Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you want from the Police?

• 02-02-2009 12:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭

What do people want from the Police Service, be it Garda, PSNI or Police?

What in your view should the policing priority be? We've had 'official polls' and heard what the Gardai, PSNI, Met etc have to say....but what do boards.ie members think? Be interesting to see if it tallies with the official ideas.

Share your view and vote. If your priority isn't listed, let us know.

I was tempted to add multiple choices, but it'd wind up chaotic. Your choice must be your priority for the Police.

What do the Police need to make a priority? 28 votes

Faster response time to 999 calls
    0% 0 votes
    Less cops in patrol cars, more on foot patrol
    0% 0 votes
    More emphasis on tackling organised crime
    17% 5 votes
    More emphasis on getting drugs off the streets
    10% 3 votes
    More resources to tackle drink-fueled violence
    17% 5 votes
    Nuisance youths, for the love of god do something!
    14% 4 votes
    Community policing; I'd like to know who my local cops are
    7% 2 votes
    Gang crime is out of control, more armed police patrols
    10% 3 votes
    Better detection rates. I was a victim and I want my crime solved!
    7% 2 votes
    More accountability/professionalism. I want my complaint taken seriously.
    3% 1 vote
    Other: I'll specify on the thread
    10% 3 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I really don't know where to start. No matter what I say someone else will say something else and I'll end up agreeing with them. Then someone else will post something and we'll both agree with them. Then it'll come back to what I said and we'll all agree on that.

I guess I want to see more manpower on the streets, more proactive policing (but not random harrassment), faster response times if I call 999, more checkpoints to take the crap off our roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

i want the same thing posted in about 200 threads like this already :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Well take a look at the options and see if one of em takes your fancy. If you've a better idea, let me know and I'll add it (once a mod is available and in agreement). I've voted for more resources to deal with friday/saturday night fight-fest. Mainly because I have to deal with the fallout and could do with a bit more backup :p Most honest soaps have no idea that the streets become a warzone on thurs/fri/sat night/morning....they only see the carnage the following day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Just add an "other - see my post below" option to cover those who don't have a specific issue and really believe there is no one aspect.

MODS - please oblige and add 'Other: I'll specify on the thread' as another option. Posters who choose other, should post their reason on here. Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

The Sun, The Moon and The Stars

That isn't too much to ask for.. is it ??

pa990 wrote: »
    The Sun, The Moon and The Stars

That isn't too much to ask for.. is it ??

Take a number :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Wheres the select all option? :p

In the olden days you'd have been advised of what your choice was :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

I want them to let me f*cking in already!!! :D Seriously though, I voted for the drugs one. Drugs have so many spin off problems such as petty crime, organised crime, gangland crime, violence, general anti-social behaviour etc.. The knock on effect is incredible. It would be great to see it dealt with more effectively IMO.

Blue Belle wrote: »
    I want them to let me f*cking in already!!! :D

Community policing in action ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

More emphasis on getting drugs off the streets
    It fuels everything that is wrong in modern society

Community policing; I'd like to know who my local cops are
    It'd be great to see the human side to the folks in blue

Gang crime is out of control, more armed police patrols
    I would like to see permanent checkpoints at the entrances to trouble estates that are renowned for gangland violence. It would take a lot of resources though.

The odd fools give their respective organisations a bad name; re-examine entry methods into respective police forces imo.

Give Gardai pepper spray and LEG RESTRAINTS en masse!!

However, the solutions to some problems don't lie solely with Gardai/PSNI/Police;

The parents should be held accountable in most cases. HSE/Social Welfare/Community Project's should spearhead efforts in this area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Zero-tolerance to illegal parking..

Also listen to the public when they interact with an Garda through the Joint Policing Committees set up specifically to give the community a voice in the policing of their region, and not just treat it as a talking shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

eroo wrote: »
    The odd fools give their respective organisations a bad name; re-examine entry methods into respective police forces imo.

+ 1

However, the solutions to some problems don't lie solely with Gardai/PSNI/Police;

No truer words said. Involvement of any Police Service should and is the last resort to most problems within society. Sometimes I think people tend to forget or dont know this.
    The parents should be held accountable in most cases. HSE/Social Welfare/Community Project's should spearhead efforts in this area.

