Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm thinking of buying a Porsche 928, any thoughts?

• 10-02-2009 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

Doom & gloom, bad news, bad weather & bleak outlook.
    A perfect time to at least "think" of buying another classic!

I've been toying of buying an early 928. Any thoughts out there?
    I've looked at reviews and road tests and before I get too old I'm thinking this might give me something to look forward to.

I've not got a big budget but having recently sold the "big six", I really miss it! I would appreciate any advice.

CFD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

unkel has one, i'd start by talking to him. I think it's a great idea, for what it's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Hifive

I've looked at reviews and road tests and before I get too old I'm thinking this might give me something to look forward to.

I've not got a big budget but having recently sold the "big six", I really miss it! I would appreciate any advice.

I've always had a big soft spot for the 928, such a cool looking car, quite modern looking and well made too, but I'd go for a late S4 5 liter GT or even a 5.4 GTS model in a dark colour and put up with the tax. (316/345hp:))
    They are complex vehicles and part prices seem to be a little scary, so an early 79 car, needing work, might be financially un-viable.
    I don't suppose VRT would break the bank for an early ninety's example and it couldn't be any worse on motion lotion than your old 6.

Nice UK S4 here for 7k, so maybe 6k for cask and no warranty. Maybe less.
    http://search.autotrader.co.uk/es-uk/www/cars/PORSCHE+928/Ne-2-4-5-6-7-8-27-44-49-53-61-64-67-103-133-146-236,N-240-4294965644-4294967213/advert.action?R=200842320942266&distance=30&postcode=lu29qt&channel=CARS&make=PORSCHE&model=928&min_pr=&max_pr=&max_mileage=&vehicleYearOfManufacture=1990&vehicleRegLetter=H
    Vrt not available on line, but probably under 2.5k?

Good luck and let us know if you take the plunge.
    You can be my Guinea pig:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

Nice cars, drive and sound great.
    Buy the best one you can afford, preferably with a service history.
    And timing belt replaced- not exactly a walk in the park to replace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Where to start? :)
    I've been toying of buying an early 928.

As in '79 or earlier to get classic tax? There's a lot to say for keeping the €1.5k difference in your pocket every year but the earlier cars have drawbacks too. The old Porsche 3sp autobox (later models came with the strong 4sp ZF autobox - the same as in the Mercedes S-class) is generally not recommended, so that leaves the 5sp manual. Manuals on the 928 are relatively rare - most were sold with automatic transmission. The early cars are not particular powerful either (240BHP or so from memory). For not a cent more outlay, you could have an 83-86 S2 (310BHP) or an '87 and later S4 (316BHP). After that came the GT and the GTS. I would not consider these to be low budget :D

I'll let you come back on that question first and maybe you could get us an idea of your budget (buying price), before I'll rattle off too much. You can buy an early one for less than €10k landed in sound general condition or you could splash out on a low mileage mid 90s mint GTS. Be sure you've got the VRT covered, because it can be a bit of a lottery.

In general the strong points of the 928 are the very strong V8 engine and reliable mechanics. The engine lasts forever provided the cambelt doesn't break. That said, the earliest models are supposed to be non-interference. No problematic rust as the body was fully galvanised and several body parts are made from aluminium. Have you driven one? Amazing driving dynamics with near perfect rear/front weight distribution. All mod cons (a mid 80s one has everything electric, abs, p/s, cruise control, air con) but that is it's biggest disadvantage as well. The electrics are very complex and they are weak. If you want to keep everything working, it will cost you.

A 928 is a very cheap proposition for the amount of car you'll be getting. The consensus is that they have started to appreciate in value

A 928 is a very practical car because it is a hatchback with 4 seats. With the rear seats down, there is a lot more loading space than in my BMW 7-series. Enough for 2 large Christmas trees :D

Find yourself a good independent Porsche specialist. Parts (new) are very expensive, but the availability of second hand parts (from the UK and the USA mainly) is good

I've a late S2 ('86) myself and I've used it as my daily driver for over a year. It's been very reliable apart from one issue with my ABS which was sorted by the specialist and an annoying intermittent starting problem which was caused by a dodgy fuel pump relay connection. A new relay (€4) sorted it. The car recently passed the NCT again first go

Surprisingly enough, there are about 4 928 owners here on boards!

