Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maintance on a very high milage 1.4 golf engine

• 08-02-2009 9:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭

hey lads i bought a 2000 1.4 golf with 145kmls which i know is mad milage but i have to say she runs very well and is like new inside and out.

I gave her the once over yesterday and she was in rag order once all the plastics were reomved.

The air filter almost fell apart the plugs were in ****e with two driping with oil and the oil filter was OEM id swear.

I've replaced all of these and she does sound and start a lot better and my next job is to get the timing belt and water pump taken care of as the lady i bought it from had it seven years and lost the maintanance book and when i asked about the timing belt and when it was last done she didn't know what i was talking about....

Is there any advice you would give as to a treatment for the engine or something you would do to ensure a couple more years out of this car?

Also, I've used Castrol Magnatec 10W-40 A3/B3. Is this the proper oil? i'd liked to have used something thicker but as theres no smoke or leaks i hope this will get the best of whats left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

I had a '99 1.4 with only 62k, well maintained and looked after, the piston rings went, apparently not uncommon with the mark iv 1.4, get them checked out if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

doesnt sound too good if there was oil drippin from the plugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭johnplayerblue

guil07 wrote: »
    doesnt sound too good if there was oil drippin from the plugs

If it was the first time id seen this i would be concerned but i've seen this on engines in the past that haven't been looked after and after a good going over every thing was grand.

These plugs were in for a long time, so long in fact i really don't know how the thing started at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I serviced mine lately(72kmiles) and there were oils on the plugs as well.
    They really are an awful engine, the car is breaking my heart, but i love it:D

Get the timing belt done asap, when i bought mine it had no record of the belt being done (66k when i bought it) and it snapped a week later. Cost me 650 euro odd to fix it excluding labour. Had it back on the road in three days though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭groupb

hey lads i bought a 2000 1.4 golf with 145kmls which i know is mad milage but i have to say she runs very well and is like new inside and out.

I gave her the once over yesterday and she was in rag order once all the plastics were reomved.

The air filter almost fell apart the plugs were in ****e with two driping with oil and the oil filter was OEM id swear.

I've replaced all of these and she does sound and start a lot better and my next job is to get the timing belt and water pump taken care of as the lady i bought it from had it seven years and lost the maintanance book and when i asked about the timing belt and when it was last done she didn't know what i was talking about....

Is there any advice you would give as to a treatment for the engine or something you would do to ensure a couple more years out of this car?

Also, I've used Castrol Magnatec 10W-40 A3/B3. Is this the proper oil? i'd liked to have used something thicker but as theres no smoke or leaks i hope this will get the best of whats left.

If I was you I would'nt put any more money into it. The fact that a 1.4 golf made it to that mileage is unusual. Its going to be a money pit from now on.As a matter of interest how much did you pay for the car?

groupb wrote: »
    If I was you I would'nt put any more money into it. The fact that a 1.4 golf made it to that mileage is unusual. Its going to be a money pit from now on.As a matter of interest how much did you pay for the car?

My brother has a 00 mk4 with almost 285kmls............;) I paid about 1500 less than what similar models with mls are demanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

What would be the reason that for the oil on the plugs?
    I had the sam situation on my Polo but luckily I got rid of it beforehand.:D

Fair enough , but your car still has a serious engine problem.
    1.4 golfs are'nt know for their relability and I would bet that your car needs a engine rebuild. All I'm advising you to do is get rid of it , so that you do'nt throw good money after bad.
    You still did'nt say how much you paid.

Fair enough , but your car still has a serious engine problem.
    1.4 golfs are'nt know for their relability and I would bet that your car needs a engine rebuild. All I'm advising you to do is get rid of it , so that you do'nt throw good money after bad.
    You still did'nt say how much you paid.

ye i know, sorry about that but i wouldn't go so far as to say "1.4 golfs are'nt know for their relability"

This is my 3rd 1.4 and have to admit to been a bit of a fanboy at this stage.

I paid 2.8k for her btw and my intention is to pass her on with new belt/pump and service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

€3k for a 9 year old Golf with a shot engine. Yikes:eek: You were ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

ninty9er wrote: »

+1 crazy money.

Someone call the police, you were mugged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

It could be that a little bit of oil dropped in on them when topping it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

ah here i wouldn't quiet go that far....:confused: The engine in that golf is far from shot, a little bit of tlc and she wil be grand and in fact the bigest pain was geting rid of the dust from the engine bay, bone dry with NO smoke, shot engine me arse, my brother has the excat same car with 285kmls and still sounds and runs like a new car.

Ripped off..? Show me a spotless inside and out with 2 previous owners, 5dr 00 mk4 golf with pas, abs, side impact beams, driver, passagner and side air bags 4 new tyres met paint and 2yrs nct 2mths tax etc etc for less than 2800..? you say i was RIPPED OFF so id expect to see it for no more than 2k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭carface

ah here i wouldn't quiet go that far....:confused: The engine in that golf is far from shot, a little bit of tlc and she wil be grand and in fact the bigest pain was geting rid of the dust from the engine bay, bone dry with NO smoke, shot engine me arse, my brother has the excat same car with 285kmls and still sounds and runs like a new car.

