Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To anyone thinking of buying a Planet-X bike...

• 01-02-2009 7:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭

Shimano have increased their prices, which will effect the price of Planet-X bikes by, they estimate, about STG£100 per bike.

So if you're planning on getting one (as I am), act soon.

By the way, this will undoubtedly affect many other bike manufacturers too, but Planet-X are giving specific warning about it. Decent of them, actually...

http://www.planet-x-warehouse.co.uk/?p=3746

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Convict

With all due deference Ghost Rider, are you sure that Planet X are being altruistic? After all by warning customers in advance they also potentially push demand. Online shops like Hubjub and Freshtripe have been warning of price rises for some time now - in the case of Hubjub since before Christmas. Sterling has lost ground on all the major currencies and since the UK imports most of its components from abroad then much of what seemed like a good deal to us, over here, may not look altogether so enticing in a month or two. Besides, Planet X were on a major push before any of this happened - or perhaps they saw it coming - some months back when they had a major firesale because of problems with the taxman. It will be interesting over the coming few months to see how major shops like Condor continue to trade, having quoted prices - online - that are usually set for a year in advance. That is given that other places like Brick Lance Bicycles have just about given up quoting online. Interesting times and that's just the cyclist in me talking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Makes sense for them to warn, they will want to shift a few bikes. I suspect this has to do with the fall in sterling, e.g. Shimano prices are going up in the UK specifically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

I don't know. It seems unlikely that the current announcement would make any more people buy a Planet-X than were already going to buy one - just that it might cause them to do so quicker. I wouldn't describe it as pushing demand exactly.
    Convict wrote: »
    With all due deference Ghost Rider, are you sure that Planet X are being altruistic? After all by warning customers in advance they also potentially push demand. Online shops like Hubjub and Freshtripe have been warning of price rises for some time now - in the case of Hubjub since before Christmas. Sterling has lost ground on all the major currencies and since the UK imports most of its components from abroad then much of what seemed like a good deal to us, over here, may not look altogether so enticing in a month or two. Besides, Planet X were on a major push before any of this happened - or perhaps they saw it coming - some months back when they had a major firesale because of problems with the taxman. It will be interesting over the coming few months to see how major shops like Condor continue to trade, having quoted prices - online - that are usually set for a year in advance. That is given that other places like Brick Lance Bicycles have just about given up quoting online. Interesting times and that's just the cyclist in me talking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

I don't know. It seems unlikely that the current announcement would make any more people buy a Planet-X than were already going to buy one - just that it might cause them to do so quicker. I wouldn't describe it as pushing demand exactly.
    ah but a few of the boards guys have planetX's such as emty and kenmc and they are cycling about with us, i asked ken what his bike was like he said "it virtually climbs hills itself" so now i'm thinking of a planetX as a good bike to buy. see! advertisment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

A follow-up note on this: as expected, the price of Planet-X's SL Pro Carbon, Ultegra build, has gone up by STG£100 as of today.

(Luckily, I got my order in yesterday!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭tomc

Just wondering if you got this yet and what are your impressions?...or else when do you expect to get it?

TomC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Two of my club mates got PX SL pro Carbons (prebuilt) over the last three weeks.

Had a good look at them, and am impressed - very tidy looking, understated but cool graphics, the wheels pretty tasty - bladed spokes etc.

The own branded finishing kit looks quite hight quality, only the saddle looked a bit questionable, but they're always a matter of personal preference

Hopped one on a scale (accuracy ?) but it put the M framed complete bike comes in at ~7.6kg - only 800g more that the UCI limit - amazing for the cost.

They are nice bikes, I have test ridden emty's one. Very light for the price too, I think a lot of that is in the wheels which are a fair bit lighter than the stock wheels on most entry level carbon bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

A follow-up note on this: as expected, the price of Planet-X's SL Pro Carbon, Ultegra build, has gone up by STG£100 as of today.

(Luckily, I got my order in yesterday!)

