Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MMA Strength and Conditioning!

• 11-02-2009 12:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21

So guys ive been using a workout created by myself for conditioning and strength. Well...i didnt completely create it but rather pieced together movements and ideas to make this extremely grueling workout. I really feel the benifits of this workout but it is only as hard as you make it on yourself e.g. I do mine with breathing restrictors and move as explosively as possible through all movements.

I believe this workout is the best for fight conditioning as it addresses; aerobic/*anaerobic endurance, explosive strength, strength endurance and core strength.

*only with use of air restrictor as muscles will be starved for oxygen, which will cause oxygen debt which if not repaid will force the muscles to work in a more anaerobic enviorment.

Here goes,

You will need; Bench, Chin-up bar, 4kg med ball, 25kg dumbell, 35kg barbell, exercise wheel.

To be done in circuit fashion x 2, 3, 4 or 5 times depending on fitness level.
    1min or less rest between circuit sets.
    Use breathing restrictor if extremely fit.

DB Chest Pullover x 10
    Ball Plyo Pushup x 10
    Ball Switch Pushup x 10
    Wheel Extension x 10
    Ball russian Twist x 10
    hanging Leg Raise x 10
    Ball Crunches x 10
    BB Clean+Press x 10
    BB Bent-Over Row x10
    Chinups x 10
    BB Deadlift x 10
    Ball Jump Deadlift x 10
    BB Front Squat x 10
    Ball Jump Squat x 10
    Ball Switch Lunge x 10
    Ball Slam x 10
    Ball Burpee x 10

It is a long and painful workout but you will not argue with the results.

Give it a try to supplement your mma training,

Let me know what you think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Just a quick question....why lead with Dumbell Pull Overs....any application to MMA would be extremely negligible and there are better ways to work the lats ( don't fall into the trap of thinking this works the chest in any major way ).

You also have four excercises leading into the Clean and Jerk that would tax the core and the hips, both very important in the CandJ.

This is then followed by four back exercises all in a row, once again maybe not the best idea if you are looking to get the most bang for your buck from each movement. Pre-exhausting can be a great way to train but stacking like this is often not the best idea, as by the time you get round to the true compounds you are already tired and the weight you can move is limited and your form can become an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

What method of breathing restricton do you use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭dunkamania

Moved from MMA forum, I think it should get a better response here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I believe this workout is the best for fight conditioning as it addresses; aerobic/*anaerobic endurance, explosive strength, strength endurance and core strength.
    If you can get all that into one workout, especially that workout, then you need to contact a University for some trials asap as you've just broken the science barrier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Jonny O' Dwyer

Dragan wrote: »
    Just a quick question....why lead with Dumbell Pull Overs....any application to MMA would be extremely negligible and there are better ways to work the lats ( don't fall into the trap of thinking this works the chest in any major way ).

You also have four excercises leading into the Clean and Jerk that would tax the core and the hips, both very important in the CandJ.

This is then followed by four back exercises all in a row, once again maybe not the best idea if you are looking to get the most bang for your buck from each movement. Pre-exhausting can be a great way to train but stacking like this is often not the best idea, as by the time you get round to the true compounds you are already tired and the weight you can move is limited and your form can become an issue.

Some good points there dragan, but there was a reason for every excercise put in the sequence it follows. First of all the pullovers, I would agree that this excercise doesnt work the chest all that well. What this exercise does do is efficently warm-up the heart, lungs, chest, shoulders, triceps and back and abdominals to a certain extent. Obviously there should be a full body warm-up and stretch done before this or any workout also.

Now we all know that the pushups at the beginning will primarily use the chest, triceps and anterior (front) deltoid muscles. Also in any plyometric exercise (and most exercises in general) the core will be engaged for stability. We then move on to abdominal exercises and thats followed up by the Clean+Press. Now in the Clean+Press our attention in the deltiod or shoulder region moves to that of the medial and rear delts which will also be ultilized in the bent-over row.

