Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lawless Ireland

• 13-02-2009 12:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭

Sounds pretty bloody good, hope its as good as it sounds and really looking forward to the episode showing football hooligans which I was shouted down for even suggesting exists.

Monday 9pm TV3

"Brian O'Donovan investigates the increase in public-order offences and antisocial behaviour in various forms, from armed robberies to football hooliganism and racist attacks. He begins with a look at the rise in alcohol-related hospital admissions and drunken street violence"
    (http://entertainment.ie/tv/display.asp)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Eru wrote: »
    Monday 9pm TV3

That is the only reson it may not be very good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Would you prefer it was on Sky?

Elitist now?

I thought the Paul Williams one was quite good, even if he himself is a self promoting twat. He Used to be good before he started believing his own hype.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

cant wait to see it. Wanna see if i know anyone in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

why do i have the feeling, that it will be a collection of blurry cctv, and youtube clip's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

Wonder has he been on a ride along on Saturday night, city centre in a Paddy Wagon? Have to say tv ads look good though!

Would you prefer it was on Sky?

Elitist now?

Well, RTE or yes Sky! Why? Because TV3 isn't exactly high up on my list of quality programme makers.

Now if you'll excuse me, I must watch the latest TV series that I have recorded through Sky+.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I will be watching it. I thought the Paul Williams series on TV3 was very insightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

happyhappy wrote: »

the programme then ended with the people that work in treatment centres saying how bad the problem was.

I didn't see the programme in quiestion, slightly off topic, but can you remember which treatment centre it was? I dislike the author so I generally avoid those programmes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

15 minutes now.

does look pretty good I have to say, even though I despise those voice overs trying to go all hollywood when hyping it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Wow, it's good stuff!

Two women fighting in a pub over a man. Apparently, he was married to the failed pop star and left her for the girl from the Leerdammer Cheese ad.

Oops. Corrie is still on.

Sorry! Just saw the original thread.
    Mods, do yer worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

part 2 will be showing some of the more shocking street-fights from across Ireland that have made it onto the internet. Most I would say have appeared on this site at one stage or another

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

The Garda in that video is some man it has to be said.
    fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Terrible tbh. Not a scratch on the UK equivalents from what I've seen so far.

Are the Gardaí or TV3 averse to having a camera crew actually travel WITH them? Tbh I think TV3 are scraping the barrel with this many youtube clips.

When this finishes, switch to Sky1 and have a look at night cops, 'tis how such a programme is meant to be made.

Does anyone know if it is a once-off or will it be on for a series of weeks? I never managed to see any adverts for it

pa990 wrote: »
    why do i have the feeling, that it will be a collection of blurry cctv, and youtube clip's
    Right on the money so far!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭AFC_1903

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Does anyone know if it is a once-off or will it be on for a series of weeks? I never managed to see any adverts for it
    First of five programmes, same time each week as far as I remember...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

Rubbish!

deadwood wrote: »
    Oops. Corrie is still on.

I have lost a lot of respect for you deadwood.. is Emmerdale not good enough for you!?

eroo wrote: »
    Well, RTE or yes Sky! Why? Because TV3 isn't exactly high up on my list of quality programme makers.

Bump.

AFC_1903 wrote: »
    First of five programmes, same time each week as far as I remember...

4 more episodes like this :rolleyes: but I suppose even if only a small percentage change their attitude / behaviour / actions once alcohol has been consumed then I suppose that's something

But I wouldn't hold yer breath either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Oh dear, did I miss it?

Never mind, I'll park up in Cork City next Saturday night at about 03.00 with some popcorn & fizz & watch it live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

hi everyone,
    i thought this programme was very weak, sensationalist crap...the footage was recorded over the last 4-5 years and each clip was often an isolated case the statistics used were never put in the context of how many people actually go out drinking each weekend in this country..which if was done would provide data to more accurately represent irelands drinking culture...
    not saying everything is perfect but this programme was low grade crap...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Anyone know when the first ep might be repeated? Thanks

Random wrote: »
    It's repeating on me already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

A search of digiguide indicates no repeats in the next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭jayj224

I might be hung for saying this but can i just say it made the Gardai look less competent than they are. The events were incidents dragged from you tube but did not show the number of Gardai in towns and cities that were actually keeping a lid on this drink fuelled behaviour. Nobody puts videos of a good level of police presence on youtube do they?

I personaly feel the police do a good job in Dublin on the weekends and keep the city relatively safe but the programme made it appear as if we were having city wide riots every weekend.

