Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What credit crunch?

• 15-02-2009 4:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

I'm a jobless student myself, as are several other people I know, yet it doesn't seem to affect anyone. Everyone I know goes out 2-3 times a week, and once or twice on the weekends. Loads of people get taxis, loads of people go to Smacs or Abra after the clubs etc. Are their parents still living off credit or what's the story? I spent about €30 a week on food and then maybe €30 again on going out. I rarely ever get taxis and never have money left for fast food afterwards. Where are these people getting the money? And it's not just rich kids because it seems to be everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Robbing trains obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭ttilting

There are a LOT of rich kids around . . .. Their parents have MASSIVE amounts of money in their accounts . . .. They are not buying wide screen TV's as much , , , but plenty of money for little johny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭acid.rain

some of them are on trust funds while a lot of them are using their secret stashes from under the mattress. they just won't admit to it. would you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭craiginireland

freeloading students :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

They could be selling unuthorised products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Why don't you ask them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

When I was in college I could never understand where my fellow students got their money from either!

- What are you doing for the summer? I'm going inter-railing!! / on a J1!
    - Er, I'm working....

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

If you

A) Haven't lost your job
    B) Haven't taken a pay cut
    C) Haven't been living wildly beyond your means

You're probably not immediately affected by the recent economic problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

meh, i went on a j1 for summer, came back a grand in debt,
    and since i have went on a weekend to Milan,
    spent a few days in Amsterdam(5 i think)
    and am taking my girlfriend away to Prague on the weekend.
    go out mabey twice a week(some weeks i cannot afford to but most i'm grand)

parents haven't paid a drop! i work for all the money i have!

so basically what this thread is about is that you are moaning because you don't have a job... why not? don't tell me your course is so demanding, i'm a third year engineering student! i have more hours then most courses ever will! and i'm still getting decent grades!

get up off ur ass and do something. sure i get less lie-ins then you but thats life!

do you know what i done when i got my hours cut back due to recession? i got a second job!
    i currently have 3! work about 10-20 hours a week only, again recession. but hell i don't let it get me back! why do you?

you can also moan that its so hard to get a job or whatever...
    bah its not that hard! get up off your ass and apply! it comes down to how picky you are! or are you willing to get a bus somewhere!

yesterday i was in bray working, im a southside dubliner. that was a trek and a half for me. i don't drive! i had to bus to town and dart form there. i'd do it again do!(that job is promotions btw, not normally there)

/ur a moan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

OP, it sounds like you are a conscientious person who only spends what he has and doesn't freeload of his parents. Some students are given credit cards or free reign of the purse strings by their parents, who don't give a limit on how much their little darlings can spend. Others take out student loans and live life like it's their money, without thinking beyond their student days when these loans will have to be paid back. When I was a student, I was given a certain amount by my parents and I had a part-time job- I knew I couldn't spend above what was in the bank account.
    When some of my friends started working, they complained they were no better off while I felt like I had a lotto win everytime I got my wageslip!
    So do your best on your course and don't worry about your high-living college mates, it will all come crashing down for them when they start earning, while you will enjoy your money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

muboop1 wrote: »

so basically what this thread is about is that you are moaning because you don't have a job... why not? don't tell me your course is so demanding, i'm a third year engineering student! i have more hours then most courses ever will! and i'm still getting decent grades!

get up off ur ass and do something. sure i get less lie-ins then you but thats life!

do you know what i done when i got my hours cut back due to recession? i got a second job!
    i currently have 3! work about 10-20 hours a week only, again recession. but hell i don't let it get me back! why do you?

bah its not that hard! get up off your ass and apply! it comes down to how picky you are! or are you willing to get a bus somewhere!

yesterday i was in bray working, im a southside dubliner. that was a trek and a half for me. i don't drive! i had to bus to town and dart form there. i'd do it again do!(that job is promotions btw, not normally there)

/ur a moan

Chip on your shoulder much?

OP was asking where people (particularly students) get their money, considering all the news is about how bad the economy is these days.

kelle wrote: »
    OP, it sounds like you are a conscientious person who only spends what he has and doesn't freeload of his parents. Some students are given credit cards or free reign of the purse strings by their parents, who don't give a limit on how much their little darlings can spend. Others take out student loans and live life like it's their money, without thinking beyond their student days when these loans will have to be paid back. When I was a student, I was given a certain amount by my parents and I had a part-time job- I knew I couldn't spend above what was in the bank account.
    When some of my friends started working, they complained they were no better off while I felt like I had a lotto win everytime I got my wageslip!
    So do your best on your course and don't worry about your high-living college mates, it will all come crashing down for them when they start earning, while you will enjoy your money.

rubbish!

op mean this is the best possible way get off your ass and get a job!

sure some people have it better off and parents that let them live like kings, but that's not true for them all.

if you want their life you have to be willing to work!

else enjoy being jealous of them for what they have. and do nothing about it but be bitter/jealous.

you clearly don't work like, not on 60 a week,i get more then that in a day of working...
    now imagine you had that 60 a week, plus worked maybe one day during the weekends and one evening after college.

weekend about 8 hours is typical shift for me.
    week day depending on day is 4 hours.
    12 hours @8.65(min wage i believe, although i know most places like tescos etc pay slightly more)

that gives you 103.8 euro extra a week. add your 60, gives 163.8 a week.
    that's not much work, and you have enough to live very comfortable!

