Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

loudness please!!!

• 21-02-2009 2:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

Does anyone know how can make my civic much louder.i already have a fairly sick loud back box and i have just ordered a decat pipe but i just want it screaming.please gmme a shout.

Mr Hat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 owenbjj

try taking out the cat?
    i know two fellas who do all sorts of jobs like that,
    they also get parts for cars, any thing u want..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭guil

replace the whole exhaust system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭8vjohn

Honestly the best thing to do is to get a decent induction kit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

If its vtec get a full Buddyclub spec II system and a Js racing intake. If its not vtec don't bother.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

why do you want it so loud?

are you into performance gains or just want people to turn and look at you and say "look at that c@@k"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think the latter. I'd imagine the sort of person who wants to put fake carbon fibre on their bootlid just for appearances is the sort of person who wants to make as much noise as possible with no actual gain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭northdublin

thats an easy one......take the exhaust off alltogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

I'd start with turning down your music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Why do you want to make a Civic louder? It will still be a Civic. Get over it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

Faster i could understand louder i cant.
    Sorry im going to be unhelpful on this one as im sure you'll mange it yourself.

Word of caution though Guardai are starting to clap down on loud cars in parts of the country with sever punishments for failure to rectify. Also noise meters are being trailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭garyegt

+1 just cos its a vtec, it could still be a 1.5 vtec, theyre only like 105hp iirc???

the only noise you should want is from the induction kit, having the engine take in the power rather than getting rid of it

loud exhausts are extremely gay you'd look like a complete gobsheen, especially with a civic, and you'd constantly have the guards on yer case....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

the only noise you should hear is the endless high pitch revving between first and 3rd... no matter how much you shift the tone doesn't change...

and yes its a civic... and i know you wish to drown out everyones laughter... Doesnt work...

what do u drive?

owenbjj wrote: »
    what do u drive?

I drive a new model Civic slaoon 1.8 i-VTec.

It's an A to B car with an ordinary exhaust and starts in the morning and gets me to work every day.

I'm not fooled into believing that it's anything other than an ordinary run of the mill reliable car.

If I wanted a sports car I'd buy one. A Honda Civic certainly isn't one and no amount of noise will make it one. Sorry :).

who ever said they were sports cars?? why u bringing up **** about sports cars? lol, ur some silly ****. **** off and **** ur ******** up ur ass **** face retard

I seem to have upset you :rolleyes:.
    Nice language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

You're on a month's vacation starting now.

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 panelb/sprayer

first thing to do id take off the exhaust from the manofold 'that ' s at the very front of the exhaust' take off all the rubbers to the back box and you have the extaust off.where the exhaust is bendin over theback axel to the back box only cut at the back of the back box and weld a pipe to a bore hole exhaust then you have a loud but nice noise.assemble back together and you have a wrummmmmmm beep skid byyeeee lol :eek: a good extaust name is tanzo its japaneese model nice sound ........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

You should aim to make it as loud as your mother.
    That way, all the guys in the locality will know you're -her- son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

Im not being smart or trying to start a row but why do people want their cars to sound loud. Im only 32 yrs but when i was 19/20 i can't remember any of the lads i hung out with having modified exhausts - prob. cause we were skint! I can only assume they are modified to get attention. Is there another reason? I'm not trying to start an exhaust bashing thread but can someone enlighten me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

livvy wrote: »
    Im not being smart or trying to start a row but why do people want their cars to sound loud. Im only 32 yrs but when i was 19/20 i can't remember any of the lads i hung out with having modified exhausts - prob. cause we were skint! I can only assume they are modified to get attention. Is there another reason? I'm not trying to start an exhaust bashing thread but can someone enlighten me.

Loud exhausts started as they were generally for performance purposes..most people now end up putting on a 50 euro backbox that sounds crap, just want the whole appearance and noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

To be honest i thing this post is a wind-up, if you want it loud take off your exhaust and get ready to be pulled :D good luck to you too
    I drive a new model Civic slaoon 1.8 i-VTec.

It's an A to B car with an ordinary exhaust and starts in the morning and gets me to work every day.

I'm not fooled into believing that it's anything other than an ordinary run of the mill reliable car.

