Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lets hear it .... What Annoys You when Travelling on Trains/bus

• 05-02-2009 4:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

Hi all

just wondering what annoys you:

Why do people practically sit on top of you when there is plently of room on train?
    Or when they get in, its obvious you are asleep/half asleep and they start searching in their bags but start elbowing you ? can they not feel you are there lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The guy /gal who insists that everybody hear's their mobile phone conversations ie, ( loud voice ) '' yeah , or right .......yeah I'm nearly home now and I dont think that was very nice what John said to Martha last night , I mean C'mon ye know and did ya see the size of her da ? So what for tea ,steak and chips ? .... blah blah ''

It used to annoy me as such , now it's more amusing me, like WTF ,just ger off of the bus/train will ya lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

CHILDREN!! why the frick should i have to listen to some brat screaming it's head off while i try to get home from work....i've had a long day and the last thing i need is a screaming/drooling/crying/running/climbing child wrecking my commute!!!

i don't care if y'all think i'm horrible now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭JayeL

Bus Eireann drivers imposing their choice of radio station on their passengers.

Public transport should not have a radio on and if passengers want to listen to a radio, let them bring their own.

Drives me mad, that does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭ITDept

The lack of a single ticketing system, which means that if I want to transfer from CIE Dublin Bus to CIE Dart I have to get another ticket for the second half of my journey. Bunch of @rse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭greenman09

People who listen to their mp3/ipods at full blast so the whole bus can hear. And ppl who leave doing their make up until they get on the bus. Whats wrong wi making time at home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Caroline_ire

people who sit beside you when there are loads of seats free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

giddybootz wrote: »
    CHILDREN!! why the frick should i have to listen to some brat screaming it's head off while i try to get home from work....i've had a long day and the last thing i need is a screaming/drooling/crying/running/climbing child wrecking my commute!!!

i don't care if y'all think i'm horrible now!!

i completely agree giddybootz why cant parents control there brats a good clip around the ear would do no harm

the other thing that gets on my tits is people using walkmans, ipods etc and the rest of us having to listen to them cos there earphones are crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭colly10

Gob****es blaring their music at full volume wreck my head, especially first thing in the morning. The people who do it always seem to have the wierdest taste in music as well, they don't care that half the top deck doesn't want to hear whatever ****e they listen to.

There used to be a guy that got on my bus that used to play "im gonna get myself connected ...." on repeat every day, thats bad and I don't want to be listening to the lkes of the blackout crew in the morning either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

sitting facing backwards while going forward..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

Knackers down the back of the bus playing music out loud and singing along is horrible screechy voices thinking they are 'bleedin massive'.......grrrrrrrrr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

people who sit on outside of seat thus leaving window seat vacant for their bags!! Grrr,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Steam coming up from between the seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

When the bus driver has the ticket machine set wrong, so the ticket says I have to get off half-way to my destination. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭cooperla

When you're standing in a packed train first thing in the morning and the idiot beside you for some reason unknown to the rest of the universe didn't bother to brush his teeth before leaving his house.

smelly fcuker GO AWAY and die!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

DART
    Old style refurbished carriages with heaters in the seats that reduce my sperm count.
    People who put their feet on seats, should be a fine for this.
    Drivers who don't know when to turn on or off the heat on the DART, ie having no heat on in the morning when it's 2 or 3 degrees out yet having the heat up full in the evening when nobody requires it.
    Carriages built for the Asian market where the seats are not big enough for European travellers.
    Carriages with no opening windows yet also have no air conditioning.

Bus
    Completely useless service that can't be relied on until there's new bus routes and realtime bus information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭afatbollix

ya know whats great...

haveing a car so I dont have to go through any of teh crap above!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭patrickmooney

What annoys me when travelling on Dublin Bus is I haven't a clue which bus goes where. I often guess routes and jump on only to find out it's going the wrong way. Then when on a bus, I haven't a clue where the bus stops are located, so getting off is a game of guessing where you are (thankfully the iPhone as GPS so I do follow my route when on board) and hoping the bus stops not to far *after* where you think you should be getting off. So bascially lack of info on routes and stops. Grr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The person that insists on standing next to the bus driver and having a chat, blocking everybody getting on/off.
    FFS sit down and get out of my way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Owenw

Off the top of my head:

A-holes who bunch up at the doors of the luas. Move down the carriage ffs!

People who don't wait to let others off the train / luas first.

People with no basic hygiene and smell of stale sweat or tea breath in the morning!

Loud text alerts, loud incessant phones, inane conversations that go on and on. People having chats across you.

People banging their bag into you - women are worst for this and I know for a fact that some do it intentionally. I try to gently shoulder your bag so you think you're being robbed :D

Smelly food - crisps, supermacs etc. on trains make me gag.

BTW I drive, get the train, the luas and walk to get into college everyday. only 5 months to go et adios transporte público!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

JayeL wrote: »
    Bus Eireann drivers imposing their choice of radio station on their passengers.

