Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Karma My hole!

• 17-02-2009 10:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭White_Feather

Im so P!ssed off! Last night, my phone was stolen! My 3 month old samsung tocco! Now I always said that what goes around, comes around and that Karma can be a bitch, but jesus christ!

About 2 weeks ago, I was down in waterford for the weekend and I was in a nightclub when I found a phone on the dancefloor. So I picked it up and checked the last dialled number, and then I text the person asking if they were in this particular club. Met them at the bar and handed to owner back her phone. I did what any decent person would have done!

Has Ireland just gone to sh!te and the majority of people turned into thiefing ba$tards?!?!?:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Yeah, I got one of them off the back of a lorry this morning.

Almost new too, great little phone they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Haha no mate, "the majority of people" didn't steal your fone!

Unfortunately, quite a lot of people will see something new and shiny, and simply pretend they didn't and pocket it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Shocking

<funny reply>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Did you not tell the person that stole your phone the story of you finding the phone in the disco and handing it back? i'm sure he wouldn't have taken it if he knew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

There's no such thing as Karma unfortunately OP but maybe your good deed inspired another to do something similar in the future. Fair play to ya for going to the effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I thought Karma was a Mod here:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Who ever stole your phone will more than likely go to jail and get raped, that might be some comfort to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Vain wrote: »
    Who ever stole your phone will more than likely go to jail and get raped, that might be some comfort to you.

karma would be getting ass plugged by the stolen phone after the rape.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Funnily enough I was thinking of this a few weeks back. Found a wallet last month with three hundred squid in it, a student id card and a halls keycard on the bus home(to halls). Got back to halls, found the dude and gave it back. Two weeks later my wallet was stolen in a club on a night out, with fifty squid in it.

Karma is (Dr) Bolloco.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

What do you want Karoma to do to your hole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Vain wrote: »

They may also try and smuggle the phone in up their ar*e. It wont be comfort for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Im so P!ssed off! Last night, my phone was stolen! My 3 month old samsung tocco! Now I always said that what goes around, comes around and that Karma can be a bitch, but jesus christ!

About 2 weeks ago, I was down in waterford for the weekend and I was in a nightclub when I found a phone on the dancefloor. So I picked it up and checked the last dialled number, and then I text the person asking if they were in this particular club. Met them at the bar and handed to owner back her phone. I did what any decent person would have done!

Has Ireland just gone to sh!te and the majority of people turned into thiefing ba$tards?!?!?:mad:

How do you establish, from one theft, that the majority of Irish people are theiving bastards?

With unemployment on the rise, less jobs for people, you will see crime on the rise. I have been tempted but I haven't lowered myself yet. If things continue, I don't know... it's sad to think of.

What do you want Karoma to do to your hole?

Bleach it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Bleach it.
    That's good so, he's an expert at the old anal bleaching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Millions of mobile/cell phones go missing , lost , stolen every day OP .
    Most are never returned .Yours is just another one on the list .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

been paid a few visits i take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Some lovely person stole my Coat with passport and keys in it. You'd think they'd leave them back, or even into a Garda station becuase they have no value to anyone but me, but no.... I hope they get sent to Guantanamo using a fake passport to get into America!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Has he been taking lessons from a Mr M. Jackson then? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Some lovely person stole my Coat with passport and keys in it. You'd think they'd leave them back, or even into a Garda station becuase they have no value to anyone but me, but no.... I hope they get sent to Guantanamo using a fake passport to get into America!
    Sorry to hear it .12 months ago those prisoners in Guantanamo would have grabbed a fake passport to anywere in the world ,bar America .

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

galwayrush wrote: »
    probably wouldn't want it back afterwards

if mobile phone companies took some interest in stolen phones there would be no reason to keep them, they could send an SMS to it every minute saying "stolen phone" but like credit card fraud it's cheaper for the companies to let the punter take the hid :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

galwayrush wrote: »
    And then ringing it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

did you have a pin number on it, karma might have kicked you up the arse for thinking it might some day go missing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

http://consumerist.com/5153520/missing-iphone-mystery-solved-by-consumerist-readers-in-55-minutes

As the world turns...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Generally think I'm quite good in terms of karma, but it dosent think the same. Lost my passport twice this week, lost over a hundred quid few weeks back, lost a mate's shirt, ripped my shoulder... I could go on.