+ 1 but how to implement it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

snubbleste wrote: »
    Also listen to the public when they interact with an Garda through the Joint Policing Committees set up specifically to give the community a voice in the policing of their region, and not just treat it as a talking shop.

This is another good point. I am involved in Community Liason within one council estate where before we had believed there was no significant problem as nothing was really reported. It turns out there was some public order problems with youths and some of the residents however and probably with this happening over a long period of time, the residents are over exaggerating the problems in their own minds.

But I do agree that Community Policing is important and should be considered a basic of policing in any district. In my experience I have gathered alot of intelligence on people who we wouldnt have known were living in our area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Col_Loki

Originally Posted by eroo

Hit them where it hurts, their wallets. Maybe have a special tax or deduction that comes out of the weekly/monthly pay check. Your child is breaking the law/being a nuisance, fine the parents but make it an automatic deduction.

Its a tough one to call....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Col_Loki wrote: »
    Hit them where it hurts, their wallets. Maybe have a special tax or deduction that comes out of the weekly/monthly pay check. Your child is breaking the law/being a nuisance, fine the parents but make it an automatic deduction.

Its a tough one to call....

IMO parents should pay for their childs behaviour.

EG. Young person arrested for being drunk and disorderly. The fine is sent to the parents of the young person and the fine is also highly detailed ie. outlining what the chil did etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

snubbleste wrote: »
    Zero-tolerance to illegal parking..

Agreed however from being at neighbourhood and business watch meetings the majority of requests at the neighbourhood meetings had nothing to do with the police but were local community issues.

the biggest complaint at business watch is youths and 'undesirables' hanging around but if your a public shop in the city centre thats kinds par for the course. Its not a crime to look 'undesirable' or young!

TheNog wrote: »

Any minor arrested and charged be placed on a HSE watchlist. Have this watchlist monitored by HSE Social Workers, and possibly Juvenile Liaison Officers. If minor is arrested and/or charged again, some form of HSE inquiry into family/home circumstances maybe? I'm not sure.. but hitting their pockets will not solve anyone's problems!

That's done here. If a youth is nicked, they get handed over to YOTs, the youth offending team that consists of police officers and social workers/council types. They then get a kind of intervention from social services.....can you not tell how well it works here? :rolleyes:

metman wrote: »
    That's done here. If a youth is nicked, they get handed over to YOTs, the youth offending team that consists of police officers and social workers/council types. They then get a kind of intervention from social services.....can you not tell how well it works here? :rolleyes:

What happens in this intervention? Sit down and 'have a chat' with the parents, or does it involve removing the youth from the home? If it's the latter, something like that would almost certainly not work as the rights of the family are prioritised in our Constitution over the rights of a child.:rolleyes:

No the kid isn't taken from the home but instead is put on a number of lists that are flagged up to the relevant services and visits and support measures are put in place to try and steer the kid back onto the right track. The downside is that the kid has to want to help him/herself. If they don't turn up for their meetings etc etc etc. More often than not the parents don't give a stuff about the kid, hence why the kid is out getting nicked in the first instance....though this isn't always the case. One of our local persistent young offenders (whom I was involved in a pursuit with a few weeks ago and wound up nicking him for theft of motor vehicle, no insurance, license etc) comes from a nice home, his parents are spot on....he's just an ungrateful obnoxious little sh*t that is out of control and needs locking up. We're only too happy to oblige.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

I cant imagine a child would be removed from their home in any country for commiting a crime, unless it involved a trial in a children's court and a juvenile detention facility. Social services is not going to remove a child from their home for say spray painting a wall or something.. Only if the child is in danger at home would they be removed, and only those at high risk. No society would take a decision lightly to take a child from their home.

Interesting! Seems like any young guy/girl would want to have to change for the 'support services' to work. Are there many happy endings out of that system? I doubt it unfortunately..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭foxtrot-oscar

More work to combat drugs.

The nock on effect is unreal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

More resources to tackle drug/organised crime.
    Drugs cause all problems....
    thefts from cars/ person = lads looking to get money for fix
    burglaries = gangs get high powered cars for further crimes or to order and also steal firearms for future jobs
    robberies = money to buy drugs or pay off drugs deaths etc
    murder = shot/stabbed etc due to drug debt or to gain control/feud

And then every crime that has money involved these days is no doubt being run/organised/supported or overseen by an organised criminal gang from some part of the country.

