Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you consider it irrational to be storing food away at the minute?

• 04-02-2009 1:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭

Would you consider it irrational to be storing away canned food, water purification tablets etc in case of a very serious crisis in our society that could occur in the near future? I know all in all it seems unlikely that such a crisis would arise (ie.looting, no food in the shops, riots, people overpowering gardai and defense forces, who knows what else!) but so would have the state of today's economy seemed this time last year!! :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If the goods were at a good price, there was a heck of a lot of them, pallet loads and had a great decent shelf life, why not?
    If its just stuff that will be out of date within 2/4 months, naa. Not worth it.

Now, excuse me while I go back to stocking up me ammo for the oncoming battle against the New World Order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Non-Perishables, sure. Why not?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Stock up on bog roll, lots and lots of bog roll. When all hell breaks loose and there is nothing left in the shops that stuff will be worth more than a solid gold, diamond encrusted Bill Gates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭SAVE_ME.222

Stock up on bog roll, lots and lots of bog roll. When all hell breaks loose and there is nothing left in the shops that stuff will be worth more than a solid gold, diamond encrusted Bill Gates.

People still use toilet-roll? In these harsh economic times??

Me personally, I've resorted to newspapers and Celia Ahern novels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'll be wiping my ass with pictures of Paris Hilton.
    She knows about good rear jobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Water purification tables...?! Ah now, come on...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I use the 'Northside People' or the 'Metro' newspapers. As for stocking up food, yes- irrational in my opinion. (but sure, if it'll keep, why not?!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,677 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Make sure to stock up on hair dye for that post-apocalyptic punk look :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Overpowering the Gardai?!Are you mad? They have ANTI STAB VESTS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Leaves, use leaves for your arse, just make sure they're not nettles :P

Ah I always have extra in the press and fridge, for that week that I have absolutely no money.

25 chicken breasts for 20 euro? Oh yea baby, just freeze them up. Happy days :)

Lost of sauces, rice, noodles, frozen veg, anything that will last a while. Oh and we hunt and grow our own vegtables at home. It's great :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

. Oh and we hunt and grow our own vegtables at home. It's great :)

**imagines Elmer Fud chasing after come cauliflower**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

No...........I'll just carry on killing and eating people like always.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Senna wrote: »
    **imagines Elmer Fud chasing after come cauliflower**

It's self explanatory... well to most anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I recently purchased a large amount of ammunition and have several tonnes of Diesel in reserve. Ireland will be in the grip of all out Civil War within one year. I for one welcome our new DUP overlords!..... polishes gun and laughs insomniacly at 5am. Fupping Fianna Fail baxtards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Chill out lad!:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Overhaul wrote: »
    Non-Perishables, sure. Why not?

I think he means with regards to Ireland :) At least ye over across the pond have a saviour - we have a buffoon
    Would you consider it irrational to be storing away canned food, water purification tablets etc in case of a very serious crisis in our society that could occur in the near future? I know all in all it seems unlikely that such a crisis would arise (ie.looting, no food in the shops, riots, people overpowering gardai and defense forces, who knows what else!) but so would have the state of today's economy seemed this time last year!! :eek:

Deffo. You'd be mad not to be buying in bullk at the minute and saving yrself cash. **** like baked beans, noodles, pasta... all that non perishable stuff bought in bulk saves you money.

Oh and toilet roll like AlmightyCushion said, but no need to skimp on quality or you'll get piles. That charmin stuff's the business!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Stocks up on clothes with the Mad Max look.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

don't panic, if it gets that bad we'll probably be able to use 50euro notes, they'll be worth fuck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

mumhaabu wrote: »
    I ... have several tonnes of Diesel in reserve
    We discussed this in work, this is the main problem, storing petrol and diesel isn't safe/easy for the consumer :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

I don't think it's irrational at all. Vey practical. If a natural disaster were to occur, certain people wouldn't be moaning about it :pac:. I would do it if I had the space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭madmik

Mingey wrote: »
    I don't think it's irrational at all. Vey practical. If a natural disaster were to occur, certain people wouldn't be moaning about it :pac:. I would do it if I had the space.

if everyone had that attitiude it would create a disaster and result in more job loses

There is no need to stockpile food in your house or start panic buyinng

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Please do not discuss Personal Issues threads here (no matter how relevant).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I'm building a bomb shelter.

