Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Idiot drivers in the snow !!

• 03-02-2009 9:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭

My god some people are total idiots!

I was walking through Blanch village yesterday evening, there was a huge tailback as cars where taking turns to struggle up the humpback bridge.

I saw FIVE cars slide into cars in front of them because they were tailgating them in the slush!

One poor woman was stuck half way up the hill and the idiot behind was beeping his horn in anger. The pr1ck wouldn't even give me a hand pushing her.

Impatient arseho1es were overtaking and then bloking oncoming traffic. One such idiot tried to overtake on that hill and ended up getting stuck himself on the wrong side of the road, so anybody who eventually had made it up the hill from far side had the sight of this idiot in front of them.

It was unreal the beeping of horns, it was as if these people didn't realise there was alot of snow and slush on the roads and everybody should clear the way for them.

I must have pushed about 10 cars up that hill last night! It felt good, I think I may go to heaven afterall. I eventually had to take a break and pop in to bar to warm my hands but I forgot to return from my break! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

It is one of the constants of the universe:

people + cars = idiots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

I didn´t see any behaviour like that in Blanch,

but I was very happy not to be anywhere near the shopping centre:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

They were idiots before it snowed, it was never going to make them smarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Hagar wrote: »
    They were idiots before it snowed, it was never going to make them smarter.

Well thats true, I guess they are just more easily spotted in the snow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

A few idiots this morning on the N2 and M50.
    In particular fecking lorry drivers, tailgating, what sort of chance do you have if one of those cants hits you. None I tell ya, none...

Bell ends the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Heh, the snow sure does highlight some "issues" with some drivers.

Yesterday I sat and watched, with amusement, as someone in an older model BMW slid and stopped at a 45 degree angle in the road, with a queue of around 30 cars behind. Now instead of trying to pull away gently, she was flooring it, and the car was going nowhere. She'd spin the tyres for 2 seconds then jam the brakes, wait a minute, then repeat. This went on for over 5 minutes before she figured out she needed to be a bit more gentle.

I suppose I should have gone an offered some assistance but to be fair, it was amusing me on an otherwise cold, wettish day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Mena wrote: »

Yesterday I sat and watched, with amusement, as someone in an older model BMW slid and stopped at a 45 degree angle in the road, with a queue of around 30 cars behind. Now instead of trying to pull away gently, she was flooring it, and the car was going nowhere. She'd spin the tyres for 2 seconds then jam the brakes, wait a minute, then repeat. This went on for over 5 minutes before she figured out she needed to be a bit more gentle.

I suppose I should have gone an offered some assistance but to be fair, it was amusing me on an otherwise cold, wettish day.

Ahh yes , you can't beat rear wheel drive in the snow, well yes you can ,front wheel drive.

From the Front Wheel Drive Supporters Society:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

There is under good weather conditions already an overdose of complete clueless people on the Irish roads.
    So add something weird falling from the sky and it is totall chaos here.

I have driven in quite a few countries but i have never seen so many complete foolish acts on the road as here in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Very dark this morning & still loads of people without their lights on.

At 9 o clock last night I saw a woman with L plate in her Ford Ka driving down the Dublin quays with no lights on. Tried flashing the lights a few times but she was oblivious. :rolleyes:

McSpud wrote: »
    Very dark this morning & still loads of people without their lights on.

At 9 o clock last night I saw a woman with L plate in her Ford Ka driving down the Dublin quays with no lights on. Tried flashing the lights a few times but she was oblivious. :rolleyes:

That's a constant out here. I've all but given up. If I had 1c for every driver running with no lights I'd be pretty rich by now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

saw some ingenious behaviour yesterday too. on chap left his house, turned on the wipers to remove the snow, turned them on faster to try remove the ice, reversed out (without clearing the back window) and drove about 30 feet, did the old wiper job again and drove off. i tell ya i was standing looking at him and i couldn't see into his car so how he managed to see out is beyond me. Same on the M1 south bound, card with a little square of snow cleared from the front windscreen, most probably by hand as the drivers fly by ate 120 changing lanes without a hoe of seeing the wing mirrors or blind spots coz of the snow.

unfortunatly when Darwin comes a calling these feckers will take someone with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,160 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I thank god I have a heated windscreen, heated rearscreen and heated mirrors and my cars takes around 5 minutes to heat up the interior.