After all of the leg movements we move on to the most difficult and taxing exercises of the set the Ball Slam and Ball Burpee. What makes these especially dificult is that they are the most explosive exercises of the set and they use the most muscle groups and joints of any exercise.
    With proper form the Ball Slam should work all the major pulling muscles in the body e.g. shoulders, tris, lats, hams. The Ball Burpees should work all of the bodies' pushing muscles e.g. shoulders, chest, tris, quads.

The focus of this exercise routine was to push each body part/muscle to the limit and some. We tax every area of our body with two explosive exercises without stopping and then move to the major whole body movements. Ive added extra exercises for the abdominals, triceps, delts lat muscles are they are the most prevalently used in stand-up grappling and striking.

In bold your statement is also true and my aim is to be getting the body and musles more tired as the movements progressively get harder. You know in the third round of an intense fight your body may not be able to recover but you will fight through, correct? Or maybe you will give up and give your muscles a rest, I dont know about you but I will fight through and its conditioning days like this that helps me fight longer, harder and be the aggressor throughout my fights.

Guys please dont forget that this workout is only as hard as you make it on yourself. Dont expect to do five rounds straight away. Start off with two rounds with a lower weight and progress slowly.

Sorry bout the rant, but I am very passionate about what I do and always try to be the best I can be. I guarantee that if you try this workout and improve at it you'll not be sorry!:)

Killme00 wrote: »
    What method of breathing restricton do you use?

I use a 'PowerBreathe' sports performance device at half of the lowest setting. They can be found in argos for about 50 cuid.

Hey Roper, which university should I contact, lol! :D

Come on man, I aint no innovator you should check out Ross Enamiat' s page at www.rosstraining.com and then you will see one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

I don't see the point of breath restrictors, why not just go harder without one?

Mikel wrote: »
    I don't see the point of breath restrictors, why not just go harder without one?

I will explain;

The use of a breathing restrictor will cause the muscles to work harder as less oxygen will be available to them to synthesize ATP. Many athletes will train at high altidudes to simualte this as the air is less dense. ATP (adenosine tri-phosphate) is the energy that a muscle uses in contraction.
    If less oxygen is available to the muscles then it becomes harder and harder to produce ATP (energy for contraction) this state is called 'oxygen debt'. If our muscles are forced to work through the oxygen debt then our bodies must continue to synthesize ATP without oxygen. This will increase our anaerobic capacity or the ability to produce contraction without oxygen.

Training this way is extremely difficult though and should not be attemted unless a good level of fitness is already achieved as lactate and cardiovascular fatigue will set in much quicker and this is what we are looking to fight through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭OMCCABE

Your concepts seem reasonably solid but this workout does not adequately address strenght endurance at all.
    Aerobic yes..
    anaerobic..yes...
    max strenght..no..
    strenght endurance..no

Complexes are an excellent training tool for sure but you've overstepped the bounds with your claims IMHO. Your limitin your use of equipment and variable weights so each aspect is not addressed equally. For example a 35 kg deadlift? This has a real Randy Couture workout feel to it and has the same flaws.

Something like this may form a part of a fight prep along with proper weight training. I like were your going with this, I'd just have a closer look at it.

Thanks for having the balls to post it.

Oisin

^Alrite ,but I never said max strength.^ Anyways i dont want to start arguing here cause I hate the long ass posts and sciencey stuff that id have to explain and while yes id agree that there may be better protocols to address strength endurance, explosive strength etc., you would have to adress all of them seperetly which may not fit into our hectic schedueles!! :)

True....although I would hope most people would clear their hectic schedules somewhat if they plan on putting their body on the line in the ring. No desire for argument here. I support what your doing and with some tweaks your plan could make for an excellent part of a MMA practitioners fight prep phase.

All the best.

Oisin

Hey Roper, which university should I contact, lol! :D

Come on man, I aint no innovator you should check out Ross Enamiat' s page at www.rosstraining.com and then you will see one.
    Seriously? It's like a lot of "MMA" workouts I see. Really intense, not a lot of quality and not doing what it says on the tin. I know his because I've done most of em:D Ross Enemait is grand and good fun and he does some cool stuff but you have to remember he shows what sells.

