Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horror Films That Gave You Nightmares

• 09-02-2009 12:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭

Hey guys,

When you where younger what films scared the bejesus out of you?

Ive 2 that stand out. The first one was IT by Stephen King. It gave me full on proper nightmares and developed my fear of clowns, i was 11 when i watched it.

it-bill07.jpg

The second was Ghoulies II, i was pretty young when i watched this also over my Nans place while my dad and his brothers watched it. I can remember hiding behind the sette and being afraid to sit on the toilet for months.

2363694159_754332efa0.jpg?v=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

the thing.

freaked me out cos i was a chappie when I saw it first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

kaimera wrote: »
    the thing.

freaked me out cos i was a chappie when I saw it first

Heh, was about to post the same. Saw it when it came out and could hardly sleep for weeks afterwards.

The original Jaws did it to me as well, I kept dreaming the wall behind my bed turned to water and the theme music started.

Great times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Mena wrote: »
    The original Jaws did it to me as well, I kept dreaming the wall behind my bed turned to water and the theme music started.

Great times.

My brother was the same. He was very very young and saw one of the death scenes (he walked into the room while it was on, was supposed to be in bed). He was terrified to go near water for weeks, including baths and wouldnt sit on the toilet bowl :D

I saw Critters 2 when i was fairly young - the scene where they are trying to get the guy standing on the stool. That one freaked me out. More so because I hadn't seen the first and didnt know what the hell was supposed to be eating the legs off the stool to get at him.

Of course Nightmare on elm street gets a mention too. I think that one gave nightmares to an entire generation of children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

c - 13 wrote: »
    My brother was the same. He was very very young and saw one of the death scenes (he walked into the room while it was on, was supposed to be in bed). He was terrified to go near water for weeks, including baths and wouldnt sit on the toilet bowl :D

Well, other than dreams, I had hassles for weeks just getting into our swimming pool. Looking back it's rather silly, as you can see what the heck is in there, but I'd often chuck my bro in first to make sure "Jaws wasn't there" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭p to the e

Before i even clicked into this thread i was going to say IT. couldn't be in a house alone for a long time. it's probably not a horror film per se but 'Predator' induced many bowel movements for me, even into my adulthood

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Candyman for me. I loved the film but it scared the crap out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭LorraineL

I watched Return of the Living Dead when i was a kid. Took it from my older brother's room. For ages afterwards I had nightmares and would get up in the middle of the night and keep watch out of my parents' bedroom window while they were sleeping to make sure the zombies weren't coming down the road.

Watched it a couple of years ago and found it hilarious. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Nightmare on Elm street without a doubt.

"one, two, Freddys' comming for you...three, four, better lock your door...."

Scared the crap out of me :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bikki

Well i also had a irrational fear of the old Scooby Doo cartoons, i got locked I'm my room one day for being bold, and completely freaked out when i started seeing the Characters on my scooby doo curtains moving. And i mean really freaked. Had to get the curtains removed from the room before i went back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭flybynight

Salem's Lot (the original 2 part miniseries). Saw it when I was about 6 or 7 years old. Every night for 6 months afterwards i was convinced that a vampire was going to turn up at my bedroom window and start scratching on the glass! The fact a tree in the garden used to cast shadows on the curtains didn't help matters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

themadchef wrote: »
    Nightmare on Elm street without a doubt.
    "one, two, Freddys' comming for you...three, four, better lock your door...."
    Scared the crap out of me :o

My sister hated that film too, god the nights I spent staying up with her til she fell asleep because of that stupid film :p brought back memories.

For me, when i was about 9 or 10, it was Salem's Lot I think (I remember seeing a bluey coloured bald vampire and thinking F**K THIS)
    and of course, every child's worst nightmare, IT

*shudder* I dont scare easy, but there was just something very wrong about that film

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Not me but when I was younger about 10 ish, my cousin was over and I managed to convice my mam to rent us all the Childs Play films, she thought they were funny comedies...

Anyway fast forward to the end of the first one, my cousin crying his eyes out and ended up wetting the bed about 3 times cos he was so f**king scared :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

flybynight wrote: »
    Salem's Lot (the original 2 part miniseries). Saw it when I was about 6 or 7 years old.....
    SNAP!!!:D that was weird. we almost posted at the exact same time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

Briget jones's Diary. Those big pants:eek:

Something a little less scary Salems Lot. The bit with the brother at the window. It just freaked me out when i was younger, Feck it it still freaks me out.

SalemsLot11.jpg

The head vampire was a little scary also (just a bit:eek:)

Edit: I did post at the same time, ah well, obviously i wasnt alone in my thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

The original Japanese version of The Ring. Scared the bejaysus out of me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Child's Play.

