Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When push comes to shove

• 08-02-2009 11:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭

Just wondering if anyone had experienced anything like this:

Was cycling on the N81 between Blessington and Brittas yesterday afternoon when a car passed me, and as it did so a passenger leaned out of the rear window and shoved me off the road. Luckily I wasn't badly hurt: I wasn't going too fast and landed in a heap of snow. Didn't get any useful details of the car unfortunately - was too busy preparing for my imminent encounter with the ground - just glimpsed a silver car disappearing at speed with this teenage lad hanging out the back window jeering at me. I sat there in the snow for a few minutes too stunned to move: I just couldn't believe that anyone could do such a thing. Then I got back on my bike and pedalled, rather unsteadily, home.

Has anyone had this happen to them or heard of anything similar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

holy ****, shower of scumbags

Never happeed to me fortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

rogerb wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone had experienced anything like this:

Was cycling on the N81 between Blessington and Brittas yesterday afternoon when a car passed me, and as it did so a passenger leaned out of the rear window and shoved me off the road. Luckily I wasn't badly hurt: I wasn't going too fast and landed in a heap of snow. Didn't get any useful details of the car unfortunately - was too busy preparing for my imminent encounter with the ground - just glimpsed a silver car disappearing at speed with this teenage lad hanging out the back window jeering at me. I sat there in the snow for a few minutes too stunned to move: I just couldn't believe that anyone could do such a thing. Then I got back on my bike and pedalled, rather unsteadily, home.

Has anyone had this happen to them or heard of anything similar?

Yeah - a guy I know got shoved in to a ditch by someone leaning out the side of a ford transit. Scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

uberwolf wrote: »

Jaysus - i wonder was it the same ford transit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Thankfully, you came out of it OK ...

That was an absolutely disgusting thing to do ...
    and the sad thing is no one can do anything at all to these scumbags as while you are falling off .. you can't get the details ... you just have to hope that there is a good samaritan following who will take their details before stopping for you ...

The first time I catch someone doing something like this ... they will pay .. legally or otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Luckily you are ok :)

Too bad you didn't get the license number, these guys shouldn't be allowed to be in a car, not even walking freely. What if there was a sharp object down? I don't even want to think what it might have happened..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭abakan

in parkwest about 5 months ago, i guy in the passenger seat leaned out the window and threw watered down red sauce at me. i smelled lovely going home.

whyyyyyy!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

bunch of idiotic morrons... that just makes me angry and sad, these people need to be locked up on a desert island and be able to reproduce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

Had a similar incident about two years ago on the way to sally gap just as you climb past lough brey.Was out of the saddle and could hear a car coming up behind me but noticed that it seemed to be slowing down even though there was plenty of room to pass.I turned my head to look just as a guy was leaning out of the passenger window about to push me .I was able to look him straight in the eye and thankfully he thought the better of it.There was four of them in the car which I think is the key to this sort of behaviour.They wouldn't do it if they were on their own(well,obviously,a bit hard to steer and push :pac:) but you know what I mean...
    Hope you are ok Roger but I would suspect it would take a lot more than that to keep you off your bike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭ChipPanBuddha

Sorry to hear that. Glad you were not badly hurt. Thankfully, it has not happened to me (yet) but it must shake you up pretty badly. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

nothing like that happen to me, but yesterday on a group spin we did have some idiot in the back of a speeding car try to throw 7up over us, or was just shouting cheers or something as they sped past, Think they were heading to Croke Park for the rugby. This was just near Jack Whites pub on the N11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

Good God! this kind of stuff is unbelieveable. How can anyone do this for the laugh. Glad you weren't hurt Roger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Had a white civic with a bunch of lads try do it about a year ago - fortunately I saw what was coming and avoided them - decided to give chase (they broke a red light getting away) when I should have just memorised the number plate...

Hope you are ok Roger...