You're probably aware of rennlist.com? The 928 section is very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭pcardin

Fantastic car. In fact, it is the only Porsche I ever liked. Design created in 70ies looks great even today. Take it.
    I'm l thinking for another Maserati Quattroporte IV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

I say go for it and since there are 4 here on Boards you'll get the best advise directly from them. They look and sound superb. I had a model of one when I was a kid and I recall seeing my first one in the flesh in Summer of 1979 on the M1 in the UK.

We were on a trip down to Stratford with relations and one stopped beside us in traffic. First car I ever saw with now bumpers, so to speak. it was a sort of laser blue metallic. I drooled obver it and asked my mother to keep up with it as traffic moved.

There wasn't much chance of that in any car let alone our 957cc Fiesta !!!

My friends family owned one in Malahide in the early 80's. He bought it new, dont recall the digits but the rest of the reg. was EZI. It was the same colour as the one in Risky Business and the garage was quite similar. We wanted to recreate that scene when they were away but he always took the keys with him !! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭carlosfandango

Thanks for all the replies,
    There's obviously a love of these cars on here.

Thanks for the link HiFive but I think it's fair to say at this point that I really do want an early one, teledials and all!

Unkel- yes, as above '79 or earlier to benefit of the classic tax status & reduced VRT. However, that is not the only reason, I do like the idea of the "original of the species" as it were.. I know the big six I had was the last in line but in this case I want an early 928.
    I do love the later models, especially the S4 but to own I reckon I can live with the 3 speed and reduced power. Are they less reliable as a gearbox? Or is just the usability of it?
    The manual is not for me, I'll leave that to the purists. I always go by the rule, big engine - slush box!
    Now, the budget. I might be a little unrealistic but I had 6-8k in mind. I may be buying a whole HEAP of trouble but I reckon that the classic marked is totally eh, fecked in the UK and as such there might just be a bargain out there. I have actually enquired about one (yes, the one that was featured in wheeler dealers - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qPQ2_CHNvgo&feature=related ) and it's for sale at close to my budget. I also love the colour of it - I can see the strained faces of some of the readers of this post already...
    What do you mean by "non-interference"?
    I have driven one, it was a LONG time ago but I remember being totally blown away by it. Owned by a man who had an eclectic taste in cars and interesting to go drinking with. He owned a Montreal, an SM and at that time the 928. It was a left hooker and a little rough around the edges but by GOD did it go.. I think it's fair to say that I was hooked at that point but there were a few other classics I had ambitions to own before I finally got around to this (tip - NEVER buy an Integrale, it will break you!!).
    Having driven the 635 a lot over the last few years I'm familiar with the upkeep, not that I want to continue it mind, but if you sign up for it etc...
    With regard to the Porsche Specialist I have only ever been let down by them. Maybe I've been unlucky but so far my experience has been either it costs a lot to get anything done, or it's not done properly, or both. I have been using a guy in the north for years now & even though he's not a Porsche Specialist, he has always sorted me out. In fact, he restored the 911 from ground up and it gets huge compliments whenever I venture out in it, which is rarely. He also rebuilt the engine in the 912 & to this day it still goes like a clock (and it gets used a LOT). If there is someone that you reckon I've missed - let me know, I'm in Dublin.
    What colour is your S2? I wonder if I have seen you about.
    In the late 80's I worked in a company on Leeson Park in Dublin & there was a bloke who drove a dark metallic green 928 living on the road. It was quite straight & had ace plates displaying an original Irish reg. I lusted after that car so much. It disappeared one day and when I asked the bloke where it was, he gestured a drinking motion with his hand and clapped his hands together followed by wide eyes... i.e. a tree jumped out in front of the car following a little too much to drink. Such a shame, it was like it was mine & I felt crap losing it. Ahhh, the 80's.
    Great to hear that there are four owners on here, I'll keep an eye out for their posts, including yours. Thanks for the info on the rennlist.com, I wasn't aware of it!
    PCardin - don't get me started on a Maserati! We'll be here all bloody week!
    MercMad - Risky Business? Now that's a teenage movie! Showing your age now, next we'll be posting stills from Ferris Bueller's Day Off! Ha!
    Thanks again for all the replies, keep 'em coming. I'm trying SO hard not to think about the crap that's going on all around us and get back to what really matters. Classics!

