Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FULL BODY PAINT JOB

• 02-02-2009 10:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

Whats up,

Ive got an old run down 96 Lancer at ome and im going to give it a full paint job.

Im looking for any tips from anyone with experience and it will be hugely appriecated.

im going to strip the car first and havnt even started but from what i can see im going to have trouble getting the back left and right panels off. any advice you have on any of these areas (striping, painting, and them panels ) it will be wisely heeded.

or if you have a link or website that has any videos or plans that would be great.

Please please please dont tell me not to do it, to leave it to a pro because i can afford it and i want to do it myself , i want to make my dream car and i want to do it myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

A few problems you may encounter:

Solvent based paints were recently phased out, so you're looking at using water based paints.

you need to be working in a ventilated dust free environment unless you want the paint to have lots of speckles

You'll need some sort of heating

You'll need a proper spray gun, and know how to use it.

other than that it shouldn't be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

cheers man much appriecated , do you know anything about taking off panels?

you'd be better off leaving them on. they all bolt off on a Lancer anyway.

PS. don't do it :D

Are you spraying the car a different colour or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I'd advise you buy a Haynes manual as well. Can come in very handy. I'd advise you buy a panel from a scrappie, sand it down, spray it and dry it and see how it comes out before you go taking apart the car. Practice on something you won't be using rather than just starting on your car.

I think it'll be an awful pain in the arse, but if you have the time, effort and patience fair play to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

IK09 wrote: »
    Whats up,

Ive got an old run down 96 Lancer at ome and im going to give it a full paint job.

Im looking for any tips from anyone with experience and it will be hugely appriecated.

im going to strip the car first and havnt even started but from what i can see im going to have trouble getting the back left and right panels off. any advice you have on any of these areas (striping, painting, and them panels ) it will be wisely heeded.

or if you have a link or website that has any videos or plans that would be great.

Please please please dont tell me not to do it, to leave it to a pro because i can afford it and i want to do it myself , i want to make my dream car and i want to do it myself

Would the paint job not cost more than the car (a 1996 Lancer)?? Is it worth it

Lauder, this is about making a dream car. don't be coming up with logical reasons not to do it.

Some people dream about oddly painted Lancers

Ya the car isnt worth a cent but u know the usual childhood dream stuff i wont bore ye. im gonna strip the interior and re-spray it. the colour is well worn but i hooked the car up to my own one by the battery and the engine was singing. it wont start on its own id say the battery wont hold the charge. it hasnt moved in 3years!!!

Does anyone know where i can get info on removing the panels...
    the rear drivers side one is well damaged

Cheers for the support colm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

If you mean the rear quarter panel, well, thats welded on to the car.....this is where an angle grinder comes in handy.

Oh, and a welding machine, to weld it back on...

P.S.

Have you ever worked on cars before?

ive never worked on a car ever so this is all new to me

i do have both an angle grinder and welder at my disposal but ive only ever tacked a trailer so nothin as complicated as car panels

still lookin for advice tips etc guys keep them comin during the stripping process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

still lookin for advice tips etc guys keep them comin during the stripping process

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Car-Mechanics-Welding-Peter-Simpson/dp/1873098499

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭tdc

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Lauder, this is about making a dream car. don't be coming up with logical reasons not to do it.

Some people dream about oddly painted Lancers

LMFAO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭dingding

Some people dream about oddly badly painted Lancers

Hi Colm I fixed your post :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭nialler

Remember watching one of these custom proggies on sky and they resprayed the doors, panels and bonnet in the wrong orientation (ie they hung them up so something to do with the way the paint flows would make it slightly different hue) so make sure your doors and whatever bits you're doing are oriented correctly to the body of the car.

Could be bull**** but it was an american show so more than likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

Changing rear quarter panel is nothing remotely like a diy job. I've been working on cars part-time for 30 years and I wouldn't dream of taking this on. This job requires years of experience to get any half decent result, and I've seen lots of professionally done jobs that were very poor.

Sorry to rain on your enthusiasm, but you are totally underestimating this task. If you were time served as a panel beater and if you had a workshop with spray booth, alignment jig, spot welder, sanding equipment, proper compressor and spray gun, then you might have some hope.

Ordinary electric welder no good here (will burn through the panels). Angle grinder is a starting point but is by far the cheapest bit of kit on the shopping list.

Why is it that so many people think they can be a panel beater with no training and no tools ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭RS6

A good machine polish can do wonders for a car.

Ive seen examples where before hand you'd be like, "that def needs a resray", only for the paint to look prefect after a good machine polish.