A sports car by definition is "An automobile designed for high speed and power, tight handling" so i think alot of people from the general public to the best race drivers in the world would totally disagree with you, while you may have a 4dr grocery getter, certain versions of the civic once held the lap record for a hatcback around the Nürburgring one of the most demanding tracks in the world, so i wouldnt go dismissing it ;)

Just my 2cents

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 568 ✭✭✭TheLoc

Yea I agree.... I remember ads on the TV advertising how great and quiet the car's were. Cars should be quiet. no need for a noisy banger annoying everyone.

theres 2 different people that want "modified" exhausts.

1 - people who put spurious back boxes on 1.3 civics, 1.1 fiestas, puntos, golfs etc etc and all they do is make loads of noise with a loss of performance.

2 - people who put on performance exhausts onto decent cars that increae the air flow and increase performance of the car, for example proper vtec civics, evo, STi's, GTi's, and many many more. and they tend to not be too loud at normal driving speeds.

kceire wrote: »
    theres 2 different people that want "modified" exhausts.

1 - people who put spurious back boxes on 1.3 civics, 1.1 fiestas, puntos, golfs etc etc and all they do is make loads of noise with a loss of performance.

2 - people who put on performance exhausts onto decent cars that increae the air flow and increase performance of the car, for example proper vtec civics, evo, STi's, GTi's, and many many more. and they tend to not be too loud at normal driving speeds.

Couldn't agree more.

Group 2 generally look for an exhaust below 90db so they dont have issues on track days when flat out. (more of a problem in the UK)

In general if you don't rev the crap out of your car you get on a little better at garda checkpoints and neighbours tend to not want to kill you.:D

I had a 3" exhaust de-catted with added slilencers in the exhaust to quiten it a bit more. Only afterwards did i find out that Apex make a "Senasable exhaust" in 3" that looked oem and gave the drop in backpressure i wanted and was under 90db at full chat.

I never understood the lets make the car stupidly loud then drive it in taffic holding the revs high. Or popping the clutch to bang off the revlimiter.

Maybe im old :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

I knew a guy once, he owned a Corsa and wanted a louder exhaust.
    So he went and drilled some holes in the back box.

His exhaust was louder and everywhere he drove people cheered.
    You know why they cheered? out of respect.

So go get yourself a cordless and a HSS bit and go drill
    yourself come street-cred...

garyegt wrote: »
    loud exhausts are extremely gay you'd look like a complete gobsheen

Not always the case.
    Some cars deserve to be heard.
    IMO the sound off some high powered performance cars is awesome.
    I could never understand people trying to enhance the sound of
    little 'bean tin' cars that have about as much horse power as a Shetland Pony.
    What's the point?
    As another poster said, it just makes the driver look like a c@ck...

Not always the case.
    IMO the sound off some high powered performance cars is awesome"

I couldn't agree more ... on a race track - but not very early in the morning or late at night or in a housing estate with kids playing.

To me its like some parents think there children are the best - can sing dance and all that - but i don't want to hear them.

I couldn't agree more ... on a race track - but not very early in the morning or late at night or in a housing estate with kids playing.

To me its like some parents think there children are the best - can sing dance and all that - but i don't want to hear them.

Fair point, consideration should be had for other people.
    Unfortunately the noise from large engines will disturb some people.
    Be they in performance cars, artics, work vehicles, aircraft, etc.

Fair point, consideration should be had for other people.
    Unfortunately the noise from large engines will disturb some people.
    Be they in performance cars, artics, work vehicles, aircraft, etc.

I know i sound like an old fart ............... if i appreciated cars more i would prob. say sounded like "music to my ears".... :)

Well if you wanna try looking up youtube for clips of an 'Ascari A10'
    and try listening to the sound off of it.

If that does nothing for you then I'm sorry, you're beyond redemption...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

magikcivic wrote: »
    Does anyone know how can make my civic much louder.i already have a fairly sick loud back box and i have just ordered a decat pipe but i just want it screaming.please gmme a shout.

Mr Hat

you'll just be one those scobie's who rally your car through a small village at 2.30 in the morning when the local "dishco" is over waking everyone up..i hate that:rolleyes: its just lookin for notice..and the coppers here are clamping down here big time..i know of at least 5 local "racer type chappies" who have had their punto corsa civic scanger me banger type cars confiscated:D good on ya gardai

'Scanger Me Banger' - that's priceless.

You sir may just have come up with Ireland's answer to 'Pimp My Ride'...

But we'd need to get a 'hip' young radio star to present it,
    like Westwood...