CFD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭blackbox

The very original 928 was a beaut - the one before they fitted the rear spoiler. It had fantastic checkerboard interior fabric as well, though I'd imagine they are all tatty by now.

I have a GTS auto and am very pleased with it, though I haven't chanced taking it out in the snow - I don't think the wide tyres would get much bite, even with the LSD.

Good points - not as heavy on fuel as you might expect; insurance reasonable; fantastic comfort, great seats.

Bad points - a bit noisy inside when only cruising, poor sound from multi-spearker stereo (on mine anyway); Much more annoying when it gets a scrape than if the same thing happens to an ordinary car.

Here are a few screen grabs of the actual vehicle. Apologies for the poor quality. (borrowed from YouTube!)

Snapshot2009-02-1121-17-01.jpg

CFD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭blackbox

I love those phone dial wheels...

... and see if you can get them to throw in the pillar jack.

Hello Blackbox,
    I don't blame you for not taking it out in the snow, I'd say a lot of "cherished" motors are under cover at the moment.
    So there's you & Unkel, who else has one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 quadrifoglio

I've a 3 speed auto '79
    I'd say go for it!
    6k to 8k will buy you the best of the best early 928's
    Was interested to see in the ad for the wheeler dealer 928 that they spent £9.5k rather than the £5k they said on the program! Lying to make an interesting Motoring TV show - who would have thought!
    Lots of good info from rennlist collated here:
    http://www.nichols.nu/tips.htm

Think the 3 speed auto is supposed to be even tougher than the 4 speed - was used in the Mercedes SEC I think

Non interference means that if the cambelt snaps valves won't hit pistons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....welllllllll....if you add the two Big Fours I have.......does that count ?? :p Unk is always telling me I only have half a 928 engine anyway....... :D ....which probably explains why I have 2.....:o

Fwiw, I've gone back to older cars, having been mightily cheesed with the (poor quality) of modern ones. Whilst not 928's, the 968's are close - very similar looks up front, and very practical.

I used to have a G50 3.2, and tbh, nice as it was, the water-pumpers are in fact, superior cars. Reliable, less 'quirky/cranky', utterly practical - we use as true 4 seaters all the time, and yes the hatch is a boon.

I did think of doing the 30yr cheap tax thing, but, and at the risk of repeating myself, I'd much rather spend the tax on a car I really, really like, than buy a car I kinda like, just because it's cheap to tax. Bought for cash, and no repayments (novelty to me ), the big tax on a less-than-30yr-old big car is, imho, worth it. That doesn't mean it doesn't grate sometimes, mind........:mad:

Outside of that, budget..........6-8k. Jeez, I dunno, but I think that budget is only an invitation to trouble in that class of car. I paid more than that for my last 968 - before I had work done on it. My Tip one is on classic insurance at Eur 406 comp, and the manual one on 'normal' insurance...and only Eur600 - so, insurance isn't mad.

Parts for both, very reasonable - new discs, here, Eur 65.00.

That budget would, though, buy a nice 944.

FYI
    Manual 968

Tiptronic 968

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

oh, and +1 on the VRT = lottery.

I got a quote for the 968, bought it, brought in. Went up 1k in the interim.

No 'OMSP' on these babies, all down to smoke'n'mirrors in the 'classic and collectible' dept in Rosslare.......!! :(

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Hmmmm!
    The owner just got back to me and supplied me with a bunch of photos. The car doesn't look like it has been that well cared for since the Wheeler Dealers programme. He said that he had the car sold and so took it off the market. Dude came, paid deposit & then got cold feet.. Lots of enquiries since then but told them all it was sold.
    Now I'm kinda used to buying oddball yokes over the years and dealing with sellers spinning a few porkys so I guess I'm always leaning towards the side of caution.
    Oh, and the teledials are now missing off the car.
    I've sent him a list of questions -