Public transport should not have a radio on and if passengers want to listen to a radio, let them bring their own.

Drives me mad, that does.

I'm OK with it as long as they keep volume to a reasonable level. I was on the bus to Belfast there a while back and had forgotten my iPod so I was thankful for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

On the Mk3 trains: The end of carraige doors not working, its like just because they are being retired soon they dont give a dam.

On the new trains, the constant rake of announcements in irish/english, before and after each station.

Public transport in general, people with terrible coughs and colds sitting beside you,please just stay at home or drive....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Pollythene Pam

People eating Chinese take-away on the bus. Yes, it actually happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

'On the new trains, the constant rake of announcements in irish/english, before and after each station.'

Have to agree with you on this one. It really is OTT and irritating, and as an attempt to make the passenger feel that Irish Rail cares about them is unconvincing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Traditional

a fella who sneezes not once but about 10 times and wipes his nose in his sleeve , spits on the floor , and when getting off he leaves a trail of farts !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

Well yesterday I was on the bus up to school. It was like 9.20 in the morning, this woman was sitting in the disabled seat with her baby and her other child was running mad, No problem yet, Now the baby decides its going to be super fun to scream, really high and really loud and the mam thinks its just the sweetest thing ever. Its not,shut your baby up.

- It completely freaks me out when people sit beside me when there's free seats.

- I understand that when the bus/dart moves people will fall against each other but what is people problems with minimum personal space! I have actually had people hold the bar over my head so that I have to keep my head sideways for ages. Not to mention the fact that they pushed my head to get there in the first place!

- Why do people think theyre the only one getting off at that stop. I was once shoved out the door by some old business man, I would have fallen flat on my face if a nice woman hadn't grabbed me.

- When getting on the bus I might put my bag on the chair beside me to put my purse back in. Ill gladly move it if you want to sit down(if I've forgotten to already). Don't sit on my bag and glare at me.

- STOP ELBOWING ME!

- Stop reading my texts.

-Why do people run for the dart then as soon as they get in they stop and just stand at the door without making room for anyone else to get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Ppeople bring crates of chickens, guinea fowl, piglets and other crap on the bus. Smelly, loud and they take up loads of space and/or fall down from the overhead racks.

The real danger of the driver driving off a cliff, and drivers constantly overtaking blind at night on dangerous corners/uphill.

The driver drinking beer before/during the journey.

Blaring reggaeton/latin pop music.

Evangelists who preach for ages and ages loudly on every bus.

Those are the main ones. Not as bad as this though...
    Last week, a friends bus was stopped by hijackers, they lined all the passengers on the ground outside, put guns to their heads and robbed them of everything.

Really, busses in Ireland are grand, stop complaining about trivial things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭NewDubliner

People who start moving towards the doors before the train stops, forcing people off balance.

Folks walking around with hot coffees.

Seat hoggers, using more than one seat.

Seat blockers, sitting on the outside.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

People who stand up to get off but instead are just moving a few seats closer to the front of bus. More Bus Eireann than Dublin Bus.

on double decker buses - people who stand downstairs when there are seats upstairs. What the f**k is their problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

on double decker buses - people who stand downstairs when there are seats upstairs. What the f**k is their problem?
    Sometimes I don't feel like sitting in the smoking room.

Random wrote: »
    Sometimes I don't feel like sitting in the smoking room.

most people there aren't actually smoking - they're just skinning up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭KevR

Doesn't happen often (thank god!) but when the complete stranger sitting beside you falls asleep and their head ends up leaning over and resting on your shoulder. I always disturb them. But some people are actually too shy to do that though and just sit there with some randomer sleeping on them! :pac:

staker wrote: »
    sitting facing backwards while going forward..

I actually don't mind that at all. Also, supposedly it's safer if the train crashes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Zoney

People not moving to the back of the bus. I've actually been on Bus Éireann city buses where the driver has not let people get on the bus, despite the fact there were even seats free (but the standing space at the front of the bus rammed). It's very common for there to be people standing in front of the white line, sometimes the entire area beside the driver filled from doors to windscreen - which is surely a bit dangerous if not illegal (this usually happens when the back of the bus is full - thanks Bus Éireann for having no double deck buses in Limerick).

Even with the bus driver telling people to move back, people still are obstinent about it. *COME ON* they have these little red buttons on the grab rails and if you press them, a little bell rings and tells the driver to stop at the next stop. And guess what, he always does! I've more than once been on a bus where the driver has had to exclaim loudly about the fact that one person ringing the bell is sufficient. (There's also a display above the front of the bus that tells you if the bus is "STOPPING").