Ripped off..? Show me a spotless inside and out with 2 previous owners, 5dr 00 mk4 golf with pas, abs, side impact beams, driver, passagner and side air bags 4 new tyres met paint and 2yrs nct 2mths tax etc etc for less than 2800..? you say i was RIPPED OFF so id expect to see it for no more than 2k.
    lol...you now know the s..t cardealers/garages have to listen too every day
    that price sounds fine,best of luck with it and hope you get good profit.

carface wrote: »
    lol...you now know the s..t carsdealers/garages have to listen too every day
    that price sounds fine,best of luck with it and hope you get good profit.

Thanks very much guy, jesus christ if i had to listen to muppets every day with that crap id find a new job asap.....Still waiting for links btw...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Thanks very much guy, jesus christ if i had to listen to muppets every day with that crap id find a new job asap.....Still waiting for links btw...?

Keep an eye on the breather box aka the oil separator box its down the back of the engine there is a pipe coming off it up to the air filter. On my 1.4 mk4 golf with 118k it was full of crap and affecting performance of the car i just put a new one in last week.

ye i know, sorry about that but i wouldn't go so far as to say "1.4 golfs are'nt know for their relability"

This is my 3rd 1.4 and have to admit to been a bit of a fanboy at this stage.

I paid 2.8k for her btw and my intention is to pass her on with new belt/pump and service.

2.8 grand. Its a golf you bought? How much do you reckon you'll get when you fix the problems? Just of a matter of interest , were the tips of the plugs (ie the bit inside the combustion chamber) or was the ceramic bit (the 2" white part) dripping with oil?

Vain wrote: »
    Keep an eye on the breather box aka the oil separator box its down the back of the engine there is a pipe coming off it up to the air filter. On my 1.4 mk4 golf with 118k it was full of crap and affecting performance of the car i just put a new one in last week.

Ye was the first thing i did whilst oil was draning and like you it was full of crap. Performance was affected especially at idle but as i said a little tlc on a golf engine goes a long way. Thanks for the headsup btw....!

2.8 grand. Its a golf you bought? How much do you reckon you'll get when you fix the problems? Just of a matter of interest , were the tips of the plugs (ie the bit inside the combustion chamber) or was the ceramic bit (the 2" white part) dripping with oil?

What problems...? My inital request was to ask if anybody used any treatment on a high milage engine.......! No the oil was siting down in the chamber closest to the oil cap which to me sounds like spillage. Either way i had the same issue on my mk3 when i first bought it and its running like a dream 5yrs later and if memory serves me i had the same on a 98 polo some yrs back and on a cordoba, i only by German btw....:p

What problems...? My inital request was to ask if anybody used any treatment on a high milage engine.......! No the oil was siting down in the chamber closest to the oil cap which to me sounds like spillage. Either way i had the same issue on my mk3 when i first bought it and its running like a dream 5yrs later and if memory serves me i had the same on a 98 polo some yrs back

I'm not being smart, but if you plan on selling on the car at a profit i wouldn't get my hopes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Your brother can't have the EXACT same car. It's physically impossible that the same person drove both cars the exact same way at the same mileage intervals and serviced it at the same intervals.

You did not buy your brother's car:rolleyes:
    What 00 Golf doesn't have PAS, ABS, SIPS, D&P Airbags. Metallic paint is hardly worth paying over the odds for a car for.

100k miles and ASKING €3,950. Could be got for €3k.
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/1.4-COMF/200840190223381/advert
    The reason those cars are still for sale is because they are overpriced.

I'm not being smart, but if you plan on selling on the car at a profit i wouldn't get my hopes up.

Ye i know Limerick man, she was bought to replace my mk3 and if i sell it well and good but if i don't i will use her on a daily bases but i do love my mk3 and don't want to park it up as she has a lot more to give me.

I'd guess less than 3 at a push. That car is forsale a long long time.

Your brother can't have the EXACT same car. It's physically impossible that the same person drove both cars the exact same way at the same mileage intervals and serviced it at the same intervals.

You did not buy your brother's car:rolleyes:

What 00 Golf doesn't have PAS, ABS, SIPS, D&P Airbags. Metallic paint is hardly worth paying over the odds for a car for.

LOL...I'd buy that golf for spares and not much else, golf drivers know duds when they see one. Live with it. Sarsfield motors....lol, 99,000 M ...LOL+100K

What problems...? My inital request was to ask if anybody used any treatment on a high milage engine.......! No the oil was siting down in the chamber closest to the oil cap which to me sounds like spillage. Either way i had the same issue on my mk3 when i first bought it and its running like a dream 5yrs later and if memory serves me i had the same on a 98 polo some yrs back and on a cordoba, i only by German btw....:p

Polos and cordobas are SPANISH!

Poor lad.....Spain, a world leader in automotive engineering. I'm sure what you ment to say are assembled in Spain....! or maybe Nissan are British...:rolleyes:

The reason those cars are still for sale is because they are overpriced.[/quote]
    Did the op not ask you or anyboby else to show him where there is a 00golf
    in similar condition for 2keuro???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

What 00 Golf doesn't have PAS, ABS, SIPS, D&P Airbags

Edit: read post wrong

Did the op not ask you or anyboby else to show him where there is a 00golf
    in similar condition for 2keuro???

