Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay people being "Gay"?

• 14-02-2009 8:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭

Does anybody else feel this way?

A few gay people i know are very nice and aren't like this and I am in no way homo-phobic! (I actually helped someone who was in doubt, come out). But what I don't like about nearly every gay person i meet (more men then women) is the fact that they insist on letting EVERYONE know they're gay with a flamboyant outspoken persona.

For instance (Actually this happened on several occasions), I was walking down the street and a guy I knew was with a few girls (Friends) And he insisted on prancing around like an idiot ballet dancer and shouting to EVERYONE he saw "Hey sexy, fancy s**king my C**k?? I can show you a good time... Yeah I'd say you'd take it up the........" Etc... More sexual profanities. Like, did they need to act like this???

This sparked my anger through watching Julian Clary and Alan Carr on telly and when i was in a pub in ringsend a while ago, there was a comedian playing, whose act was to act gay and tell rude "Blue" jokes and take the piss out of people. "James Brown" was his name. He pulled me up on stage and started rippin the piss out of my cause i look like Buddy Holly. (Which was the only funny thing of the night) If you have to be that way to get laughs, you're a pretty gick comedian.

The flamboyant attitude annoys me because, it seems like they are acting this way, just to get attention!! FINE If you're gay, you're gay. STOP ACTING LIKE AN ASSHOLE!!!!

I'm not painting all gays with the same brush, just those who act this way.

Anybody feel the same way, or do I just know a bunch of Assholes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

OP come out of the closet already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

oh YOU!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"gick" great word in need of more exposure. So to speak.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

agreed OP, you clearly picked Fag o' 25 as a username cos you are 25 and struggling with your sexuality. Maybe 'helping' more of your friends to come out is the best plan for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

You're fooling no one with that name OP. Come out of the closet already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

yea gays tend to be gay the odd time....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

lol.

nice username.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Ha i'm not gay, but people do think this.

I'm not. have a GF.

copacetic wrote: »
    agreed OP, you clearly picked Fag o' 25 as a username cos you are 25 and struggling with your sexuality. Maybe 'helping' more of your friends to come out is the best plan for you?
    You're fooling no one with that name OP. Come out of the closet already
    ClioV6 wrote: »
    lol.

nice username.

ah god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

You tell 'em, er... Fago :confused:

My second name is Fagan. Hence the user name

Fago_25 wrote: »
    Suuuuuuuuure!! ;)

ClioV6 wrote: »
    ah god.

How long did it take me to post that???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Wibbs wrote: »

The words Gick and Gicker were omnipresent when I was younger.

The campaign starts here.

What's your first name? Gabriel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Then why not Fagan 25:confused:

davyjose wrote: »
    How long did it take me to post that???

All within 2 minutes..not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It's an Irish thing. Straight men do it to women as well. We still have a very immature attitude towards sex, even following the demise of the church.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

OP, prepare for lots of "I'm not homophobic but..." jibes at you.

I totally know what you mean: extreme campness can be annoying. Most gay guys are probably inherently a bit camp, but going OTT with it is just attention-seeking. For example, a guy I know - before he came out, it was obvious he was gay. He had a degree of campness which he couldn't help. Then he comes out and it's glitter, bracelets, screechy behaviour. Gets old.

One of my best friends who's gay despises all that OTT camp stuff... at the same time, it's also fairly obvious he's gay - probably due to a very slight camp tendency he has naturally.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

stovelid wrote: »

The words Gick and Gicker were omnipresent when I was younger.

The campaign starts here.

Agreed, pretty sure that when the OP says he has a 'GF'
    he means a Gicker Friend.

As in "WOOOO HOOOO, up the gicker!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I'm not. have a GF.

I don't. Come out of the closet and gimme her. I'm lonely today :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Hahahaha i know James Brown from my local and know he only picks on the "in doubt" guys. Just come out OP......

Then why not Fagan 25:confused:

That's my nickname. Pronounced Faygo

And for the rest, I'm not gay. ha. If i was gay, and if you knew me, you'd know i'd have no prob coming out. But i'm not. "Sorry Guys" :)

I'm not. have a GF.
    Dude, Elton John had a wife.

Go join your buddies outside the closet. Run free.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭KatiexKOUTURE--

Was "asshole" the best way you could think of describing these people :confused:

Dudess wrote: »
    OP, prepare for lots of "I'm not homophobic but..." jibes at you.

I totally know what you mean: extreme campness can be annoying. Most gay guys are probably inherently a bit camp, but going OTT with it is just attention-seeking. For example, a guy I know - before he came out, it was obvious he was gay. He had a degree of campness which he couldn't help. Then he comes out and it's glitter, bracelets, screechy behaviour. Gets old.

One of my best friends who's gay despises all that OTT camp stuff... at the same time, it's also fairly obvious he's gay - probably due to a very slight camp tendency he has naturally.

I'm a wee bit camp myself, and people do think i'm gay. and i'm fine with that. It's rather humourous when girls find out i'm straight.

BTW, What does OP mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

What annoys me is that gay rugby team somewhere down the country.They were in the paper going on about how they are a gay rugby team and all that.

