Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teens in the Wild

• 02-02-2009 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭

Presented by clinical psychologist David Coleman ('Families in Trouble'), the series follows six teenage boys with behavioural issues on a 21-day activity programme in Connemara.

http://www.rte.ie/arts/2009/0202/teensinthewild.html

I can't decide whether this is brilliance or whether the psycho little bast*rds will pop each other's eyes out with cutlery over the campfire.

Seeing as it's rte they'll probably be camping in tesco tents anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

or whether the psycho little bast*rds will pop each other's eyes out with cutlery over the campfire. .

We can only hope.

*crosses fingers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Thought this thread was about porn..

< Disappointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

< Disappointed

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

< Disappointed

Got all my hopes up n all!! :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Never the biggest fan of the TITW series. Babysitters on the Loose has always been better....oh.No pron?

+1 here too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

gamblitis wrote: »

Got all my hopes up n all!! :-/
    Thats not the only thing he got up!

badumtish!!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

/7
    Solve for X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I don't know whether to move this to Television or Maths now. :confused:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Divides by zero.
    Collapses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I can't decide whether this is brilliance
    or whether the psycho little bast*rds will pop each other's eyes out with cutlery over the campfire.

What's the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

This thread has reminded me of something.

I forgot to write +c when integrating in my mock paper today. FFFFFFFFF-:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Was anyone else thinking "Blue Lagoon"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Battle Royale maybe..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Well done RTE. Take a bunch of misbehaving teenagers and give them a three week holiday in Connemara. Tell them they're 'disadvantaged' and then get some twat of a psychologist who is going to attempt to talk them out of the mindset of a scummer. Way to spend the license fee RTE, free holidays for scummers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

*looks at the snow*

Please tell me they're all huddled in a crappy tent right now, with only a few sticks to make a fire and no food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I watched it, what a shower of waster's. After 2 days they spent so much time crying about getting their mobile phones back to ring their mommies that the supervisors gave them back so they could ring them. 1 drama queen refused to give his back so he decided to go back home to mommy. It's actually a holiday they are on complete with log cabin, TV, play station etc. and they are moaning that it's too much like booth camp. Another idiot said he never saw so many trees in his life and he wanted to go home (not too many trees in connemara). They said that they usually get up at noon every day as the supervisors went to wake them up. I thought that the supervisors would get them out of bed at 5 am instead they woke them at 8 am for breakfast. What should have been done would be to wake them at 5am and make them run 5 miles before their breakfast and they should have taken them to the Aran Islands instead and if any of them wanted to go home they could swim.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

What's with that emo, blonde haired guy with the lip ring. He seems to be a completely, effiminate pussy trying to act like he's a bad boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

''I just want to go hoooooommmmeee'''
    ''Im calling my Mam to collect me...give me my fooking phone or il booorrrrrssssttt ya!!''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 nathan25

i worked on the show and you guys seem to be really harsh towards the lads.. the lads had a lot more issues then phones going on , also the cabin they were staying in was extremely basic and had to house them all for three weeks. If you dont like it well then dont watch it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I was only half watching it but did the blonde pussy twat have a load of pictures of Britney Spears in his room? I think he probably enjoyed being locked up in a cabin with a load of other guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

nathan25 wrote: »
    i worked on the show and you guys seem to be really harsh towards the lads.. the lads had a lot more issues then phones going on , also the cabin they were staying in was extremely basic and had to house them all for three weeks. If you dont like it well then dont watch it.
    Were you the guy that looked like his hair was painted on!?

Hopefully everyone in the country follows that advice:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I was only half watching it but did the blonde pussy twat have a load of pictures of Britney Spears in his room? I think he probably enjoyed being locked up in a cabin with a load of other guys.
    I thought the same. He is acting tough then showing off his brytney posters. I think he has the ghey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭ateam

seanybiker wrote: »
    I thought the same. He is acting tough then showing off his brytney posters. I think he has the ghey

That's obvious. Good programme, insight into the mentality of the scum about in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Davidius wrote: »
    This thread has reminded me of something.

I forgot to write +c when integrating in my mock paper today. FFFFFFFFF-:mad:

Aw i hated that! Try to have a remember thingy yoke like.... Integration loves cock .... its +c! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Famous45

I stumbled across this tonight, basically because I was waiting on 24 to finish recording. I got the impression straight away that this is just another stupid plight by the RTE. In no way have I ever slaughtered RTE although considering that recent show with Colm and JimJim amongst others, I kinda got the impression early doors that this wasn't going to entertain my evening.

