Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Racing Cyclists

• 17-02-2009 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭

Hi there all,

Just wondering who from the Boards will be competing this season in Open Racing?

Im a Senior 3 and my first race this season will be the Cycleways cup in Navan 2 wks from now. So who else on here races or is gonna give it a lash this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I was planning on racing that one. It will be my first.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'm S3 too. Thinking of doing the Cycleways cup too. First club race is Sunday. I'll see how I go then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭ba

count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭rogerb

I tried racing for the first time last year, in an inter-club league, and I'm planning to do some open races this year.

I found the club league was a good introduction to racing and I'd definitely recommend going down that route first to anyone just starting out.

I had the choice of registering as an S3 or a vet; I chose S3 because it seemed a bit weird to be a "veteran" and a novice at the same time.

I did take part in a couple of the open races at the end of the season last year (at Kilmessan and Dundalk), just sitting in the bunch to see what it was like. I expected to get dropped (in fact, that was kind of the plan, to scare myself into doing some training over the winter), but it turned out not to be that bad; actually trying to do something in a race would be a different story.

I'm planning to be at the Navan race too. There's some excellent advice about it in this thread. I don't mind admitting that I'm pretty nervous about this race: I've heard there can be lots of inexperienced riders and lots of crashes.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

That hill at the start and the crashes has me nervous alright.

Can't believe you're a vet rogerb. You must tell me what skincare products you're using.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Got my first race licence this year (S3). Hoping to get a few races in this yr (assuming I can get my ass race fit - the avg is still a bit on the low side tbh)

el tonto wrote: »
    Can't believe you're a vet rogerb. You must tell me what skincare products you're using.

I have a picture like this in my attic.

984777.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭bunnygreen

Roger i've raced against you in the club league and seen the damage you can do,you'll eat up this race esp the climbs,go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

Hi there all,

Just wondering who from the Boards will be competing this season in Open Racing?

Im a Senior 3 and my first race this season will be the Cycleways cup in Navan 2 wks from now. So who else on here races or is gonna give it a lash this year.

Thinkin of this as well to see how the form is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

What are the open races like for women? I've only done women only races so don't know how it works. Are they mixed in with the men or what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

LDB wrote: »
    What are the open races like for women? I've only done women only races so don't know how it works. Are they mixed in with the men or what.

I think you are racing against whoever other turns up women but in the same group as Vets. ( I could be wrong )

I don't think I'd fancy my chances against a Vet, maybe an U12!

LDB wrote: »
    I don't think I'd fancy my chances against a Vet, maybe an U12!

I think you just race in that group but you are racing against other women?

oh right sorry, I get you both now. Thanks!

Raam wrote: »
    I think you just race in that group but you are racing against other women?
    Yes - i think so.
    Myself ... I am not sure I will be racing this year ... at least not the full season. I didn't race much last year ... and now I need more training.

Yes - i think so.
    Myself ... I am not sure I will be racing this year ... at least not the full season. I didn't race much last year ... and now I need more training.

I think there's a lot to be said for just diving into it even if you don't think your form is great. Even just trying to hang in there in a race is training in itself.

I agree ... but in my case I think it's more of a vanity thing ... :o

Vanity? It's all about the suffering.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Women tend to be lumped in with the Vet's/Juniors and C's.
    I'll be racing as a C (last year before Veteran status :() but will prob start april or so (too fat at the moment).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I am planning on starting this year- was at the Orwell introduction to racing night last night with RogerB and Barrabus. It all sounded very scary what with the talk of the elbowing and pushing and pulling :eek: Can't wait to get started.

Vanity? It's all about the suffering.

Yes ... the hard suffering with sh*t result and getting dropped ... that's what I am talking about ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

blorg wrote: »
    I am planning on starting this year- was at the Orwell introduction to racing night last night with RogerB and Barrabus. It all sounded very scary what with the talk of the elbowing and pushing and pulling :eek: Can't wait to get started.

Meant to head in to that thing last night but couldn't make it in the end.

