Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday the 13th 2009

• 13-02-2009 8:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

Im just back from the cinema and i have to say EXCELLENT.
    If you are a fan of F13TH you will agree that the Jason is just perfect.
    He stalks, he runs, he owns the forrest of camp crystal lake more effectively setting traps passage ways etc.

The killings are some what new the torture of the "Sleeping Bag Scene" is genius.

What did you think of the film?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Just back, and I agree, it was whopper!

Only bad thing was the stupid factual errors, and a lot of the deaths were blatantly copied from other films

and yeah, the sleepin bag one was cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭G-Virus

unreggd wrote: »
    Just back, and I agree, it was whopper!

Only bad thing was the stupid factual errors, and a lot of the deaths were blatantly copied from other films

and yeah, the sleepin bag one was cool!

Interesting point but thats Jason hes the type of slasher that doesn care how he kills u just once you aint wakin up Sequel?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

*****Some of the content below might be spoilers, don't think so though!!*****

Just back in from seein this and I was suitably impressed. Apart from when it hit run of the mill terrritory in the last 10 - 15 minutes and we followed the formula unfolding it was a nice fresh spin on the series.

Jason has never been so badass!! The guy was a juggernaut! The kills were very creative and kudos to Marcus Nispel for adding a bit of atmosphere with the lovely opening 20 minute prologue, it was awesome!

I'm not a huge fan of the Friday series, I always saw the original as a terrible Halloween cash-in but I will merit it with opening the door for blood filled commercial horror films in the States and in turn, some of the great nasties we've seen in the last 30 years. Therefore, the notion of a remake never really bugged me. However I've seen most of the series and at least enjoyed it if not obsessed so I imagine this will be lapped up by Jason fans.

Loved the whole tongue in cheek feel aswell, wise choice.

I thought it was great. I've been a big fan of the series since I was a kid when I used to rent a few out every Friday the 13th and scare the **** out of myself.

It did exactly what it said on the tin. No messing around with the character or the usual plot. Don't expect a masterpiece or anything like that. If you didn't like the originals then you probably wont like this.

Would defo give it an 8/10(not in general but as far as the series is concerned!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

G-Virus wrote: »
    Im just back from the cinema and i have to say EXCELLENT.
    If you are a fan of F13TH you will agree that the Jason is just perfect.
    He stalks, he runs, he owns the forrest of camp crystal lake more effectively setting traps passage ways etc.

The killings are some what new the torture of the "Sleeping Bag Scene" is genius.

What did you think of the film?

Is that "sleeping bag" scene any similar to the one in Jason X? :D

DarkJager wrote: »
    Is that "sleeping bag" scene any similar to the one in Jason X? :D
    nope

but still rappeh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

20m opening day, expected 50m weekend, incredible numbers in America for this. Gigantic franchise reboot :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Maybe we might get a decent Nightmare on Elm Street reboot next??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Thats already on the way, I think the Freddie casting will be most important but CGI these days should make the dream sequences look insane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Its interesting to me that so far everyone on here thats seen it thought it was great.Below are some quotes/reviews from a horror site I post on.
    Saw it last night and it sucked donkey balls.
    I tried to forget about it being a remake and it was pretty easy, more like a 'direct to video' sequel really.
    Some things really pissed me off in it...the music, the iconic Manfredini theme appears at the very beginning and at the very end....its like putting the famous Jaws theme in the credits only.
    'Jason' looks like ****, never looks right although sack head Jason looked ok, the hockey mask just didn't look right.
    Some of the deaths were ok although most were very very average stabbings.
    The cast....yes I wanted them all to die.
    The 'frights' were straight out of any big production horror these days....make it as loud as possible and try and scare people. Not scary at all

This movie never felt like a F13

As for the gore...a big juicy meh from me.

Jason and Pamela would be turning in their graves

2/10

I went in with extremely low expectations and it ended up being worse than i thought.

I don't think this movie had any redeeming qualities.

None of the kills were special. Jason was competent but I was bored with him.

Acting was atrocious as expected. And it wasn't so bad it's good. it was just awful.

I wanted to walk out the entire movie and wish i would have.

One of the opening lines of the film was stolen or an homage to Blue Velvet "Heiniken? Pabst Blue Ribbon!" made me so furiously angry i wanted to headbutt the nearest 14 year old

This movie has officially killed the franchise. This is the equivelent to Batman & Robin of the franchise.