Got any pics of the condition of the paint?

ill be posting pics soon. ive just started sanding around the door locks as i just moved out to an apartment where the job cant be done. got the car running pretty easily. Went to a salvage yard in galway on the headford road (highly recommended, very cheap and helpful), went there looking for a boot, ended up coming home with new doors, boot, bumpers, and rear light lens, and absolutely dirt cheap. i just fitted the doors, boot and front bumper.

Does anyone have any tips on sanding...which grit to use.....anything that will make the paint come off easier?

And im not trying to be a panel beater so take your "leave it to the pros" attitude, and pi ss off. its something I have wanted to do for ages and im gonna do it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

And im not trying to be a panel beater so take your "leave it to the pros" attitude, and pi ss off. its something I have wanted to do for ages and im gonna do it. :)

As you wish. You came here asking for advice. You got honest advice based on a lot of experience. If you don't want to listen then why ask the question.

It's your car and your time, you are free to do whatever you want.

Good luck IK09, sounds like you have a nice cheap project car to start with. Much better than some people who have started to restore e.g. some 50's exotica with no prior experience and skills.

There's a great site about welding with tutorials etc:

http://www.mig-welding.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Mickah

IK09! Post some pics so we can all see how you're getting on. Need something to wile away the work hours.

Hey guys

I finally took my finger out and started the project and have hit a different wall each time i thought i was getting somewhere.

But, im not gonna give up and have got (what i would call) a lot of work done and will be posting pics soon.

As it stands i went to a salvage yard and picked up a drivers and rear driver side door, rear bumper, and boot. Ive also fitted them. The entire outer shell of the car has been taken down to bare metal and im in the process of applying filler to the rough areas (theres a lot). Was gonna post pics this weekend but i put my fone through the washing machine, i know, im an idiot.

I plan on starting spraying in about 2 weeks as i can only work on it at weekends cos im in college and the cars at home. If yere eve lookin for a good deal at a salvage yard go to the one on the headford road in galway, absolute bargain. Also im gettin my primer, base coat and lacquer for a steal(400) in AUTOZONE in limerick. ask for dave if your there, hes the most helpful guy in Ireland. Anyway the paint code im gonna use is "TV2" bayside blue if you wanna check it out.

I will be back with pics, on that you have my word.

Hints, Tips and advice greatly appriecated.

IK09

Jaysus your mad lol... But fair play to ya.

The last time I was getting something sprayed I said I'd do it myself -It was a spoiler- sanded it down and all my base coats etc. and everytime I went to paint it the paint reacted. In the end, after failing, I handed it into a bodyshop and the paint reacted for him first time too:rolleyes:...

It's a pain in the arse, but good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If all else fails buy several spray cans of black paint and keep spraying.

http://forums.beyond.ca/showthread/t-143877.html

hey guys shud have mentioned it last night but im gonna redo the carpet, seats and get a new steering wheel.

Im kinda lookin for a racing wheel and seats but im just gonna get an end of nice carpet from a shop and stencil it from the old one.

If any1 knows any good places to get any of these cheaply that wud be great

And they have to be cheap!!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

but im just gonna get an end of nice carpet from a shop and stencil it from the old one.

You woudn't chance terracotta tiles instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

maidhc wrote: »
    You woudn't chance terracotta tiles instead?

LOL :D,

hey guys shud have mentioned it last night but im gonna redo the carpet, seats and get a new steering wheel.

Im kinda lookin for a racing wheel and seats but im just gonna get an end of nice carpet from a shop and stencil it from the old one.

If any1 knows any good places to get any of these cheaply that wud be great

And they have to be cheap!!!:)

Dude you should go for a sheepskin rug instead.........

sheep_white.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭stratos

don't over reach if it's your first project on a budget don't strip it down to nothing.

do one bit at a time try to keep the car a rolling shell. your not on wrecks to riches and you may not have the money or experience to achieve perfection at this time.

If you can get the car up and running and do the work as a rolling resto I find works a treat.

Serious money is involved in this kind of work. Don't let me dampen your enthusiasm though it's amazing what can be achieved because we love these lumps of metal.

And if the Lancer inspires you go for it.

cheers man,

gonna have pics up soon, ive already got the car running! my girlfriends uncle is a mechanic took him about 20mins to undo three years of no movement. he stuck in new brake pads, changed the oil, a few new spark plugs, and welded the whole in the exhaust, and all for free to get me on my way...top guy. :D

I wasnt gonna bother if i couldnt get it runnin

I dont think the sheep wool will get the look im lookin for but thanks for the idea

Keep the info comin guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

cheers man,

I dont think the sheep wool will get the look im lookin for but thanks for the idea

Keep the info comin guys

Ah, it's not too bad- :D

You wouldn't even need a full respray.......... :D

699.jpg

hey guys this is what ive done so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Fair play, that's a helluva lot of work!

heres some more

ya its taken a good while,
    still have a full paint job and interior job to do. oh ya and have to learn how to spray!!!

ill post more pics as i go along...hope to have the spray job done by this day week

Nice one IK09. Good to see ppl. doing something themselves as opposed buying a new car from the shop when ashtray is full.