if you go for the likes of a promotions job or something. you will work less hours and get up to double the pay! iv gone weekends working only 6 hours and getting more then friends working 12... (very rare weekends do-promotions pay really varies)

either way the ones who don't get handed money for most part, either worked hard during summer, and have saved up a bit or they work! very few i know get loans unless they know they will be working that summer to pay ti off! again coming back to you needing to apply for a job even...

edit fair play to person i quoted here, i never fully read their thread. i say the loan bit and instantly quoted...
    fair play kelle. that's what i do, and most my friends do bar the few who are thrown money by parents. which actually isn't as much as you would think. i dont get an allowance, but i do get my weekly bus ticket paid for so its pretty much the same thing. beyond that i pay for what i want myself. parents made this clear and i made a decision to work. iv gone periods without but always went back due to feeling i was missing out when my friend etc went away or out. if this is what the op feels... well its more then possible to have a good degree work and go out... not always easy. but hey! whats worth having that is easy

Tom65 wrote: »
    Chip on your shoulder much?

OP was asking where people (particularly students) get their money, considering all the news is about how bad the economy is these days.

simple, they still work!
    i hate people moaning about something and not just doing something about it!(sentence has the word something in it to much for my liking)

how else?

he clearly states its not just all the "rich kids" even. its the normal ones to. they have just worked! its fairly simple like! they have worked in teh past, working now or are getting loans willing to work later.

kelle wrote: »
    Others take out student loans and live life like it's their money, without thinking beyond their student days when these loans will have to be paid back.
    i did that for the stupidest stuff durin college.. some effort now payin 600 a month towards debt! :(

edit: so worth it tho if the job works out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

I know a guy in 16grands worth of debt. Just so he could get a film student qualification!

Students need to cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I know a guy in 16grands worth of debt. Just so he could get a film student qualification!

Students need to cop on.

You know one guy in debt, yet think it's ok to generalize like that? Delightful.

I'm a student, I work part time, I have a savings account and thankfully live at home so I don't have to pay rent very often.

Do I need to cop on? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

I know one particular fella in 16 grand of debt.

I know loads of students, and have known loads of students in debt.
    16 grand takes the cake though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Beats some of the young ones who have no valid reason for being in debt.
    At least the students got some kind of an education out of it.

I've a 'friend' that's in over 40k of debt, with nothing to show for it.
    He's 24.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

I know one particular fella in 16 grand of debt.

I know loads of students, and have known loads of students in debt.
    16 grand takes the cake though.

Why does it bother you? Mabey this one particular fella thinks it's worth 16 grand to do the job that he wants.

I do agree though, bloody students with their loans from banks it does my head in sometimes it just makes me want to beat them up with my huge fists and then we'll see who wants to take out a loan!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

/ur a moan
    20 hours a week?

God love ya.

20 hours a week?

God love ya.

i can never tell if you are sarcastic or not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Ah when I was in College I got a €4000 grant and worked cash in hand. I was one of those out swaning it up :D

Now I'm not, how dare those damn kids throw around my tax money.

(If I go on the dole how dare they make me queue once a month to get money I'm owed)

And when I'm a pensioner, damn kids don't know how good they have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I was 3 grand in debt after college. All paid off now.:D

Being a student has actually made me more sensible with money now and how you need to put some aside each month. I'd then treat myself now and again with the savings. Lucky i have a job though as i'd be so depressed after 3 years of college and not able to pay off debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

Yeh sure students are still going out constantly but cmon thats what students do. If you look more closely at the situation you will notice that they have less money. Perhaps they are choosing to spend the money they do have on going out instead of buying heaps of new clothes and **** they dont need. Ive also noticed with all the students going abroad, last year everyone afforded it whether they worked, got money from parents or whatever but this year a lot of people cant afford to go abroad for as long as they would like and lots of people i know could ask their parents last year and wouldnt dream of it this year.

Common guys give students a break, they chose to go to College to get educated... The banks made the mistake by giving outrageous loans....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Come on guys give students a break, they chose to go to College to get educated... The banks made the mistake by giving outrageous loans....

FYP, i take payment in kind. :pac:

Volvoboy wrote: »
    FYP, i take payment in kind. :pac:
    How do you want it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

20 hours a week?

God love ya.

Your forgetting the 30 to 40 hours a week of college and more hours on top of that for project work etc that as an engineering student he also does.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

cooperguy wrote: »
    Your forgetting the 30 to 40 hours a week of college and more hours on top of that for project work etc that as an engineering student he also does.
    Use quotes will you, who are you supposed to be talking to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

i can never tell if you are sarcastic or not!
    that's because he's always both and neither. Like Batman.

I think anyone who has 3 jobs is just the kind of person that ruined this country. Who in their right mind needs 3 jobs?? When did Irish people start going into work at time damnit? I thought we deported all ye hard workers in our other recessions, ye're just ruining the buzz of the nation workin' too hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

ScumLord wrote: »
    that's because he's always both and neither. Like Batman.

I think anyone who has 3 jobs is just the kind of person that ruined this country. Who in their right mind needs 3 jobs?? When did Irish people start going into work at time damnit? I thought we deported all ye hard workers in our other recessions, ye're just ruining the buzz of the nation workin' too hard.

For some reason the kind of hard working people dont undersand how the economy works...

Student loans are a huge profit maker for banks and if studends didnt borrow money (and why the hell shouldnt they??) the banks would be in a much worse situation than they are now, unimaginable as it is..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

MIN2511 wrote: »
    How do you want it

No talking and shoes on.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

cooperguy wrote: »

Agreed.