You can't work strength endurance, max strength, aerobic capacity etc. in one session. It's just not possible. They're nice buzzwords to throw in when you're looking to impress people :) but in the real world we can only really improve one thing at a time and that will be one of the four you mentioned.

I would also caution against using expolsive lifts like the clean and jerk in an intense workout like that. I know.... 5, yup, 5 people with a really good clean and jerk. After that I know a buch of people with okay c&js and a whole lot of people with awful C&Js that will keep physios in business for manys a year if they tried to do that lift in the workout you posted.

You mentioned that this will keep you going throughout your fights. I don't recognise the name have you fought in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Publish or Perish!

Publish and prepare to get scrutinised. Good discussion here hope it continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

DB Chest Pullover x 10
    Ball Plyo Pushup x 10
    Ball Switch Pushup x 10
    Wheel Extension x 10
    Ball russian Twist x 10
    hanging Leg Raise x 10
    Ball Crunches x 10
    BB Clean+Press x 10
    BB Bent-Over Row x10
    Chinups x 10
    BB Deadlift x 10
    Ball Jump Deadlift x 10
    BB Front Squat x 10
    Ball Jump Squat x 10
    Ball Switch Lunge x 10
    Ball Slam x 10
    Ball Burpee x 10

I would try it, but I don't even know what half of those exercises are, lol.

Would I be right in thinking that this should take five minutes per round?

Cheers for coming back to me and explainging your reasoning behind the workout. For what it's worth, i don't think this is the most efficent way to do what it is that you want to do, but i have no doubt that it is a tough workout. I just find it hard to believe that you could adequately keep yourself in an anaerobic mode during a workout with that much stopping and starting as you move from excercise to excercise.

I also think it's a bad idea to include CandJ in any complex like this beyond the point of forcing you to breath heavier, which i am sure is the real reason for it being in here, to tax the lungs as oppposed to anything else.

The CandJ should really be utitilised on it's own, in conjunction with the Snatch or maybe a decent complex with chins. I think using it to target or prewarm the rear delts and rhoms is a mistake, simply because correct for on the CandJ would mean power generated from the hips and the calves. If you are pulling the bar up to your neck, using the muscles you highlighted, as opposed to dropping down under the bar to catch it, then i would consider it to be a high pull, which is a vastly different creature to the CandJ both in the muscles that it utitilies and even it's effect on the body.

Just me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

DB Chest Pullover x 10 - No
    Ball Plyo Pushup x 10 - No
    Ball Switch Pushup x 10 - No
    Wheel Extension x 10 - Yes but not as part of a circuit
    Ball russian Twist x 10 - Huh?
    hanging Leg Raise x 10 - Yes as an exercise
    Ball Crunches x 10 - No
    BB Clean+Press x 10 - Yes but just a barbell and just ten
    BB Bent-Over Row x10 - No just do more pull ups
    Chinups x 10 - Yes
    BB Deadlift x 10 - Yes but put some weight on the bar
    Ball Jump Deadlift x 10 - Huh? Sounds like a random exercise generator. Three words selected completely at random to make a new movement
    BB Front Squat x 10 - okay
    Ball Jump Squat x 10 - Random exercise generator again?
    Ball Switch Lunge x 10 - and again
    Ball Slam x 10 - okay, more for fun than anything else
    Ball Burpee x 10 - and again?

Haven't posted in a while and since I've been musing over MMA conditioning and such the past while this cropped up at just the right time.

As for the workout. Ugh? A touch on the over complicated isn't it? You've taken some good exercises and some not great ones and mashed them all together. All the ingredients that a fight prep over a number of weeks should have and done in 5 minutes. For fight prep I don't like all this mixing it up circuits. My opinion is that the majority of people will probably cheat on the push up and chin ups. Will be completely uncoordinated on the clean and jerks and any of those colourful random exercises are largely a waste of time.