Pure garbage. If you haven't seen it, don't. You don't need to form your own opinion. Don't support this.
    This was the biggest let down for me. A slap in the face for true fans. This has to be the worst horror related film I have seen in years. Do not support this ****. It was made for junior high kids who have never seen a horror film.

There was one mildly positive response.
    Just got back from seeing this and yeah...it wasn't great. Just what you'd expect. Teenagers getting drunk/high, having sex and running around in the woods. One or two mildly funny parts (the whole lot could be considered a comedy really) but for the most part it was boring. The deaths were the highlight, simply because you wanted them to die.

All taken from http://www.toetagpictures.com/forums/index.php?topic=4008.15

The above quotes are enough for me to form an opinion.I wouldnt even be arsed downloading this garbage.

nedtheshed wrote: »
    The above quotes are enough for me to form an opinion.I wouldnt even be arsed downloading this garbage.

thats retarded

You're choosing 2 negative reviews, who are prob from eejits who automatically hate remakes, over several positive ones posted here, and you havent even seen the film yourself!

cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,690 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Considering Jason is supposed to severely mentally disabled, i found his expert hunting and tracking skills to be a bit off. Also, they tried to lay down a rule that Jason was protecting his territory (old woman say outsiders don't know where to walk) but if he was only protecting his territory; why did he go to the house, they had not trespassed, so what was his reason for going on a bloody rampage? Why did Clay and the young one run from the house, to the camp, if they were trying to get away from him "He had gone this way". Yeah, you'll get away from him easily by going to his house... Also, why did they dump his body in the lake, surely they would have though having his body would be some sort of proof it wasn't them that went on the killing spree.

unreggd wrote: »
    thats retarded

You're choosing 2 negative reviews, who are prob from eejits who automatically hate remakes, over several positive ones posted here, and you havent even seen the film yourself!

cop on

Let me see,Im choosing to believe the opinion of people that I know,people that love the same kind of movies I do and whose opinions I value more than ANY reviewer out there over peoples opinions on here and that makes me retarded.
    Pray tell,why is that?There is no need to be insulting,all Im doing is posting the negative reviews in response to the positive ones,yet that makes me retarded?.Your wit and logic truly is something to behold.Well done Sir,well done.

******starts slow clap for unreggd******

BTW unreggd,I posted 3 damning reviews of the movie,not 2.And yet Im retarded.
    Good lad.

As I said, you posted 2 negative ones

the 3rd was just sarcastic / apathetic

I was talking about the way you formed your opinion. You went far enough to call it garbage when you havent even seen it

That, imo, = retarded

Ok lads relax for a min first of all go see the film your self before you take peoples advice then post ur view im not being smart its just u might disagree with them.

Second of all somebody mentioned The Nightmare On Elm Street Remake.....You heard it here Ed Norton to play Freddie (Good Choice) and i agree with the cgi today it would be amazing. I will also make A new thread for nightmare on elm street please feel free to postur ideas there too.

Heres a question would anybody think that Friday the 13th would have been good in 3D? They did it originally with friday the 13th part 3

Can you not count/read or something unreggd???.There are THREE negative ones and ONE apathetic one.

As for calling it garbage,I have no doubt in my mind that it is garbage.As Ive said,the people I quoted are completly on my wave lenght in terms of what makes a good horror movie and what doesnt.They have said it is garbage so that is good enough for me.Jesus the trailer alone shows that its a formulaic suckfest,same as 99.9% or remakes/re-imaginings that have appeared over the last number of years.You have your thoughts/opinions and you are more than entitled to them,same as I am entitled to make my own assertations.

i have to say when you start letting people decide on wat films YOU like then there not point in even replyin to you but.......Do me a favour wat was the last horror or slasher you thought was good?

Im not sure what you mean by that,where did I say I let people decide what I do and dont like?
    If 4 or 5 people you know and whose judgements you trust,that have never steered you wrong when it comes to horror movies plus the fact their top 10 horror movies are remarkably similar to your own told you a movie sucked ass,particularly a movie like the FT13th reboot/re-imagining/remake or whatever the hell its supposed to be,would you not put credence into what they are saying?The feedback/reviews I posted earlier are from people exactly like I just described so Im going to go with them on this and not waste my money paying to see this film.