Hmm, wonder if Ryan Tubridy's got much on?

like Westwood...

It's already been done. both by the insufferable Colm& Jim-Jim (way back when they were on FM104) and by Andy Quirke.
    The latter is here:
    http://www.irelandlogue.com/craic/skanger-me-banger.html

like Westwood...

nah hector fits the bill more... bit of irish thrown in for free

Not always the case.
    IMO the sound off some high powered performance cars is awesome.
    I could never understand people trying to enhance the sound of
    little 'bean tin' cars that have about as much horse power as a Shetland Pony.
    What's the point?
    As another poster said, it just makes the driver look like a c@ck...
    Haha good one. street cred... opel corsa... louder exhaust.... haha comical

That settles it im now officially an old fart.:(

Don't mind that. I'm only 25. i've never liked the sounds of them yokes. they wreck everyone's head. The speed limits are 50 or 60 every where in the city so whats the point anyway. its not like you need to race everywhere and have a massive stupid sound coming out of a car when your driving along in traffic at 10km an hour. its a load of bullsh!t. the most unattractive thing I've ever seen is this poroxide lookin blonde girl drivin a big stupid boy racer car. she just loks like a scum bag male that is trapped in a barbie's body. and then the fella's:
    fella 1 calling up to his friends house: "what do you think of moy new motor fergus?"
    Fella 2: "aw its awesome, I could hear it 30 miles away and i'd say everyone thinks your such a leg lorcan."
    Fella 3 (poosibly a brother): "shut up. you're only an embarrasment. everyone thinks you're a muppet and mum is gonna give u a cerfew since you keep waking everyone up when you're driving at 2km an hour through the estate."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

You want loud?

BlueFlame 3inch Exhaust... I have 1 on on mine (Evo V, but I'm sure they do em for Honda's too!) and the Noise of it. (not really to my liking) I'm hoping the get a silent De-cat or sports Cat for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Was thinking of doing it to the hearse myself, sadly the insurance back fired and so did my chance of any nixers:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

This has to be a wind up.
    "How can I make the exhaust on my crap wagon louder"
    Well you can take it off, the exhaust wont make much noise but the engine will:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

loud exhausts are only good if theres a reason there put on
    on my ps13 silvia i fitted a full exhaust from the turbo back for performance gains the car is loud but i drive wit respect the whole time through built up areas
    if your fitting an exhaust for performance gains look up buddy club etc and maybe think of fitting an apexi ecv valve to quieten it in built up areas
    if your doing it to sound cool imo your a nob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭W1llz0rz

Where can one purchase these silencers? Are they one size fits all etc? Have an exhaust on the car, not too loud or anything, but still too loud, never realised there was such thing as these silencers. Can anyone provide a link or anything? Thanks

grahambo wrote: »
    You want loud?

BlueFlame 3inch Exhaust... I have 1 on on mine (Evo V, but I'm sure they do em for Honda's too!) and the Noise of it. (not really to my liking) I'm hoping the get a silent De-cat or sports Cat for it :)

i had this system on my Evo too, it lasted a week, i just couldnt handle the noise!

the gains from it were great, but it wasnt for me, i done a straight swap with a guy on the MLR for a HKS system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

kceire wrote: »
    i had this system on my Evo too, it lasted a week, i just couldnt handle the noise!

the gains from it were great, but it wasnt for me, i done a straight swap with a guy on the MLR for a HKS system.

It's seriously loud ain't it? It's ok in a hi gear at low revs though.
    You did well with the straight swap HKS System :)

I have a couple of options really.

1: Get a New Exhaust
    2: Get Derek to pop on a silent de-cat.
    3: Add a second exhaust (twin exhaust system) that will quieten it down the most I think.

All cost €€€'s though :(

but for OP... Blueflame is seriously loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭miss enzo

magikcivic wrote: »

Mr Hat

What a stupid topic!!! why would you want your car to be "screaming" how annoyin would that be :
    a) for everyone else having to listen to it and
    b) for urself having to drive the fecking thing.

I have 2 words... Grow up!!

Find something more worhtwhile to spend your money on!!!

im totally with her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

hahahahahahaha brilliant. :D

Civics are pure ****** class n everyone ****** knows it so **** off if u think differently u c*ck suckin ween ****** hoebag of a **** faced aul hag **** OFF!

hahaha awh the banterrr :D

It's amazing how this thread gets dug up again and again