How much did you get it for? I was looking at it there for £1200, did you really get yours for £1100...and what did they charge for shipping/assembly? I was looking at the Wilier Izoard and the Dolan Hercules but I am seriously tempted by one of these! What you think? ;)

P.S. A very interesting read here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I think it's fair to say that a Carvelo is out of the question financially, so my thoughts are turning to Planet X... question is, should I get a White, Pink, Black or Blue one (am leaning towards white atm), and how would it look with a black groupset (SRAM Rival) if I went with the White.... opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I think it's fair to say that a Carvelo is out of the question financially, so my thoughts are turning to Planet X... question is, should I get a White, Pink, Black or Blue one (am leaning towards white atm), and how would it look with a black groupset (SRAM Rival) if I went with the White.... opinions?

Oh man please get a pink one.

Raam wrote: »
    Oh man please get a pink one.

I'm going to be totally honest mate, and tell you that I am seriously considering it as an option! (you know I have no shame, and like to stand out from a crowd -also may make it theft proof!)

I will forever be in awe of you if you get a pink Planet X.

You're just making it more tempting mate! :cool:

I ain't kidding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I thought about a white one last year, I think someone on here said that the white paint/veneer tended to mark easily. I don't know if that's true or not.

Blue is probably the nicest, I think you could pull off the pink though. Seeing the direction the new kit is going in, you might end up ahead of the curve.

I ain't kidding.

Neither am I
    DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I thought about a white one last year, I think someone on here said that the white paint/veneer tended to mark easily. I don't know if that's true or not.

Blue is probably the nicest, I think you could pull off the pink though. Seeing the direction the new kit is going in, you might end up ahead of the curve.

Yeah, I do wonder about the upkeep of a white frame... I do think I could pull off a pink one, I'm ridiculous enough as it is, and it would stand out from the crowd a bit... would look nice with a black grupo on it too... this gets more and more tempting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Yeah, I do wonder about the upkeep of a white frame...

I have a white bike, although it's metal and not a Planet-X, and it's as easy if not easier to keep clean than the black and grey ones.

From my own experience, white bikes are harder to keep clean (I have a half-white mountain bike.) Blue and the black carbon both look good but if I was Tiny I would go for the pink. Not 100% sure about the obsession with Rival rather than Ultegra as the latter would work out a fair bit cheaper in the full build (I could understand if you had actually used Rival :)).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

White sucks....... Its not easy to keep clean (I doubt pink is either). All the little grease marks just tend to smudge in the frame. On one hand I regret buying a white bike ..... on the other hand I was tired of black.

bike.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

how bout ....Black W pink forks

blorg wrote: »
    From my own experience, white bikes are harder to keep clean (I have a half-white mountain bike.) Blue and the black carbon both look good but if I was Tiny I would go for the pink. Not 100% sure about the obsession with Rival rather than Ultegra as the latter would work out a fair bit cheaper in the full build (I could understand if you had actually used Rival :)).

We went through this earlier, if I got a full build, then I'd have spare wheels (cos I already have fulcrums), spare bars, stem and saddle, so better to just get the frame and buy a gruppo... as for why Rival, well it's lighter than Ultegra, has more carbon than Ultegra, and is only a tiny bit more expensive... also, it's that little bit unusual, kind of like a fatty on a pink bike! :)

-for difference in price, the Rival Groupset comes in at about 580, the Ultegra SL at 510

how bout ....Black W pink forks

It's all or nothing I think! :)

This pink bike needs to be purchased right now.

Sure white bikes are hard to keep clean, but they look ace. The pink one will catch the eye, that's for sure.

This pink bike needs to be purchased right now.

Sure white bikes are hard to keep clean, but they look ace. The pink one will catch the eye, that's for sure.

Don't have the money right now mate! I also checked about getting black w/pink fork or pink w/black fork, but it's all or nothing.... thing is, how euro would it be? (cos a white saddle and bar tape wouldn't look good on it!)

thing is, how euro would it be? (cos a white saddle and bar tape wouldn't look good on it!)

We would have to invent a new term to describe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

We would have to invent a new term to describe it.
    Eurotrash.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I think black tape and saddle might look better with pink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

I could pull off a pink one, I'm ridiculous enough

Now Now!:D

el tonto wrote: »
    I think black tape and saddle might look better with pink.

That's what I'm thinking too... and the black of the Rival groupset would work nicely.... only thing I'm unsure of is the splashes of red on the Fulcrum wheels, might be a clash...