The last new horror's that I enjoyed were Philosophy of a Knife and Fetus.They are the most recently released.
    The most recent slasher I enjoyed was Murder Set Pieces and it pisses all over every single big budget Hollywood remake of the last 5 or 6 years.

Im a purest when it comes to horror movies in that CGI has no place(for the most part).
    CGI is fine for flashy Hollywood dross like Miami Vice,Transformers or the new Indiana Jones but I dont care for it at all,its invasive and just looks crap(see the Midnight Meat Train for a prime example of this).The 3 movies I mentioned above all have out standing special effects and everyone of them are man made.Murder Set Pieces has some of the best special effects Ive ever seen and are every bit as good as anything Tom Savini or Lucio Fulci ever created.It was shot for around 2 million dollars where as Midnight Meat Train cost around 15 million dollars to make.Why couldnt the makers of MMT throw a few hundred grand to Greg Nicetero or Screaming Mad George and let them do the gore effects???Film makers have become lazy and Hollywood is devoid of ideas.Someone like Eli Roth gets alot of flack but FFS at least he tried something a bit different unlike Nispel who is taking genre classic movies,sodomising them and shipping them out where they are lapped up by drones.
    Take a movie like The Thing,it is almost 30 years old yet it is cited time and time again in top ten horror movie lists.I have no doubt it will be remade (yes,I know it is a remake of The Thing from another world)and I am also in no doubt that it will be chock full of CGI and you know what,it will be garbage too!Take the head spider scene,one of the creepiest scenes ever filmed but you can bet your bottom dollar if and when its remade,there will be a nice flashy CGI spider and it will look ****e.

Hollywood horror is dead IMO.Its going to take something completely new and fresh,like Scream did in the 90s,to kick start it again but I fear thats not going to happen for a long time.Sure why would it when all the money men have to do is take classic movie,put some big titted bimbos and some dope smoking jocks in it,add a hip hop soundtrack and lash it out where it will make an obscene amount of money playing to gormless American teens.

If 4 or 5 people you know and whose judgements you trust,that have never steered you wrong when it comes to horror movies

But how would you know if they were right if you dont watch the films they un-recommend?

nedtheshed...those reviews could have been youtube comments they're so inept.

Go see it or stfu.

Stop gaying the thread.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »

Go see it or stfu.

Stop gaying the thread.

Good point i have friends that all have the same taste as me but you can bet ur ass that if they tell me a film was no good id still want to see it for my own opinion but thats me,

Horror films are movies that strive to elicit responses of fear, horror and terror from viewers. Their plots frequently involve themes of the supernatural. Horror movies also usually include a central villain. Early horror movies were largely based on classic literature of the gothic/horror genre, such as Dracula, Frankenstein, The Wolf Man, Phantom of the Opera and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Later horror films, in contrast, often drew inspiration from the insecurities of life after World War II, giving rise to the three distinct, but related, sub-genres: the horror-of-personality Psycho film, the horror-of-armageddon Invasion of the Bodysnatchers film, and the horror-of-the-demonic Hellraiser film. The last sub-genre may be seen as a modernized transition from the earliest horror films, expanding on their emphasis on supernatural agents that bring horror to the world.[1]
    Horror films have been criticized for their graphic violence and dismissed as low budget B-movies and exploitation films. Nonetheless, all the major studios and many respected directors, including Alfred Hitchcock, Roman Polanski, Stanley Kubrick, Francis Ford Coppola, and George Romero have made forays into the genre. Serious critics have analyzed horror films through the prisms of genre theory and the auteur theory. Some horror films incorporate elements of other genres such as science fiction, fantasy, mockumentary, black comedy, and thrillers.

All of the horros nedtheshed mentioned are mostly disturbing above are all types of horror .

As opposed to your sterling effort ya?
    I thought it was great. I've been a big fan of the series since I was a kid when I used to rent a few out every Friday the 13th and scare the **** out of myself.

It did exactly what it said on the tin. No messing around with the character or the usual plot. Don't expect a masterpiece or anything like that. If you didn't like the originals then you probably wont like this.

Would defo give it an 8/10(not in general but as far as the series is concerned!)

Mark Kermode must be quaking in his boots.