1. What was the month that the car was first registered in 1978?
    2. What, if any of the electrics are not working?
    3. What is the condition of the exhaust?
    4. I see that some of the alloy panels are damaged & scratched, is this all around the car?
    5. Has any paint been applied to it since the Wheeler Dealers paint job?
    6. Do the headlights still pop up?
    7. What is the condition of the brakes, more specifically the discs?
    8. Do you still have the original teledial alloys from the car? I'm not interested in the later ones currently on it.
    9. What is the milage on the car? The ad says 168k but looks like the clock says 185k.
    10. How many owners has it had since the programme sold it?
    11. I know there was no history file with the car but what has been done mechanically since the programme?
    12. Does the car have a current MOT?
    13. Are you selling the car privately & if so do you mind me asking why?
    14. Finally (phew!) what faults are on the car not seen in the photos or mentioned above?

Am I taking the Pi** a little asking these? Or should I be asking more? Any thoughts Unkel?

quadrifoglio - I'm a little confused about the £5k V £9.5k thing? Maybe I missed something. Is that from looking at the ad or show?
    95% of the 928 ads I've looked at are later that 1979 so I thought I'd struck it lucky finding this one. I'd love to see a pic of your car?

galwaytt - thanks for the advice man, I've seen pics of your cars here in the past, you certainly look after them. I'm committed to a 928 though..

I'll update yis as I go if you want?

below are a couple of the pics he sent me -

wr-6.jpg

wr.jpg

CFD

Here are most of the answers to the questions that I asked -

1. What was the month that the car was first registered in 1978?
    - regestered 12/12/1978

2. What, if any of the electrics are not working?
    - all electrics work perfectly

3. What is the condition of the exhaust?
    - new front to back 2007

4. I see that some of the alloy panels are damaged & scratched, is this all around the car?
    - very small area above front plate/12 inch scratch in the lacquer not through to the colour/two or three stone chips /otherwise perfect

5. Has any paint been applied to it since the Wheeler Dealers paint job?
    - not even a touch up

6. Do the headlights still pop up?
    - yes

7. What is the condition of the brakes, more specifically the discs?
    - new pads june 08 brakes perfect discs excellent

8. Do you still have the original teledial alloys from the car? I'm not interested in the later ones currently on it.
    - i have the tellediles

9. What is the milage on the car? The ad says 168k but looks like the clock says 185k.
    - where did you get 168k from this is avery low mileage car mileage in hong kong these cars were for status not use,in this country it has covered the speedo reeding with only 16800 only

10. How many owners has it had since the programme sold it?
    - i bought it from nick gun in maidstone he bought from edward china tv program restorer

11. I know there was no history file with the car but what has been done mechanically since the programme?
    - air con cost 329.95/service 251.82/transmission overhaul 1418.55/+ acouple more bills etc

12. Does the car have a current MOT?
    - mot june 09

13. Are you selling the car privately & if so do you mind me asking why?
    - I have 5 classic cars my most used daily runner is my volvo 122s 1959/14 ,no faults drives perfect stops perfect looks ace

14. Finally (phew!) what faults are on the car not seen in the photos or mentioned above?
    - if the small areas of paint were sorted this would be the best in the country /everywhere i go in it somebody recognises it /the wheeler dealer program states they spent 5k on the car not true i have reciepts from the program for £9512 regards vic

I'm still a little confused by the milage answer but most of the responses are actually what I wanted to hear. Any thoughts?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I remember watching that Wheeler Dealers and loving that car!

Those answers seem pretty positive. At least he still has the original wheels. Also his reason for selling sounds genuine.

I assume the odometer only has 5 digits and he's making the assumption the clock hasn't rolled over? Doubt that!

I'm liking it. :)

Thanks Dades,
    Here is a pic of the speedo etc. What do you think it reads? -

dash.jpg

CFD

Thanks Dades,
    Here is a pic of the speedo etc. What do you think it reads?
    Wow - so it is actually less than 20K!

To he honest it looks like 16,522, but could easily be 18,522 because of the light on the dash. Add another zero and it might be relevant, but in this case the mileage is low regardless. :)

fwiw, with that much work done, esp the 'box, then the mileage is, frankly, irrelevant.