You could black em out maybe? But yeah, they would totally clash.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

If the wheels were actually red, then yes it would clash, but there's only a bit of red on the decals. I think it would work.

Oh, and black bottle cages, obviously.

You have to buy it in pink it would be pure class. It could be a conversation starter but one things for sure nobody will allow you in their slip stream. Imagine a big hairy man behind you on a pink bike.:eek:

Kona did a nice one before

kona-king-zing-07-med.jpg

It's for sale in Wiggle in your size also Tiny

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/Cycle/7/Kona_King_Zing_2007_Shop_Soiled/5360041708/

If the wheels were actually red, then yes it would clash, but there's only a bit of red on the decals. I think it would work.

Oh, and black bottle cages, obviously.

Yes, black bottle cages are a must -don't want to go ott now :)

Will have to have a proper think about the Fulcrums -maybe it's time to trade up :p
    Aquinas73 wrote: »
    Kona did a nice one before...

It's for sale in Wiggle in your size also Tiny

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/Cycle/7/Kona_King_Zing_2007_Shop_Soiled/5360041708/

Bit expensive though, and kind of gaudy :p

Yes, black bottle cages are a must -don't want to go ott now :)

Will have to have a proper think about the Fulcrums -maybe it's time to trade up :p

Bit expensive though, and kind of gaudy :p

Half price though!

Aquinas73 wrote: »
    You have to buy it in pink it would be pure class. It could be a conversation starter but one things for sure nobody will allow you in their slip stream. Imagine a big hairy man behind you on a pink bike.:eek

Tiny can ride in my slipstream any time. Not all of us are so unsure of our masculinity that the colour pink induces panic attacks.

There is no way to stop the sheer power of pink anyway. If it wants to be in your slipstream then there is nothing you can do about it.

Maybe not today and maybe not tomorrow, but someday later in life threads like this will come back to haunt you (I'm thinking wedding day). I swear, you and Raam should do some kind of "euro eye for the bike guy", you are both way too excited about things like this :)

Anyway, you can get a pair of those nice new Ksyrium Elite's for 400 euro off CRC. Silver and pink, timeless! (Yes, I'm auditioning for a part on your show).

Stop talking and go buy it, you will NOT regret it!

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Maybe not today and maybe not tomorrow, but someday later in life threads like this will come back to haunt you (I'm thinking wedding day). I swear, you and Raam should do some kind of "euro eye for the bike guy", you are both way too excited about things like this :)

Anyway, you can get a pair of those nice new Ksyrium Elite's for 400 euro off CRC. Silver and pink, timeless! (Yes, I'm auditioning for a part on your show).

Stop talking and go buy it, you will NOT regret it!

When I have the cash, I may well do... thing is, I just think aloud on here, you're opinions will not sway me much... as for wedding days, well I suspect most of ye will get there before I do, so it's grand -I mean what girl would go for a lad on a pink bike :p

Transvestite.jpg

Him
    Her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

What's the deal with FSA components - how to they stack up agains the Shimano components? I would have thought Shimano was better but that article you linked to says the FSA build was 500g lighter than the Ultegra which sounds surprising.

I have a (black btw!) Planetx SL Pro and it has FSA cranks and brakes (DuraAce shifters and derailleurs). I've been thinking the breaks could be better on it and was assuming that the FSA parts mustve been quite cheap given the low price it cost me (€1,100 delivered ordered end December).

Tiny, fair dues and all if you have the cohones to get a pink rothar, but having seen that thread on scumbags in cars pushing cyclists off their bike, are you sure you want to shorten the odds of you being targeted? Oh right, you've thought of that and have already planned to stuff your jersey back pockets with these ready for such an attack? Ah, I'm with you so, fire ahead so!

I had the FSA gossamer cranks swapped for R700 (I wanted Ultegra damnit!) cranks on my bike, partly because a review I read on the bike wasn't too happy with the cranks but mostly because I didn't like the look of them.

I never got to try them out, but from all that you read about hollowtech IIs they seem hard to beat. Dura Ace cranks would be an expensive upgrade but if I had a planet-x they would be something I would consider maybe a year or two down the line.

What's the deal with FSA components - how to they stack up agains the Shimano components? I would have thought Shimano was better but that article you linked to says the FSA build was 500g lighter than the Ultegra which sounds surprising.