I will have this movie shortly and will watch it in the next day or 2. Maybe Ive been unfairly critical/judgemental and if that is the case I will hold my hands up and admit to liking it.Ive yet to be proven wrong in any assumptions Ive made about recent remakes however and if its as bad as Ive been led to believe then I will give my reasons why I think its bad.No one here has given reasons as to why they thought it was a good movie which I find interesting.The whole "its good cos I said it is" doesnt really hold water for me,at least the criticisms I posted gave reasons why they thought it sucked.Anyway,no more from me on the subject until I watch it.

its not jsut about this film, its about your judgement in general

You said if your mates from the other forum say a film is crap, that you wont watch it
    Our views dont need be in depth, as we've watched the films ourselves

I dont even understand why you ever posted in this forum, just droppin in to let us know you wont be watchin it?

And even now if you do watch it, you'll be watching it hoping its as bad as you expected

and yes, its hollywood horror. You shouldnt try to take from a film something it never set out to give

again, you can have your own opinion

all I was saying is that you should never leave it up to others

You should always watch a film yourself. At least then you'll know you came to the conclusions yourself

Hence my new rule of no reading reviews before films

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I love horror films, they are my favourite type of films and I make a point of watchinga s many as I can even direct to DVD sequels and the likes. This film is very very poor. It's full of boring and annoying characters, lots of "funny" scenes that were just cringeworthy, stupid sex scenes, predictable jump scenes, crap kill scenes and was just a total let down.

And there is no way its a remake, it's a sequel and a poor one at that.

Kingp35 wrote: »
    I love horror films, they are my favourite type of films and I make a point of watchinga s many as I can even direct to DVD sequels and the likes. This film is very very poor. It's full of boring and annoying characters, lots of "funny" scenes that were just cringeworthy, stupid sex scenes, predictable jump scenes, crap kill scenes and was just a total let down.

And there is no way its a remake, it's a sequel and a poor one at that.

First of all its supposed to be full off annoyong characters every friday the 13th has been like this from friday 1-jason x all horror movies have their stupid characters scream, halloween,freddie......FACT.
    There are sex scenes in every friday the 13th and you being such a big horror fan should know this:Dand the funny scenes are called horror humour yet again in most horror movies.Crap Kill scenes i dont agree on.
    I dont want to give anythin away until nedtheshed has watched it.

And it is a remake the sameway halloween was a remake i wont say why because again some people have yet to see it. Can i ask you a question wat are your top 5 horror films?

I dont want to give anythin away until nedtheshed has watched it.

So it's okay to ruin it for the rest of us yet to see it.

While I don't agree with nedtheshed's outlook on the film and his overall hatred of remakes and Hollywood horror it is his opinion and he's entitled to it.

sorry i didn mean it that way I WONT RUIN IT FOR ANYONE sorry again just everyone is just as important

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Worst thread ever.

mike65 wrote: »
    Worst thread ever.

thanks mike now goodbye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

/waves.

mike65 wrote: »
    Worst thread ever.

With insightful and thought provoking replies like that its easy to see how you have topped the 40,000 post mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I had pretty low expectations, so it wouldn't have been hard to exceed them, but I honestly thought this wasn't a bad effort at all.

Jason is portrayed very well, he has a really commanding presence. I thought it pretty much stuck to the old Friday formula (annoying characters, crappy dialogue, dark tongue-in-cheek moments) so I don't think it was too far removed from the old movies in that sense; my main criticism is that the deaths were pretty mundane for the most part (with one notable exception:
    sleeping bag death
    . It's gotten criticism for changing some pretty fundamental things
    (most notably the change in killer)
    but I thought it dealt with those aspects quite well.
    I really liked the opening that re-visited the final moments of the original with Mrs. Voorhees. The ending was also a nice homage I thought.

It's not without its flaws (then neither were the oldies in fairness) but worth the watch.

Whats with all this low expectation bull****? What exactly WERE you expecting?

Friday the 13th = Jason + Kids + Knifes = fun.

Were the other 11 masterpieces????

Christ. Throw your little miss sunshine loving hat at the door on the way in.

Whats with all this low expectation bull****? What exactly WERE you expecting?

Friday the 13th = Jason + Kids + Knifes = fun.

Were the other 11 masterpieces????

Christ. Throw your little miss sunshine loving hat at the door on the way in.

Jason X and Freddy vs Jason technically aren't Friday the 13th.Friday the 13th is one of the on franchise were eventually everyone dies no one gets away. Im not having a go at anyone so dont take it to the heart. Jason is the king of slasher.