I like the colour - I even like the wheels - but was the whole car painted, or is it just a bad pic ?

Looks good to me !

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Yeah I saw the programme, its a cool 70's shade too !

He seems to describe it honestly and it has had a lot of work done.

May be worth a punt !!

Thanks for all the replies. I'm thinking of making an offer before the weekend. I know it's bonkers to think of buying what has SO much potential to go wrong, especially considering the climate..
    I'll let yis know how I get on.

Galwaytt - the colour in the pic I posted is the wrong shade, it's actually quite different to the real colour. Would you be interested in the wheels if he gives me the original teledials? What do you reckon they're worth? I'd be delighted to make the price of the travel on the trip.

dades - I still haven't got to the bottom of the mileage, it's advertised as having 168k but that ain't what it says on the clocks, regardless of how I add it up.

CFD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Borgman100

CFD,

BE interested to hear how you get on, but in my opinion given the economic climate now might be the time to make a good offer and get lucky. The cheaper you can get it, the lesser the risk it becomes.

Good luck!

CFD, if I didn't have a a spare set of those in the garage already, I probably would !

Mind you, those wheels are a fancied fit on a lowered Golf Gti - so try VAGdrivers forum to offer, if you buy it. They won't fetch big money though - lots of them about.

Ode To The Motorist

Morning All,
    Well the offer went in this morning so it's a case of wait & see.
    I'll be away from the office for most of the day but if he get's in touch I'll let yis know!

CFD

dades - I still haven't got to the bottom of the mileage, it's advertised as having 168k but that ain't what it says on the clocks, regardless of how I add it up.
    Unless the interior is mint I'd err on the side of caution!
    Morning All,
    Well the offer went in this morning so it's a case of wait & see.
    I'll be away from the office for most of the day but if he get's in touch I'll let yis know!
    We await with baited breath! Really hope you get it so we can all have a good ogle at it some stage. :)

Any update yet, carlosfandango?

How did you come across the car - is it advertised somewhere? What was your offer? Did you get a VRT quote yet?

I have that full episode of Wheeler Dealers somewhere. Must watch it again soon :)

Most of the sellers answers seem positive, except the one about the mileage. Surely that can't be right. Did they mention anything about mileage in the Wheeler Dealer program? Did you do a HPI check on the car?
    Am I taking the Pi** a little asking these? Or should I be asking more? Any thoughts Unkel?

Nope, you're not taking the p1ss. The big question that you haven't asked is when and at what mileage was the cambelt changed?
    I can live with the 3 speed and reduced power. Are they less reliable as a gearbox? Or is just the usability of it?
    The manual is not for me, I'll leave that to the purists. I always go by the rule, big engine - slush box!

Yep same here. About the reliability of the 3-sp autobox - I don't know. But from the sellers answers, the box was overhauled recently, so that must be a good thing, surely
    What colour is your S2? I wonder if I have seen you about.

It's navy metallic. This is the thread I posted (with pics) when I bought it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Borgman100

HEy CFD,

Any news yet?

Keen to hear how you got on?

Borgman100

Hello All!
    Thanks for the queries. I made an offer and he told me his bottom line (in the usual odd emails that he's been sending me) so we are at a kind of a stalemate..
    I was contemplating flying over on Friday to the UK to have a look and play further hardball but it looks like I have to do two meetings that I can't get out of now.
    However, it's not over yet. The amount he wants and the amount I'm willing to pay are not a million miles apart so I may buckle yet... I doubt there's many looking to bite his hand off (I hope he's not reading this thread!).
    So, I'm up to my neck in work but am still pursuing it and as soon as I have an update I let yis know.

Unkel - Nice Car man

Dades - I'm about as cautious as the come! Also, happy to let you ogle it if it comes my way. Here's a pic of the interior -

wr-6.jpg

Galwaytt - thanks for the VW/Porsche wheels tip, might come in handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭beanderb4

hey Carlos. It's been a while! These are beautiful cars, drive great, sound great and cost a packet if they go wrong. If u like I can put u in touch with a mate of mine that had one of these and would have a lot of inside info as to what to look out for. I did some work on his to replace the head gasket in a barn!!! Give me a shout if u do buy it anyhow. Would love to catch up with u anyhow.

