Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Spin, 21st Feb 2009

• 19-02-2009 11:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭

Right kids, who's coming out and where do ye want to go? Weather should be good, but it looks like an early start might be better:
    met.ie wrote:
    Saturday will be a mild and breezy day. It'll start dry with a few bright or sunny spells before turning cloudy. Scattered outbreaks of rain and drizzle will spread down from the Northwest later. Top temperatures 9 to 11 degrees. Cloudy early Saturday night with a few spots of rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

mikemac wrote: »
    Cool to turn back when you're done? :o
    Just be careful when they try to get you to go a bit further and say 'oh it's not that far/steep'. It IS that far/steep.

you'll be grand. I might go out myself for a bit, if I can shake this cold.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Myself, blorg, barrabus, The Claw and aidan.offbeat (I think) are doing a spin up to Meath on Saturday. Probably meeting at the Pope's Cross at 9:30. Final route yet to be decided, but we'll probably do between 80 and 100km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I am certainly up for it! I need the miles on my feet and i haven't been in the north side with the bike at all :D

Edit: Which part of Phoenix park is pope's cross?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭smithslist

el tonto wrote: »
    a spin up to Meath on Saturday. Final route yet to be decided

if you guys are doing league race sunday, u shuld do the course to get to know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Edit: Which part of Phoenix park is pope's cross?
    its the place with the massive 50ft cross in a field
    from park gate street
    icon_greenA.pngConyngham Rd/R101

1.Head west on Conyngham Rd/R101 toward Chesterfield Ave1.0 km
    2.Turn right toward Kyber Rd0.2 km
    3.Continue straight onto Kyber Rd1.2 km
    4.Slight right at Acres Rd0.1 km
    5.Turn left Destination will be on the left
    0.2 km

icon_greenB.pngUnknown road

popes cross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

If anyone fancy heading to Wicklow (Sally or Wicklow Gap), then I will be heading up there.
    Leaving Park at 9ish, for Dundrum at 10.

Best of luck to a the boardsie racers; have a good day out in Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Myself, blorg, barrabus, The Claw and aidan.offbeat (I think) are doing a spin up to Meath on Saturday. Probably meeting at the Pope's Cross at 9:30. Final route yet to be decided, but we'll probably do between 80 and 100km.

I don't think I'm gonna make this after all but have a good one and I'll see yous on Sunday.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

smithslist wrote: »
    if you guys are doing league race sunday, u shuld do the course to get to know it.

That's the plan, we're going to take in the course along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Myself, blorg, barrabus, The Claw and aidan.offbeat (I think) are doing a spin up to Meath on Saturday.

And me ( I will bring the stopwatch :P )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I shall be winging my merry way to Austria to go down hills sideways, and up hills by chairlift. Woohoo! There's oodles of snow forecast too - 7cm Sun, 9 cm mon, 14cm tues! oooh yeah baby, snowboarding FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Meath group .... are you going to be flying on Saturday ... if its a 80km crawl .. I shall join you ... is 9:30 at the cross a confirmed start .. earlier could work too ... :) ... also me thinks there is no need to change the cassette to a 26 for the meath spin which I would have to for the wicklow spin :o and don't have the time for it today ...

We won't be flying since I, for one, want to save my legs for Sunday.

An earlier start would work for me too, but let's see what the others say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

We won't be flying since I, for one, want to save my legs for Sunday.

An earlier start would work for me too, but let's see what the others say.

When I first saw that, I read it as:

"We won't be flying since I, for one, want to shave my legs for Sunday."

With me in the group there is no way that they will be flying :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I am not planning on flying myself, may take the fixie. 9:30 is OK with me but any earlier would be difficult!

9:30 sounds like a good compromise I think.

Blorg, did you see rogerb's post in the other thread about the possible change in course. I think it will be easy enough to do a run over both courses while we're out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭nortal

Don’t want to hijack your thread – but can someone give me a route approx 70 not to hilly as I have been off the bike for a couple of weeks, around the N11 step aside area would join some of you over the sally gap tomorrow but still fearful I don’t have enough miles in the legs:D

Also when you go into laragh to go over the sally gap where exactly this rout I always get lost around here (may give it a go on my own someday very soon)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

I think I'll head along tomorrow for the spin. I don't have anywhere I need to be on Sat. for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

LDB wrote: »
    I think I'll head along tomorrow for the spin. I don't have anywhere I need to be on Sat. for once.

Well if you're going I'm going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

If ye are heading out meath way I might try and make my first boards spin.. if ye will be within a few miles of Celbridge/Leixlip/Maynooth...

mloc123 wrote: »
    .. if ye will be within a few miles of Celbridge/Leixlip/Maynooth...

We will

Might be an idea to head out that way then as per the original plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Well if ye have another route planned don't change it around just for me.. I'd probably only hook up we ye for a while anyway.. saving my legs for a dualthon on Sunday.

I was thinking of coming back via Maynooth and Leixlip. Does that suit. If you're based out there, going out there on the way out would make a short spin for you, no?

Best bring a map with me tomorrow as well methinks. Any time I go out that way I'm usually following wheels and don't have to worry where I'm going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭MadHatter

<thread_hijack>
    mloc123 wrote: »
    I'd probably only hook up we ye for a while anyway.. saving my legs for a dualthon on Sunday.

