Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

who's with me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

When is it on? I've done it before but it was a few years ago. I'd be interested if I'm around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Jemmy wrote: »
    When is it on? I've done it before but it was a few years ago. I'd be interested if I'm around.
    usually on around the june bank holiday me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭neversuitedher

2009 FLORA WOMEN'S MINI MARATHON
    INFORMATION SHEET
    Please Note - this Event is strictly for FEMALES ONLY - MALES ARE NOT ALLOWED
    Date/Time: Bank Holiday Monday, 1st June 2009 at 3.00pm.
    Distance: 10K.
    Start: Fitzwilliam Square, Dublin 2.
    Finish: St. Stephen's Green, Dublin 2.
    First Entry Form: The first Entry Form will be in the Evening Herald on Thursday 26th February 2009.
    Closing Date: 21st April 2009 or when maximum number of entries is reached.
    Age Limit: Participants must be at least 14 on Mini Marathon Day.
    Timing Chip: All participants who enter as Runners or Fast Joggers must wear a Timing Chip. Elite Runners have to produce official results from other races during the last 2 years showing they are capable of a 10K time under 45 minutes. Other Runners must do likewise to prove a time under 60 mins. Fast Joggers have to have achieved a time under 85 mins while wearing a chip. Other Joggers and Walkers have the option of purchasing a Timing Chip if they wish but will remain in the jogging and walking sections at the Start.
    Fee:
    €22 - Runners/Proven Joggers under 85 minutes/Racing Visually Impaired/Racing Wheelchairs (to include Timing Chip) and Joggers/Walkers who elect to receive a Timing Chip.
    €15 - Joggers/Walkers (without Timing Chip)

Entry Process: All participants must enter either on the official Entry Form which will appear in the Evening Herald every Thursday and Saturday from Thursday 26th February 2009 or online at www.florawomensminimarathon.ie from 27th February 2009. (On-line entries will incur an extra 1euro Bank processing charge)
    Acceptance Letter: This letter is sent to you after we receive your completed Entry Form and Fee. Keep it safe and bring it to your Collection Point. It entitles you and a friend to free admission to the Womans World Show in the RDS on Friday, Saturday or Sunday of June Bank Holiday weekend. When you enter online, you will be asked to print off this Acceptance Letter.
    Please Note: The number of entries will be strictly limited. To avoid disappointment, we would ask you to enter early as entries will not be entertained if received after the closing date or when we have reached our maximum number.
    Sponsorship: If participating for a Charity, remember you still have to enter the Race through the above Entry Process.

Collection Point: This is where you bring your Acceptance Letter to collect your
    Race Number prior to the Mini Marathon. The Bar Code on your letter will be scanned and one Number only will be given for that letter. When you collect your Number, please keep it safe as it cannot be replaced.
    Race Number: Should be worn on the front of your t-shirt after you have filled in the details on the reverse.
    No Race Number, No Entry to the Race Start Area and no Medal
    Medal: Each properly entered participant wearing a Race Number will receive a medal at the finish. Race Numbers are not transferable.
    Mini Marathon Magazine: A Mini Marathon Magazine is given free to each participant at the Collection Point. This contains all information regarding the Mini Marathon, map of course, location of toilets, baggage area, water stations, First Aid, assembly areas and meeting points.

Time of Arrival: Arrange to be at the assembly area (St. Stephen’s Green) about 1 p.m. so you can enjoy the atmosphere and familiarise yourself with the location of the baggage area, toilets, etc. All runners/joggers should locate their starting positions at least 45 minutes before start time.
    At Finish:
    Once you receive your medal, continue moving towards the water station and baggage area. Arrange to meet family/friends at one of the numerous meeting points listed in the Mini Marathon Magazine. It will not be possible to have reunions at or around the Finish Area.
    Training Programmes: Will appear in Evening Herald with the Entry Form on Thursdays from 26th February 2009 and on the Women's Mini Marathon website - www.florawomensminimarathon.ie from 27th February 2009.
    Meet & Train and Fit4Life Groups: Details will appear in Evening Herald with Entry Form on Thursdays or can be seen on our website under Group Training.
    Enquiries: Women's Mini Marathon Office, 27 Sandyford Office Park, Sandyford Industrial Estate, Dublin 18. Tel: 01 2930 984; Email: info@womensminimarathon.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Thats me out, I'm gone on the 29th of May.
    Good Luck tho!