Jaysus Karma wise up for once!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I bought a Welsh rugby supporter a whiskey in an Irish pub in 2005 and he emails me last month with 2 tickets for me and the wife for the Wales V England 6Nations match last weekend.

I believe in Karma !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

With unemployment on the rise, less jobs for people, you will see crime on the rise. I have been tempted but I haven't lowered myself yet. If things continue, I don't know...

Thats lovely! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Korma is nice but I prefer a good Balti.

How this relates to phones I just don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Aligator Farmer

dan719 wrote: »
    Funnily enough I was thinking of this a few weeks back. Found a wallet last month with three hundred squid in it, a student id card and a halls keycard on the bus home(to halls). Got back to halls, found the dude and gave it back. Two weeks later my wallet was stolen in a club on a night out, with fifty squid in it.

Karma is (Dr) Bolloco.

Three hundred! I never had that much cash when I was a student, maybe its the same Dude who robbed ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭coillcam

In the shop I've worked in over the years I'd say at least 10 phones people have lost/left behind I found and always rang/texted a recent contact to get the person their phone back. Even an n95 which was so tempting to keep tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Some time ago while staying overnight with my daughter in London, I dropped my mobile outside a railway station that is not in, let's say, a refined area. About an hour after I realised it was gone I had a call on my daughter's phone saying they had found it and giving me their address to collect it. When I got there a black guy opened the door and handed me the phone back with a grin. He was surrounded by little kids, so I offered him a twenty to buy something for the kids for his trouble. He wouldn't hear of it. His main concern was that it kept ringing with calls for me so he'd turned it off, and for that he apologised! Just shows that there are still some good folks out there:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

probably wouldn't want it back afterwards

if mobile phone companies took some interest in stolen phones there would be no reason to keep them, they could send an SMS to it every minute saying "stolen phone" but like credit card fraud it's cheaper for the companies to let the punter take the hid :mad:

If a handset is lost/stolen in Ireland, a mobile network can block the sim card, thus stopping anyone using up the person's credit/running up their bill, and they can also bar the handset in question on all Irish mobile networks, thus rendering the handset useless if another sim is inserted.

If I’m missing something, then let me know, but what else can the mobile networks do to take more interest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Rsaeire wrote: »
    If I’m missing something, then let me know, but what else can the mobile networks do to take more interest?

They could just give me a call every now and then, y'know, just to see how I'm doing. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

someone stole my purse out of my bag last weekend, I had a doctors note in it, they gave me that back at list, soooo considerate my robbers!:P

OP what them phones like btw, i found one and am just wondering how to use it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

sorry to hear that , ya never know , in a few months you might win a phone in a draw or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I was one night the last september and had to go to the bank machine. As I got there I noticed that there was 200 sitting ready that the person before me left in. I called the guy back that was after walking away from it and he stopped so I ran up the road after him to give him his money. He looked at me as if I was after robbing it off him and swiped it and walked away without even saying thanks.

Nevermind I thought to myself as I went about the night happy in the knowledge that I had done a good deed.

Later on me and a few others were waiting around for a taxi when one of the girls that was with us had picked up some guy she want to bring home, and our taxi was already booked, so i offered him my seat and said I'd wait for the next one. Our taxi came and went and I was left behind with nearly no taxi's left. I eventually blagged my way onto a bus(hackney) that I knew was going in my general direction in the hope that I'd be able to persuade the driver to go the extra bit with me, paid of course, after he dropped everyone else off. No such luck. I was dropped about 8 mile from my house and had to walk the rest of the way. Karma certainly wasn't helping me when about five minutes after the bus pulled off, the heavens opened and I was stuck walking in the rain with nothing only my shirt to keep it off my back.