Would that be the duathlon in Punchestown by any chance? If so, I'll be there too, but sure to say "Hi"! :)

I'm saving my legs by not cycling today or tomorrow, even got the train to work today :eek:

</thread_hijack>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

I'll be heading out meath direction myself, but in the afternoon and one way, i'll cycle home straight out the N2 as far as Slane and then turn for home! Busy again in the morning so won't be able to join ye, would have been nice to have the company!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭dalkener

Heya,

I'd like to go out on a maiden boards ride tomorrow.
    The mountains sound good to me, are you meeting at 10am under the luas bridge dundrum??

Do you guys/gals go like the clappers??? I'd like to think I wouldn't be holding anyone up, thats if im allowed to tag along in the first place;)

I will be heading for mountains in the morning.
    10 am on M50 bridge heading up to Lambs Cross/Stepaside is good for me.

Are the mountains completely clear now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

9:30 sounds like a good compromise I think.

yes, I agree with this time. See you in 12 hours.

-Ian

Myth wrote: »
    Are the mountains completely clear now?

Mostly. judging by last weeks spin and posts from Aidan.offbeat and Scottyrenolds

Cu in the morning ppl at popes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭smithslist

seen u guys today on the race course, u guys where in different groups so pace must have being high, even blorg (I think) was out the back :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

smithslist wrote: »
    seen u guys today on the race course, u guys where in different groups so pace must have being high, even blorg (I think) was out the back :eek:

I think what you might have seen was Blorg towing the slow ones like myself around on his fixie ... :eek: ... I am not even ashamed ... :)

Great spin today, we went along some lovely roads. Thanks for the great company folks. Seen about a million other cyclists out the route today.
    145km for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

Reasonable spin today. The north side roads are great....... although there's no hills. Unfortunately I had other commitments this afternoon so had to cut my 4 hrs cycle short -- only got 81km in which is very annoying. Will have to put extra miles in next week now :(

Thanks for the spin today everyone. I really enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

Good spin today.

BTW some fool left his bike computer in his helmet at lunch time and then managed to put his helmet on and some how lodge the bike computer between the peak of his cap and the helmet and not feel it. He then cycled almost all the way to dublin cursing the youth of trim for nicking said bike computer.

The same fool is arranging a novena for the youth of trim and feels he should buy himself a treat with the 350 he had convinced himself he HAD to spend on a garmin 705 to replace the "stolen" bike computer.

BTW some fool left his bike computer in his helmet at lunch time and then managed to put his helmet on and some how lodge the bike computer between the peak of his cap and the helmet and not feel it. He then cycled almost all the way to dublin cursing the youth of trim for nicking said bike computer.

Too funny!

That's great that it wasn't lost / stolen :)

barrabus wrote: »
    Good spin today.

The same fool is arranging a novena for the youth of trim and feels he should buy himself a treat with the 350 he had convinced himself he HAD to spend on a garmin 705 to replace the "stolen" bike computer.

So all that screaming down the main street in Trim was for nothing?
    You are a legend!

Nice flat spin today, perfect terrain for the fixie. Well done to Húrin in particular for getting around 130km! A few more weeks and it will be second nature. Remember, as Greg LeMond (or Eddie Merckx, I don't recall) famously put it, "it gets a hell of a lot easier (and you get faster.)"

blorg wrote: »
    Nice flat spin today, perfect terrain for the fixie. Well done to Húrin in particular for getting around 130km! A few more weeks and it will be second nature. Remember, as Greg LeMond (or Eddie Merckx, I don't recall) famously put it, "it gets a hell of a lot easier (and you get faster.)"

Well done Húrin, I bet your dinner this evening will taste better than ever :)

Just got home.. 145.7kms for me.. and i am feeling.. quite ok actually.

Great spin and nice to meet the ladies too!

Now if you excuse me i have to go eat a whole cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

It was great finally be back on the Boards spin. It was my 1st day on the road bike since november after the fractures. I was too nervous to cycle anything else but my fixie for a while.

I was thrilled to see you all again, I really missed you guys!
    107km for me. I am off for a nice piece of Steak.

Thanks to all

Hi. Glad ye had a good day.130-145k is impressive.
    Up to Sally Gap via Powerscort Waterfall and home via Kilbride and Saggart. 100k on the button. 2nd century of the month.
    4th of the year thusfar.

I finally overcame my habit of having to get off half way up tough climbs to catch my breathreduce my heartbeat. Today, I decided to stay on the bike at all costs.

IT IS ACTUALLY EASIER (why did no one say this before). Once you stay on the bike on a tough climb and push thru the pain, it gets substantially easier. Actually, I couldn't dismount even if I wanted to.
    I feel so happy - it's like I found the holy grail.
    Endorphins obviously kicked in at some stage. As Lemond said, "there was no pain".

Reality also is that 130k last week with you guys, meant that 100k today was substantially easier than usual. Thanks.

Hopefully this is the start of a beautiful career as a mountain goat cycling god:D. My shortest time ever doing the 100k loop of sally gap on the bike, with only 15mins of breaks taken (one for nature, one for bananas).

I know only need to put this into practice every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

Raam wrote: »
    So all that screaming down the main street in Trim was for nothing?
    You are a legend!

The fool looked at his helmet again and thinks the computer must have been lodged in one of the air vent holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

Good spin,nice and flat.Nice company,as always.Weather was perfect!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭dalkener

Went to the mountains again today, as done a long stretch on the flats last week....legs finally getting stronger. Climb to sally gap which nearly killed me a month ago was now just a nice challenge(and actually enjoyable:)).

Some photos included , most of the snow is gone. The hills were alive today, must have seen about 50 other cyclists up there today