Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tomorrow roads will be lethal

• 03-02-2009 9:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭

Its been snowing for 2+ days.
    Its just started raining
    Temps are due to drop at or below 0 tonight.

I for on am staying indoors tomorrow and wedging both cars into the driveway in case some wonder-kid slides into one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I think you might be right. I have to go out tomorrow, in total I've only about 15/20km to do but I'll give myself plenty of time. The ice I can handle but the 2 hours it took to do 5km this evening nearly killed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

crosstownk wrote: »
    I think you might be right. I have to go out tomorrow, in total I've only about 15/20km to do but I'll give myself plenty of time. The ice I can handle but the 2 hours it took to do 5km this evening nearly killed me.

Can second that - same time, same distance, Sandyford Ind Est to Ticknock (via a few side roads but i won't go into that!) :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Ruatha

Duvet day tomorrow :cool:
    I can't face another 4 hour trek across the city.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Okay guys Ive to go to work tomorrow, unless we get told not to come in..

Im terrified of going out on ice :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I'm assuming main roads should be grand if they get out there early and grit them? Like today.. as opposed to Monday ?

Frigiddty friggitty frig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've no choice (well I do, but I'll go out unless it would be suicide). Gonna be on the road at 6.30am. Only about 4 miles to do, but some steep hills to negotiate :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭jenzz

about 200km to do tomo - bricking it after today !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

80km trip to work tomorrow, been off today already might be a bit cheeky taking another one, but I am worried about crashing into someone or vice versa.

Might not be worth it in the end.. Was going to stay in a hotel tonight thats close to the job, might do that tomorrow night if theres no improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

I took my dog for a walk about an hour ago and it's already getting slippy (east cork). We didn't even have any snow that stayed on the ground today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Driving around south Dublin tonight and the roads, while wet, are not icy at all.
    If it keeps raining the temp should stay above zero and the moving water will keep the roads grand.

If it stops though it will get a chance to freeze and could be pretty bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That's my main concern. If it stops raining before 2am, we're screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

Random wrote: »
    I'm assuming main roads should be grand if they get out there early and grit them? Like today.. as opposed to Monday ?
    i'll be on the road at 5 in the mornin, no chance of them bein gritted then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

seamus wrote: »
    That's my main concern. If it stops raining before 2am, we're screwed.

That's what I'm thinking alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

After todays crap on the roads, thankfully i can work from home tomorrow so going to take advantage of that. Reports I am reading are saying the weather is going to be just as bad tomorrow night (though tomorrow day will be ok'ish)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

jenzz wrote: »
    about 200km to do tomo - bricking it after today !

That's too much driving for those conditions. Unless you're transporting kidneys for transplants or something, try and find a way not to drive that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

AudiChris wrote: »
    That's too much driving for those conditions. Unless you're transporting kidneys for transplants or something, try and find a way not to drive that much.

Agreed. I usually rack up about 1,000km a week but I've postponed most out-of-county travel for this week. Not worth the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Ive done about 200 miles in the last 2 days, and haven't seen a snowflake and I haven't come across any ice! Between Limerick and Galway...

Those of you who say it is taking 3 hours to go 3 miles etc, would you not just walk?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Those of you who say it is taking 3 hours to go 3 miles etc, would you not just walk?:confused:

Because my car would be 3 miles away for the next 20 miles of my trip home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Just back from the shops and Rathgar Rd. is still lethal despite very heavy rain. Had a transit spin out infront of me (50kph) with slush deposits that aren't at first noticable.

Take care and dont get too aggressive.

crosstownk wrote: »
    Agreed. I usually rack up about 1,000km a week but I've postponed most out-of-county travel for this week. Not worth the hassle.

Thats what im thinking - Mad how an experience like that can knock you. I do 1500km a week not a bother but nervous wreck now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Might do the same myself, do 800km a week, better than having an expensive knock I guess.

Damn right !

But ... Ill let you ring the boss lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

GreeBo wrote: »
    Its been snowing for 2+ days.
    Its just started raining
    Temps are due to drop at or below 0 tonight.

I for on am staying indoors tomorrow and wedging both cars into the driveway in case some wonder-kid slides into one of them.

No late for me, car got hit on Monday by a twat in a van, managed to hit 2 or 3 other cars as well :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 YourCourier.ie

Work at home all the time. Couldn't wait to get out today so stopped work at about 4pm. Set off and negotiated the 8" of snow outside and then headed up to the Black Hill area - had a ball.

(Landcruiser, rear diff lock, front winch, mud tyres ;))

http://leinster4x4.ie - We do it in the dirt :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

went into a ditch tonight, fresh snow around 5-6 inches. Fair annoying, considering I was only going 10 miles/h and came to a sharp bend and the car just slid, slid, slid, slid and bang lol. Took 7 of us to get it out with a nice smell of clutch :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

Bogger77 wrote: »
    No late for me, car got hit on Monday by a twat in a van, managed to hit 2 or 3 other cars as well :-(

That sucks man :(.