Oh yeah I'm preparing alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Id say dig up your back garden and plant potatoes. Return to 1840s =]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Would you consider it irrational to be storing food away at the minute?

Not if you were a hamster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Dont forget the candles and to hell with the PC brigade who say they will only damage the ozone layer .Those guys will a rare breed cometh the hr :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Everyone should always have a few candles, matches, batteries and canned food at home.
    The worst might not happen but there are always the chances of blackouts for a day or two.
    Without electricity we're pretty f**ked.

Indeed ,candles will be the first thing we are going to need and as many as possible .

Did I say We ? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Doesn't matter, sure we'll all be fukced once CERN get their Large Hadron Collider up and running :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Would you consider it irrational to be storing away canned food, water purification tablets etc in case of a very serious crisis in our society that could occur in the near future?

Absolutely. Anybody with any sense started stockpiling in 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭endasmail

shockingly pessimistic
    you ll be grand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

madmik wrote: »
    if everyone had that attitiude it would create a disaster and result in more job loses

How so? It's just picking up a few extra bits & bobs at the shop every now and then
    There is no need to stockpile food in your house or start panic buyinng

Isn't there? What if this snow we had for the last couple of days turned into a few more weeks and getting produce to & from shops became impossible? The airport closed on Monday, what if it were longer? Ferries cancelled, trucks cant get in...we are on a small Island. Where does most of our food come from?

Surely its better to save up here and there along the way rather than panic at the last minute like everyone else & end up with only cans of creamed corn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Plenty of people (especially in the USA) are big into this
    just google TEOTWAWKI or WTSHTF. Plenty of fora and web guides to survivalism.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TEOTWAWKI

Those American doom and gloom cults have being around for decades .Best to just ignore them ;)

* runs back into his 1980's home made nuke bomb prove shelter and handed a cup of tea laced with whisky by a new age hippie ( who's dad played woodstock )

whlie ' when two tribes go to war ' by FGTH blasts in the background '* :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

What is wrong with your Zombie survival supply's you have hoarded already.,¿

They should keep you going until the outbreak and/or Stephan is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

I've put on a stone. I feel it's my civic duty to stockpile.

stovelid wrote: »
    Absolutely. Anybody with any sense started stockpiling in 2007.
    why 2007?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

why 2007?
    `

Great Heinz vintage.

lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Absolutely,my little nephew stores away biscuits under the rads maybe he's onto a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'm stockpiling beer and TV shows. Never be too careful ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

why 2007?

Random year picked sarcastically, but 00112984's answer ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

I’am stocking up on biscuits , beans , beer , and condoms.You don’t want to catch anything from those irradiated zombie bitches .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭DubLass

Im scared! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭madmik

Mingey wrote: »
    How so? It's just picking up a few extra bits & bobs at the shop every now and then

Isn't there? What if this snow we had for the last couple of days turned into a few more weeks and getting produce to & from shops became impossible? The airport closed on Monday, what if it were longer? Ferries cancelled, trucks cant get in...we are on a small Island. Where does most of our food come from?

Surely its better to save up here and there along the way rather than panic at the last minute like everyone else & end up with only cans of creamed corn.

buying a few extra items gradually is ok but starting a panic is another story

its panic buying that causes shortages and upsets the balance leaving shortages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

madmik wrote: »
    buying a few extra items gradually is ok but starting a panic is another story

its panic buying that causes shortages and upsets the balance leaving shortages

You're just saying that so you can get in to the shops and bulk 'panic' buy up all the supplies sell them back to us after there is a shortage!

We're on to your plan now!

Quick every one to the shops!

Step one: buy toilet paper.
    Step two: ???
    Step three: profit!

My local shop tonight is just about out of tinned soup. The only Baxters that was left was Broth and Potaote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

My local shop tonight is just about out of tinned soup. The only Baxters that was left was Broth and Potaote

Your post leads me to soupose you didn't buy it then?

/ psst, tinned soup can last for a few years, don't be fussy..

Nah, I got one of them refrigerated plastic things. They were 2 for 3quid - I don't actually know if that's a good price or not (like most of the early 20's generation I've no idea how much things cost/are worth.

It tasted nice though, I got Minestrone and Farmhouse Veg. I had the Minestrone with some soda bread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Well, 2 for 3 quid means you got a meal tonight for 1.50.
    And have one left for another time.
    I'd say it was good value.