+1 :)

Poor lad.....Spain, a world leader in automotive engineering. I'm sure what you ment to say are assembled in Spain....! or maybe Nissan are British...:rolleyes:

Maybe thats why like the golf , the cordoba and polo were never class leaders! My initial point about your car been a money pit was a bit of advise which was intended to help YOU. If however you still believe its worth putting money into - good luck. I also speak from experience , and my surprise at a golf 1.4 reaching that sort of mileage was genuine.

Well perhaps unlike golf drivers YOU bought a dud and werent aware of what you were doing, i've had a few and can't fault a good one. You have to know what your buying so as to avoid money pits. New belt/pump and a self service are hardly a pit.

I'm big into MK4's, and you can't avoid a dud, because 90% of the 98-01 1.4 Golfs had problems with fried piston rings, drinking oil etc. etc. etc. etc.

I've heard that about the 98+ mk4s Limerick man especially the rings also cabin lights, cig lighter/red/white on doors etc are an issue shes done 1200mils since service and all is good so far.

Are you sure you bought a Golf??:P

Have you done the 1200miles? It's very easy top up the oil, and as a matter of fact, keep oil with you if you can, and check it regularly.

Are you sure you bought a Golf??:P

Have you done the 1200miles? It's very easy top up the oil, and as a matter of fact, keep oil with you if you can, and check it regularly.

1200mls to the mile and she's perfect..if i had to top any car up after 1200mls id be very worried. I do a lot of driving maybe 2000mls most weeks and have done 60kmls in my mk3 with almost the same amount of oil that i put in her along with a very good additive.

So no 00golfs for 2k anywhere.Can we by now assume 2800euro for this car was a decent buy.

It's not gona happen carface as you well know. I wonder if you have to listen to fools coming in and talking through there holes everyday? if it is a thing you do fair fcuking play cos id have to smack the know nothing little basterds and send them on there way and let them call mammy for a lift home in her punto or maybe some little French number....lol

Very sorry to the boardies who know there stuff unlike me so if i don't get a ban id love to hear from those who do know what they are talking about when i am stuck with a problem......!

Ok, just because ye are annoying me. I bought a 00 Mk4 Golf 1.4 Comfortline 104k miles (Black with cream interior), no dents or marks, needed a timing belt and a service. Full documented VW service histroy. All for €2k.

I have no problem in beliving you Limerick man but as both you and i know thats not an every day occurance and even if you didn't need a car you would be very foolish to leave that behind but as i said not an every day occurance. Very nice btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

It's not gona happen carface as you well know. I wonder if you have to listen to fools coming in and talking through there holes everyday? if it is a thing you do fair fcuking play cos id have to smack the know nothing little basterds and send them on there way and let them call mammy for a lift home in her punto or maybe some little French number....lol

Very sorry to the boardies who know there stuff unlike me so if i don't get a ban id love to hear from those who do know what they are talking about when i am stuck with a problem......!

Take it easy now, johnplayerblue & others

I have no problem in beliving you Limerick man but as both you and i know thats not an every day occurance and even if you didn't need a car you would be very foolish to leave that behind but as i said not an every day occurance.

This is a 2001 Golf for €3300. Another everyday occurance is not being able to do the timing belt yourself. So if you take €300 off that you are down to three. Surely they would take 3k for the car so that's you down to 2700. Lower mileage and a new nct. Granted there are no pics, but but we no pics of yours either.

Golf's seem to hold there value, just personally i could not justify spending €2700 on one with 145,000 miles.

This has been one long thread just to ask for some advice maintaining a high mileage engine.....:(

Welcome to Motors.

LOL......Sound :pac:

Take it easy!
    If I'm winding you up , I'm sorry.
    I just don't like golfs.
    Seriously , if the oil on your plugs is on the outside of the cylinders , try to find if any hoses or gaskets are cracked or leaking. It might also be worth doing an engine oil flush. This will remove any deposits that may have built up in the oil galleries. But rember to change the oil and filter after this. But do remember that golfs are notorious for ring wear and piston slap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

So no 00golfs for 2k anywhere.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/1.4-80bh/200903191499046/advert

Theres also 2 more asking €2700 that could be haggled down much more than asking.

Stekelly wrote: »
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/1.4-80bh/200903191499046/advert

Theres also 2 more asking €2700 that could be haggled down much more than asking.

That motor in Reddy's on the Casteltown/Limerick rd in Mountrath looks familiar :)

20Mins after this car was sold about 5 facts on the site/car were changed price included, the thing dealers do when paid cash....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

I love VW's but you have to realise that the car you bought is rubbish. That engine is crap. Get on to vagdrivers.net and ask what is the opinion of the 1.4 engine and you will be told that they are a nightmare. That is coming from people that love VW's.

P.s fairplay for sticking up for your car like all proper veedub heads should do.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Paulw0t

This one is cheaper and less miles....

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=93717&cat=2

I got a 99 MK4 diesel myself for 2.5k with 85k miles on it.