Friday the 13th broke the record for the highest gross opening of a horror movie in america :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I haven't seen it but from what I have seen from reviews it is by no means a bad effort at all. However one reviewer said it was good but not as good as the Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake so I have to question his judgement.:pac:

Unfortunately though I don't think I'll be taking a look in the cinema, Gran Torino all the way on Friday!:D

The texas chainsaw remake was excellent but a chainsaw vs a machete its obivous wat killing would be more effective THE CHAINSAW plus it was definatley more disgusting than F13TH Remake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭deathstarkiller

I really enjoyed it. It didn't have the same atmosphere as the old ones but the kills were really vicious and there were plenty. It wasn't a CGI fest and thank god it wasn't PG13. I wasn't expecting high art or anything like it. The best slasher movie of them all is the original Halloween imo, it was scary, well made and had a really sinister atmosphere. This however is a remake/reimagining of a series of movies that really were just about the kills and pardon my french, tits. On that level this movie delivered. I just hope that anyone who wants to give it a chance sees it in the cinema and not some dodgy copy. For me alot of the enjoyment I get from these movies is seeing them in a packed cinema with (sorry ladies) women screaming at the kill / jumpy scenes. I get a great kick out of that. The 3D in My Bloody Valentine caused a crazy amount of screaming in the screening I seen.
    Probably the only original thing about the old Friday the 13th's was that in the first movie it was the mother who was the killer. I like that with this they got the first movie and the second movie where Jason wore a sandbag out of the way in flashbacks and just went straight to when he started wearing the iconic hockey mask. It reminded me somewhat of how in the My Bloody Valentine remake basically had the original movie happen in a flashback so instead of a remake it was like it was a sequel to a remake of the original.
    By the way, just for your information I'm a fan of all sorts of horror movies from the best to the worst. My favourite horror movie of all time would be The Thing (1982). I have been to every Horrorthon since they began, I even used to go to the horror movie club in the IFI before it even became Horrorthon. Oh how I love that weekend every year, even the crap ones can be enjoyed cause of the atmosphere of everyone laughing at them.
    Sorry, I can ramble sometimes. :)

Watched this last night.

This was actually worse than I was expecting.It had every horror cliche around in it.
    The girl with problems
    sick mother
    ,her understanding boyfriend,the slutty girl,the geeky guy,a gormless store clerk,an old person living in the backwoods that warns that everyone will die,the strong silent rebel type with a motorbike,the asshole rich kid.Absolutely chock full of it.

The "scares" were so telegraphed a blind man wearing sunglasses could have seen them coming.

The "humour" sounded like it was taken out of American Pie part 27. "I dont eat fish" slutty girl - "thats not what you told me". arf arf arf......

The gore/kills. Eh,what gore???Virtually none in it and what was in it was crap.The kills were sofaking boring and have been seen countless times before.Nispel had the set up for what could have been 2 decent kills
    the circular saw is very prominent in 1 shot when the asian guy is in the tool shed and the wood chipper we see near the beginning
    but neither are used.What was the point in
    having Jason get a little head wound at the end when just as easily one of the hapless victims could have been put through it :confused:
    Also,the "sleeping bag" scene.I was hoping for something cool here as a few people had mentioned it was awsome.WTF?????How was that awesome?
    Setting a bag thats hanging from a tree on fire is something anyone could do
    There wasnt an over use of CGI but what was in it
    (the axe coming through the black guys chest or the girl getting the machete in the top of the head)
    looked crap.How in 2009 can the special effects in a horror movie look so much crappier than the original source material that is almost 30 years old?????

Just on the cast.Obviously with these types of movies you dont expect an Ed Norton in American History X performance but any decent horror movie gets a reaction from the audience towards its cast,we either empathise with them or are willing them to die with increasing brutality but with this movie you simply dont care what happens to any of them.They were completly without charm and just plain boring.

On Jason,Derek Mears plays a competent killer.He is a very imposing guy and he is the perfect size but I have to say
    for a mentally damaged psychotic mass murderer that came back from the dead,he is pretty smart.A network of underground tunnels with electricity running,warning bells set up,it just doesnt work

There is a reason this franchise died on its arse in the mid 80s,the movies became boring,repetive and increasingly ridiculous-Jason Takes Manhattan anyone- and this one is the worst sequel yet.This is a movie that is absolutely devoid of any charm at all,its boring,hackneyed and a prime example of the retardation and laziness that exists in mordern mainstream horror.The fact its had the biggest opening for a horror movie in the States ever speaks volumes about the American movie viewing public and the state of horror in 2009.