Karma doesn't exist!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

OP if you're not using the charger or the USB connector any more, you can send them to me to get your karma levels back up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I guess those who live by Karma would say that since it's supposed to balance out over a lifetime, a bad deed may take 50 years before coming back against you and the same with good deeds.

Sure if it worked instantly everytime someone robbed something they'd have an accident while getting away.

If you're doing good things in the hope that it favours you somehow then perhaps you will be getting the oppposite karma of what you were looking for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

How do you establish, from one theft, that the majority of Irish people are theiving bastards?
    He may be from Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

In 2004 I found rather large sums of money on the street on 4 different occasions. I always felt it was unlucky to keep money like that, so I made attempts to try and find owners with no success- then gave all the money to charity in the end.
    Later that year i lost four family members in a short length of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I had a phone robbed from my bag in school, A thief among the class, I then had a phone robbed from work, These are people that you expect to trust...Its terrible, I wouldn't personally rob myself

But desperate times call for desperate measures, keep what you find

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    I had a phone robbed from my bag in school, A thief among the class, I then had a phone robbed from work, These are people that you expect to trust...Its terrible, I wouldn't personally rob myself

But desperate times call for desperate measures, keep what you find

I don't think anyone would :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Carpaydiem

OP, next time you see someones shiny new phone lying around, take it.

Karma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Cherryvega

emo!! wrote: »
    OP what them phones like btw, i found one and am just wondering how to use it :P

They're one of the slowest touch screen phones I've used :/ Not worth robbing :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

You want me to Karma your hole? The phone wasn't enough to make me do that .:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭CHW

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    ...Its terrible, I wouldn't personally rob myself

Me neither, I've nothing worth robbing.

No such thing as Karma, no; Karuma, yes (it's a place in Uganda). But no Karma.

Karma != "what goes around comes around". This has nothing to do with it :rolleyes:

Sorry to hear about your phone though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭brennaldo

I got my phone robbed in McDonalds on O'Connells street, Get this, The security guard was standing two feet away from me, i was sitting with my 2 friends and some scumbags came in, they knew my friend (actually they robbed him the week before), so they sat beside us and took our phones (they were much bigger than us), and that bleedin security guard watched the hole thing happen and did nothing (unbelievable), i rang McDonalds later that day and told them and they actually told me that guard had done something like that before......

too sum up, yes Ireland has gone down the gicker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

brennaldo wrote: »
    I got my phone robbed in McDonalds on O'Connells street, Get this, The security guard was standing two feet away from me, i was sitting with my 2 friends and some scumbags came in, they knew my friend (actually they robbed him the week before), so they sat beside us and took our phones (they were much bigger than us), and that bleedin security guard watched the hole thing happen and did nothing (unbelievable), i rang McDonalds later that day and told them and they actually told me that guard had done something like that before......

too sum up, yes Ireland has gone down the gicker

How exactly did they take your phones?

I had a druggie try borrow my phone once and i said i'd rather not, then he proceeded to threaten me and say "if i wanted your phone i'd ****in take it!" then he claimed he had a knife in his pocket and was gonna take my phone, he started rooting around with one hand looking for it all the while having hold of my arm and being in my face. I shrugged his arm off and walked away and he stumbled on his merry way, pretty scary at the time though. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭brennaldo

n1ck wrote: »
    How exactly did they take your phones?

I had a druggie try borrow my phone once and i said i'd rather not, then he proceeded to threaten me and say "if i wanted your phone i'd ****in take it!" then he claimed he had a knife in his pocket and was gonna take my phone, he started rooting around with one hand looking for it all the while having hold of my arm and being in my face. I shrugged his arm off and walked away and he stumbled on his merry way, pretty scary at the time though. :P

The a$$hole who took it actually showed me a knife so i wasnt gonna risk something happening just for a phone (which in truth was actually my sisters phone ha), so i just decided to hand it over, i kinda knew these people aswell though and i didnt want to piss them off