My own minimum estimations of what a mid to high level fighter should be capable of are:
    Squat - 1RM of bodyweight x 1.5
    Deadlift - 1RM of bodyweight x 1.75
    Press - 1RM of boyweight x 0.80
    Bench press - 1RM of bodyweight
    Pull ups - a set of 12
    Clean - 1RM of bodyweight x 0.9

As for "cardio", I look at that in power output so we're looking at weight, distance and time. Hard enough to work out but you get the idea that this differs for body shape, size and weight more drastically than the strength standards. Exercises that receive my full endorsement here are kettlebells (swings, cleans, snatches), barbell thrusters, light clean and jerks (form is an issue here but I far less of an issue than some would have you believe. Light is a relative term.), rowing on a concept II or similar machine, sprints, bodyweight exercises that can be performed at a fast pace with good form (so push ups, pull ups, dips, squats, lunges etc, box jumps if that's what you're into).

The issue of core is always raised. If you can have 1.5 times bodyweight on your shoulders and complete a good squat coupled with deadlifting and kettlebell work then you can skip the sit ups at the end of a workout. Just for kicks and the joy of showing off though you can try some beginners' gymnastics - L holds, leg raises, planches etc but really these don't have a part in a circuit.

Shane, The
    Apologises for the disjointed and occasionally irrelevant feel

Great post Shane.

The only thing i would ad in for "core" work, is just work in some farmers walks! Lots of weight in each hand. Great for your grip strength also. I used to do these with 60kilos hanging off each arm and my core would be toast afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

The use of a breathing restrictor will cause the muscles to work harder as less oxygen will be available to them to synthesize ATP. Many athletes will train at high altidudes to simualte this as the air is less dense. ATP (adenosine tri-phosphate) is the energy that a muscle uses in contraction.
    If less oxygen is available to the muscles then it becomes harder and harder to produce ATP (energy for contraction) this state is called 'oxygen debt'. If our muscles are forced to work through the oxygen debt then our bodies must continue to synthesize ATP without oxygen. This will increase our anaerobic capacity or the ability to produce contraction without oxygen.
    My point is though if it's oxygen debt you want why not go more intensely?
    If you reduce your available o2 surely your output will drop leaving you where you were before, so what's the point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 859 ✭✭✭BobbyOLeary

Nice post The Shane, but on those standards they seem low to me. Maybe its just because I can just about do all of them. You did say minimums I suppose, I dunno they just struck me as light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

My bench and weights are covered in a fine layer of dust because of threads like this. It's so complicated:eek: Never even found where to start

The Shane wrote: »
    My own minimum estimations of what a mid to high level fighter should be capable of are:
    Squat - 1RM of bodyweight x 1.5
    Deadlift - 1RM of bodyweight x 1.75
    Press - 1RM of boyweight x 0.80
    Bench press - 1RM of bodyweight
    Pull ups - a set of 12
    Clean - 1RM of bodyweight x 0.9
    Hey Shane good post. I agree with most of this but I'd add a bit to the deadlift and throw out the press and clean. Why did you include the press out of interest?
    As for "cardio", I look at that in power output so we're looking at weight, distance and time.
    Deadly.
    Exercises that receive my full endorsement here are kettlebells (swings, cleans, snatches), barbell thrusters, light clean and jerks (form is an issue here but I far less of an issue than some would have you believe. Light is a relative term.), rowing on a concept II or similar machine, sprints, bodyweight exercises that can be performed at a fast pace with good form (so push ups, pull ups, dips, squats, lunges etc, box jumps if that's what you're into).
    I have to say I would totally leave the O lifting out. From a time versus benefit point of view I just don't think they're worth it. I'd sooner see a guy push press or just jerk I just think form detiorates much too quickly and for all the weight most people can handle safely, I don't think they're worth having in.
    The issue of core is always raised. If you can have 1.5 times bodyweight on your shoulders and complete a good squat coupled with deadlifting and kettlebell work then you can skip the sit ups at the end of a workout. Just for kicks and the joy of showing off though you can try some beginners' gymnastics - L holds, leg raises, planches etc but really these don't have a part in a circuit.
    Agree mostly but I do think most people benefit from some sort of core exercise as a supplement. Not sit ups though and only as a rest station in a circuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

I like the clean because it's fast and as you get more advanced I feel it becomes more essential, replacing the deadlift. It is one of the best indicators of sporting performance, up there with vertical leap. Improvement in it translates to any sport that uses the hips. It's a bit harder to learn than the deadlift but in the long run it's better for you.