I still remember the days of the 97 seat ibiza pouring a kettle over the doorlock because I couldnt get in for the ice and driving with a scarf, gloves and hat on.

Sunny yesterday in Galway and only drizzling today. I feel for you east coasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

I was behind a mpv yesterday and there was no traffic in front of him, for no reason he hit the brake and slid off the road across the grass into the ditch and a fence... It was snowing very heavily. I managed to stop, I got out and went over to see if he need help to get the children out of the back as the car was lying on its side. The driver got out and told me to **** off :eek:. So I did.
    The other stuff I saw was unreal, driverd need to cop on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭cormac_byrne

2qk4u wrote: »
    I was behind a mpv yesterday and there was no traffic in front of him, for no reason he hit the brake and slid off the road across the grass into the ditch and a fence... It was snowing very heavily. I managed to stop, I got out and went over to see if he need help to get the children out of the back as the car was lying on its side. The driver got out and told me to **** off :eek:. So I did.

maybe he decided you were tailgaiting (and I'm not saying that you were) and he tried the old 'flash the brake lights' trick, else he was trying to be cautious and was testing the brakes. I'm guessing either way he won't do it again in a hurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,897 ✭✭✭roosterman71

2qk4u wrote: »

This sounds like an insurance scam to me

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

maybe he decided you were tailgaiting (and I'm not saying that you were) and he tried the old 'flash the brake lights' trick, else he was trying to be cautious and was testing the brakes. I'm guessing either way he won't do it again in a hurry.

Worked out the opposite way for me last night.Some idiot was tailgating me on a very icy backroad near Maynooth.I did the old left foot braking trick and he swerved and almost ended up in a ditch facing the wrong direction.
    No sympathy for idiots that do that on good roads never mind in the conditions last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Worked out the opposite way for me last night.Some idiot was tailgating me on a very icy backroad near Maynooth.I did the old left foot braking trick and he swerved and almost ended up in a ditch facing the wrong direction.
    No sympathy for idiots that do that on good roads never mind in the conditions last night.
    You said it :rolleyes:

RWD is very tricky in this weather.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Bluetonic wrote: »
    You said it :rolleyes:

And whats that supposed to mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,406 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

And whats that supposed to mean?

That you are an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

GreeBo wrote: »
    That you are an idiot.

Idiot is a bit strong, but I do agree that tapping your breaks in those conditions is very dangerous. As you said the fella tailgaiting you nearly ended up in the ditch.

Tapping your breaks to scare some dope behind you is dangerous at the best of times.

ronoc wrote: »
    RWD is very tricky in this weather.

Yeah, had two full days of it, in my E90 and my wifes 1 series. It can be fun when you're alone but out in the traffic it's a bit of a nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Losing control of your car in icy conditions and crashing it into a ditch with your children in the car sounds like an insurance scam to you?

Are you sure?

murphym7 wrote: »

Tapping your breaks to scare some dope behind you is dangerous at the best of times.

+1, much better to just let off the gas and let the car just slow to a siily spped then maybe they'll get the message or just stupidly overtake and end up in the ditch of their own accord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

FIGHT, FIGHT, FIGHT!!!

71916.jpg

Well it did sound like it. If the poster is to be believed, why did he hit the brake when no one was in front. Why did he not want help? From the way I read it, he hit the brakes and the car crashed. he didn't want help because the poster here could tell the guards what he seen.

Plus, ya'd get an extra few quid for having the kids there too.

Its just an opinion of mine. Could be wrong of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

Everyone knows you only tap the brakes when you have a MASSIVE towbar for him to run into :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sounds more to me like the guy was just embarrassed for ****ing up so badly.

People really don't know how to drive in this weather. There's a small hill to get out of my estate - no more than 25 metres, but about a 30 degree angle. So it can be slippy in these times. The best tactic is to take a short run at the hill in second gear and then keep a steady pace of 10/15mph straight up to the top. Works every time for me. Yesterday morning there were people trying to get up it in first - stop at the bottom of the hill, hit the pedal, wheelspin for a few seconds till you get some grip and lurch forward about 5 metres. Then jam on the brakes and repeat.
    Then of course you had people driving right behind these people and panicking when they stopped on the hill, instead of just sitting at the bottom and waiting for the other guy to clear it.

The amount of tailgating going on in general was phenomenal. No idea what people are thinking.