I've a set of FSA Carbon Pro cranks that I no longer use. They were fine but not the best I've ever used either. The hex head on one of the pinch bolts wore after a few installations, which meant it couldn't be torqued down correctly as the wrench would slip in the bolt. Also the carbon shell cracked a bit on them in one spot (they're carbon wrapped aluminium so it was really a cosmetic issues). I believe the higher end FSA cranks though are fairly good.
    Tiny, fair dues and all if you have the cohones to get a pink rothar, but having seen that thread on scumbags in cars pushing cyclists off their bike, are you sure you want to shorten the odds of you being targeted?

Tiny is a man who has no compunction about showing up for a spin in yellow shorts, a Discovery jersey and argyle armwarmers. I don't think a pink bike is going to be the deciding factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

I've a set of FSA Carbon Pro cranks that I no longer use. They were fine but not the best I've ever used either. The hex head on one of the pinch bolts wore after a few installations, which meant it couldn't be torqued down correctly as the wrench would slip in the bolt. Also the carbon shell cracked a bit on them in one spot (they're carbon wrapped aluminium so it was really a cosmetic issues). I believe the higher end FSA cranks though are fairly good.

Tiny is a man who has no compunction about showing up for a spin in yellow shorts, a Discovery jersey and argyle armwarmers. I don't think a pink bike is going to be the deciding factor.

Cheers for that. In terms of reputation though, how is the FSA brand regarded? Just curious to know as there was some lads asking me about my bike there when out last week and they were observing that it had FSA parts with DuraAce parts. I just went 'ah yeh, it's a bit mad alright' but to be honest had no idea if they were saying it cos it disgusted them or impressed them. Suspect the former but want to confirm so that I know if I need to add them to The List in case I see them again :)

I had FSA Gossamer sumthin or other crankset with my Spesh Allez. I didn't like it and it kept coming loose and clicking/popping and so on. Possibly it was just installed badly or I got a fluke dude or I was being my usual overly fussy self and demanding too much out of what I have. No matter what it was, I had it swapped out for ultegra which I am more than happy with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

I currently have a bike running Ultegra with FSA Gossamer cranks ... no issues so far ... had a little trouble with the bottom bracket .. but it seems to have resolved after I opened it up and regreased it. Weight wise, checking on the web, the Gossamer crankset with the mega exo BB seems to be close enough to Ultegra SL and Rival.

By the way, with so many people getting rid of FSA parts, does anyone have a good Mega Exo bottom bracket they would be willing to part for charity or a paltry sum of money

It was the BB that I had the problem with, but it was one of those all in one type things so the whole crankset had to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

What's the deal with FSA components - how to they stack up agains the Shimano components?....
    Cheers for that. In terms of reputation though, how is the FSA brand regarded?

As Ive read about them the FSA cranks are everybit as good as their shimano equivalent at each price point BUT they're supposed to be finnicky for installation and the bottom bracket bearings can be damaged easily at this point, shortening their life.

As for finishing kit and the rest of the brand, good products and good reputation but like all things people can be snobby about mixing manufacturers esp when it comes to drivetrain and ESP when it comes to the cranks.

Cheers for that. In terms of reputation though, how is the FSA brand regarded? Just curious to know as there was some lads asking me about my bike there when out last week and they were observing that it had FSA parts with DuraAce parts. I just went 'ah yeh, it's a bit mad alright' but to be honest had no idea if they were saying it cos it disgusted them or impressed them. Suspect the former but want to confirm so that I know if I need to add them to The List in case I see them again :)

They've a decent reputation, although you will find some people grousing about them online, usually about the cheaper ones, but you'll find people to grouse about every product. Nothing weird at all about mixing third party cranks with your groupset. Plenty of people do it and if these guys think its strange, then they don't know much about bikes. The idea of getting all your components in one set comes from manufacturers looking for sales. Plenty of people use different brakes, cranks, chains, front deraileurs etc.

Bottom line, if Dura Ace and FSA cranks is good enough for Cancellera, it's good enough for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

I've an FSA crank on my noah it seems pretty good but im going to swap it out for a campag record mainly to complete the groupset