So much for all the dire premonitions then:D

South Dublin is fine this morning, roads barely even wet never mind icy and it reasonably warm compared to the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

South Dublin is fine this morning, roads barely even wet never mind icy and it reasonably warm compared to the last few days.

Bit of flooding around though due to water run off. Had to rescue a customer this morning who almost made it through a huge puddle - Discovery to the rescue again :pac:

I've a funny feeling the repair bill will be fairly sizeable on his motor though :(

R.O.R wrote: »
    Bit of flooding around though due to water run off.

I was actually surprised at the lack of flooding around the place. There was some but I expected a lot more TBH. That was a whole lot of rain yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

Theres a good chance of some heavy snow tonight/thurs AM according to teh lads in the weather forum

A couple of impassible flooded backroads in east meath this morning, had to turn around twice.

uksnowrisk.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

So what you are basically saying is that I saved us all by jinxing it?
    Hurray for me! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

Back roads from Maynooth to Blanch were fine when I went across this morning. Bit of a flood in Clonee on the way back but nothing major. Coulda been much worse.

So what you are basically saying is that I saved us all by jinxing it?
    Hurray for me! :pac:

So, Greebo in your opinion will there be 25 ft of snow tonight:confused:

I'm going on the basis that if you predicted sorta bad it was ok and if you predict really bad it'll be fantastic.

/crosses fingers/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Supposed to be -2 tomorrow during the day. Any moisture will surely freeze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Omcd

-2 during the day? Where are you? Not Ireland I presume. According to Met Eireann 2 - 5 degrees. Where are all these doom and gloom reports coming from for tomorrow - there's nothing in the official forecast I can see that comes close to what we've had the last few days :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Can I try and say something?

It might actually be a good idea to park your car back a bit from the roof of your house if you have drive that runs up to it. My roof slopes downward toward the driveway, so it really is something to think about.

Some snow melted off my roof last night thanks to the rain and slid into the garden, and what with what's left freezing into a nice solid weighty slab, I've taken a simple idea to reverse back as far as I can, save my bonnet and windscreen. Costs nothing to do, but it might well save on inconvenience and expense if something does decide to slide off...

Morning comes I'll jetwash it off the roof, but I have to thaw the hose-pipes first indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

The snow melt now water pond in my front is now a glass like ice sheet due to the sub zero temps since sundown. Tomorrows roads will surely be the worst, even if it doesnt snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Anyone know what the roads are like between Dundrum and Total Fitness in Ticknock now? Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Omcd wrote: »
    -2 during the day? Where are you? Not Ireland I presume.

In my cave in the mountains ;)

I think I actually read the weather thingie incorrectly. I believe it was saying -2 at night. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

This is Sandyford at the moment!

i444198_Untitled2.jpg
    i444205_Untitled3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Anyone know what it's like in North Dublin / South Louth?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Well the airport is closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Just took the bus back from the centre of Dublin to Bray, and in Dublin itself and in Bray the roads are perfectly clear. On the N11 from just past Donnybrook church until just before Cornelscourt, there seemed to be a lot of snow lying, the roads were very slushy, and traffic was crawling (this was at about 2pm already) but as soon as we cleared Cornelscourt it was clear again. I guess those extra few metres of height make all the difference,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

steve06 wrote: »

i444198_Untitled2.jpg

About two inches more and you'd have the conditions in which I passed my driving test :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

How are there still morons flooring it in cars with no lights and all the but windscreen totally obscured with snow?
    Shouldnt they all be dead by now?

steve06 wrote: »

i444198_Untitled2.jpg
    i444205_Untitled3.jpg

Drove from Sandyford to Citywest today leaving at 2 pm. Took me just over an hour. 40 mins of that was in Sandyford to M50 J13. It is like an ice-rink around there, especially in Sandyford Village.
    How are there still morons flooring it in cars with no lights and all the but windscreen totally obscured with snow?
    Shouldnt they all be dead by now?

The amount of people with no lights on was ridiculous. I motioned to a woman beside me in traffic that she didn't have her light on... It was very dark at the time... and a lot of the past 5 mins she was sitting up my back tailgating.

She rolled down her passenger window and I informed her what I meant. She said "well I can see quite perfectly. It's not night time" :rolleyes:

I pointed out to her that other people might not see her in her silver car, it being quite grey and dark outside... Oblivious!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Just drove from Blanchardstown to Tallaght over the M50 in 25 minutes, all the while listening to RTE telling me there was huge blizzards and traffic chaos. It isnt even raining.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Just drove from Blanchardstown to Tallaght over the M50 in 25 minutes, all the while listening to RTE telling me there was huge blizzards and traffic chaos.

What you hear on the radio is usually about 20 minutes old.. Happens all the time to me as well... "What the hell were they talking about!" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Feck all out here in Dublin 15... what universe are yous all in?