Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many calories burned equals to pound of Fat ?

• 19-02-2009 1:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭

Anyone have an idea?

Basically if i was training 4 days per week doin cardio and burned 400+ calories per session after 4 days that would be about 1600 calories in total, how much actuall fat would be burned, 1 pound ?

I used to know but can remember.....:confused:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭vibez

holy jaysus !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

BossArky wrote: »

Ha ha. I've never seen that before, class:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

vibez wrote: »
    holy jaysus !

lol

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Ha ha. I've never seen that before, class:D

Its a good one alright :D
    vibez wrote: »
    holy jaysus !

Yes, it really makes you realise that exercise alone isn't going to shed fat too quickly. Diet is key.

That site link wasn't meant in a sarcastic high horse fashion by the way :P ... just a bit of a joke :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 DizzyDieter

OMG, I was in a gym and the intructor told me it was 1800 cals in a pound of fat....... the little fecker!!!!

Can't believe its that many, jeez I'd be running forever on the threadmill to get rid of that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

Good thing is that your body will burn more calories than usual for approx an hour after excercising as it's recovering & rev'd up etc. Plus, more muscle mass you have, more calories you'll burn - though not a huge amount more.
    Diet is definitely key!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

Mink wrote: »
    Good thing is that your body will burn more calories than usual for approx an hour after excercising as it's recovering & rev'd up etc. Plus, more muscle mass you have, more calories you'll burn - though not a huge amount more.
    Diet is definitely key!

metabolism will be increased for a lot longer than an hour after vigorous exercise

http://www.ehow.com/how_4231_increase-metabolism.html

# Burning calories after exercise is another benefit to exercise. Studies show that you continue to burn calories for as much as 12 hours after exercising. If your workout was intense and lasted longer than 30 minutes, you may continue to burn up to 50 percent of the calories you burned during the exercise itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Hence the benefits of doing weights and intervals - burns more calories after exercise versus a 45min on bike/treamill/walking etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

Good article re the metab, my main problem is keeping the vigorous activity up for at least the full 1/2hr! Ah well, fitness comes to those who keep at it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ansipansy

If I use a cycling machine for 45 minutes every 2nd day ,but have it on level 1 so I dont get muscley,will I lose 2 stone in 3 months? Il be doing stomach exercises each night too! PLEASE HELP!!.....:(.....:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

ansipansy wrote: »
    If I use a cycling machine for 45 minutes every 2nd day ,but have it on level 1 so I dont get muscley,will I lose 2 stone in 3 months? Il be doing stomach exercises each night too! PLEASE HELP!!.....:(.....:D
    You won't get muscly if you up the level.

Personally, I find cycling on level 1 to be impossible, no where near enough resistance.

If you want to loose weight then you need to get your diet sorted and stick to a decent exercise regime. Stomach exercises won't really help at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

Resistance training has been proven to be a more effective method of losing fat than cardio.
    Ideally combining the two is the most beneficial

will they help my stomach get flatter?
    how many calories should i be eating daily? thanks for your help!:D

You won't get muscly if you up the level.

Personally, I find cycling on level 1 to be impossible, no where near enough resistance.

If you want to loose weight then you need to get your diet sorted and stick to a decent exercise regime. Stomach exercises won't really help at all.

how many calories should i be eating daily? thanks for your help:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

ansipansy wrote: »
    how many calories should i be eating daily? thanks for your help:D
    Training one particular region of your body wont mean that you will lose fat from that area only. If you consider long distance runners, their faces are thin and scrawny yet they never train their face muscles. If i was you i would firstlook for a proper workout program with weight loss as your goal. And then once you are in training regime you are comfortable with then start to focus on your diet. If you want to lose weight don't jump in head first and hope you land on your feet. Diet can be a very hard thing to concentrate on if your starting training at the same time