I thought the teddy on top of the wardrobe was going to kill me:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

for me has to be The Exorcist I saw it when I was about eleven, I remember after watching it going to bed and thinking it was starting to vibrate :D

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    The original Japanese version of The Ring. Scared the bejaysus out of me!

+1.

Had it on Dvd. At the ending i was like, no way she couldnt could she (not going to give it away just in case some have not seen it) The menu screen was freaky also because it just had a close up of the girls eye moving.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I could pretend that it was only the likes of the Exorcist and Salem's lot (the bit with yer man on the chair did it for me!) but as a child it wasnt always the intentionally scary stuff that freaked me out.

The big in Ghostbusters in the library when the old lady ghost goes all scary on us, freaked me out! In Superman III when yer wan was made into a robot at the big computer yoke at the end, that freaked me out too!

as a child, i had a big FAIL stamp on my forehead! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

An American Warewolf in London did it to me. 'Stay out of the moonlight and off the moors'. Be jasus, walking home through fields in the evening the smell of fear would be strong. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

When I was a child ET was the scariest film on the planet.

Other than that all Zombie movies make me think too much about "what if..."

The Grudge scared the pants off me and one time on the way home through a woods all I could think of was The Blair Witch Project.

Edit: Oh and Poltergeist that bit with the clown and this freakin' guy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

I saw loads of horrors as young as 6/7 as I was the babby in a house of older lads

Child's Play was the worst I'd ever seen. I think it only hit me so bad cos its the only film where the killer is trying to kill a little boy :(

So had loadsa dreams, but im over it now, and I killed him loads times. Yay!!

Also, the exorcist! but weird ones

I always end up goin out with yer one who's possessed, and I know shes gonna change all icky so im tryin to get away from her, but cant

Scarlih

The Haunted from 1991 was another film that i didnt enjoy watching

faceman wrote: »
    I could pretend that it was only the likes of the Exorcist and Salem's lot (the bit with yer man on the chair did it for me!) but as a child it wasnt always the intentionally scary stuff that freaked me out.

The big in Ghostbusters in the library when the old lady ghost goes all scary on us, freaked me out! In Superman III when yer wan was made into a robot at the big computer yoke at the end, that freaked me out too!

as a child, i had a big FAIL stamp on my forehead! :o

Ah everyone has a few of those as well. ET scared the bollox off me the first time I watched it.

You know the way that his chest kind of glowed slightly ? Well I woke up during the night and the wardrobe door had opened and I could see this red glow across the room. I probably left a trail of ****e the whole way up to my parents room.

The immersion tank and wiring was in my bedroom at the time - inside the wardrobe. It was the red indicator light I had seen. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭damselnat

The witch from sleeping beauty

The T rex from Land Before Time

And

godfather_l.jpg

By god he scared me sh!tless when I was eight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

flybynight wrote: »
    Salem's Lot (the original 2 part miniseries). Saw it when I was about 6 or 7 years old. Every night for 6 months afterwards i was convinced that a vampire was going to turn up at my bedroom window and start scratching on the glass! The fact a tree in the garden used to cast shadows on the curtains didn't help matters!

Yeah I was gonna vote this one too. Same scene too. The window scene gave me the creeps as a kid. I had a nightmare where the vampire was outside the window of my classroom in primary school trying to get at me and no-one else in the class could see it. Only difference was this was (obviously) during the daytime in strong sunshine. In fact I Was convinced for years that the scene in the movie itself happened in the daytime. Rewatched Salem again years later and it's just was dissapointed to see it happening at night and also that it had been performed with such weak visuals.. The image in my mind was far more powerful all this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

The shìt-inducer for me was Alien. I had toys before I saw the actual film, and after I did (thank you older brother) I couldn't have them in the same room as me anymore. Kicking myself for getting rid of them now though, I had a mad Ripley in a Power Loader :(

Pet Cemetary - the bit where the undead toddler-kid comes out from under the bed with the scalpel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

eh.....all of them!!! i am a total fraidy cat!!! it all started with Childs Play and Nightmare on Elm Street when i was a little girl at my dads house at the end of a country lane surrounded by fields...FEAR!!! i still cant even look at a pic of chuckie without my heart racing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

As a kid - 'when a stranger calls', also Jaws and episodes of 'Tales of the Unexpected'. Also The bionic woman episodes where they had androids whose face would fall off revealing all the circuitry something like this :

http://www.core77.com/blog/images/fembot.jpg

Kolchak etc

As an adult, Alien, Some Tartan Asian stuff and American Werewolf in London - zombies, Blair witch project etc

Also Rosemary's Baby . . . . . . . The sleazy creepy old couple scared the life out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

Wolf Creek!!! started off fine, got a good laugh then half way through, the horror started, didn't watch the end, I felt sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Realtine