A lot of passengers are quite disobliging in that not only will they not move back, but they are reluctant to allow you past to any free standing space or seats at the back of the bus. Not to mention the people who have to be asked to move in and stop taking up two seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

Maybe theyre getting off soon. Or cant move on stairs on moving vehicles....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

1. Fat people who seem to occupy 1.5 seats squashing you against the wall. Bring back the central armrests.

2. People who shove past you to get their desired spot on the platform. WTF?

3. People walking slowly and blocking your way over bridges etc.

4. Cheeky gits who wake you up mid journey and ask can they have your seat. This actually happened to me this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

I hate public transport so why point out details

I want a metro. SCREAMS. I'd put up with the general public, if we had a metro.

Oh do you know what really pisses me off. A group of frustrated 17 year old lads on the dart or bus roaring and singing. it annoys the f*** out of me. I didnt get on a bus or dart to listen to gobeens yelling.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Dublin frickin bus cancelling the Nitelinks and them firing bus drivers.
    They can go to hell for that.
    It's a public service that should be protected, it's for the public and owned by the public. At least it should be. I've seen all over the UK what privatised "public" transport is like and it's f-ucking awful. It's totally run down and only the routes guaranteed to make money are capitalised upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

The obsession with getting a seat on the train. WTF?? It's a 50 min journey at most. Do you really have to jostle and shove your way to a seat as if your life depended on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,516 ✭✭✭Rawr

The little Chavs and Chavettes you'll often find upstairs on DB, playing their poor-quality trance-music ringtone full blast to their friend(s), while constantly cycling through their collection....which often includes the latest atrocity from Glomobi etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭dreamingoak

omg

bloody walkman users. or i pods, whatever! dementing. Do they really think they are not forcing everone to listen to phil collins!?? or megadeath???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭e21man

The people who get up ten minutes before we get into mullingar and walk all the way from the back of the train to the middle to be closer to the exit and than run out to there car to be home 1 minute earlier>
    the people who sit on the outside seat hqve to be the most ignorant people around,
    the people in connolly who try to get on the train before you get off do they not realise us getting off means more space for them grrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
    groups of students talking drive me mad especailly loud enough for me to hear them over what im watching grrrrrrrrrr:mad:
    oh oh the worst of it is the couple on the mullingar train they do nearly hump each other on the seat evey morning eating the face off each other why i understand they like each other but get a room yuk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭bazzer

Some people get on the bus with a newly-bought pair of shoes, put them on during the journey and leave their old ones behind in the shoe-box.

Filth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

People who sit down beside you and stink of stale cigarettes.
    People in front of you who push the bell for the next stop and sit halfway between their seat and the aisle and who don't then get up and as a result block the aisle.
    Very obese people who sit down beside you and their 'bits' stick into you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

ipods etc being played so bloody loud everyone can hear them. :mad:
    People talking really loudly on mobiles - "I'm on the train!" :mad:
    Body odour! Take a shower in the morning FFS! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

People who bring a bowl, milk and a box of cereal onto the bus in the morning and proceed to prepare and munch away on their brekkie. Clanking there spoon off the bowl all the while. Ridiculous. Its like a 'Crunchy Nut Cornflakes' ad or something. Your on the feckin bus man! Wake up 5 mins earlier or something!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭DHFrame

LARGE SUPERMACS DINNERS EATEN BY FAT OFFICE WORKERS ON THE WAY HOME TO PORTLAOISE ON A CROWDED TRAIN.

PEOPLE WHO CANT DECIDE WHERE TO SIT. Oh umm, mmm, uh, mmm..... THE SEATS ARE ALL THE SAME!

People talking really loud on a flight home really gets on my nerves. I dont want to hear about your life. At least give me the choice.

Janet Street Porter on a flight from Stanstead to Dublin on a Ryanair flight strutting around like she owns the plane.

I apologise for the CAPS!. I feel they were neccessary. : )

I remember once I was on the worlds most crowded Tram, the Luas. I guy got on with 2 tiny kids and his wife and asked the whole carrage to move down because he could'nt get himself through the door, he had to raise his voice naturally. Everyone looked at him like he was a w*****. Even though he was right and there was loads of empty space for people to fill. He had to get off and wait for the next one. I would have got off for them but I was behind 50 (doh err mmm doah err mmm) zombies at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭DHFrame

thudd wrote: »
    People who bring a bowl, milk and a box of cereal onto the bus in the morning and proceed to prepare and munch away on their brekkie. Clanking there spoon off the bowl all the while. Ridiculous. Its like a 'Crunchy Nut Cornflakes' ad or something. Your on the feckin bus man! Wake up 5 mins earlier or something!!

OMG! Are you serious. Has this really happened? I believe the person in question is trying to be cool or something. Like, ''Look at me, i dont give a **** or something.''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Smelly people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

DHFrame wrote: »
    OMG! Are you serious. Has this really happened? I believe the person in question is trying to be cool or something. Like, ''Look at me, i dont give a **** or something.''

lol. Yeah, it really has happened. About three days in a row actually. At first all I could do was just shake my head in disbelief. But by the last day I kinda found it a bit funny, watching other peoples reations etc.