While their stats correct me if i'm wrong are bit off. It said their were huge rises in anti social behaviour charges etc. but these i presume are from all different times of the day not just at night aren't they.

Also if this is the carnage they are producing pulling stuff off the internet to produce tv, i would becarefull what is discussed as this maybe his next source of reliable information

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭AFC_1903

Trojan911 wrote: »
    Oh dear, did I miss it?

Never mind, I'll park up in Cork City next Saturday night at about 03.00 with some popcorn & fizz & watch it live.

Live shows can be found all around the country!

The street shows can also be found in Dublin, Tralee, Galway, Limerick, Athlone.... And at a town near you! :D:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Good god that was terrible. Switched it off after less than 10 minutes. The only saving grace in it was Supt Kevin Donohue. I think he is a brilliant spokesman for the organisation. Always comes across very articulately with none of the Garda jargon we always used to hear

TheNog wrote: »
    ...only saving grace in it was Supt Kevin Donohue. I think he is a brilliant spokesman for the organisation. Always comes across very articulately with none of the Garda jargon we always used to hear

I completely agree with you on Supt Kevin Donohue. He really is one great spokesman for An G.S.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

Good god that was terrible. Switched it off after less than 10 minutes. The only saving grace in it was Supt Kevin Donohue. I think he is a brilliant spokesman for the organisation. Always comes across very articulately with none of the Garda jargon we always used to hear

You're bang on. He was a fantastic spokesman. I never once saw him getting flustered, in spite of some seriously stupid questioning at countless press conferences and briefings. He was a model of professionalism.
    You might be interested to know that he didn't get any training for the job, none at all. That makes his performance even more remarkable.
    Anyway, he's a chief now in Clare. He has been replaced by John Gilligan, who is also very capable.

The only saving grace in it was Supt Kevin Donohue. I think he is a brilliant spokesman for the organisation. Always comes across very articulately with none of the Garda jargon we always used to hear
    I completely agree with you on Supt Kevin Donohue. He really is one great spokesman for An G.S.
    You're bang on. He was a fantastic spokesman. I never once saw him getting flustered, in spite of some seriously stupid questioning at countless press conferences and briefings. He was a model of professionalism.
    You might be interested to know that he didn't get any training for the job, none at all. That makes his performance even more remarkable.
    Anyway, he's a chief now in Clare. He has been replaced by John Gilligan, who is also very capable.
    Sorry lads, he's not on the promotions interview board.

Ye're just saying that because he said the Gardai monitor the internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I completely agree with you on Supt Kevin Donohue. He really is one great spokesman for An G.S

As a non ES person I would +1 on this mans ability.

He is the first Garda Press Office face in my memory to come across as being aware of and able to handle the TV Camera or Microphone rather than being in mortal fear of them.

It is perhaps late in the day,but AGS management really DO need to accept that much of our Social Behaviour patterns ARE Media driven.
    Initially from the arrival of the foreign (UK) TV stations via a 15` roof aerial but having now progressed through to Internetweb and mobile communications technology undreamed of by the Founders of this State.

Having senior Management and Political Leadership who are willing to harness this power will do a lot to make individual ES staff`s working day a bit easier.

As for this particular piece of TV though,well it plays for the populist acclaim vote and will get it.
    However for any real meaningful debate to result then it needs to get boring and down to the arcane Law which Solicitors and Barristers throughout the Country are using (and abusing) to good effect in order to keep abberant and obviously dysfunctional clients free to perpretate further mischief.

The court appearances over the past few days in relation to the attempted kidnapping of a child and associated other crimes committed by an individual out on Bail surely cannot be allowed to occur without a serious and fundamental emergency review of the entire Bail issue ?

Even the coverage of the Traveller Feud case in Westmeath as covered in todays media continues to show a Judiciary so totally out of touch with the potential for slaughter that it`s unnerving......:mad:

I suspect that any of the Gardai ready to give evidence in these cases could give a far more realistic account of the situation than an eager young Silk down from Dublin to get a result for their mark ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭hblock21

I thought it was very poor.

Come on, why couldn't they get a camera crew follow the gardai around for the year. Using youtube videos, you could barely make out some of it!

Only watched the first half. Wont be watching it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

deadwood wrote: »
    Sorry lads, he's not on the promotions interview board.

Ye're just saying that because he said the Gardai monitor the internet!

Did he? I turned over to Grey's Anatomy. Thought it was crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I think I was watchin' a different show! I dont remember them interviewing Supt Donohue.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

some one on the last page asked about a repeat...

u can watch it anytime u want on www.tv3.ie

there website has got very good recently (OT)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Cheers Danny, tv3 haven't implemented the ban on overseas viewing....