After you've finished with this you know more about body repairs than 99.9 percent of the other posters (including myself).

ya its taken a good while,
    still have a full paint job and interior job to do. oh ya and have to learn how to spray!!!

ill post more pics as i go along...hope to have the spray job done by this day week
    Fair play.

Whatever about spraying the car,there is no way you are gona fix that rear quarter,even if it is small damage.
    Even if you do a good job on the paint this will be a major flaw and ruin the whole project.

It looks small and the amount of work wouldnt be that much,plus your spraying it yourself.You should get the damage repaired by a proper panel beater tbh,would cost less than 200 probably.

Then you will have a nice surface to work with.

You can use brake fluid to strip paint off the car but if you go this route you will have to prime it straight away,to stop rust.This could probably be done with cans as you will be sanding it anyway.
    Instead you could just sand the paint back using 1000 grit paper then prime it with cans.

Youll then have to prime again and work yor way up to 3000 grit.

Preperation is the key,when you have the car primed you will have to sand it,paint it,sand it,paint it.Untill the finish is completely smooth.

Spend 80% of time on prep and 20% on actuall painting.

Youll then need an air compresor and gun,$$$$
    A clean environment,a garage might work with sheets lining the whole thing.

cheers for the tips guys much appriecated

the rear panel was entirely smashed in that corner....believe it or not brought the car for a spin to get paint stripper, came out of the shop and there was a crater from a tow bar in that corner. i just hit it out as much as i could. i was planning on filling it and sanding it into shape.

Got this steering wheel today 2 from sleek fx in limerick, a bargain 50 quid and really nice staff 2.

im also gonna spray the interior fittings like this one white. the guy in halFRAUDS toldme id need to prime it first but then again they lie to make more $$$$ .

i have a spray gun and compressor. got the gun last week for a shocking 70quid in Calbro motors...so gonna start sprayin on saturday

hey guys

just finished spraying these for the centre console.

gonna go with black and white for the interior...its the easiest.
    anything light il spray white and anything dark il go black.

i just used spray cans for this. an important thing if your doing this is not to spray the can to close or heavily. this will cause runs and drips. so keep it light and apply many coats. this took about 5 coats! im also gonna spray them with laquer at the week end to stop them from peeling

keep any tips comin.

im also looking for a steering wheel hub for a 96-00 lancer on the cheap, ive heard you can get them for 30e? if any1 knows where that wud be great:D

Did you spray the gater white? Won't the paint crack when you move it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

It will indeed.
    Trust me, half my bedroom is covered in paint.

You could get a white leather on i pressume, even fake leather. Keep an eye out for one sure, 'cause that will definitely crack and peel, even when its coated.

The rest will be fine, should look nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Fair play IK09, nice to see people taking on projects on here. Even nicer to see it not me! :D

ya sprayed the lot, i had a fair idea it wud crack alright. gonna get one from argos or something, its just a temperory thing. for one i was bored and cash is tight after buyin all the paint. gonna spray the car this weekend and will have pics up soon.

did you do a project volvo???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

ya sprayed the lot, i had a fair idea it wud crack alright. gonna get one from argos or something, its just a temperory thing. for one i was bored and cash is tight after buyin all the paint. gonna spray the car this weekend and will have pics up soon.

did you do a project volvo???

Yea i've done a few. :D

thanks....

what did u do? any tips? hints? places to get stuff for cheap?

anything? u got pics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭fugazied

A few problems you may encounter:

you need to be working in a ventilated dust free environment unless you want the paint to have lots of speckles

My grandad thinks he is a do it yourself handyman, he bought some cheap paint from Argos, painted his old VW in the shed. Far too much dust floating around quite a few specks in the paint. Pretty important to get the location right. x.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Fair play to you IK09 for giving it a try. sure nothing ventured nothing gained! :):cool:

I'd love to try something like that myself but there never seems to be enough hours in the day! :rolleyes:

The only I will say is that Halfrauds may have been right abot the primer needed for spraying the interior.
    A few years ago I decided as a project to respray the interior of my car, at first it turned out great the paint was nice 'n' even and achieved the look I was going for.
    However the first sunny day after and the paint started to heat, expand and turn sticky. It ruined clothes on me & ultimately I'd to go to a scrappy and get a replacement one! :o

Whats the plan overall with the car, are you going to put a boykit on it or keep it standard but tidy the paintwork?
    Best of luck with it & fair play to ya for giving it a go :D

no not gonna do anything to fancy really as its my first project. had a disasterous weekend will have full story later, in class now. have pics 2!