Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you be slightly annoyed/ put out by this also, or is it just me?

• 14-02-2009 6:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

My boyfriend gave me lingerie as my birthday present. I always thought that it was the girl would buy lingerie for HIS birthday. It's nice he got me something at all, I know I should be grateful, but I just wish the money was spent towards one of the countless other things I NEED, but cannot afford right now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Em, I would never ever buy lingerie for myself for HIS birthday, I'd buy him stuff he needs but could not afford.

I suppose if there was specific things you wanted, you could have asked outright for them really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

A bit ungrateful and its nice he made the effort.... Can you bring it back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

OP do I know you??? I just went shopping with my Buddy today and he got his Girl some Lingerie for her BDay!!! Wierd!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

Wtf? :confused:

Why would you buy lingerie for his birthday? Have I missed something here? :confused:

Anyway, I think it's pretty nice he got you lingerie, maybe he was trying to get you something a bit more personal and a bit of a luxury that you wouldn't usually be able to get for yourself?

It may not be exactly what you wanted but it's still a really sweet thought/present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

tbh i could never ever be pissed off or disappointed at a present.

*EDIT* ok i'd understand if he got you a gimp suit and gave it to you around a table of friends or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Sometimes the whole point of a present is something frivilous that you didn't need but it brightens up your day and you will enjoy it, 12 red roses, perfume, Jo Malone candle, sexy undies. Don't be mad at him.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

He probably just wanted to get you something to make you feel special, something you wouldn't get for yourself cos you'd consider it a luxury. He must have gone to some trouble over this - presuming he got you underwear that fits, he must have had to find out your sizes, and don't forget how embarrassing it is for most guys to go into lingerie shops! Maybe next time just drop some heavier hints about the sort of things you want?

And anyway, I would have thought that buying yourself lingerie for his birthday would be a bit scabby - sure, he gets a great night out of it, but in the end you're the one who gets nice underwear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

My boyfriend gave me lingerie as my birthday present. I always thought that it was the girl would buy lingerie for HIS birthday. It's nice he got me something at all, I know I should be grateful, but I just wish the money was spent towards one of the countless other things I NEED, but cannot afford right now.

Talk about looking a gift horse in the mouth! Some people are never happy. It's the thought that counts anyway. Also stop over-analysing things and accept the gift as it was intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

poor guy. he put himself going into a womens lingerie shop to get you a present & now you dont like it.

i dont wear pretty underwear for a man, i wear it for myself to feel good.

dont think youve any reason to be annoyed tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Pretty selfish of him tbh, I'd be annoyed too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 3ugene

Dunno if I'd be annoyed or not, but I have a funny re men buying lingerie for their partners... a friend (male) of mine told me about two girls he carried in his taxi at christmas who were breaking their hearts laughing about a man who had come into their shop that day to buy underwear for his wife for christmas. When the assistant asked him did he know what size bra she took he said yep, 33C!:D

They thought it was hilarious, but the funniest bit of all was when my friend was telling me this story in front of other male drivers and not one of them could understand what I was laughing about! It took me ages to explain it to them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

like silverfish said if there was something you wanted you should of asking him for it, you knew he was going to get you someting, may of well of being something you wanted... guys arent mind readers, no matter how much we want them to be !:P

And no you shouldnt be pissed off, he went out and bought you something , that obv says he fancies you, he wants to see you in them .. (does that sound wrong i dunno)

Op be glad you have a boyf that took his time out to buy you something, they cant get it right the whole time!! put it down a a lesson learnt and next time ASK for what you want !!! .... and just try and enjoy the present you got this yeat;)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

*strikes that off the list of Birthday presents*

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 HippyMosher

Thanks for the replies, I've thought about it and i am much more grateful now!. Sorry, I was being a twat. I didn't actually want anything- it was just that he went out and spent money on something that I do consider a luxury (and it was sweet of him). There are other luxuries I need!. I should have communicated this to him.
    Silverfish wrote: »
    Em, I would never ever buy lingerie for myself for HIS birthday, I'd buy him stuff he needs but could not afford.

I suppose if there was specific things you wanted, you could have asked outright for them really.