That's crazy. Glad you (and the bike!) are ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Killgore Trout

I know the cops'll say they can do very little without the number plate etc - but make sure it's reported - this is a serious crime and should be recorded accordingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

start carrying pepper spray, flare guns, kriptonite locks in the back pocket etc but this is ridiculous. we now not only have the unintentional motorists hurting us but now its a planned attack....... the helmet/bike camera might be a good idea i though bout it after my last accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Aye, who knows, someone else may have reported a silver car with a registration plate driving erratically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I suppose, trying to be bit philosophical about this, that the risks of random attacks like this whilst cycling are probably lower than as a pedestrian.

So whilst it's important to report the incident and attempt to get the scumbags caught, they probably do far worse on foot.

I once sat opposite two men on a train, discussing with each other how they would pick fights with strangers and beat them to a pulp, just for kicks. This was their main hobby, apparently.

The are some vile people out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

A couple of times (in traffic) I've had guys lean out of the rear window and roar something in my ear as the car passes. There was no physical contact, but the shock of it made my heart jump, and my bike wobble. I'd like to think at this stage I'm an experienced cyclist, so I was able to gather myself reasonably quickly and just get back on track, but I was still scared. I think if it had been done to someone else, maybe an old person or a nervous cyclist, it would be enough to put them off getting on the bike again.

Another time I got hit on the arm with a half eaten battered sausage by a passing Nissan Micra. Nothing injured except my pride - but as a vegetarian it was even more repulsive being covered in meat grease.

Motorists as a species are disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It happens and in my experience especially around Rag week in colleges though I'm not saying students are the main culprits. Been victim to a few drive by eggings though!
    They are cowards as they wouldn't dare do this to without their car and a clear road ahead.

You could pass the same car in heavy traffic 1km back and they wouldn't do it then as they'd be confronted. But give them a clear road ahead and they become very brave....
    Without a reg though there is a not a lot the gardai can do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I know the cops'll say they can do very little without the number plate etc - but make sure it's reported - this is a serious crime and should be recorded accordingly.
    They will do very little with a confiormed number plate.
    I got knocked off the bike by a lunatice a few weeks ago who rammed me from theinside.
    Gardai still have not done anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭paddy's hill

Same thing happened to me about 10 years ago near kells. I got the numberplate but the guards did nothing about it. My word against theirs they said and as I wasn't hurt there was no point pursuing it. Useless shower of *****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Attacks like this are without a doubt completely criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

as ever, when we go to the, ahem "Police force" they think we are cyclists just take up their time and very rarely follow up anything, but hound who they like, depending on their mood. had something like this happen on O'Connell st and went in the garda station on O'Connell st and they response equated to "not gettting out of this seat and bugger off!" needless to say my solution was a bit better than theirs. think that was the first reaction.

I treat ALL road users are muppets, i dont care what they are on or in. keep your distance and survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Jesus, what an experience! Good to hear there's no serious damage done to the rider or bike. As cyclists we'll have to train for these eventualitys so to implement rule 28
    28. In the event a motorist disturbs your ride, you shall proceed to ride up beside the car, form a clenched fist and bang the boot of the car while doing your best attempt to sound irritated in Italian. Wild arm/head movements are strongly encouraged to enhance the apparent rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Same thing (push) happened to someone I know all right. I've had stuff thrown at me and the sudden yell in the ear.

Same thing happened to David Cameron of all people and anecdotal evidence suggests it's actually reasonably common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

I was on my way home yesterday when a group of scumbags fired a rock at me!! I was just cycling by minding my own business, subconciously I knew they weren't the most desirable crowd of teenagers. Thank god I was wearing winter clothing so it didn't hurt too much and I stayed up in the bike (lucky not to have swerved in front of a car). I looked around quickly and roared f**k you in anger. I soon realised this was a mistake as a heard another stone which they had thrown rolling along behind me! What possesses these people to do such things? It was in broad daylight with plenty of cars around...who do they think they are? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

What possesses these people to do such things?

Jealousy! They can't stand that someone is enjoying themselves. It really is that simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

flickerx wrote: »
    Another time I got hit on the arm with a half eaten battered sausage by a passing Nissan Micra. Nothing injured except my pride - but as a vegetarian it was even more repulsive being covered in meat grease.

Motorists as a species are disgusting.

