't be any more of a joke:eek:

a 7 shane, a bit safe shane, u been the classical expert. i think the judges have conspired to give the west a poor score so as to freeze them out in the shake up at the end.

If you are the least talented, give them the highest votes.

The best two are at the bottom.

I going to have to vote for the west cos the judges are tone deaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭lilminx

Not that I'm biased being from Cork, but Barry Walsh has major talent. I know the piece of music he played and although he made a few mistakes, I think he beat the hell out of the others there tonight.

I agree with the other posters - judges are spineless and won't 'rock the boat' by giving a decent critique of the performers.

Relying on the cute factor just bugs the hell out of me. And there's something a little bit wrong about a 7 year old covering Amy Winehouse covering The Zutons.

Asmodean wrote: »
    Yeah and the cheek of him to say that after licking the hole off the two little dublin scummers.

looks like our cars and homes are goin to safe from bert and victor for the time been:D

a 7 shane, a bit safe shane, u been the classical expert. i think the judges have conspired to give the west a poor score so as to freeze them out in the shake up at the end.

Yeah, and after throwing 10s around like confetti last week, great stuff Shane.

lilminx wrote: »
    Not that I'm biased being from Cork, but Barry Walsh has major talent. I know the piece of music he played and although he made a few mistakes, I think he beat the hell out of the others there tonight.

ah look, as a guitarist, he should not be voted through just cos he is doing something different on the guitar, just as the seven year old should not have been voted through cos she is cute. If you look at the the guy below, he is doing something similar though he is playing the guitar upright.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRQPaoOwdbk

It's not like he has invented this style of playing. He should have played something that people knew.

Arrrrrgggghhhhh Don Wycherley back on the telly. Have myhome.ie shut down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭brousuka

Barry Walsh the best by far. Why do they allow little kids to compete on this poorly devised and presented show? yer wan looked like she was doing a piece at a wedding or a school concert after swallowing a helium balloon, couldn't understand one word she was squealing out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭lilminx

a. If you look at the the guy below, he is doing something similar though he is playing the guitar upright.

He's using a technique I first saw used by this guitarist.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ddn4MGaS3N4

Have known this piece for ages and was just a pleasure to see something 'different' shown as a talent as opposed yer usual cute little girl, young inner city boys or urban dance group thing generally shown on these type of shows.

Ah in all fairness Bert and Ernie Victor have a wonderful career ahead of them...........as pub singers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Saw this earlier. Shane Lynch is an embarrassment in fairness. When he came out with his criticism of the classical singers range I was cringing hard.

The show will look like a joke if Rachel Goode leaves tonight.

She is the most talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Shane Lynch is as common as muck. He doesn't have a clue about music.

There's nothing simple about classical singing at all. He is such a thick.

The scummers - Baz and Victor will probably win though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I didn't see the show earlier but I'm just watching the results and I can't believe that the little girl is in second. She is a cute little girl singing a song. We all did that as kids. She doesn't deserve to win. The two lads singing were rubbish too. Liked what I heard of the guy with the guitar. Didn't see the other two.

The judges suck.

brousuka wrote: »
    Barry Walsh the best by far. Why do they allow little kids to compete on this poorly devised and presented show? yer wan looked like she was doing a piece at a wedding or a school concert after swallowing a helium balloon, couldn't understand one word she was squealing out!

It's very poor this week.
    And the voting system is sooooo stupid and unbalanced... There is so much opportunity for a draw..

Judges too afraid to give less than 7. This show should be on The Den.

Please put the woman who can sing into the wildcard section....not the chipmunk singer....

big surprise, the kids got through to the final. Didn't expect that:rolleyes:

You know when they were deciding how the scoring would work? Did they employ a group of monkeys to do so?

Shane Lynch is a joke.

Christ I cant belive Shane Lynch voted for the Chipmunk

At last a half decent result.

Justice for Rachel.

The chipmunk community are in shock.

Rachel probably got the highest public vote given she was last with the judges.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Did the opera girl get through? I am currently 'away from television.'

well done Dana the first right decision u made. Poor Shane your a disgrace. Sack the Chancer

Shane Lynch and credibility are strangers I'm afraid.

Oh God they're terrible.

Caderyn wrote: »
    Did the opera girl get through? I am currently 'away from television.'

Thankfully and against the odds.

janeybabe wrote: »
    Oh God they're terrible.

One of them can't sing at all