What difference does it make if they are gay or not:confused:

Makes the scrum an altogether different proposition.

Was "asshole" the best way you could think of describing these people :confused:

Ha, sorry bout that.
    davyjose wrote: »
    Dude, Elton John had a wife.

Go join your buddies outside the closet. Run free.....

Loadza straight men have wives and GFs too. and guess what. they're not gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

careful OP, you'll wind up in narnia soon..with all dem other queens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm a wee bit camp myself
    Oooh you're in for it now! :D
    BTW, What does OP mean?
    Opening poster.

The others are only winding you up... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Wibbs wrote: »

This is the second great word you have pointed out so far!!! What's it with you and your literacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

I'm not painting all gays with the same brush, just those who act this way.

Anybody feel the same way, or do I just know a bunch of Assholes?

I don't know if you just know a bunch assholes, but your friends certainly know one.

frobisher wrote: »
    I don't know if you just know a bunch assholes, but your friends certainly know one.

Wooooo. Buuuurn!!!!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

From the Latin, Faganus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

When you say you're not painting gay people with the same brush you kinda are =p

What you're talking about is this one annoying gay guy ! And unless you know a good hundred gay guys and the VAST majority of them act like that you can't complain about gays being "gay" !

I know a good few gays and they're all GRAND except for this one guy, who acts exactly like the guy you describe, BUT he's also an incoherent asshole :) and not cause he's gay

So next time just start a thread about this guy who shouts profanities all the time =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Owww what am i like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

there just, well eh gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

OP you've probably meet lots of gay men who aren;t camp but you didn't know they were gay. I worked with 2 gay lads before. One i never suspected of being gay and the other you knew after a quick conversation.

Could be worse OP, have you ever meet two howya junkie gays? I did in work one time. Imagine two big smelly looking heroin junkies with thick gold rings, wearing tight jeans and have bleached blonde hair (seriously it was the worse dye done ever). It was possibily the weirdest and funniest sight I've seen (hopefully i'll never see again).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'll back him up on this.
    I knew a guy with the same name and nickname.
    I know they're not the same person because the one I knew would be looking to shoot the gays. He also had lots of nazi memorabilia.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    It's an Irish thing. Straight men do it to women as well. We still have a very immature attitude towards sex, even following the demise of the church.
    It's not just Irish. I know a good few gay people.
    Some of them you would never know were gay and others are of the flamboyant type. The latter being extremely irritating.

Yeah, you suck cock. Well done. We don't want to hear about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Terry wrote: »
    I'll back him up on this.
    I knew a guy with the same name and nickname.
    I know they're not the same person because the one I knew would be looking to shoot the gays. He also had lots of nazi memorabilia.

It's not just Irish. I know a good few gay people.
    Some of them you would never know were gay and others are of the flamboyant type. The latter being extremely irritating.

Yeah, you suck cock. Well done. We don't want to hear about it.

Oh, having winessed a Love Parade, I know what you mean. But the idea of screaming self-defining sexual comments across a street, in my book, is a sign of immaturity whether straight or gay. I think I might have misinterpred the rant, but I thought this was where he was going with it.

If he is against outwardly expressive shows of identity, is he equally offended by the expression of, for example, the St Patrick's Day parade?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 inordertobeable

Gay people are humans too. Let he who has not sinned etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Ever notice how straights tend to be boring and like to fight.....

What a stupid observation. Let people be who/what they want to be. I don't go around saying people from d4 with their flamboyant accents annoy me. Grow up.

How can an observation be stupid? It's an observation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Gay people are humans too. Let he who has not sinned etc
    Really? I thought they were a sub-species. A genetic impurity. A Darwinian weakest of the species who are unable to procreate and thus will not survive.

Then I realised I was wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

i agree with op,
    i know a couple of gay blokes and they act completely normal,
    normal in the sense that theyre just average blokes.
    the same as anyone else, act the same as anyone else.

but when i see gay people jump around with that same old high pitched voice with screems accompanying it, i automatically just refer tot hem as gobsh!te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 inordertobeable

Terry wrote: »
    Really? I thought they were a sub-species. A genetic impurity. A Darwinian weakest of the species who are unable to procreate and thus will not survive.

Then I realised I was wrong.

It is ok to think the way you did but it is better you saw that error of your ways. Everyone is equal be you one who wants to lay with an animal or one of the same sex. We are still human.

Let he who has not sinned etc

That'll be me then!
    thanks for the opportunity

I know what the OP is talking about. I've a mate who is gay and although we have seen him with another guy he still insists he's gay. We were at a stag in London a few years ago and we got some strippers back to the hotel room. They done there act and offered a lap dance each so two of the six guys there were to get a lapdance. Up steps my gay friend only too happy to take it and in the process prevent a straight guy getting it.

We reckon he's only bi but enjoys being the only gay in the vilage to admit it. He does it solely for the attention and loves meeting homophones as it gives him a chance to go on about it.

And what is normal ? Do you mean they act straight?

I would say normal is going about your daily business without feeling the need to attract attention towards yourself constantly.