I have bought lingerie to surprise HIM for his birthday, (as well as about 3/4 other really cool surprise type things which involved his interests/ adventure etc). Lingerie is nice as an extra bonus to surprise my boyfriend, I think anyway. This is not something I'd wear to feel special, more so to make him feel special if that makes any sense. Apologies, I didn't make that clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Pyr0 wrote: »
    *strikes that off the list of Birthday presents*

:mad:

Yeah you're not allowed be a selfish git! Get over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Omg, I can't actually believe that the OP would buy HERSELF underwear for her boyfriend's birthday! I'd be more put out my someone buying themselves a present for MY birthday than I would if they bought me a present I didn't particularly need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Personally wouldn't like it myself but my other half knows I'm not into that so it wouldn't be an issue.

To all those calling the OP ungrateful, maybe she's just not comfortable with that. Maybe she doesn't like "sexy" lingerie? Maybe she feels like he's telling her he's not 100% happy with her as she is? It'd probably cross my mind, irrational or not.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Take it from me.

You never realise how usefull socks and Underware are as a present until you start buying your own. Since i was about 17/18. i get socks&boxers every christmas, and every christmas they are gratefully accepted.

A woman buying Underware for herself for his birthday is akin to Homer simpson buying that bowling ball for himself for marges birthday, so he'd be out of the house more.

20071126marge.jpg

Piste wrote: »
    Omg, I can't actually believe that the OP would buy HERSELF underwear for her boyfriend's birthday! I'd be more put out my someone buying themselves a present for MY birthday than I would if they bought me a present I didn't particularly need.

Erm, didn't you read my last post?. I went out of my way for HIS birthday- doing different things/ surprises/ adventures which involved his interests and were actually really cool. And yes, after all that I did buy sexy lingerie - not for me ffs- for him!...to surprise him and tease him etc. I haven't worn it since. It was all for HIM. I might be wrong here, but it went down quite well (and I'm sure a lot of guys would like it if their girlfriend did dress up extra nicely and tease them, as a bonus on their birthday).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Yeah, I'd be *chuffed* if my bf bought me lingerie for my bday!! When it comes to presents, I always say that I don't want something I need, I want something I want. And more lingerie is always up there near the top of the list of things I want! If it was all the time, yeah, I'd be peeved, but once off... I'd love that :D

Oh, and btw...
    I haven't worn it since.

This is probably why you got more lingerie. Take the hint!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

I don't see how so many people seem to be missing that her getting lingerie for his birthdayd isn't quite
    "oh... you bought something for yourself... on my birthday..."
    so much as
    "oh! you're all lingeried up for me on my birthday!"

Or am I missing something here? Like, it doesn't sound like she was using his birthday to get herself something nice at all!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

It depends on what sort of underwear it was! If it was cheapish but sexeh underwear I'd be a bit pissed, but if it was something gorgeous like agent provocateur then I'd be delighted and would make sure he got to help me open my present later on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

No, I wouldn't be slightly annoyed or put off by it, but that's probably because I enjoy lingerie and don't wear it very often. So my question initially was, 'Do you enjoy wearing it??'
    This is not something I'd wear to feel special, more so to make him feel special if that makes any sense. Apologies, I didn't make that clear.

But since it's the case that you wouldn't really wear it, I see where you're coming from. Even so, I wouldn't be annoyed, per se . . . I'd just take it as a slightly misguided effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Sammag

I'd be chuffed if my husband bought me (tasteful) lingerie. He has done on a few occasions just out of the blue, I was delighted. Mind you, I am an Agent Provocateur whore and have drawerfuls of the stuff (mainly purchased when drunk and on d'internet :o) so am into that sort of stuff anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Toots85 wrote: »
    It depends on what sort of underwear it was! If it was cheapish but sexeh underwear I'd be a bit pissed, but if it was something gorgeous like agent provocateur then I'd be delighted and would make sure he got to help me open my present later on ;)

I was just about to say this.

If it was red nylon, not great, but something from Myla or Provocateur, shows its not just his own gratification he's thinking of!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

My Dad got my Mam silk lingerie for her birthday.

A year after their divorce.

I suppose it was fitting after the years of getting her tin openers and cheese graters whilst they were married...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I find it a little bit strange how anyone can get so upset about what they got for their birthday, you should be glad you dont have real problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Princessa

I wouldnt buy lingerie for HIS birthday, you might get you undies for yourself for his "Birthday Bang" :p but not as his present. I think it was a lovely gesture, its very hard for a guy to walk into a lingerie shop and buy something like that for his girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Erm, didn't you read my last post?. I went out of my way for HIS birthday- doing different things/ surprises/ adventures which involved his interests and were actually really cool. And yes, after all that I did buy sexy lingerie - not for me ffs- for him!...to surprise him and tease him etc. I haven't worn it since. It was all for HIM. I might be wrong here, but it went down quite well (and I'm sure a lot of guys would like it if their girlfriend did dress up extra nicely and tease them, as a bonus on their birthday).