Idiot is a bit strong, but I do agree that tapping your breaks in those conditions is very dangerous. As you said the fella tailgaiting you nearly ended up in the ditch.

Yeah idiot is a bit strong alright--now theres 3 posts calling me an idiot.The idiot as far as Im concerned was the bloke who couldnt take the hint to stop tailgating in those conditions.

Id say theres plenty that read this forum either tailgate or tap their brakes to stop a tailgater in action.
    I do a fair bit of driving and see it everywhere these days.

And besides I only tapped the brakes as a last resort after flashing my hazards to warn him of the road conditions,slowing to a crawl and actually waving my hand out the window thinking he`d get the message.

After trying everything I could to get the message across to stop tailgating me I decided the best course of action was to give him a fright which I did and I stand by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Well it did sound like it. If the poster is to be believed, why did he hit the brake when no one was in front. Why did he not want help? From the way I read it, he hit the brakes and the car crashed. he didn't want help because the poster here could tell the guards what he seen.

Plus, ya'd get an extra few quid for having the kids there too.

Its just an opinion of mine. Could be wrong of course.

Probably more likely that he was driving normally, hit a little bit of black ice, felt the car go away from him a little, panicked and hit the brakes (the wrong thing to do), and then slid off the road.

Furious with himself, mortified by his actions, stressed by the kids freaking out and wondering "what'll I tell the wife?", he lashed out at the first person he saw.

Yep that could be it either.

Bit nasty though to not accept help. I presume the poster didn't go over with a smirk on his face and laugh.

And besides I only tapped the brakes as a last resort after flashing my hazards to warn him of the road conditions,slowing to a crawl and actually waving my hand out the window thinking he`d get the message.

After trying everything I could to get the message across to stop tailgating me I decided the best course of action was to give him a fright which I did and I stand by it.

Prob should have mentioned that in the first place, mightnt have gotten you head taken off:D

Exactly what I would do in same situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Bah, all this talk of madness on the roads, i want to be part of it! Not a bit of ice or slush or snow for that matter in Dundalk/Blackrock area for the last 3 days. The odd 4-5 minutes of dusty snow and thats the end of it.
    I've been listening to the radio the last few days and it sounds like bedlam out there, yet not a bit of bad weather up here. I even heard that Drogheda was a nightmare, only 20 miles down the road! All the smog must be keeping the snow away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I even heard that Drogheda was a nightmare, only 20 miles down the road! All the smog must be keeping the snow away...

Apart from the nightmare of being miles away from where I work, no issues with snow in Drogheda yesterday morning, evening or this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Thats what my wife said too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

Damn it, and I only saw one small crash yesterday. And I stood for like 20 minutes on a hill waiting for some fun. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

R.O.R wrote: »
    Apart from the nightmare of being miles away from where I work, no issues with snow in Drogheda yesterday morning, evening or this morning.

Was there not? I heard from a few people that it was bad, perhaps only the roads on the South side? All day yesterday we had sunshine and its bright enough up here still today with the odd snow shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The amount of tailgating today was unreal. It took me a hour and a half from Rathfarnham to Firhouse and while it was bumper to bumper most of the way anywhere I had a clear run there was someone right on my bumper. It makes me wonder how stupid people are to tailgate during extremely icey weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,406 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

gandalf wrote: »
    The amount of tailgating today was unreal. It took me a hour and a half from Rathfarnham to Firhouse and while it was bumper to bumper most of the way anywhere I had a clear run there was someone right on my bumper. It makes me wonder how stupid people are to tailgate during extremely icey weather.

Just took a similar route, knocklyon -> dundrum and back.
    Going out traffic was ok, but I still had morons on my boot even though you could clearly see traffic coming against us was wheel spinning and sliding to a halt. Who are these people?

Whenever the road was clear I hit the brakes harder than normal just to see and I slid every time. Even when it looks clear there is so much slush around that an emergency stop will be more of an emergency slide.
    Some people seem to think that unless its actually snowing its business as usual.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Its harsh but they need to hit 1person, get screwed with insurance and they will learn!

What i cannot understand is the amount of people just FLOORING the car trying to climb the hills on the M50 this afternoon.

