Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scariest thing you have ever witnessed?

• 14-02-2009 12:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭

Got this idea from the What's the most hideously gruesome thing you've ever seen? thread.

I once witnessed my friends father having a heart attack, it was 11pm i was sleeping over (i was 17) and i heard a SCREAM from her dads room. We both ran in and he was there clutching his chest and struggling to breathe.

I was in bits calling the ambulance- then ran over to her cousins across the road. My ambulance came and my friend was in my arms screaming crying saying "Hes going to die hes going to die" and i was just hugging her and was frozen in fear.

He didnt die- hes fine now- But that night still haunts me- i was never so scared in my whole life.

So whats the Scariest thing you have ever witnessed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

a couple of assults, and a cyclist getting caught under the wheels of a van on balham highroad in sw london about 13/14 years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭badabinbadaboom

Seen a lad stabbed, also a group of knackers with hurleys descending upon me, bizzarely though they ****ed off after about five seconds of talking ****:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

a friend caught his knob in his zipper...

that was pritty scary..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

drunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

George Lee smiling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

I was present at an undersea, unexplained mass sponge migration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

anto-t wrote: »

that was pritty scary..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055429033

whole thread on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

Saw a girl throw herself into a river after at 3pm after a night out coz her boyfriend dumped her

I can't swim so could do nothing (I did call 112)

I'm sure plenty of other people could have help but didn't

She died

That was pretty sh1t

The end, unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Sammag

Got this idea from the What's the most hideously gruesome thing you've ever seen? thread.

I once witnessed my friends father having a heart attack, it was 11pm i was sleeping over (i was 17) and i heard a SCREAM from her dads room. We both ran in and he was there clutching his chest and struggling to breathe.

I was in bits calling the ambulance- then ran over to her cousins across the road. My ambulance came and my friend was in my arms screaming crying saying "Hes going to die hes going to die" and i was just hugging her and was frozen in fear.

He didnt die- hes fine now- But that night still haunts me- i was never so scared in my whole life.

So whats the Scariest thing you have ever witnessed?

My story isn't dissimilar, except it was me, when I was 13 finding my dad having a heart-attack on his bed, I was on my own as my mum and sister were both away in London. Unfortunately he passed away.

He made these funny noises before he died - I've since learnt is called the 'death rattle'.. was very frightening.
    I was terrified when I was running from house to house trying to find a neighbour to help - the only one who was in had to be the bloke who had the 'freaky wife' who came with him to my house and stood at my folk's bedroom door shrieking out in a seriously high pitched manic voice: "OOOoooo Holy Mary Mother of God, Holy Mary Mother of God, Holy Mary Mother of God, Holy Mary Mother of God, saints preserve us, Holy Mary Mother of God" etc etc.. Zzzzzz for about 5 minutes constant. I don't know which has scarred me more, my dad dying or that cow doing her nut...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

A bolt of lightning hit the ground exactly one metre from where I stood once when I was in school and defied orders to not go outside. I was frightened after that.

Similary in school while playing Gaelic football a goalpost collapsed as we were swinging on it and when it started falling I ran and I got the full contents of it down my left shoulder, if my head was inches to the left I would have been killed instantly, my teacher who witnessed it nearly went into convulsions and some of the students went hysterical thinking I had been killed. I wasn't even knocked out but my shoulder hurt like hell.

Ran over a hare in the Mojave Desert (by night) in a car I was a passenger in, I felt so bad as I love those animals.

I would say the lightning incident was bad as was once when I witnessed my fathers tractor taking of in a massive slide down a hill and the brake failed, his quick thinking to drop the transport box and rev it up to take her back into control saved him I reckon.

I have witnessed alot of scarey things and been part of them myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

I walked around a corner and almost into a grizzly bear during the summer. Good thing he was taking a **** or else he may have ate me. It terrifies me just thinking of bears. I hate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Saw Mary Harney get on board a plane once.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

the future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 B.E.S.T.

broken leg(teammate)....., shattered ankle(opponent)......, slashed throat(friend)......., leg caught in fodder beet grinder/auger(my neighbour)........, Smashed thumb(mine)......., Sean Treacy( ex Galway and Loughray hurler smashing kid across the head in a Galway county final in the early ninties(disgusting......game was over as a contest, kid came on as a sub.)
    I was a passenger in a volvo that hit a telephone pole in Portlaoise. The pole saved the kids playing twenty yards past it..............
    Nuff said!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Local Goddess

Having a panic attack, not nice at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

anto-t wrote: »

that was pritty scary..