The bench press has a bench in there that makes it just a chest exercise no core involvement, no balance etc whereas the press is standing and requires more of you in an overall sense. In my experience it is harder to get the press going but it makes a man of you far quicker than the bench. For MMA shoulders are more important than chest anyway. I like both but if I had to choose then Press all the way. And because Rippetoe said so.

On the strength standards, I would say they are minimums in my view. Some people will reckon higher some lower and in the end that's just an opinion. At these levels I reckon that the cardio and muscle recovery that you put in will be of benefit in a fight winning sense rather than just getting your heart rate down after you've been beat up cos you're weak.

On the oxygen debt thing. Altitude training limits the oxygen in the air and forces an adaptation in the blood. The restrictor thing trains muscles? I'd agree with Roper on the just work harder idea. If your workout is such that you can complete it and use one of these things at the same time then you could probably work harder.

Shane, The

Roper wrote: »
    Seriously? It's like a lot of "MMA" workouts I see. Really intense, not a lot of quality and not doing what it says on the tin. I know his because I've done most of em:D Ross Enemait is grand and good fun and he does some cool stuff but you have to remember he shows what sells.

You can't work strength endurance, max strength, aerobic capacity etc. in one session. It's just not possible. They're nice buzzwords to throw in when you're looking to impress people :) but in the real world we can only really improve one thing at a time and that will be one of the four you mentioned.

I would also caution against using expolsive lifts like the clean and jerk in an intense workout like that. I know.... 5, yup, 5 people with a really good clean and jerk. After that I know a buch of people with okay c&js and a whole lot of people with awful C&Js that will keep physios in business for manys a year if they tried to do that lift in the workout you posted.

You mentioned that this will keep you going throughout your fights. I don't recognise the name have you fought in Ireland?

Hi Roper, firstly I must say that I havent fought at any reputable events yet. Sure a couple of amateur boxing, grappling matches in ireland but nothing too advanced. I do consider myself a beginner in the fight world only training a total of 3 years but I am a qualified fitness instructor and currently specializing in martial arts conditioning.

While I do agree with you on some levels I must also disagree. Most of us guys nowadays are training 5 times a week in our respective MMA/Boxing gyms etc. if we take our sport seriously. Now while I do agree that there are better ways to train for the different conditioning and strength qualities, that would be to train all of them seperately.
    In total there would be;
    Aerobic Endurance,
    Anaerobic Endurance,
    Strength Endurance,
    Strength/Power,
    Explosive Strength.
    Now unless you dont work, have kids or any ties or you are an elite athlete then adding one or two sessions a week to each of these qualities may not be possible. Lets not forget your work on the mat or ring here.

What im getting at here is the fact that you can't deny that doing the workout posted will give you benifits in aerobic/anaerobic endurance, explosive strength and strength endurance. Maybe the results will not be as maximal as training the different qualities seperately e.g. - better anaerobic endurance can be greater improved with extremely high intense exercise for short durations with longer recovery periods between sets as here we will be within the anaerobic threshold for ATP synthesis.

So I will have to agree to disagree!

Could I please point out again that the movement Clean+Press and Clean+Jerk are different movements. The Clean+Press is utilized in my cicuit and is very different to the Clean+Jerk as there is no legs and hips involved in the lift.

What im getting at here is the fact that you can't deny that doing the workout posted will give you benifits in aerobic/anaerobic endurance, explosive strength and strength endurance. Maybe the results will not be as maximal as training the different qualities seperately

Not being as maximal being a large understatement.

I think you've been addressed a little harshly here mate and I like the fact that you are looking at MMA from an S&C standpoint but you have tried to run before you can walk in posting on such a high profile place for th MMA community as boards. You need to look into this a little more and re-evaluate. While I'm not known for my free advice, I will give you one pointer. You should NEVER be trying to improve all aspects at once. You must break it down to in camp and out of camp and prioritize based on this and the specific athletes situation.