Are yous heading out to batterstown on Sunday?

Yes ... the hard suffering with sh*t result and getting dropped ... that's what I am talking about ...

Better than not turning up at all.

RobFowl wrote: »
    I'll be racing as a C (last year before Veteran status :() but will prob start april or so (too fat at the moment).

Join the club. Small children will be pointing and laughing.

Couldn't make it last night I'm afraid. Wouldn't worry too much about the argy bargy. Tis quite civilised, at least unless you're contesting a sprint.
    Are yous heading out to batterstown on Sunday?

I'll be there.

Join the club. Small children will be pointing and laughing.

Couldn't make it last night I'm afraid. Wouldn't worry too much about the argy bargy. Tis quite civilised, at least unless you're contesting a sprint.

I'll be there.

nice one. I'm looking forward to it - will be my first race so i'm really just hoping not to be dropped in the first few k!

Better than not turning up at all.

I disagree - I prefer to be a little more prepared ... if there was a race on tomorrow, I would certainly NOT want to participate in it. A lot of you guys have been cycling for many years and are only starting racing this year, because you feel strong enough to handle it ( I am not saying strong enough to win, just string enough to take part ).

nice one. I'm looking forward to it - will be my first race so i'm really just hoping not to be dropped in the first few k!

I've ridden with you before and I seriously doubt you'll be dropped.

My training has taken a noise dive over the past two weeks though.

@blorg. What was the general advice imparted last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

I disagree - I prefer to be a little more prepared ... if there was a race on tomorrow, I would certainly NOT want to participate in it. A lot of you guys have been cycling for many years and are only starting racing this year, because you feel strong enough to handle it ( I am not saying strong enough to win, just string enough to take part ).

You can do all the training in the world but you wont be match fit unless you play a few match. Besides, do a race and this will give you an idea of what to work on. We all have strengths and weaknesses. Exceleration out of corners and keeping a consistant speed on inclines surprised me most.

Got for it... There may be a ladies league at the Boot Inn (airport back road) again this year.

Anyone doing the Swords CC Club league this year?

Hungrycol wrote: »

I am.

You can do all the training in the world but you wont be match fit unless you play a few match. Besides, do a race and this will give you an idea of what to work on. We all have strengths and weaknesses. Exceleration out of corners and keeping a consistant speed on inclines surprised me most.

Got for it... There may be a ladies league at the Boot Inn (airport back road) again this year.

Yes I know I did it last year and the year before - i am only back on the bike for the past 3 weeks after 2 fractures in october and november, I am not ready for a race. I know my strenghs and weaknesses already and I can tell you I am very weak at the moment. I have no problem admitting I am utter cr*ap at the moment, and I am very depressed about it, so racing is not my priority number 1 ... as long as i am not in proper shape.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Starts 15th April
    At least 4 members regular posters here :D
    http://www.swordscc.com/
    First event is a short TT (hilly though), most of the courses are ok the Corduff one has the old "Liam Toolin" climb and is tough enough.

RobFowl wrote: »
    Starts 15th April
    At least 4 members regular posters here :D
    http://www.swordscc.com/
    First event is a short TT (hilly though), most of the courses are ok the Corduff one has the old "Liam Toolin" climb and is tough enough.

@RobFowl: have you done the first TT before? I'm curious to know more about it.

So, who else is in Swords then? These are the ones I know about...
    RobFowl
    Cadex
    Raam
    LDB

I think BA races in the Swords league. He is with Dublin Wheelers.

Isn't Hungrycol in Swords too?

Yup.

So here are the ones I know about. There's bound to be many more.

Orwell Wheelers
    Blorg
    El Tonto
    RogerB

Swords
    HungryCol
    RobFowl
    Cadex
    LDB
    Raam

Dublin Wheelers
    BA

barrabus, aidan.offbeat, unionman, bunnygreen, and caroline are with Orwell too.

Planet X is with Sorrento.

Couple of lads here too in Bray.