1/10 - and thats just for Derek Mears been a good choice for the role

I agree with a lot you said."I have been to every Horrorthon since they began, I even used to go to the horror movie club in the IFI before it even became Horrorthon."How often are these on and are they on in dublin?

The texas chainsaw remake was excellent but a chainsaw vs a machete its obivous wat killing would be more effective THE CHAINSAW plus it was definatley more disgusting than F13TH Remake

Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake is crap too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

I only saw the first Friday 13th and didn't really like it. Though it was largely due to the fact it looked very dated and the acting in parts was atrocious. I find it hard to like many of the older horrors because of this dated look. I did see Freddy v Jason though and thought it was done really well the way they wove the stories together.
    I much prefer the newer movies where the acting, for the most part, is quite decent. And in some movies has fairly top actors. I'd be interested in this even though it doesn't stick to the original story.

I agree with a lot you said."I have been to every Horrorthon since they began, I even used to go to the horror movie club in the IFI before it even became Horrorthon."How often are these on and are they on in dublin?

Thanks. They're on every Halloween bank holiday weekend in the IFI. They can be extreme but fun weekends. Almost an endurance test. Originally I think the first was just Sat and Sun. Now it's 2 movies on Thursday night, about 5 movies on Fri, 7 to 8 on Sat, Sun and Mon. Usually there's aroun 28 movies over the weekend and there's everything from old classics, cheap crap, new crap, new oddities, new good movies and the opening and ending movies are usually fairly big movies. There's also a surprise movie on Sunday that's usually something that hasn't been released yet.
    Here's a thread on it.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055379164&highlight=horrorthon
    Here's their site with listings from previous years.
    http://www.horrorthon.com/

Watched this last night.

This was actually worse than I was expecting.It had every horror cliche around in it.
    The girl with problems
    sick mother
    ,her understanding boyfriend,the slutty girl,the geeky guy,a gormless store clerk,an old person living in the backwoods that warns that everyone will die,the strong silent rebel type with a motorbike,the asshole rich kid.Absolutely chock full of it.

The "scares" were so telegraphed a blind man wearing sunglasses could have seen them coming.

The "humour" sounded like it was taken out of American Pie part 27. "I dont eat fish" slutty girl - "thats not what you told me". arf arf arf......

The gore/kills. Eh,what gore???Virtually none in it and what was in it was crap.The kills were sofaking boring and have been seen countless times before.Nispel had the set up for what could have been 2 decent kills
    the circular saw is very prominent in 1 shot when the asian guy is in the tool shed and the wood chipper we see near the beginning
    but neither are used.What was the point in
    having Jason get a little head wound at the end when just as easily one of the hapless victims could have been put through it :confused:
    Also,the "sleeping bag" scene.I was hoping for something cool here as a few people had mentioned it was awsome.WTF?????How was that awesome?
    Setting a bag thats hanging from a tree on fire is something anyone could do
    There wasnt an over use of CGI but what was in it
    (the axe coming through the black guys chest or the girl getting the machete in the top of the head)
    looked crap.How in 2009 can the special effects in a horror movie look so much crappier than the original source material that is almost 30 years old?????

Just on the cast.Obviously with these types of movies you dont expect an Ed Norton in American History X performance but any decent horror movie gets a reaction from the audience towards its cast,we either empathise with them or are willing them to die with increasing brutality but with this movie you simply dont care what happens to any of them.They were completly without charm and just plain boring.

On Jason,Derek Mears plays a competent killer.He is a very imposing guy and he is the perfect size but I have to say
    for a mentally damaged psychotic mass murderer that came back from the dead,he is pretty smart.A network of underground tunnels with electricity running,warning bells set up,it just doesnt work

There is a reason this franchise died on its arse in the mid 80s,the movies became boring,repetive and increasingly ridiculous-Jason Takes Manhattan anyone- and this one is the worst sequel yet.This is a movie that is absolutely devoid of any charm at all,its boring,hackneyed and a prime example of the retardation and laziness that exists in mordern mainstream horror.The fact its had the biggest opening for a horror movie in the States ever speaks volumes about the American movie viewing public and the state of horror in 2009.