I hope you continue posting your thoughts as its interesting to read and discuss and has caught my eye more than most topics on the boards.

Rock on

Oisin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Charlie3dan

Valmont wrote: »
    My bench and weights are covered in a fine layer of dust because of threads like this. It's so complicated:eek: Never even found where to start

Not sure if you still interested in getting started but......

If you just have weights and a bench at home (as opposed to gym membership) you probably wont have enough weight to do "1 Rep Maximums" or "Add 10 KG each week".
    Just have a look around at very basic dumbell and bench workouts and once you get started you can add a new moves as you need them/ discover them.

Seriously there's plenty you can do with a bench, barbell, dumbells, chin up bar and a decent pair of runners.

Hi Roper, firstly I must say that I havent fought at any reputable events yet. Sure a couple of amateur boxing, grappling matches in ireland but nothing too advanced. I do consider myself a beginner in the fight world only training a total of 3 years but I am a qualified fitness instructor and currently specializing in martial arts conditioning.
    Okay, I still consider myself a beginner too I think it's easier that way!
    What im getting at here is the fact that you can't deny that doing the workout posted will give you benifits in aerobic/anaerobic endurance, explosive strength and strength endurance. Maybe the results will not be as maximal as training the different qualities seperately e.g. - better anaerobic endurance can be greater improved with extremely high intense exercise for short durations with longer recovery periods between sets as here we will be within the anaerobic threshold for ATP synthesis.
    I think we can bandy around terms like ATP synthesis and stuff but I prefer the following terms:
    Weak as piss
    Strong like bull.
    Moris Minor Engine
    Lamborghini Engine

To expand, if you're weak as piss you need to get strong like bull. If you try to get a Lamborghini engine when you're weak as piss you're wasting your time and you'll end up like a Morris Minor. So you need to be Strong Like Bull to be a Lamborghini. If you try to do your workouts the way you've got it done you'll get none of the above.

To be frank, you're overcomplicating. I've spent some time with top coaches from various disciplines -sprinting, rugby, GAA, martial arts- and they all have one thing in common, they do very simple things and they try to change it one piece at a time. Try to cover all the bases and you end up with nothing.

I respect what you're trying to do and fair play to you for posting up your stuff.

If you are doing anything involving a "clean" then you have the hips involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭RoosterIllusion

I train without weights for conditioning and I find it benefits me greatly. I found doing squats etc strained my joints a lot more than bodyweight exercises. Perhaps this is down to technique, but as soon as I stopped squatting and started doing bodyweight exercises (lunges etc) I found my flexibility increased and my knees never hurt me again.

You're doing it wrong.

Killme00 wrote: »
    You're doing it wrong.

I was told by multiple people that my form was perfect for both front and back squats. I damaged my knees when I was younger through a couple of unfortunate accidents, nothing serious but they sound like cement mixers since I was 13 or 14. I found that days after I did a legs orientated workout my knees hurt, ie: pain not strain, and it was a muscular thing either.

Sorry about that. Cant you build up the musculature around the knees to take all the slack?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Mhmm...weetabix

Rooster, I was the same with my knee, I couldn't let anyone touch it (age 15-22 I had problems) until after I started taking Glucosamine, Chondroitin and Udo's choice (fish oil is meant to be better for joints but I get indigestion from them), have you ever tried these supps?

My knees are fine since I stopped the weight training on them, squats in particular, though I do other leg work such as lunges and other stuff (no names for them so can't be bothered explaining) as part of my conditioning work, I never use a barbell, just two dumbells held above my shoulders.

Udo's oil, lovely stuff, far too expensive for me to be honest, I use oil in nearly everything I cook (Avocado and Olive oil only) and I rarely eat fish, except for canned tuna.

At the moment the supplements I take are:
    1. Glucosamine, Chondroitin, Collagen complex (Joint therapy plus is the name)
    2. ZMA
    3. Centrum
    4. L-Carnitine
    5. CLA