If i had an option to add a choice in poll mine would be for "more money to be invested in intelligence led policing and surveillance on gangs/suspects"... its the only way to catch these gangs on the way to or from the crime or even better in the act of doing the crime these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Other:

bus.png

/On-Topic: Community Policing only sounds like a great idea. Good for you to know your Blue, and good for them to know people well enough to spot when something might be wrong.

metman wrote: »
    What do people want from Garda.

I want the benchmarking money that we're all due and I don't want a pay cut from them either. :D
    Id also like the jeep course that i applied for over 3 years ago and a couple of extra days annual leave every year too :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Well realy I want all the options in the poll but I select : I want my crime solved.

Three times my motorbike has been vandalized. So three times I've gone to the local garda station and that's actually two different stations due to house moves.
    Report made, promised a callback and never a word. If you're not going to call me back then just say so and don't leave me in hope. Hey, I'm not expecting CSI treatment or instant succuss but I would like my promised phone call to let me what, if anything was done on this

It's a difficult job for sure and I'm not here ranting but when (not if) my bike gets vandalized or stolen next time, tbh I wouldn't bother reporting it.....what's the point :(

I agree with ya fully mike, a phone call from a member doesn't take more than a few minutes out of the shift, it doesn't cost anything to be courteous to victims of crime.
    Did you receive a crime victims letter saying your crime was under investigation and the details regarding what member was investigating it???
    I would hope that your not the victim of another crime but i would encourage you to report any crime incident to garda.
    (its members like that garda that give the rest of us a bad name)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I would like them to actually be given the tools to perform the jobs , and the backing from the ' system ' so that they can perform the jobs.

By that I mean the following.

On the roads .... give them ANPR , ensure they can police effectivly , ie get those un-insured/un-taxed cars off the roads without the need for ' road blocks '

If a person is done for drunk driving then they should be prosecuted , I read recently that only about 10% of people charged actually get done because ' technicalities ' . Now I know technicalities are there to protect us , but a drink driving case should be open/shut . It must be hard for the guys out on the beat to work on nicking someone to have it thrown out because the person can afford a half decent solicitor, either give the police the training or the legal backup to stop this happening.

Also , is it really needed to have so many police lining up to give evidence in court , why isn't a system built to allow them to give evidence remotely somehow ( I am talking about routine traffic matters now ).

I would also like to see them more pro-active around the communities , where I live there is a certain pub car park that is obviously used for drug dealing ( you see cars pull in the same people run out of the pub , speak to the people in the car then the car drives off , then 10 mins later the same thing happens again ) If I ( and other residents can see this , and report it ) then why can't the local police , it's not rocket science .

mikemac wrote: »
    Well realy I want all the options in the poll but I select : I want my crime solved.

Three times my motorbike has been vandalized. So three times I've gone to the local garda station and that's actually two different stations due to house moves.
    Report made, promised a callback and never a word. If you're not going to call me back then just say so and don't leave me in hope. Hey, I'm not expecting CSI treatment or instant succuss but I would like my promised phone call to let me what, if anything was done on this

It's a difficult job for sure and I'm not here ranting but when (not if) my bike gets vandalized or stolen next time, tbh I wouldn't bother reporting it.....what's the point :(

Mikemac, you raise a valid point that seems to surface too often in my view. There are on occasion mitigating circumstances for lack of contact, officer in your case being on leave, maybe off-sick, or simply inundated with enquiries whilst doing routine police work, but unfortunately there are also a small number of lazy people who provide a poor service and you may have fallen foul of this. Either way, its not really acceptable is it? What I would suggest is that if you have no joy with the officer dealing with your case, then speak to their supervisor or Inspector. You should be kept up to date as to where the investigation is at, and that may mean not being contacted for weeks at a time, but you should be made aware of that fact and get the occasional phnecall to say 'no update, enquiries ongoing'. So rather than saying sod the lot of them, put in a call and express your dissatisfaction. I certainly would.

As regards not reporting crime in the future, well look at it like this. If you don't report it, it doesn't go on the crime stats and the stats then give a false picture of crime and may even show a decrease in figures (say for motor vehicle crime) in your area which might be completely wrong, but as people aren't reporting crime.....this then leads to even less resources being put into the area, and someone will probably get a promotion out of it.

Give them a ring, find out what's going on.