Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Caution Press are watching

• 10-02-2009 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭

lads any references you have made that might be able to lead to your identification remove em ....

press are watching and using what you say against you... be warned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Folks,

In the past I have seen some posts from all areas of the Emergency Services which could have identified that posters station which is not a good idea. In all cases the posters have been advised to remove or edit their posts.

I recommend any posters who feel they may have over indulged on information you can edit your posts here is what to do:

1. Within 48hrs of a post being submitted the user can edit the text out of the post by selecting 'edit' then deleting the text and selecting 'save'
    2. To soft delete a post entirely, select 'edit' then 'go advanced' then, in delete options, select 'delete post' then select 'delete this message'.

There may be cases where another poster has Quoted all or part of your post. You can have this deleted by the Moderators on that forum. The list of Mods for all forums are listed on the bottom of main page of all forums.

Another good idea is not have any links on your profile which may identify you. Links such as to your Bebo page or sports club etc are not a good idea. Make yourself as unidentifiable as possible and only release any details to people you trust or know well.

Any other questions just PM me.

post edited with proper instructions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 PeelerHurley

I use this 2nd account just to post here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

I use this 2nd account just to post here.

i thought boards dont allow 2 accounts:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Na, as far as I'm aware having two is ok as long as you're not using one to get around a ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Is there a specific reason for this post now or just a general warning?

General Warning only. No harm in reminding people from time to time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

I know this has been asked before but I can't find it when searching. I note some on here change their username occasionally and that's no bad idea. How do I do that and keep my posts history intact? I'd prefer not to have to wait another 50 posts to post on the soccer forum.

As an aside I know many of us get a bit heated here occasionally, myself included, but it's no harm to issue a reminder like that every once in a while. No hack is gonna get too concerned about anyone here if the s*** ever hits the fan.

(memo to self-has Erew or Erough been taken yet?).:D:D

This has been asked a few times. If anyone wishes to change their username then Click here. You need to subscribe to boards in order to change your username. You can subscribe for 1 month if you wish for €5. Your old posts will remain intact except the name of the poster which will change to your new name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭santosubito

opti76 wrote: »
    lads any references you have made that might be able to lead to your identification remove em ....

Really? I haven't seen any stories from here at all. What have I missed, so? You'd need to be a pretty **** reporter to take the word of some anonymous person on an anonymous board as gospel.

[Edit: however, the OP does have a valid point on identification. It is somewhat easy to at least find out the unit/station of some posters here. I wouldn't imagine that it's a massive security risk, but if a lazy reporter can work this out, the funny fellas would obviously be able to do the same and would, I imagine, be able to identify specific people who post anything contentious on the board. But, in all seriousness, I haven't seen anything that could get anyone in trouble posted here. God knows I've tried.]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Fo

Holsten wrote: »
    Na, as far as I'm aware having two is ok as long as you're not using one to get around a ban.

How come myself & my boyfriend's accounts were instantly deleted without a moderator contacting us?I had to re-register and ask the Mod why we were deleted, and he/she said becuase we have the same IP address we must be the same person with a duplicate account!we live in the same house, share a laptop and broadband... surely we can have an account each?I found this very unfair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Fo wrote: »
    How come myself & my boyfriend's accounts were instantly deleted without a moderator contacting us?I had to re-register and ask the Mod why we were deleted, and he/she said becuase we have the same IP address we must be the same person with a duplicate account!we live in the same house, share a laptop and broadband... surely we can have an account each?I found this very unfair.
    There's got to be more to it than you're saying. You should query it in the helpdesk forum.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=30

I don't know why people have thanked the Op for this. He/She is talking out of his/her derriere.

Who is watching people here? Who is using what they say here against them?
    Nobody, I would venture. As someone who reads every paper every day, I've seen nothing from the ES section of boards. What a pile of paranoid nonsense. You're all anonymous, for Christ's sake. As an openly reporter person, known to some people here, I've absolutely no interest in what any of you say. Professionally, that is.

I don't know why people have thanked the Op for this. He/She is talking out of his/her derriere.

Nobody, I would venture. As someone who reads every paper every day, I've seen nothing from the ES section of boards. What a pile of paranoid nonsense. You're all anonymous, for Christ's sake. As an openly reporter person, known to some people here, I've absolutely no interest in what any of you say. Professionally, that is.

OK ok santos I gave you a thankyou as well just so you dont feel left out :)

I dont think you can really claim to read every single little article in every paper. The nationals sure but all the little local rags as well?

