Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will the cops be getting the new model mondeos?

• 16-02-2009 10:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭

I'm always curious about this, haven't seen a new model mondeo in garda colors at all? :confused: Maybe because of the cut backs they can't afford them :D or maybe the new mondeo is just too flash :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

there are lots here between dublin and drogheda, and they have been arround for a while now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

yup, ive seen 2 unmarked ones anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Seen a few, both marked and unmarked.

Look very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭PCwiggum

projectgtr wrote: »
    there are lots here between dublin and drogheda, and they have been arround for a while now

I was also reliably informed that at least one of them is fitted with "vehicle recogntion" to detect any tax/insurance evaders, and to help find any stolen cars of course.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Seen a few and theres defo one in cork that has that tax/insurance recognition yoke on it... grr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Haven't seen one yet. The only one i see is that ERU Volvo one going around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I've seen a few around South Dublin alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

saw one at the arigna stage of Rally Ireland.

so...Sligo or Roscommon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Seen plenty around Dublin.

Also some new Traffic Corp Volvos. Looked like V70's. I've seen them at home in Cork and there was about 5 of them parked up at the back of the big Garda Station in Limerick City, cannot think of the name of it.

Hardly T5's are they??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

dont know whether they are t5's or not but i seen them too. Mean lookin machines alright.

Wasn't henry station street down by the river you saw them by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Sure I read somewhere the V70's are D5's. 185bhp should be more than enough to keep up with most traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Haven't seen one yet. The only one i see is that ERU Volvo one going around.

A bit tacky with the leds on the light bar telling you they are armed Gardai. I got that from the big letter on the side saying Armed Gardai and the MP5's the 4 guys in the car carry.

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Seen plenty around Dublin.

Also some new Traffic Corp Volvos. Looked like V70's. I've seen them at home in Cork and there was about 5 of them parked up at the back of the big Garda Station in Limerick City, cannot think of the name of it.

Hardly T5's are they??

They're not diesel anyway. Monsters of yokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Can anyone tell from a side profile what the engine/spec is (any Volvo anoraks out there)?

3073255686_6afc1b6cb2.jpg?v=0

AudiChris wrote: »
    Can anyone tell from a side profile what the engine/spec is (any Volvo anoraks out there)?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-2055370721.html

Not a V70 - XC70 D5.

Not quite an anorak enough to tell from the photo, but I'd sell they sell fewer Petrol XC70's than Saab sell cars :D

Jaysus Chris did you buy a new camera:P??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

That's a cameraphone pic from the Top Gear show. I've got rakes of stuff, I've just never shared before... :D

R.O.R wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-2055370721.html

Not a V70 - XC70 D5.

Not quite an anorak enough to tell from the photo, but I'd sell they sell fewer Petrol XC70's than Saab sell cars :D

Where does it say D5?

Found it
    the turbo diesel cars, which will carry patrols of two or three officers and firearms ranging from MP7 sub machine guns and Sig handguns to less than lethal weapons

Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Zonda999

FearDark wrote: »
    Seen a few and theres defo one in cork that has that tax/insurance recognition yoke on it... grr.

Seen that one too. That said, thats the only garda new model mondeo i've seen.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

2.4L Diesel.

http://www.carfolio.com/specifications/models/car/?car=160039

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Hardly T5's are they??

Can't be a T5. There has been no V70 T5 since after the current model took over, although there is a T6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Those Volvo's are XC-70's, 2.4 D5 Geartronic.
    Savage car, get to see them in work.

Here's a picture of the new mondeo to cheer ye up!!

72973.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

PCwiggum wrote: »
    I was also reliably informed that at least one of them is fitted with "vehicle recogntion" to detect any tax/insurance evaders, and to help find any stolen cars of course.:D

they sure do, i was also informed that drogheda have now recieved a black toyota prius with the same equipment ;) thats a few unlikely cars out this way (fiat people carrier on the m1, volvo v?? and the infamous forrester)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

A new purple "W" reg unmarked Octavia flew past me in Smithfield yesterday with sirens and lights blaring, didn't see anyextra aerials.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

If its a w reg is most likely a HSE car. Not an emergency services car.

They fit their lights and sirens themselves but are not classed as emergency service vehicles. They ask for cooperation form local gardai (and get it) with respect to breaking red lights and so and so.