Orwell takes the lead...

Orwell Wheelers
    Blorg
    El Tonto
    RogerB
    barrabus
    aidan.offbeat
    unionman
    bunnygreen
    caroline_ie

Swords
    HungryCol
    RobFowl
    Cadex
    LDB
    Raam

Dublin Wheelers
    BA

Sorrento
    PlanetX

@blorg. What was the general advice imparted last night?
    Went through road formations mainly. Encouraging the group to work together to stay away in handicapped races was mentioned. Knowing the course, the importance of wind direction. Not doing too long at the front, focus on continual rotation. I'm in the same group as yourself, Roger and Barrabus so hopefully we can hold something together.

xz is in bray wheelers - not sure who else
    Orwell takes the lead...

Orwell Wheelers
    Blorg
    El Tonto
    RogerB
    barrabus
    aidan.offbeat
    unionman
    bunnygreen
    caroline_ie

Swords
    HungryCol
    RobFowl
    Cadex
    LDB
    Raam

Dublin Wheelers
    BA

Sorrento
    PlanetX

Went through road formations mainly. Encouraging the group to work together to stay away in handicapped races was mentioned. Knowing the course, the importance of wind direction. Not doing too long at the front, focus on continual rotation. I'm in the same group as yourself, Roger and Barrabus so hopefully we can hold something together.

Yes, that was one thing that struck my alright when I raced last year, quick pull on the front and then rotate back. I found too that only around a third of the group would do any work.

Do you want to go out that way on Saturday morning with me and we can take a few spins around the course? Wonder if barrabus and aidan are up for it too?

Oh, and roger's been bumped up to semi-scratch this year.

I found too that only around a third of the group would do any work.
    Roger mentioned this too- it was suggested that it could be a good idea to talk to the group at the start, and agree to work together. Then try to hold a chain gang formation and yell at anyone taking it too easy :)
    Do you want to go out that way on Saturday morning with me and we can take a few spins around the course? Wonder if barrabus and aidan are up for it too?
    Sounds like a possibility, why don't we suggest it as the Saturday Boards spin?
    Oh, and roger's been bumped up to semi-scratch this year.
    Well that is a bit of a relief, I would be worried about what sort of thing might be found in the beginners group otherwise.

Roger mentioned this too- it was suggested that it could be a good idea to talk to the group at the start, and agree to work together. Then try to hold a chain gang formation and yell at anyone taking it too easy :)

I think while some people can be cajoled into working, there'll always be some who won't no matter what. To be honest, I doubt if any group will stay away on Sunday. There'll be too many people with itchy feet behind us. First race of the season and all that.
    Sounds like a possibility, why don't we suggest it as the Saturday Boards spin?

Sounds good. Popes Cross meet up? We can try go out via the Strawberry Beds and Maynooth to avoid schleping up the N3 if you want?

I think while some people can be cajoled into working, there'll always be some who won't no matter what. To be honest, I doubt if any group will stay away on Sunday. There'll be too many people with itchy feet behind us. First race of the season and all that.

Sounds good. Popes Cross meet up? We can try go out via the Strawberry Beds and Maynooth to avoid schleping up the N3 if you want?

That sounds like a plan alright

I've been told the course is relatively flat apart from one drag (3 times obviously). The wind will be what makes it tough

Do you want to go out that way on Saturday morning with me and we can take a few spins around the course?

Not a bad idea lads: the club spin went around the course on Sunday and there is a very nasty pothole on one of those hairpins which is going to cause some chaos unless it's filled. Forewarned is forearmed.

I've been told the course is relatively flat apart from one drag (3 times obviously). The wind will be what makes it tough

Yeah, one drag alright. Nothing major. There's a little descent afterwards with a sharp left at the end that almost caught me out the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭ba

there are 2 dublin wheelers on boards, one of them is me, the other i will not say, unless he choses to reveal himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

im with shnnonside Cc (athlone)

And we've a boatload of guys in Waterford clubs too.