Besides, its not just the op. A few of us have been warned in private by other non-site users about posting on the net.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

get over yourself will you.

If the press aren't watching , then the higher powers in AGS most certainly are, and always have been probably.
    So id still advise everyone to be cautious on giving away information which could identify you.

Eru wrote: »
    OK ok santos I gave you a thankyou as well just so you dont feel left out :)

I dont think you can really claim to read every single little article in every paper. The nationals sure but all the little local rags as well?

Besides, its not just the op. A few of us have been warned in private by other non-site users about posting on the net.

I read weeklies when they come out - I'm a reporter, I've nothing else to do.:)
    Look, I've not seen one story from this bit of boards, not one. But, as I said earlier, it might not be reporters watching this site, it might be those people in the Depot...
    That's up to you guys what you say. I, for example, hide my identity here lest my bosses see what I am writing. I may, just may, have slagged off my own organisation here before. And I don't know of any reporters sitting on this site looking for stories, in all honesty.
    So, in essence, don't rat yourselves out and don't be paranoid.

pvt.joker wrote: »
    get over yourself will you.

If the press aren't watching , then the higher powers in AGS most certainly are, and always have been probably.
    So id still advise everyone to be cautious on giving away information which could identify you.

I don't need to get over myself at all. And you'll find I said what you said about the higher powers a few posts ago.
    If ye want to make this site ES only, go ahead, If not, get over yourself. Why don't we both get over ourselves?

Relax lads, the sites working just fine. We have for the most part, sensible posters, active mods and good threads which are usually working of nothing more than personal opinion and information freely available in the public domain.

I would however have to disagree with Santos about the media, we went over this already and theres more than one media story concerning Gardai on the internet for whatever social reasons. These stories have made it to management. I personally dont know if management take an interest in this site but I presume they have some interest in what Gardai are posting on the net.

Boards and this section appears not to be attracting much attention. lets keep it that way by thinking about what your posting and keeping personal information for pm if you so desire.

Eru wrote: »
    Relax lads, the sites working just fine. We have for the most part, sensible posters, active mods and good threads which are usually working of nothing more than personal opinion and information freely available in the public domain.

I would however have to disagree with Santos about the media, we went over this already and theres more than one media story concerning Gardai on the internet for whatever social reasons.

Boards and this section appears not to be attracting much attention. lets keep it that way by thinking about what your posting.

I think you're referring to the fella who put a picture of himself in uniform on a certain website. With respect, that's completely different to this site and I don't think anyone here would be that silly. Silly he was, by the way. But, as I said, just be careful. People don't know, largely, where I work, because I don't give any clues. Not that it's that important, I'm not well known at all. But it could embarrass me if people knew.
    I have noticed, I have to say, that some people here have said where they work. Not the wisest move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

I don't blame the media for taking an interest in what members of the ES say on the internet. The ES people in question should have more cop on though. Don't air your dirty Laundry in public.

Although I will not go into details, I know that one poster's identity has been comprimised.

Well thats just it. We dont know who is watching this forum. TBH in the past some posters have made it fairly obvious where they work and most if not all posts were removed by the user or the Mods. Some controversial things were posted and removed almost immediately too.

Not having a go at you, I respect you and your colleagues the same as I would respect anyone else but we do need and have been so far pretty careful about what we post.
    I don't blame the media for taking an interest in what members of the ES say on the internet. The ES people in question should have more cop on though. Don't air your dirty Laundry in public.

This forum is not for airing dirty laundry. We discuss problems we have and there is some dissent alright but its better than hiding it and pretending everything is good in the hood.

We also give insights to the public about the problems we face and they give us feedback. It works both ways you see.

TheNog wrote: »
    Although I will not go into details, I know that one poster's identity has been comprimised.

Well thats just it. We dont know who is watching this forum. TBH in the past some posters have made it fairly obvious where they work and most if not all posts were removed by the user or the Mods. Some controversial things were posted and removed almost immediately too.

Not having a go at you, I respect you and your colleagues the same as I would respect anyone else but we do need and have been so far pretty careful about what we post.

I think we are in agreement on this. I've said a few times here that people need to be careful divulging things. As I have mentioned before, I would not be surprised if people in the Depot were looking here. My only quibble is that I, genuinely, have not seen anything from here that ended up in papers. So it's not the press that could cause members posting here problems, rather their superiors.
    And I completely agree on being careful. This is, largely, an anonymous board and that lets people express themselves a bit more. But people just need to remember that whatever they do say could be traced back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

The Sunday Times:

January 11, 2009

Gardai ‘go-slow’ causes delays at Dublin airport

A protest has created long immigration queues

...One poster on boards.ie said: “It took 55 minutes from getting off the plane to actually get out of the airport with only hand luggage.
    “Thankfully it was a short flight. God bless older people, those with kids and those getting off a 10-hour flight as it must be an impossible ordeal. I complained to a Dublin Airport Authority (DAA) guy and got a shrugged shoulder and a ‘blame the gardai’ comment.” ...