Update:
    Deal done. Deposit Paid.

beanderb4 - hey man, only just saw your post now. Been dealing with a few issues (you know who you are!) bloody women...

Anyway, I'll post when I get it landed with a few pics of the journey home and a road trip report!

CFD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Bugnut

http://www.volkszone.com/VZi/showthread.php?t=534972

This might be a little late but a great example.

Congrats :)

Pics now please :D

Bugnut wrote: »
    http://www.volkszone.com/VZi/showthread.php?t=534972

This might be a little late but a great example.
    I find the wording of his advertisement odd:
    I bought this 928 after a long and fruitless search for a lovely 928

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Bugnut

Just to be clear that the Link and the Advertisement have nothing to do with me.

I just found it and thought it might be of interest to someone on this thread, even if just for info.

Good luck with the new car.

Thanks Folks,
    Hoping to head over next week, he's in Doncaster!
    She's MOT'd & even taxed so ready to rock.
    I'll take a heap of pics and post 'em up.

CFD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

Unkel I really miss the 928 ;) if it disappear from your place, it means it on the way to Galway!!!!!!! (just messing off course)

I think I need to get another one, but the S4. What would be the Co2 with the new VRT system ?

Galwaytt : You still have your 968's very temping but might need to get a loan for it :eek:

I think the 928 and 968 are the nicest of all the porsches. I might have to sell my 924 now !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

CFD

Firstly, sorry I have not looked at all the other posts. No offence to anybody.
    So hope this assists anybody else considering doing the same as Carlos.

I had considered buying a '88 928S4 among a couple of other modern classics for purchase in '06 from the U.K.. Lost my bottle and ended up with a smaller engined car instead that was less costly. Anyway here's my pennies worth.

Firstly, my budget was too low @ £6,000. I'd advise a min. of £8,000 as ususal buy the best you can afford.
    I could not get the VRT to commit to the exact charge on importing even with the full details of a particular car. I was advised some where between €4-6,000 but they would need to inspect the car first! What difference that would make I don't really know as all the 928S4's are fully loaded?

Allow making a min. of two trips to the U.K. and have a good look around at 4-8 cars for sale but the more the better, before purchasing make sure you employ a specialist technican to give it the once over, a 2nd opinion is worth every penny, approx £150-200. But the best bit of advise I can give you is FIRST joint the Porsche GB club.

My first choice would be ideally a 928S manual (300bhp & unspoilt original looks) but not too many about, next in line would be a 928S4 most popular for sale at the time but money no object 928GTS manual (£17-25K).

These cars imo are under rated and I personally would have one before a 911 but you must allow for preventive maintance which is cheap in the long run plus I'd factor in €1500-2000 p.a. for repairs. A full Porsche service history and or speciallist is vital, proof of cambelts being changed is a must.

locteau wrote: »
    What would be the Co2 with the new VRT system ?

The only difference is that it used to be 30% of OMSP (based on engine size) and now it is 36% (because of the emissions)

You did very well indeed with the VRT - the receipt is right here beside me :D
    I had considered buying a '88 928S4 among a couple of other modern classics for purchase in '06 from the U.K.. Lost my bottle and ended up with a smaller engined car instead that was less costly.

Such a shame! You obviously know your stuff on the 928 and you really like them. Prudence is a good thing in general and with classic cars in particular. That said, I feel you have been overly cautious with both your purchasing budget and your budget for annual maintenance. And as a result, you do not own a 928

Out of interest, what did you buy instead?

unkel wrote: »
    Such a shame! You obviously know your stuff on the 928 and you really like them. Prudence is a good thing in general and with classic cars in particular. That said, I feel you have been overly cautious with both your purchasing budget and your budget for annual maintenance. And as a result, you do not own a 928

Out of interest, what did you buy instead?

