Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Possible Riot in Dublin Tomorrow?

• 20-02-2009 1:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

What do you think.. I think there is a good possibility of the protest turning into an all out riot. unfortunately cant make it up myself but I will with you in spirit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

What do you think.. I think there is a good possibility of the protest turning into an all out riot. unfortunately cant make it up myself but I will with you in spirit.

Why? Are Celtic playing?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

theres an outside chance a small number of people will want to cause trouble, but i dont think a riot would break out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

No to foreign sports guy? Is that you OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

With anger running as high as it is, i would be very suprised if it doesn't kick off, well to be honest best of luck to them time to get rid of the robbing bastards that are bringing this country down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Bring on the riot. I'll wear my fluffy pink bunny costume so as to not attract attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Bring on the riot. I'll wear my fluffy pink bunny costume so as to not attract attention.

Wanna go together? I'll wear my Des costume

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I'm marching tomorrow and I'm bringing an old pair of leather shoes with me in a backpack and when I get to Leinster House, I'm going to slap them off the gate pillar a few times to make the point and then I'm going to leave them at the gates of Leinster House. That's as far as my protest will be taking me, but given the level of anger out there, I wouldn't be at all surprised if things got out of hand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

What's the protest about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 pcworldsucks

Mossy Monk wrote: »

think its about the disproportinoate amount of rain that we get in ireland compared to other countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Surely it's something to do with Facebook's new terms and conditions.

That or the whole "we ran the country into the ground" thing that the government pulled there a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

yes please tell us all what exactly people are protesting about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I always knew you were a furry :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭b0bsquish

Some sort of leather shoe tax by the sounds of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

b0bsquish wrote: »
    Some sort of leather shoe tax by the sounds of it

It's a leather poo tax ackshully. Purple monkey dishwasher too although I can't confirm it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I'd say the Gardai will start the riot if it does kick off at all.

They look like they're dying for a good diggin session lately.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

The Ulster Unionist section of SIPTU have promised "No surrender" to the Government levy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Is posting statements that can be read as supportive about a riot in a public forum before the riot takes place tantamount to instigating a riot?

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

AFAIK it's bitter auld civil servants giving out there they have to take a bit less pay for there secure and pensionable jobs while everyone else is on the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

OldGoat wrote: »
    Is posting statements that can be read as supportive about a riot in a public forum before the riot takes place tantamount to instigating a riot?
    I don't see anything here which reads as instigating a riot.
    I'm sure someone will post something that will lead to them being banned though.

So what is this protest about?

Is it the one I failed to organise a while back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

This protest is doomed to fail because the unions have been trying to rally every group they can think of (as seen by all their ads in the Irish Times yesterday (and today?) calling on many different groups of people) so there is going to be a huge mix of people all with different agendas and no one will listen to anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Terry wrote: »
    I'm sure someone will post something that will lead to them being banned though.

Yeah Terry, someone has stolen your clothes as Joe Higgins would have put it!

kevmy wrote: »
    AFAIK it's bitter auld civil servants giving out there they have to take a bit less pay for there secure and pensionable jobs while everyone else is on the dole

Only one in ten people are on the dole.
    Maybe the bitter ould farts dont like paying for other people to sit at home watching telly..grumbling that there's no jobs in "IT".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I lol'd... :P

Ah, I don't think there will be a riot. Sure what are they protesting about anyway, if no levy, then what? People cannot see that something like extra tax will actually save jobs. I rather pay an extra 10% levy than have no income.
    Degsy wrote: »
    Maybe the bitter ould farts dont like paying for other people to sit at home watching telly..grumbling that there's no jobs in "IT".

FFS, not you again...

Post facts, not fiction...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

I know alot of people love a bit of anarchy, but sorry, therell be no riot, its not in our nature, the last one was scumbags who were bored vs gards over a "just cause". I dont think were an angry enough nation. heres where the relaxed irish "itll do" attitude comes to play.

Piste wrote: »
    This protest is doomed to fail because the unions have been trying to rally every group they can think of (as seen by all their ads in the Irish Times yesterday (and today?) calling on many different groups of people) so there is going to be a huge mix of people all with different agendas and no one will listen to anyone else.