Saying that I watched it and I am sure the majority of teens would act in the hard man abusive manner that all these rascals did. I seriously feel that the psychologist has taken the incorrect route with trying to bring these guys to a level of happiness within. I mean cutting them off from society is the wrong way first of all, taken them on a murder mystery weekend combined with a treasure hunt and go karting on the first week would be ideal, on the second week they have something to look forward to and in the interim hopefully some of them if not all have struck up a friendship with being part of a team for the weekend, which would then set them up ideally for one of those action days where you do an assault course and hovercraft etc.

I don't think surfing, canoeing and rock climbing is intriguing for a teenager.

It will be interesting to see how they end up after the 3 weeks, realistically 3 weeks isnt going to change a youth's mindset especially when you treat him like a 2 year old.

I think it's a poor attempt to try and curb family relations, there is only one way that can be achieved and thats with each family member meeting on each others terms especially when it's got so far out of hand.

If you want to open the boys eyes to society treat them like a growing up young adult, taken away their privileges is not a road to take.

Just my tuppence worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Aw! did you think they went too hard on them?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

seanybiker wrote: »

Leave blonde pussy twat alone you guys! I'm SERIOUS. Leave him aloooone! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I agree, I dont think blondie would have survived too long in prison. He is more MTV Sweet 16 material in terms of mood swings.

And I think he had one of those earrings that expands to make a hole in your earlobe, which makes you an idiot by default.

Famous45 wrote: »
    I stumbled across this tonight, basically because I was waiting on 24 to finish recording. I got the impression straight away that this is just another stupid plight by the RTE. In no way have I ever slaughtered RTE although considering that recent show with Colm and JimJim amongst others, I kinda got the impression early doors that this wasn't going to entertain my evening.

Saying that I watched it and I am sure the majority of teens would act in the hard man abusive manner that all these rascals did. I seriously feel that the psychologist has taken the incorrect route with trying to bring these guys to a level of happiness within. I mean cutting them off from society is the wrong way first of all, taken them on a murder mystery weekend combined with a treasure hunt and go karting on the first week would be ideal, on the second week they have something to look forward to and in the interim hopefully some of them if not all have struck up a friendship with being part of a team for the weekend, which would then set them up ideally for one of those action days where you do an assault course and hovercraft etc.

It will be interesting to see how they end up after the 3 weeks, realistically 3 weeks isnt going to change a youth's mindset especially when you treat him like a 2 year old.

I think it's a poor attempt to try and curb family relations, there is only one way that can be achieved and thats with each family member meeting on each others terms especially when it's got so far out of hand.

If you want to open the boys eyes to society treat them like a growing up young adult, taken away their privileges is not a road to take.

Just my tuppence worth.
    Or kill them,the entire crew and anyone associated with the show.
    No memories must remain

My 3pence worth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

I saw a bit of this. its like an inferior Brat Camp set in connemara instead of the nevada desert.

Heard people talking about this and saw this thread earlier but my rules dictated that I simply could not watch it. Decided that my new years resolution this year was to avoid RTE as much as possible and to never watch an RTE original programme. So instead I settled into the couch and watched the quite excellent RockNRolla.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

i worked on the show and you guys seem to be really harsh towards the lads.. the lads had a lot more issues then phones going on , also the cabin they were staying in was extremely basic

We know.... It only had a 1 meg connection and the toilet roll in the jacks didn't have andrex puppies printed on it.

They should have been put footin' turf for a few days, that would quieten them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

You worked on the show? You should be ashamed of yourself!!! How ****e is that show!!! The lads had issues? What issues? Not getting to treat there Mammies like ****e???

They are pussies, pussies who will go home and be popular with their friends cos, they were on de telly.

I cant wait to see one of them cry because they have given up their wicked ways!!

Fcukin vagina's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Just my tuppence worth.

I don't think RTE could really care less about wether they change these lads mindsets or not. This show and shows of its ilk are bullsh1t, exploitation of children masquaraded as some kind of "right on" lets save Irish youth nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Yes it is, unless you're a whiny ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 chiko1958

What are you all on about? Like, are you experts in clinical psychology and family planning? Interesting to see how many of you have families of your own.. Not one of you know any of the boys issues.. For all any of us know, some of them could have been abused in earlier life, for example.. Maybe y'all had perfect little lifes with your own families, but dont start slagging of someone elses problems.. How would you feel if you were in that suitation?? Yes, I agree, Coleman maybe did approach it in the wrong way but at least he is making an effort to try help the suitation.. Give the kids a chance for Gods sake.. Id be the first to fall down on scumbags and timewasters in our country, but its coherent there are learning and behavioural problems associated with these kids.. Give them a chance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MrMiyagi