I understand you are the proud owner of a 928, I am correct? If so I'll tip my hat to you. I would disagree about being too cautious as I believe one should be very prudent especially buying a 928, 500E, M635CSI, M5(E34) etc or a 911 for that matter from say a 4th owner with lets say 120k mls plus.

In fairness to your comments which I don't doubt you figures but mine I'd expect to be different as I use my classics as daily transport so that's 18k mls per year, not as weekend or dry weather car and never garaged plus trips to the U.K. & Germany. So, my costings would be correct for me - one set of tyres €700 and there's no point in driving a fast car slow! I'd imagine that would be tyres for me every 10k mls. Bearing in mind too that not using the car on a regular basis is bad news and will give rise to problems.Anyway not to labour the point, but I don't skimp on repair costs. Each to their own and all that.

I would only be to delighted if someone else took the plunge and purchased a 928 just to prove me wrong but more importantly to have one of the best classic GT cars money can buy. If it was good enough for LJK Setright it sure is good enough for me. Still hard to believe this car was designed in the early 70's, for modern looks alone the only other car that comes close or as good as is the very expensive BMW M1, imo.

Thus, as you rightly said I've missed out but could not justify costs for several reasons but the 928 is not off my radar just out of distance, who knows? I also considered a Mercedes-Benz W124 500E/E500 (£9-15k) but l/h/d knocked that one, plainly impossible to drive it on our roads safely, well not travelling to Mayo etc.

So, guess what I purchased? Now as a 928 owner you may be a bit disappointed but I'd tapping your rear bumper on any road bar a descent straight A road or motorway but still be behind you pulling very close to 150mph, so go on have a guess. German, 4 doors, DTM race pedigree, 2.5lt.

Mercredes-Benz 190E 2.5-16, aka Cosworth to some.

Edit: When am I calling around to fill up your tank, SO I can go for blast in your car? I'm smiling.

II use my classics as daily transport so that's 18k mls per year, not as weekend or dry weather car and never garaged

The 928 is my daily driver whatever the weather. It's not garaged and I need it to be 100% reliable to start first thing in the morning. That said, I do a lot less than 18k miles per year

I like your cossie :D

But tbh I'm a bit surprised by your choice of car, or to be more specific, your choice of engine. You'll be clocking up 180k miles in 10 years - will the highly strung 4 pot engine be up for that?

The 928 Fuel consuption on the 928 is exeptional, an dvery good.

You can not compare a 4.7 liter car or 5 or 5.4 to a mercedes or BMW. It was better than my Lexus GS300 3L.

I had a 3.6 Jaguar before the 928 and was was like a diesel compare to it.

Then the body of the 928 will never compare to a rusty other classic of the same year or other cars or even some 911.

When you buy a classic after inspecting the car, people forget that the most important : "how much the previous owner loved his car?" which means that there is lots of little extra added or done to the car that you won't see but feel !

Or you get a "boy racer car" been abused mechanically, just for someone who wanted a super car.... and luckly survived.

I am definetly getting another one, as soon I get someone to give me a small loan. :o

unkel wrote: »
    The 928 is my daily driver whatever the weather. It's not garaged and I need it to be 100% reliable to start first thing in the morning. That said, I do a lot less than 18k miles per year

I like your cossie :D

But tbh I'm a bit surprised by your choice of car, or to be more specific, your choice of engine. You'll be clocking up 180k miles in 10 years - will the highly strung 4 pot engine be up for that?

Oh, I'm a bit old school and would never call it a Cosworth, as M-B never marketed it as such for several reasons. Imo and others its far more refinded that say a Ford Sierra Cosworth of the same era and build quality is in a different league. A fair compairsion is a BMW E30 M3 but left hooker only mores the pitty and Mercedes engine is considered sweeter.

The choice arose due to first I was driving a 'modern' '00 Mercedes and had a 190E 2.6 auto also, by the way the best alround 190 ever. I was toying with idea of dropping in a 3.0lt (188bhp) engine which is a straight swap but the 2.6 is a bit nicer and there was sod all wrong with it @ 130k mls. So sold the 'moderm' Merc (not great) and when looking at 928's etc and just as a reserve purchase had the 2.5-16 in mind, only 5000 or so built, good spec ie 204bhp, Getrag 5sp box with 5th 1:1, ASD diff, SLS self levelling rear suspension, and mine has some toys like a/con, roof & elec. memory seats with leather and they are available in auto also. So not the same by any means as a 928 but a very good package at reasonable money.