I had a guy in a passat, TDI 08, and he was just being an idiot so much so a blue van man, let a roar at him to put it in 2nd and try taking off slowly. Once again floors it in second gives the guy abuse. The same guy while traffic was moving was weeving in and out of lanes undertaking and driving at a good speed.

Pure stupidity IMO, but maybe im wrong. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Mental evening getting home from work! 2 hours for a three mile journey! file.php?icon=confused0059.gif

Traffic was unbelieveably heavy! Took four detours, one of which was very, very chancey up a winding country lane (not a good idea but better than sitting in traffic) and guess what - that didn't work out so well. file.php?icon=mw_wall.gif Got stuck 3/4 ways up and had to be pushed out by a chick in a jeep that came up behind me! file.php?icon=rofl.giffile.php?icon=rofl.gif Oh, the shame! file.php?icon=whack.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Buffman

Some dodgy driving out there alright.

On the bright side I took advantage of the conditions during lunch to practice some skid recovery techniques in an big empty car park at work. It was great fun.:D

Also, I would recommend that when possible you should change down through the gears to slow down, only use the brake as a last resort. This really helps you to remain in control.

There was a chap driving a RWD high cube van in front of me in traffic coming home, everytime he stopped it started sliding sideways into the grass, then he got to a speedbump and couldn't get over it. I'd really hate to be driving something like that in these conditions.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Modedit

quoted an abusive post which was since deleted ...in consequece this post was edited

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭jenzz

Well me being the muppet on the side of cross country route to greystones this morning from the N11 - thank you to all the lovely people who tried to slow to see was I ok & ended up skidding too. sorry !

Oh & the bus who stopped thinking I wanted to get on ( not a bus stop in sight lol)

Oh & the SM Morris trucks being towed up the hill on the other side who kept me entertained.......

& in particular all the other women who genuinely offered their help while slidding by shouting out the window .........

Oh & the stupid cow tring to overtake me mid skid - FOOOOOL ..........:D

R.O.R wrote: »

Yesterday morning was pretty bad. Van was sliding all over the place. Seen a guy in a car in front of us in traffic braking and sliding into the back of a taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

seamus wrote: »
    The amount of tailgating going on in general was phenomenal. No idea what people are thinking.
    gandalf wrote: »

I had a stupid bint up my hole the whole way southbound on the M50 last night about 8.30pm. She was so close that she could see me clearly giving her the finger in the rear view mirror and seemed upset about this and wondered why... :rolleyes:

People in Ireland can barely drive at the best of times. These type of weather conditions really do bring out the idiot in people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think I'm going to get a big banner and put it on top of my car tomorrow:

"DRIVE IN A HIGH GEAR MORONS"

Coming home, came upon a number of people who got stuck going up hills in first gear.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

It is one of the constants of the universe:

Irish people + cars = idiots

corrected to an extent.

Alot of Irish drivers struggle in what we call snow (other countries may just laugh)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

That's a constant out here. I've all but given up. If I had 1c for every driver running with no lights I'd be pretty rich by now :D

same can be said for the idiots using the strong lights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

yesterday i spent 6 hours on roads driving to work 2,5h and back home 3,5h

Carrickmines- Clonee

I've never seen so many idiots in my life as yesterday. people were were using horns at me as i stopped at the bottom of hill in lucan to see how bmw driver is doing. -he stopped after 30 meters and couldn't go any further. I had to choose alternative road - also up the hill - fecker behind me was tailgating all the time even when i stopped on the hill as there were cars in a front of me in about 50 meters. i turned on my emergency lights and tailgater stopped about 50cm behind me. stupid idiot!!

Also saw plenty merc, bmw's at the side of road. I was so proud of my small vw.

There should be a law regulations about winter tyres - like it is in Poland. I know that it is snowing here rarely, but it is slicy very often an wet and cold.

u can use winter tyres in temperature up to +7 - +8*C

and they are much more safer than summer tyres.

People in weather conditions like yestarday and today stop
    stop speeding
    stop tailgaiting
    stop braking hardly
    stop braking with hand brake
    stop accelerating hardly ( you will get off the roady quickly if your foot is too heavy)

Use your dipped headlights
    Think
    don't follow car if driving up the hill unless you are sure that he won't stop suddenly
    don't use horns - get out the feckin car, move your as* and push car.
    if you are driving rwa - don't trust your car especially if it is packed with electronics esp, srs etc etc. and be twice more carefull than fwa owner.