What were you doing looking at your friends knob?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

li@mo wrote: »
    George Lee smiling

:eek: :eek:

I refuse to believe this happened. Was probably mid sentence on how Ireland is the new Zimbabwe if anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

i saw the future.........and it was egg shaped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Not as bad as some here but probably one occasion where the car I was driving hit black ice on narrow country road and I hit the ditch. The car went up the ditch pitched backwards and started to roll. If it had cleared the ditch on the other side of the road I would have been killed as there was a massive drop off.

Rolled about 3-4 times and came to a stop upside down on the road. Walked out with no injuries thankfully.

I'm thankful there was no-one else in the car with me though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭baglady

what a depressing thread. scariest thing i ever saw was a ghost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭North_West_Art

I was at the scene of a car crash in 1994, it went into a stream on its roof 20ft down, myself and another guy got 3 people out, a woman died in the front seat as the car was overcome by flames

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭ericl

Sammag wrote: »
    My story isn't dissimilar, except it was me, when I was 13 finding my dad having a heart-attack on his bed, I was on my own as my mum and sister were both away in London. Unfortunately he passed away.

He made these funny noises before he died - I've since learnt is called the 'death rattle'.. was very frightening.
    I was terrified when I was running from house to house trying to find a neighbour to help - the only one who was in had to be the bloke who had the 'freaky wife' who came with him to my house and stood at my folk's bedroom door shrieking out in a seriously high pitched manic voice: "OOOoooo Holy Mary Mother of God, Holy Mary Mother of God, Holy Mary Mother of God, Holy Mary Mother of God, saints preserve us, Holy Mary Mother of God" etc etc.. Zzzzzz for about 5 minutes constant. I don't know which has scarred me more, my dad dying or that cow doing her nut...

WTF. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

What were you doing looking at your friends knob?

he came running out in tears... it was pritty bad... we got a ambo out to him.... some were saying that they should get a gardai escort for them.... the crew were laughing at the end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MonicaBing

We hit a roo at just under 100k on an Australian highway, car hit the embankment on the left side and leaned over on its side, stuck like that for 5 hours until some Aboriginals came along and helped us, was in 40+ Degree heat by the time they came and cried like a fecking baba the whole time..:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

my ex after the first time he decided to take pills. me being extremely innocent had no idea what to do with him. he came back to my apartment where i was on my own in a total state, dont know how he made it there really. i had no idea what to do & thought he was going to die (having heard all the horror stories..).

that was a fun night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 sully57

once saw a dead woman been dragged out of the sea in sandycove, she was weighed down with weights, pretty horrific.poor woman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Working in a petrol station one night and seeing two lads running towards the shop with ballaclavas on and armed with huge knives and hammers. turns out they were nice enough and pulled the hollywood-style line "we're only here for the money, dont worry we're not gonna hurt you!". Doesnt sound the same in a dub accent though.

Saw a girl on a bike getting hit by a car. She was fine in the end, but the scary thing was that I could see it was about to happen (she broke the red light, car was just speeding up to make the amber) and I stood there in shock until BANG...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

worse thing i ever seen was when i was on me motorbike. I seen the road ahead of me. Didnt see the corner or the wall though until I woke up. Long walk home that night. Me poor bike was a bit sick after it.

Oh and when I was about 13 and didnt know what went in them blue boxes in the toilets.
    I hate curiosity since then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

sar84 wrote: »
    my ex after the first time he decided to take pills. me being extremely innocent had no idea what to do with him. he came back to my apartment where i was on my own in a total state, dont know how he made it there really. i had no idea what to do & thought he was going to die (having heard all the horror stories..).

that was a fun night.

You were just jealous cos he was having the buzz and you weren't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

When I was about 15/16 I needed to get out of my house for some fresh air despite the torrential rain, I walked down to Dun Laoghaire pier where I saw an elderly man about 70-80 holding what must have been his wife after she slipped and knocked her head on the ground. Wasn't particularly gruesome but it was damn heartbreaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

2 words. durex. broke.

. . . sheer terror!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

If you've ever frightened somebody enough to actually see pure terror on their face and in their eyes, like they think they are going to die right now, you'll won't forget that by god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

You were just jealous cos he was having the buzz and you weren't!

i think the buzz had well passed by the time he got home to me. i was just left to pick up the pieces.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Mother in law walking up the driveway towards the house!