Is it just me or are people who turn to psychology / life coaches just looking for someone else to blame

chiko1958 wrote: »
    What are you all on about? Like, are you experts in clinical psychology and family planning? Interesting to see how many of you have families of your own.. Not one of you know any of the boys issues.. For all any of us know, some of them could have been abused in earlier life, for example.. Maybe y'all had perfect little lifes with your own families, but dont start slagging of someone elses problems.. How would you feel if you were in that suitation?? Yes, I agree, Coleman maybe did approach it in the wrong way but at least he is making an effort to try help the suitation.. Give the kids a chance for Gods sake.. Id be the first to fall down on scumbags and timewasters in our country, but its coherent there are learning and behavioural problems associated with these kids.. Give them a chance..

Come off your soapbox, they have been given a chance, 16 years of a chance.

No I am not a clinical Psychologist, but I have the cop on to realise most kids, even the scummy little feckers were not abused, sexually or otherwise.

These sh1ts decide to do all this crap by themmselves because there are no real consequences to actions anymore.

15 yo stabs another 15 yo on Junior Cert night, they get a Curfew.
    18 year Old Beats the crap outta someone when Drunk, an ASBO.
    35 year old gives his kid a clip round the ear for misbehaving, 2 years for child abuse.

I am a liberal, well kinda, there are alot of things I don't care about, but these kids, if they are scumbags, should be given nice beatings instead of thrown on ASBO's and other crap.

This is all stemming from the justice system going easy on the older lads, then the kids start thinking that they can do what they want!!!

When I was young, I once brought the guards to the door, they had slapped me a few times, I was 14 at the time. I had a bit of a red face, do you know what my mother did? She gave me a slap and dragged me inside, thanked the Guards, apologised to them and came in a gave me another slap for disgracing her by bringing the Guards to the door., and made me thank my lucky stars my Da was working in Dublin at the time. I talked to him on the phone later and he gave out to me and made me feel guilty about everything.

I can't remember what I had actually done but it had been me and a mate. The mate's mam said nothing to him as always and just said OK to the guards.

That mate is now in Jail, me I have never been in trouble with the guards again.

I grew up with a healthy respect for Guards, at the time I mistook it for fear, because that's what young people really need, to fear those in Authority over them.

But these days, Guards are Soft, Parents are softer. Kids are soft as hell, but alot of these scumbags fancy themselves hard men. which is why it's great to see them get laid out when 2/3 attack people they think they can take.

I know I have deviated from the topic, but it needed to be said. I fcukin hate scumbags!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

The Garda are afraid of them, can't prosecute them, and the parents don't care. It's an impossible situation unless we set up some kind of scumbag task force to deal with them. Or outsource our police force to Poland, bet they have some hard ass coppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Ah would you come off it - Fair enough lets assume that these kids were abused at a young age, people here shouldn't say anything about them but its fine for RTE to film them for entertainment for the country ? Bollocks.

c - 13 wrote: »
    Ah would you come off it - Fair enough lets assume that these kids were abused at a young age, people here shouldn't say anything about them but its fine for RTE to film them for entertainment for the country ? Bollocks.

Abused kids aren't scumbags, Look how people behaved when the Catholic church ran the country!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Abused kids aren't scumbags, Look how people behaved when the Catholic church ran the country!!!

I was simply assuming for the sake of his argument that they were, s/he's taking the bleeding heart approach - "Oh something terrible must have happened them to make them like that - poor little childers" so lets assume that they were abused (not necessarily sexually - mentally, beatings whatnot).

How does RTE using them for entertainment purposes for the masses differ from anyone who decides to give out about them online was the point I was trying to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 chiko1958

The kids need a good beating?? You have the cop on to realise that they were not abused?? Jesus, your some genius!! What qualifications do you have?? O, I know, a Bachelor of Ignorance!! Well done, did you do distance learning for that?? Would you cop on yourself and stop looking at the surface problems and think of what may possibly be the core problems.. Beating the kids is physical abuse, you a**hole.. And the guy/girl whose mother slapped them, thats abuse too. Face the facts. No one has the right to hit a child... One is a child until they are 18years old.. And you were obviously afraid of your father being there who would have probably beaten the sh1t out you.. Great family life!! Open you eyes a bit wider.. RTE are not showing this for entertainment, it for parents or kids in similar situations.. Never seen such immaturity..

RTE are not showing this for entertainment, it for parents or kids in similar situations.. Never seen such immaturity..

RTE are showing the show for one simple reason, to generate ad revenue and secondary to attract viewers. It's an entertainment show not a hard hitting documentary about kids with issues. If you think RTE are doing some public service and trying to enlighten viewers then you're sadly misguided.