The Amityville Horror - don't know what I was thinking when I watched it as a teenager. It scared the crap out of me so much so I kept thinking the devil himself was after me :eek::eek:

Anyway got over it and in my early 20's I thought I sit down and watch it again....bad idea. I ended up crawling over to the TV on my hands and knees to turn it off.
    Never Again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 stevie martina

I love horrors,a real buff I am and as such I have become immune to them scaring me,however the only 2 films that really scared me then and even now are the EXORCIST and Nosferatu with Klaus Kinski. the colours aand sounds in that movie are just so weird.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

The one that springs to mind having watched it again recently enough is Pet Sematary,the flash back scenes involving yer wans deformed sister.Still to this day made the hairs on the back on my neck stand up.There is only 1 other film in recent memory that has been able to do that.It has aged extremely well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

In no particular order:

The Exorcist

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (original version)

Salem's Lot

The Omen (original -- although the remake ain't bad)

The Omen 2

Wolf Creek

Jaws

The Shining

Halloween

and a film called Patrick (which I saw again recently, and laughed). But at the time, I pissed myself with fear.

All but two, I saw as a kid. No wonder I have problems today.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

IT - stupid fuppin' clown :(

Poltergeist - another fuppin' clown puppet! :( Rest of it was pretty creepy too.

Ringu (Original Japanese version of The Ring) - saw it in the dark alone when all my friends had conked out.

Bram Stoker's Dracula - It was just creepy :(

Tremors! :eek: Jesus that scared the crap out of me. I used to think the worm thingy was gonna come up through the floor under my bed and eat me :(

Arachnaphobia - all those friggin' spiders! :( Watching it now, it's quite humourous.

Return to Oz - The Wheelers! Noooooooooooo!! :(

Jurassic Park - as a small child I was terrified of the T-Rex, even just watching the water ripple as he approached, the suspense! :eek: And I held my breath for every scene with the Raptors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

All but two, I saw as a kid. No wonder I have problems today.:D

Can you settle something for us. Does the 'T' in your name stand for "Syberius"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

ET and the aliens from Close Encounters of the 3rd kind were scary when I was a child. They aren't horrors, but they kept me awake.

Pigman II wrote: »
    Can you settle something for us. Does the 'T' in your name stand for "Syberius"?
    'Tiberius', my good man.

Well the scene with ET in the back garden freaked me out when i first seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭trilo

Freddie kruger... i used to dream he was chasing after us in the house and we were trying to get away from him driving around our house in our blue van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Alicat wrote: »

I thought I was the only one :eek:

Jurassic Park - as a small child I was terrified of the T-Rex, even just watching the water ripple as he approached, the suspense! :eek: And I held my breath for every scene with the Raptors.
    Saw that in the cinema when it came out. The whole place shook, with the Dolby sound, at that water-ripple scene. I don't scare easily (been watching horror since I was about four) but that was one of the only films that ever made me jump in my seat. And the 'raptors were f-in terrifying.:eek:

qz wrote: »
    I thought I was the only one :eek:

Was quite a dark little movie. Especially for a kids movie.

Seems to be more common than i thought, I disliked them too.

I knew a guy in college who had in intense dislike of "the wheely people" but didnt know where he'd seen/heard/dreamed of them, I eventually worked out this was that he was on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

/huddles in the corner and cries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

That was a scary film!! Hated it, Channel 4 always showed it!

Childs Play was scary when I saw it at 6/7yrs old.

Watched The Blair Witch Project on my own. The last bit I had to turn off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

There was only film that disturbed me enough to have a lasting impression.

The Entity starring Barbara Hershey. I think I was about 12 at the time. Definitely something I should not have been watching. It involved the case of a woman being assaulted by something or someone invisible. Allegedly based on true events. The attacks would come suddenly. Items on shelves might rattle a bit or the house might creak a little and the next thing you know she's being assaulted. The version I watched was censored in parts but it was sheer terror. She could never be alone and you're always wondering if it's there. It made me think of something like this happening to my mother or sister and being powerless to help them. That's the deepest fear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

faceman wrote: »
    In Superman III when yer wan was made into a robot at the big computer yoke at the end, that freaked me out too!

Me too on the robot woman, that was well creepy!

American Werewolf In London was really scary back when i was a nipper.

Out of films that i have seen recently, A Tale Of Two Sisters creeped me out in parts
    The thing scuttling across the bedroom crawling up onto the bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

The Last Starfighter did it for me as a kid..that freaky alien thing they sent bad guys sent to earth....Zoltan Zar or something like that. couldn't sleep a wink the night after watching it.
    Also the bit in Star Trek 2 when Khan (Khaaaaaaaaan!) put the bugs in the guys ears. I used to have to leave the room for that bit. Actually, come to think of it, that's probably where I developed my fear of ear-wigs