Its to show the government that the people are unhappy,not each other.

Piste wrote: »

What do we want?

"A VARIETY OF DIFFERENT THINGS!!!"

When do we want it?

"AT VARYING TIMES TO SUIT EACH INDIVIDUAL GROUP'S INTERESTS!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

When's the Love Ulster parade back on?
    PleaseSayTomorrow.... PleaseSayTomorrow...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

careful now, zaph's still hurting over that newspaper article

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    What do we want?

THE RICH TO SHOULDER SOME OF THE FINANCIAL BURDEN FOR A CHANGE

So More people can be on the dole due to mismanagement of funds,greed and stupidity

fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Civil servants starting a riot,a riot for them would be to stop buying teabags for the lunchbreak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

DEY DUK ERR JUUBS, took err juuubs!

DUK ERR DEEBS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭spinaltap

Its not just civil servants dumbo, its anyone with a issue with the government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭mayfire

Will the Civil Servants get travelling expenses, overtime and about a week and a half in lieu for protesting on a Saturday?

spinaltap wrote: »

YEP, Down with that sort of thing.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭spinaltap

Getting tired of civil service bashing, while nurses, garda and fireman are all civil service how many people admired them for doing a job a lot of people would not do for the money they were earning elasewhere was to good to put on a uniform and serve someone

fyp

I like my version better. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The government need to think smart and play the Celtic Tiger card to avert the protest. They should secretly bankroll a wildcat Brown Thomas half-price sale at the same time as the protest.

stovelid wrote: »
    They should secretly bankroll a wildcat Brown Thomas half-price sale at the same time as the protest.

The sad thing about the above is, it would work.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

:eek::eek::eek:
    Stee wrote: »
    Wanna go together? I'll wear my Des costume

:eek::eek::eek:

STOP STALKING US, PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

K-9 wrote: »
    YEP, Down with that sort of thing.

What exactly is the protest about?

Is it against the levy?
    To express anger at the Governments' handling of the crisis?
    To express anger at top bankers?
    To call for more decisive action?
    To call for 'fairness'?
    Something else / a mixture of the above?

If I'm for the levy but dissapointed with the government, should I go?:confused:
    What about if I'm against the levy, but support the governments actions in general?:confused:
    If I think the government need to take much more radical action, should I go?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I lol'd... :P

Sometimes is hurts to be right.
    Banned for personal abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

I live in a different country. What's the craic with these protests? Who is organising them, and how big are they expected to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭otwb

Here we go again....
    Getting tired of civil service bashing, while nurses, garda and fireman are all civil public service how many people admired them for doing a job a lot of people would not do for the money they were earning elasewhere was to good to put on a uniform and serve someone (work in McDonalds???? whats this got to do with the public sector???)

....are there any "sod the unions/lets take the pain/the-levy-ain't-that-bad-and-the-whole-thing-is-going-to-get-worse-before-it-gets-better" marches on?????

and yup, I am a public sector worker who supports the levy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Halfrauds

while when the people who did have jobs in it contributed to YOUR pension. cop on.

everybody should pay their way. All civil servants were doing was acting like parasites, feeding off other people.

i dont see why civil servants are "convulsed with anger", wow you actually have to pay for your pension, not like its somthing the private sector hasnt done.

why cant the protest just be to get rid of the government?? walk into the dail and physically remove the overpaid bastards.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

PeakOutput wrote: »
    yes please tell us all what exactly people are protesting about

Officially its on ICTU 'event'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

efla wrote: »
    Officially its on ICTU 'event'

The "other" government?

Halfrauds wrote: »
    while when the people who did have jobs in it contributed to YOUR pension.:D

What the **** are you on about?
    The only person to contribute to my pension is ME...they take 6% of my wages.
    Now they want to take 15%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Halfrauds

do civil cervants not have a non contributary pension?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

Halfrauds wrote: »
    do civil cervants not have a non contributary pension?
    :D:D errr!....No!

That depends on your wage. The 9% is the highest level and is tax deductible, it's really 5.31%