Girls its alot fun and for charity,you should get involved. Even if you want to pick a different charity closer to your heart, running with a group makes it a better craic! And you don't have to feel pressured to run all of it, I walked some and ran some.

Boys saw some of you dressed up as women toom so nothing stopping ya getting involved as well! :P

EDIT: oh just saw this...

so maybe no boys anymore now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

I just might do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Thats me out, I'm gone on the 29th of May.
    Good Luck tho!

Girls its alot fun and for charity,you should get involved. Even if you want to pick a different charity closer to your heart, running with a group makes it a better craic! And you don't have to feel pressured to run all of it, I walked some and ran some.

Boys saw some of you dressed up as women toom so nothing stopping ya getting involved as well! :P

That is the most bull**** thing ever.My best mates fiance,a few of my female friends,my Mum and 1 of her sisters raised a nice few quid for various charities including the Roscommon Hospice(they were fcukin amazing when my Grandad was dying) but now blokes cant do it????
    Imagine something like this going on and the flyers said MEN ONLY - FEMALES ARE NOT ALLOWED.
    We would be fcukin crucified.
    I intend starting a petition for fellas to be allowed do it-obviously for the right reasons.If ye are interested in siding with us PM me.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Once the applications go in as females, its all good

A male friend of mine did it for Enable ireland as chesty la-roo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

If the Cork one is on this year I am doing it myself, gonna wear an unbelievably short skirt, and a halter top.

Debating whether I should
    a) Go commando, with said Skirt, (Though this is Probably Illegal)
    b) Wax/Shave my legs also for the race!!!

Gotta get the Skirt, Halter and Wig though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I have a charity that I owe money too (miscarriage association) but will just cough up instead...if my husband could do it too I would walk it for charity but I would not do it by myself - are there any short runs/walks that both sexes can enter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'll be doing it, will be running it - but probably won't do much in the way of fundraising because I have to submit my final year project about 2 weeks before the race so I won't have much time to raise money for anyone.

CathyMoran wrote: »
    I have a charity that I owe money too (miscarriage association) but will just cough up instead...if my husband could do it too I would walk it for charity but I would not do it by myself - are there any short runs/walks that both sexes can enter?

5mile_logo.gif Saturday 12th July - Lifestyle Sports - adidas Irish Runner 5 mile - 10am start

10mile_logo.gif Saturday 16th August - Lifestyle Sports - adidas Frank Duffy 10 mile - 10am start
    halfmara_logo.gif Saturday 20th September - Lifestyle Sports - adidas Dublin Half-Marathon - 10am start

Last year there was the Dublin Simon Fun Run / Saturday 11th of October 2008. There is no information on the web site yet but i would say its around the same time. Its 5 miles in the phoenix park. www.funrun.ie

CathyMoran wrote: »

St Patrick's Festival 5k - March 15
    Great Ireland Run - April 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Thanks for that but both my husband and I would want to to raise money for either lollipop day (oesophageal cancer) or the Irish miscarriage association...doing the walk would be a fitness goal for us though as we are quite unfit! The Simon one is an idea though as we like the charity and the length. The one for the hospice sounds great but the length would kill us!

Rainbow Kirby...just saw your post, those sound more like us,thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭thermo66

would love to but unfortunately my finals are the first week in June. Will definitely do it next year. Its motivation to get fit as well as raising money for a worthy cause.:D

Good luck everyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

aye guys do it all the time, it's about the only time they can live their fantasies of dressing up in heels and wear a man bra out in public and not get ridiculed for it :pac:

just a shame i'll be away for it too :( well actually i won't but i'll be packing for going away on the 3rd June.

Just a reminder girls online sign up starts today!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭CeilingCat

I'm thinking of doing it this year too :)
    Has anyone gone to the training meet ups before?

Haven't gone to the training meet-ups before, but then again I haven't done the Mini-Marathon since I was about 17 (I walked it 4 times as a teenager).

A little niggle I have with the registration: They appear to be only accepting proven times between 60 and 80 minutes ("Fast Jogger" category) from the previous 2 Mini-Marathons. Bit of a kick in the hole for me, because my 65 minute time is from the Aware 10k, just under 3 months ago. So I can either register now, and accept that I'm going to be spending my first kilometer of the race dodging walkers - or do the Great Ireland Run, try go under 60 minutes for a runner number, but given that the Great Ireland Run is on 5 April I'm taking a risk that registration will be closed.