Well maybe he thought that because you liked lingerie so much that you'd buy it for yourself on his birthday that you'd like it for your birthday too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It's not a hoover or a new coffee machine, clearly he thinks you are sexy and woudl like
    to see you in that, things could be a lot worse.

Now why are you put out exactly ?
    Whats the train of thought which has you miffed ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

Em i see where you are coming from but girl you have to drop hints to get what you want!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I haven't worn it since..

Then why even buy it all if you're only going to wear it once ?!

Typical woman situation there ! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 MintyLynzey

I think if it was me i might be a little let down but not annoyed, i understand it would have been nice to get something you reall needed and coulnt affford for yourself, but it was a nice thought. My boyfriend would never know wat size undies to get me, so fair play that he does! i'd say give him the benifit of the doubt but next time tell him something more personal would be nice..

And talking of the buying lingerie on his birthday. Why does no body else get that, i did if for my boyfriends valentines present and he loved it, we both got loadsa fun outa it and it can be taken out wenever he needs cheering up, or if you just wana feel sexy =)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

I don't agree, but I can see where you're coming from. If you had been dropping hints about a new mp3 player or something, that you needed and couldn't afford, but he turned up with lingerie for 'some fun' later on, I could kinda see where you're coming from.

Then again, I love getting underwear as a present. I can't afford really nice stuff, so when my bf gets if for me, it's a pleasant treat. The OP's boyfriend probably was thinking on the same lines, so I don't think you should be annoyed. However, that's just me.

Besides, it would be much worse if it was an ironing board or deep-fat fryer or something! At least the underwear is something sexy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

i wouldnt be pissed off or annoyed per se but i would feel a little uncomfortable with it, especially if it wasnt of my taste. if it was i would be okay with it.

its the thought that counts afterall....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

I'd expect it anyway from time to time to be honest so no need to pat yourself so hard on the back for that! Of course it's nice after all the other things you did for his birthday.

I don't think there'd be anything wrong with the gift he got you had it been part of a few things/activities ya know? But yeah, on it's own it's a bit weird and pretty selfish on his part.

i wouldnt be pissed off or annoyed per se but i would feel a little uncomfortable with it, especially if it wasnt of my taste. if it was i would be okay with it.

its the thought that counts afterall....

Yeah but if his thought was 'oh well it'll be great for me' (which it obviously part of it) then it's not what counts in this regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

There are other luxuries I need!.

A luxury by it's very definition is something you don't need.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

3ugene wrote: »
    Dunno if I'd be annoyed or not, but I have a funny re men buying lingerie for their partners... a friend (male) of mine told me about two girls he carried in his taxi at christmas who were breaking their hearts laughing about a man who had come into their shop that day to buy underwear for his wife for christmas. When the assistant asked him did he know what size bra she took he said yep, 33C!:D

They thought it was hilarious, but the funniest bit of all was when my friend was telling me this story in front of other male drivers and not one of them could understand what I was laughing about! It took me ages to explain it to them....

Please do explain:(

Do they go up/down in two's? I dunno either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Mr. Frost wrote: »
    Do they go up/down in two's? I dunno either!

Correct!:D There's 32 C then 34C, no 33C!

Galvasean wrote: »
    A luxury by it's very definition is something you don't need.

By dictionary maybe. There are a few things that I feel I 'need' for my field of studies. Those things will help me develop my learning further in something I'm very interested in and will help with career prospects. But I cannot afford them and I'm saving up little by little. They're luxuries at the same time, as it's not like I'm going to die without having them. I guess you like trying to correct people with silly unhelpful comments like that. Can this thread please be closed, it's just getting ridiculous. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

By dictionary maybe. There are a few things that I feel I 'need' for my field of studies. Those things will help me develop my learning further in something I'm very interested in and will help with career prospects. But I cannot afford them and I'm saving up little by little. They're luxuries at the same time, as it's not like I'm going to die without having them.

Ah that makes more sense. Cheers for explaining.
    I guess you like trying to correct people with silly unhelpful comments like that.

You guess too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

OP There may be other reasons you feel your boyfriend is selfish, insensitive or does not really know you. Unless he got you crochless undies and tassles or the like- this is you being unapprecitave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

He was only trying to do something nice , and why would you buy it for his bday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Looks like he was trying to give you a hint ......in a nice way