They are used by specialist doctors/surgeons that would be required to go to accident scenes where a paramedic (ambulance) or an advanced paramedic (in marked cars) do not have the skills to deal with the situation.

I was at the scene of a fatal accident (but not fatal at the scene) last year where the patients head was hanging on by threads but the person was still alive, a surgeon arrived out in his own car an unmarked saab complete with roof blue lights and sirens.

Was out last night and the ERU past me so o took down the reg.

From cartell
    Make VOLVO
    Model XC70
    Description XC 70 DS AWD GARDA SPEC D5 SV GEARTRONIC
    Fuel Type DIESEL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Here's a picture of the new mondeo to cheer ye up!!

72973.JPG

Anyone know what engine they have in them? I know 2 litres usually have the little badge on the side but could have been removed to fit the stripes

EPM wrote: »
    Anyone know what engine they have in them? I know 2 litres usually have the little badge on the side but could have been removed to fit the stripes

I just checked another reg of a Garda mondeo i got last night and it was a 1.8. Alot of them would be 2.0 as well i'd imagine.

The one pictured is coming up as a 1.6i LX - not going to be doing any high speed pursuits in that :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,529 ✭✭✭✭Alun

From cartell.ie
    Vehicle Description

Registration 08D61290 Make FORD Model MONDEO Description LX 1.6 5SP 4DR 5SPEED Fuel Type PETROL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Was out last night and the ERU past me so o took down the reg.

From cartell
    Make VOLVO
    Model XC70
    Description XC 70 DS AWD GARDA SPEC D5 SV GEARTRONIC
    Fuel Type DIESEL

RSU-Regional Support Unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I just checked another reg of a Garda mondeo i got last night and it was a 1.8. Alot of them would be 2.0 as well i'd imagine.

Traffic corps have 3l mondeos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Yeah, there seems to be a few 1.6 petrol models knocking around. Not gonna be going anywhere too fast in that!

I've also seen a few unmarked 08/09 mondeos both in Dublin and Wexford fitted with ANPR.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,006 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

There's defo a marked new mondeo or two floating around Cork
    Spotted one yesterday just besids Anglsea St Station

donvito99 wrote: »
    RSU-Regional Support Unit

I thought they were the Emergency (or Armed, but then it would be ARU lol) Response Unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Cionád

I thought they were the Emergency (or Armed, but then it would be ARU lol) Response Unit.

Armed Garda Regional Support Units.

0001b41f10dr.jpg
    garda-armed001.jpg

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jay112/3066686908/

That's the one i saw alright.

Lol, i was going to say the looked like Action men. Had it typed and all but i deleted it. Said i better now.

No fear :rolleyes::pac:

The RSU and the ERU are two different units.
    ERU are more highly trained to deal with bigger situations. You wouldn't know their cars if they were next to you at the lights.

The new 1.6 mondeo's are the flexifuel version.

The RSU and the ERU are two different units.
    ERU are more highly trained to deal with bigger situations. You wouldn't know their cars if they were next to you at the lights.

The new 1.6 mondeo's are the flexifuel version.

Flexifuel doesnt come in the 1.6 model. 2.0 only IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

PCwiggum wrote: »

how does this work "vehicle recogntion" work ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Reads number plates and can query a database to tell if the car is taxed or is otherwise of interest to the boys in blue :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

donvito99 wrote: »
    Traffic corps have 3l mondeos.

They'll be 2.5's now with the new model. Checked the one in the photo too. Surely a 1.6 Focus would do the same job as that for 4k less?!? Even taking out VRT and VAT!

Seems like a total waste of money

Flexifuel doesnt come in the 1.6 model. 2.0 only IIRC.

All the new mondeo 1.6s in the garda driving school are flexifuel, according to the buddy's who've been there recently

Must be why they're still in driving school then, cause their aint no such engine in the Mondeo.

Only going by what i was told. Haven't worked in the new mondeo yet.

I man enough to admit when i'm wrong (however rare it is)!!:o

The 1.6 engine in the Mondeo is gutless being honest. My granddaddy has one, i drove it the other night. It was, how do i explain this, em, sh*te.

Is there a rule that prevents AGS buying diesels or did they just not want to stump up for the extra few quid?

Think the opinion is that of old, diesels are dirty, noisy, slow, etc.
    Thats changing slowly as far as i know.

Unfortunately, i reckon the main reason is that its always the cheapest option
    This also means if it gets wrecked, the loss is limited.