Vegetarians as a species are self-righteous! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

play nice folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

jes, I use to think this crap just went on the states (and worse) but there does seem to be worrying trend of this here lately...then again its a bit like the news, the more you hear more frequently, it distorts the reality of things actually getting worse or better! Had my close shaves with drivers too (and reactions) and ejits passing by and shoutin stuff near ear...simple solution though, HEADPHONES! they hardly register and I dont move or wiggle or even realise its happened till a couple seconds later when its all over!

As for why they do sh*t like this? some people are just as thick as pig sh*t :rolleyes: and need putting on an island and a fire started in a ring around them at the shore edges and slow burns it way towards them :pac: (ahhh it makes me all warm thinking about that actually :P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭paddy's hill

Ireland is an island. Have you got the petrol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

I think the less common cyclists are the more this happens. I cycle in France a lot and never get scumbag behaviour there. The odd time in a bunch you get some road rage but random violence seems to be very rare here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

I was on my way home yesterday when a group of scumbags fired a rock at me!! I was just cycling by minding my own business, subconciously I knew they weren't the most desirable crowd of teenagers. Thank god I was wearing winter clothing so it didn't hurt too much and I stayed up in the bike (lucky not to have swerved in front of a car). I looked around quickly and roared f**k you in anger. I soon realised this was a mistake as a heard another stone which they had thrown rolling along behind me! What possesses these people to do such things? It was in broad daylight with plenty of cars around...who do they think they are? :confused:

During the winter months (cos it's dark after work) I avoid going out to the country and tend to stick to well lit main roads for my cycling . Waterford lads on this forum will know the Outer Ring Road . It has become a playground for d***heads to have a go off us cyclists . Usual one is the moron leaning out the passenger window yelling at you , spitting at you , but most worrying of all I've had a metal lighter thrown at me by two clowns ( judging by the luminous jackets , they were coming from a building site) .
    Couldn't get the plate number but chased the car through a few sets of lights and I'll tell you the sight of me in his rear view mirror wiped the smile off the driver's face as he waited in queue after queue for the lights to go green at different junctions . I know it was foolhardy to chase 'em but I was livid . Often thought of highlighting it on local radio phone -in's but I'd fear it would actually make the situation worse .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭steinone

It might make some of you feel a bit better that I quite often I put some good dents in a good few cars.
    Might have even broke a few windows, I dont wait and see....My front tyre has a habit of when it hits a stone it flings it off at speed usually into traffic. Very dangerous really but I cant help it lol!

steinone wrote: »
    It might make some of you feel a bit better that I quite often I put some good dents in a good few cars.
    Might have even broke a few windows, I dont wait and see....My front tyre has a habit of when it hits a stone it flings it off at speed usually into traffic. Very dangerous really but I cant help it lol!

Yes, I often wonder what damage those stones do!! Like you, I don't wait around to see...the only thing that consoles me is that: how can they prove that the stone came from your tyre? I'd say: what are you talking about? !!! lol :D!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭TimAllen

Your behaviour is nothing short of criminal - certainly the actions of a scumbag

TimAllen wrote: »
    Your behaviour is nothing short of criminal - certainly the actions of a scumbag

Are you actually serious??
    Its my fault that my tyre pushes stones out from under it when I ride over them?
    For Fook sake what am I supposed to get off my bike every time there is some gravel on the road?!?

Through your thinking I am somehow skilled enough to get a stone with my tyre(?) and then purposely fling it at a car?!
    Did St. Michaels house get a computer room?

Its my fault that my tyre pushes stones out from under it when I ride over them?
    For Fook sake what am I supposed to get off my bike every time there is some gravel on the road?!?

Through your thinking I am somehow skilled enough to get a stone with my tyre(?) and then purposely fling it at a car?!

Well said steinone, thank-you!

I think most people would realise what your post really meant regarding how the stones get launched.
    Scumbag chucks a stone at a car for some perceived injustice.
    Scumbag thinks he's a clever clogs because he thinks he has a foolproof alibi - it was my tyre, not me!
    Not buying it - scumbags as a species are not very clever!