Very fcuking scary! You can see the terror in my frakin eyes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Mhmm...weetabix

When I was lifeguarding in college in England a couple o year ago there was this absolute nightmare pair of kids who were in the water with their dad. Everytime they came in he'd just let them run wild eventhough I'd asked him to calm them down. Anyway the douchebag put in a complaint against me about harassing him and I was overly confrontational n all that molarchy and I got told to just leave it by my boss because in David Lloyds the customer is always right. So anyway it all came to a head when his 3 year old jumped from 1 side of the steps to the other, cracked his head off the corner of the pool and was lying face down with a cloud of blood forming around him. Mr responsible was in the jacuzzi at the time and didnt even see it. I really thought the kid was fooked as I was pulling him out of the water. 21 stitches, a concussion and an absolute bollocking from his wife is what it took to get an apology from that tosser!

Also anytime I see a woman in a D4 tractor anywhere near my car!

And finally the guiness monster I left in the toilet this morning, sheer horror!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

We were playin soccer on an indoor astro pitch once for PE in school. Ball goes up the other end of the pitch from me, and I'm walkin up after it. Watchin play as I'm goin, and i see one lad get tackled near the end wall and go down, as the other lad clears the ball out again. Wasn't payin much attention until I realised no one was lookin at the ball, but runnin over to the guy who got tackled instead. He'd hit his head off the wall and was havin a fit on the floor. No one had a clue what to do. Got the teacher and called an ambulance and he was fine afterwards, but that was some scary sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I saw Red Foreman shoot Peter Wellers' hand right off.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭NickCarraway

Was in a vet's waiting room when I was about 12, a woman came in screaming with a bloody rag wrapped around her hand. She went up to the receptionist and, still screaming, pulled back the bandage to reveal she had chopped off about three of her fingers. The fingers were still there in the bandage! Image pretty much burned into my brain. I should explain there was a GP's surgery upstairs from the vets, though A&E would probably have been a better choice in retrospect - "Sit there and read a magazine, love, the doctor will be out in a mo to sew your fingers back on"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭c-note

a scariest thing i've seen is the top of a bulls head, from a distance of about 2 feet, from a head height of about 5 feet, my legs were at about 7 feet, i was decending and he was advancing.
    he was the one to put me in this uncomprimising position
    thankfully he missed my head and caught my torso, cracked ribs, bad bruising to my body and legs, i got off lightly.
    i'm glad they dehorn bulls.;)
    and kids, stay away from the bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭acid.rain

when i was a kid, i was held up at gunpoint after school. i thought i was going to die cuz i didn't have any money or any thing worth of value. the perp just left me alone and called me a "loser" ... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭deco05ie

I was working as the DP on the new terminator movie and was just adjusting some lights when...........actually never mind its still hard to talk about it:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭scorpioishere

I was coming from a birthday party once in temple bar and we were walking on Eden Quay, i was so shocked and also disgusted to see an irish women drunk and peeing on the laneway. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Saw a young woman having a stroke in TK Maxx at the checkout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

david wrote: »
    Saw a young woman having a stroke in TK Maxx at the checkout
    I bet she got away with it. Anytime i have a stroke the woman makes a complaint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

When I was about 6, coming upstairs and seeing a strange man standing at the sink :eek: ...terrifying, until I learnt it was just my dad after shaving off his beard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

On the way back from a school trip to France, the ferry caught fire. Woken up by shooting and banging. Opened the door and saw flames shooting out of a storeroom about 6ft from our cabin. It was put out by sealing that deck and flooding it. One person died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Phsyche

When i was about 6 i saw a man's head roll out from under the bus after an accident. Remember being fascinated :)

The scariest thing was watching my friend get threatened with a knife under her chin for refusing to sleep with one of the gang members in our neighbourhood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Same response as to the gruesome question.

I'd a Summer job once, washing windows in RTE.
    One day I accidently saw Twink in the nip.

...The horror, the horror...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Sammag

Same response as to the gruesome question.

I'd a Summer job once, washing windows in RTE.
    One day I accidently saw Twink in the nip.

...The horror, the horror...

I'll take your Twink and raise you an in-law... About a year ago during '08 summer here in Oz and I was pottering off to the loo in my husband's parent's house, enroute I saw my mother-in-law at her bedroom door totally starkers - she's 75, I got the full frontal :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭tommmy1979

a couple of years ago i was on the way to the pub with 2 of my mates. We were approaching a bus stop where a woman was waiting with her 2 children. One of the kids was in a buggy and the other one was standing alongside her. As she turned her back from the buggy to fix the coat of the other child the buggy started to role down the footpath towards the road. We were too far away to do anything and too shocked to roar.. luckily the traffic on her sie of the road was jammed up and the buggy came to a stop between two cars after rolling off the footpath... had the traffic been flowing....

I've see much scarier things than this but they're way to personnal to share with the internet.

T