Let tell you about the engine, God I'm a bit smitten. So excuse me.

I purchased the car with 143k mls, 3 owners & f/mb/s/h to 120k but did'nt use it for the first year during which time I had the head overhauled, timing chain etc - a wise precautionary move imo though no faults were found.
    I've now put another 31k bringing it to 174k it in the last 20 months, carried out a compression check recently and all the cylinders are well within M-B specifications with bottom end never touched and I'm one to use the 7200rpm limit now & then. But suspect a bottom end rebuild will be due at 200k, I'll just have to wait & see. I'm averaging 27.1mpg driving as I like and 30mpg is possible, not bad. So no worries touch wood as far as the engine goes but I'm finding those '08 VW Golf GTI's hard work (need bit more torque and another 20bhp)! But in truth that's not the point in owning one.

The 928 Fuel consuption on the 928 is exeptional, an dvery good.

You can not compare a 4.7 liter car or 5 or 5.4 to a mercedes or BMW. It was better than my Lexus GS300 3L.

I had a 3.6 Jaguar before the 928 and was was like a diesel compare to it.

Then the body of the 928 will never compare to a rusty other classic of the same year or other cars or even some 911.

When you buy a classic after inspecting the car, people forget that the most important : "how much the previous owner loved his car?" which means that there is lots of little extra added or done to the car that you won't see but feel !

Or you get a "boy racer car" been abused mechanically, just for someone who wanted a super car.... and luckly survived.

I am definetly getting another one, as soon I get someone to give me a small loan. :o

Hats off to you to Sir.

As for the loan I think any fellow 928 owner would oblige!

Thanks John,

I think we all love so much our cars that we just believe our own ones are better !!! The good thing about this is that it is nice to have different cars on the roads, I think we should all be proud that we keep them on the road !!!

Just got refused a loan because it is a porsche !!! they told me it would be easier to get a new car loan than a porsche.....

Thanks John,

I think we all love so much our cars that we just believe our own ones are better !!! The good thing about this is that it is nice to have different cars on the roads, I think we should all be proud that we keep them on the road !!!

Just got refused a loan because it is a porsche !!! they told me it would be easier to get a new car loan than a porsche.....

Is that the Irish banking mentality for you? A New car loan has I suspect more advantages to the money lenders, sorry the Banks I mean. Unreal as for car transport one needs a car, type in my opinion is customers choice. But I also hear it's very difficult to get a commerical vehicle loan also. Looks like there is a large amount of repo's out there at present.
    Surely there must be away around getting the loan? The U.K. at present is a great market to buy classic big engined motor at present or to antyhing really.

What's your current 928 like?

Edit: Forget my last question, just noticed you saying you sold yours.

Well I did not get the "new 928 S4" yet but it would be around 9000 euro including the VRT.

I had a S2 928 then a 924 (don't ask why, but love it) but I always love the round pop up lights. I know teh guy who sell it and know the car too.

If I can get 8k loan I would be happy on 3 or 4years repayment.

One of them told me that they prefer people to buy a new one than a second hand one, I did not say that it was my choice but really think so.

I applied for a new SAAB 95 and got accepted, but want to get my 928.....

Well I did not get the "new 928 S4" yet but it would be around 9000 euro including the VRT.

I had a S2 928 then a 924 (don't ask why, but love it) but I always love the round pop up lights. I know teh guy who sell it and know the car too.

If I can get 8k loan I would be happy on 3 or 4years repayment.

One of them told me that they prefer people to buy a new one than a second hand one, I did not say that it was my choice but really think so.

I applied for a new SAAB 95 and got accepted, but want to get my 928.....

I wish you luck. As for SAAB 9-5..................they are not selling, to old and being replaced soon I understand. Thus you being accepted for a loan?

I just want the 928 !!!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

I just want the 928 !!!!!:D

You go easy now Seb...! You are falling into the Porsche trap...!

One is NEVER enough...!