..............................................................................

An extract from the article. This was posted in the Commuting and Transport forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

ha..

your the press you spend your time hawking in here enough said...

just cos it wasnt printed doesnt mean my warning wasnt real

and if it wasnt for the fact that id probably get banned id prove to you that we are being watched by the press and gutter press alike.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Not all that surprising really, just have a look at this forum can you can see the media reference boards.ie every now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

This seems a good oppourtunity to mention something thats been annoying me for a while...

I've made a few contacts through this and by one way or another, have confirmed they are who they say they are. I've posted on several topics in particular the police use of firearms as I have first hand knowledge of this subject.

A while ago I was informed that a lot of regular posters on here have 'doubts' about the authenticity of my information and my claims to be an AFO. This doubt was caused because I hadn't been forthcoming with information about myself and hadn't bothered to 'establish myself' apparently.

I thought by posting you were establishing yourself?? and I had stated enough about me that was relevant to the boards at the time.

Without issuing you my name, warrant number or a photo of me with an MP5 and todays daily Mirror, I can't 'prove' to you that I am who I say I am but I would have thought that from my posts my trust was earned.

The regular posters on here are, in my opinion and in the main, suitably savvy when it comes to OpSec and PerSec, which makes me curious as to why these people who apparently doubt me, want identifable proof of who I am. I think the annonimity allows a lot of freedom of expression and I'm sure all the serving ES personell probably wouldn't post if there own names were on the sidebar. I'm not going to cause unnecessary risk to myself just so people I am trying to be friendly and helpful to believe me, or not.

Appologies for the personal rant, but it seems to kind of fit into this thread... Some people will declare more of their personal info than others, it's up to them..not a great idea,but people have different views on PerSec. Use some common sense and to those that happily tell all, understand those that don't.

ha..

your the press you spend your time hawking in here enough said...

just cos it wasnt printed doesnt mean my warning wasnt real

and if it wasnt for the fact that id probably get banned id prove to you that we are being watched by the press and gutter press alike.

Nah, I don't think so, actually.
    How do you know I'm the press? Because I said so? I could just be some sad loser pretending to be a reporter. Just the same way that some people here could be claiming to be members, when they're actually window cleaners.
    If you think I'm going to spend my time watching this site in the hope somebody with a made up name is going to impart some state secret you are sadly mistaken.

donvito99 wrote: »
    The Sunday Times:

January 11, 2009

Gardai ‘go-slow’ causes delays at Dublin airport

A protest has created long immigration queues

...One poster on boards.ie said: “It took 55 minutes from getting off the plane to actually get out of the airport with only hand luggage.
    “Thankfully it was a short flight. God bless older people, those with kids and those getting off a 10-hour flight as it must be an impossible ordeal. I complained to a Dublin Airport Authority (DAA) guy and got a shrugged shoulder and a ‘blame the gardai’ comment.” ...

..............................................................................

An extract from the article. This was posted in the Commuting and Transport forum.

Ah, right, so. Was there anything from this site lifted at all anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

I think the point is that at any time, something that somebody posts could be used. Whether or not the OP has some sort of inside information about sneaky press or not is irrelevant. It's no harm to be reminded that information posted here in the course of a conversation could easily be taken out of context and printed regardless of whether or not it has ever happened before it still could. Its a common sense issue and I think we are all essentially saying the same thing here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Fo

Random wrote: »
    There's got to be more to it than you're saying. You should query it in the helpdesk forum.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=30

There's nothing more to it, perhaps that particular mod didn't like something I posted.

Thank you for the link :)

Nah, I don't think so, actually.
    How do you know I'm the press? Because I said so? I could just be some sad loser pretending to be a reporter. Just the same way that some people here could be claiming to be members, when they're actually window cleaners.
    If you think I'm going to spend my time watching this site in the hope somebody with a made up name is going to impart some state secret you are sadly mistaken.

Ha ha ha, you WISH you were a window cleaner instead of a journo! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭trentf

what have you got to worry about if your not doing anything wrong? This very thread implies members are doing and saying things they know are wrong which is likely to attract unwanted attention in the first place.