I think most people would realise what your post really meant regarding how the stones get launched.
    Scumbag chucks a stone at a car for some perceived injustice.
    Scumbag thinks he's a clever clogs because he thinks he has a foolproof alibi - it was my tyre, not me!
    Not buying it - scumbags as a species are not very clever!

Are you serious?!
    If you didnt get it the first time I explained it the second time, just in case you didnt get it...
    Yet you continue to brand me a scumbag and accuse me of throwing stones at random cars?
    So your basically saying im a scumbag... And I have thought of blaming stone throwing on my bike(which is a very imaginative excuse) and then basically said im stupid....
    Anyone else here think this guy has the contents of a whole sandbox in his vag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

This thread is about RogerB getting shoved off his bike by some less than sterling member of society. Please lets keep it civil and relevant.

Good paint Raam, sorry about this...But wtf..?lol

A seriously bad thing to happen(getting pushed off), pity nothing happens to these people.
    The most to happen to me is the expected snowballs, and a few(very random) slags luckily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Good paint Raam, sorry about this...But wtf..?lol

A seriously bad thing to happen(getting pushed off), pity nothing happens to these people.
    The most to happen to me is the expected snowballs, and a few(very random) slags luckily.

I think we've all had something similar happen to us :)
    Bangers, waterbottles, words... I've had a few things thrown at me over the years. The words hurt the most ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Calm down guys, TimAllen has as a hobby trolling the cycling forum.

Regarding stones thrown up by tyres, car tyres do this also and I don't believe it causes any damage at all. I've been hit on the leg myself and it is just a bit of a "ping."

Having said that I don't generally think it is a good attitude to take pleasure in the possibility you have done damage to some innocent person's car and to do so does not paint cyclists in a positive light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Ah yes, Tim had an altercation with a cyclist and has now taken it as a personal crusade to tar all cyclists with the one brush. move on, let it go.

As for any militant cyclist attitudes, I think we can do without them. You may not be intentionally damaging cars, but to take some satisfaction out of it is not any better than the guy leaning out the car window.

I hate to tell people this, but there isn't a guy with a giant scoreboard keeping check on who got the latest points in motorists versus cyclists: the eternal struggle.

@Caroline: I think you might have meant to say they "not be allowed reproduce" although seeing as these incidents are nearly always perpetrated by young males, forcing them to attempt to do so with one another might be a more fitting punishment.

blorg wrote: »
    Calm down guys, TimAllen has as a hobby trolling the cycling forum.

Regarding stones thrown up by tyres, car tyres do this also and I don't believe it causes any damage at all. I've been hit on the leg myself and it is just a bit of a "ping."

Having said that I don't generally think it is a good attitude to take pleasure in the possibility you have done damage to some innocent person's car and to do so does not paint cyclists in a positive light.

I have flung up some serious stones myself and have(me thinks) caused some bad damage but I cant do anything about it.

As for taking pleasure from the damage done, I dont, funnily the only thing that TimAllen didnt question(my apparent liking of it) is the only thing I wasnt serious about..
    I will say it again for him lol, that part was a joke...:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

having said that if a person throws something form a moving vehicle at you while your cycling or tries to push you, their car is fair game right? i'm talking windows and wing mirrors, and this may seem militant but the gardai don't exactly seem to bother following this type of thing up...
    although Blorg did mention a guy getting charged for assaulting him...
    but it is an overwhelming problem that motorists find joy in f**king with cyclists,
    the result equates to a serious assault, i would expect the same sentence for one of these scumbags and somebody who assaults people with a bat on the street. rogerb could have been killed.

I have flung up some serious stones myself and have(me thinks) caused some bad damage but I cant do anything about it.

As for taking pleasure from the damage done, I dont, funnily the only thing that TimAllen didnt question(my apparent liking of it) is the only thing I wasnt serious about..
    I will say it again for him lol, that part was a joke...:P
    You should re-read your own post, you prefaced your whole point by encouraging everyone to "feel better" because of the damage that your actions cause to cars. You probably need to consult a dictionary if you were really trying to tell a joke :eek:

Sorry,
    I will write it next time with the <sarcasm> </sarcasm> tags surrounding it just for you:D.
    Hahah