....unfortunately I have to agree with the majority of posters; bored after 10 minutes of this shight. The narrator also got on my tits with his constant shock at.....everything:

"This Dublin nightclub experienced problems at the door over a weekend night...sometimes violence was used!"

Well holy jaysus. Who'd a thunk it!

Better luck next time tv3.

Ah, now I know why, I started watchin it at 9.30, so only got to see a half of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭gilly0512

I thought it was dreadful, most of those clips I had already seen on YouTube already. The only decent part of this programme was when they followed the Ambulance Crew, had they done the same with the Gardai then it would have been a decent programme. Will definitely not bother watching it next week, when it will probably be another hour of YouTube clips of travellers fighting.

Most of the Traveller fighting footage they use in the next programme is nicked from Primetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Thought it was terrible.

The only good youtube video was the one in temple bar(I think?)The big fight with one garda on scene.He was fairly throwing his weight around for a man being outnumbered and outsized by most there.Great job in diffusing the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

how nice of tv3 to provide sensational commentary of youtube, it was blooody crap! although the preview of the hooligans looks good. they couldnt be bothered their holes to spend a few saturday nights around the hotspots,typical tv3 ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Random wrote: »

http://www.tv3.ie/shows.php?request=lawlessireland&tv3_preview=&video=5720

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Perhaps if RTE were to seek out the On-Bus CCTV footage of The Dublin Circuit Criminal Court case last week where Mr Michael Tyser Connors (19) was convicted of violent disorder during which in a young man was pushed out through the Upstairs rear window of a double-deck bus.

For his part in this escapade Mr Connors recieved a 3 year custodial sentence,whilst a 17 years old co-defendant,one of four attackers in total,recieved 3 years suspended for some reason.

The victim,who spent 3 weeks in a Full Body Brace,has still not returned to his architectural classes at UCD due to the Bus being his only method of getting to college and his quite understandable fear of a repetition of such a terror filled experience.

The eye-witness evidence supported by the onboard CCTV confirmed that the viction was attacked by up to 8 persons with the
    four defendants accepting that they did hit the student but alledging that the victim backed into the window himself in order to avoid their punches

It may be necessary to re-read the above quote in order to get a feel for what the presiding Judge (Frank O`Donnell) had in mind when sentencing the perpretators...remember this was being put forward in their defence. :eek:

I await with interest the remainder of the sentencing procedure but with little appreciation of a custodial or indeed an appropriate one for such a vicious and unprovoked attack.

However,I would go further and suggest that Bus Atha Cliath should take an interest here also and pursue a vigorous civil case against these individuals on the grounds of their actions causing serious loss of commercial standing and financial loss due to the resultant public reluctance to use the Bus service.

Probably not an option for a company which espouses some form of meaningless PR mantra of "Serving the Entire Community" whilst the reality is nightly being proven to be the direct opposite.

There is little hope of achieving any real progress as long as advances such as On board CCTV are not followed up to the fullest when dealing with the likes of these violent and unwelcome "Customers".

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

did anyone see the RSU on the promo?

:eek: the dog-fighting tonight is just absolutely cruel and disturbing, dear gawd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭0325422

:eek: the dog-fighting tonight is just absolutely cruel and disturbing, dear gawd!

the video that was shown a dozen times was not even from ireland, all the people in the audience were foreign, sensationalist crap really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Faheywitane

Looks like MacIntires Toughest Towns is comming to Dublin.
    Bord Fáilte wont be happy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

shakin wrote: »
    how nice of tv3 to provide sensational commentary of youtube, it was blooody crap! although the preview of the hooligans looks good. they couldnt be bothered their holes to spend a few saturday nights around the hotspots,typical tv3 ****e

Trust me, the 'hooligan' show will be the same youtube clips and sensationalist hyperbole. The 'father and son running for their lives' that was vaunted in the ads was actually a father and son stepping onto the footpath as a Garda horse went past them. Prowpah Nawty!! :rolleyes:

Pity for Tv3 that they picked the first incident free derbies in years to bring the cameras too and had to rely on old youtube clips.

We could have a discussion about how much of the hoolie problem in Ireland is real or a media invention, but this show won't cast any light on it one way or the other.

Tv3 claimed it was the Shamrock Rovers Ultras that are involved in grinding Dublin to a halt every Friday night. They would be far more credible if they actually got the name of the problematic group right and caught any of these atrocities on camera.....