1/10 - and thats just for Derek Mears been a good choice for the role

NED its ur opinion but my opinion on urs is for someone who is a horror fan you haven a clue i quoted everything u said cause i totally disagree with you and im sure alot of people will. Everthing from the line about eating fish thats FRIDAY THE 13TH DO YOU NOT GET IT??????

thank you very much thats great

Sigh,I disagree with your opinion of this movie,give numerous reasons as to why I thought this movie sucked and yet I havnt a clue???
    Could you explain why that is please?
    You rightly pointed out I am a horror fan.Ive been watching horror movies for over 20 years and have probably forgotten more movies Ive seen than I remember so why is my opinion of this movie not valid?
    Because you and others thought this movie was great that means Im wrong because I hated it?

A little more depth and explanation if you wouldnt mind.

Could you also explain the below sentence.
    thats FRIDAY THE 13TH DO YOU NOT GET IT?????

I do get it,its a Friday the 13th movie.What is your point.As I said in my review,this franchise died on its arse in the 80s with good reason.It became stale and devoid of any new ideas.The new version is just a cynical cash in and in that respect it served its purpose - to make money - but that doesnt make it a good movie IMO.Its very easy to disagree with me without giving ANY reasons as to why its so good.The reasoning of because its a Friday the 13the movie just doesnt cut it.
    Like the Nightmare on Elm Street franchise (with the exception of New Nightmare,and maybe Dream Warriors) the sequels became crapper and crapper as they went on and they eventually stopped making them because they were sh1te.
    This movie isnt a remake,its a quasi sequel,does NOTHING new and is lacklustre in every conceivible way.If it was a remake,then the obvious shortcomings could perhaps be overlooked but the fact they show Jasons mother and talk about his rampage 20 years earlier and yet have the same boring ass machete kills that we have seen over and over again shows Nispels ineptitude as a director.
    Maybe you could stretch it to say its a tribute to the franchise but even if it is,its not a good one.
    Take a movie like Gutterballs.It is an out and out homage to 80s slasher movies,from the cover art,to the charectors and their mannerisms.The difference with it is that Ryan Nicholson is a talented film maker and is hugely inventive when it comes to blood letting and has an obvious affinity and love for horror cinema but Marcus Nispel is a talentless hack that I wouldnt let near a Troma movie

Ah lads there's no right or wrong here. No point in saying a movie is ****e just cause you don't happen to like it and vice versa. Like Dirty Harry said best, 'Opinions are like assholes, everyone's got one'.
    I really enjoyed it but I can also see why someone would hate it. I'm a horror movie fan but I can enjoy a really well made intelligent psychological horror movie as much as a silly fun gory one. I guess I'm not so discerning but what the hell I enjoy what I enjoy. I can see why some people would have wanted this to be something new but then why call it Friday the 13th? It's Friday the 13th the poor little brother of the Halloween series that cared about nothing more than the kills, that's it, no more. I enjoyed most of the original Friday the 13th's. The Freddy movies are great fun. Sure I'd only count the first and New Nightmare as actual horror movies, the rest are more fun horror comedies but I loved them all.
    I am a fanboy though. Here's a picture of me with Freddy at a sci-fi convention last year. :D
    n7862491037087944193mr4.th.jpg

I agree.I gave my reasons as to why I thought it was crap but my point was no one so far has been able to give reasons as to why they thought it was so good.
    If I simply posted "its crap" and didnt give any other feedback on why I thought it was crap what kind of a reaction would I get.
    Movie tastes obviously vary from person to person.I couldnt care less who likes what but what I do care about is when people tell me I havent a clue simply cos I thought a movie was crap.

Cool pic BTW.

Thanks.
    I pointed out how I like the double flashback thing they did so they could go straight to the hockey mask Jason. I liked how ferocious he was, he just took people out with very little messing around. I liked alot of the kills.
    Highlights for me. Girl under the pier and the machete sticking into the top of her head, I wasn't sure if the main girl would survive - she didn't. :) The sleeping bag kill. I didn't like how they telegraphed how Jason would be defeated. The minute the camera focused on the woodchipper earlier on I just thought of the air tank in Jaws.

this franchise died on its arse in the 80s with good reason.It became stale and devoid of any new ideas.

Are you serious? There was no lack of ideas, they were just all shít :P