Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been serenaded?

• 01-02-2009 6:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

So ladies (and lads!), has anyone ever sang especially for you? Doesn't have to be a song they wrote themselves. I personally think it's one of the most rooomantic things ever (yes, I'm a sap :o ). It's happened to me a few times and I loved it! :)
    I think it probably also counts if it's an actual band singing for you and not just one person? If you haven't had it happen to you, would you like the idea of it, or are you indifferent to the whole thing?
    Oh yeah, if you've ever serenaded someone yourself, post here as well!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

/me hangs head in shame

i have once, i was quite drunk,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

i don't think anything in the world could possibly make me more embarrassed. the thought of it alone makes me cringe. thank god i've never fancied a singer. i can think of a million other things i would find more romantic then being serenaded.

it seems corny and empty but maybe thats just me. its all just words and i know words can be meaningful but it takes more then pretty words. my idea of romance is kinda dull i guess, i won't even go into it. i suppose it takes courage but i bet 9/10 the guys that would do this can't sing and it would just end in red faces all around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

yes unfortunately, it was the most embarrassing thing ever he thought he was being very romantic and me not being romantic at all just wished it would stop.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Have wrote songs for women alright.. well maybe not directly about them.. Like not talking a total dedication. I don't do lyrics.. So it would be a nice melody or a guitar solo, but like the sentiment you felt at the time if that makes any sense?

Which was either sadness or anger never anything lovey dovey.

Because sometimes.. and this is very very cliche bull****.. you can't say what you wanna so you have to beat the **** out of a guitar instead.

I once had a GF ask if my guitar and her fell in the sea.. who (it's a who not a what) would you save first, I told her "Well you'd float.." Then I got "Well what if it was a fire?!?!"

Anyway..
    TK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladyella

Does Fire Water Burn count as 'serenading' music?!?! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Yes, by mu husband, but I was very embarassed about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭KatCookie

Back in the early years of Secondary School i had a boy write me a really long love letter (ok its not a serenade) but it was very poetic and neat and becuase english wasnt really his first language i went up to his best friend (a real brain box) and asked him who had wrote it! :oTurns out he did fancy me and he had written it all by himself.. we went out for 4 months.. then i dumped him! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

When I spent a year in Australia I had a fling with a navy guy (swoon) while I was living in Sydney. We inevitably ended up in Scruffy Murphy's pub for the karaoke run by two fabulous drag queens. Scott the sailor decided to get up and sing a song for me.... "You shook me all night long" by AC/DC. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

Kya1976 wrote: »
    yes unfortunately, it was the most embarrassing thing ever he thought he was being very romantic and me not being romantic at all just wished it would stop.:o

Same!! This guy I was with (briefly!) woke me up at 8 am to sing "I wanna grow old with you". I had only known him for a week and wasn't all that into him and he was a TERRIBLE singer. Plus it was 8 am ffs. It was just wrong on so many levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

PillyPen wrote: »
    Same!! This guy I was with (briefly!) woke me up at 8 am to sing "I wanna grow old with you". I had only known him for a week and wasn't all that into him and he was a TERRIBLE singer. Plus it was 8 am ffs. It was just wrong on so many levels.

Oh criiiinge!!

I love that song because I love that film but jaysus! A week! I would have been mortified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I had a foreigner coerce me into singing her a rebel song, does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭gidget

Yes unfortunately!!!

By a bloody Elvis impersonater of all people. I was on holidays in Florida with the family and was about 18 at the time when we were out for dinner and the Elvis impersonater who was entertaining comes over and kneels beside me singing one of his songs to me. The whole family was in knots laughing and I just wanted the floor to swallow me up :o. What's even worse is i hate Elvis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

I had an ex who used to sing ''Aussie Girl'' to the tune of ''Jersey Girl'' to me.
    He was American.
    It used to make me want to scream with embarrassment, mainly because he couldn't sing, couldn't play, and couldn't realise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Once. I was 14 though. My then bf, who I'd been seeing for 3 months (which is a lifetime at that age) rang me when he was drunk singing "Baby can I hold you tonight". He was dropped like a hot sh!t after that. My subsequent bf's after that all have the non-romantic gene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

never thank god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭CeilingCat

By a very drunk ex at the top of his lungs in an off licence :eek:
    It was embarassing and hilarious in equal measures...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

gidget wrote: »
    Yes unfortunately!!!

I will now take my leave of civilization.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Yes a few time put one stood out as it was done "Say anything style"

And it was a gut wrenching scraping the bottom of the barrel hugely charged
    emotional ploy to get me to take him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'll burst into 'I'm a believer' at the drop of a hat for a girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

All the time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

PillyPen wrote: »
    The joy:pac:
    The worst thing was that I had to pretend to enjoy it sitting there fluttering my eye lashes, it was torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Sitting on a bench late at night with the OH at the time, kinda cold curled up together looking out across the bay in Schull in Cork he starting singing Nightswimming (REM). Was so sweet, my little 16yr old heart melted! lol

It hasn't happened since, where's the romance gone?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Lux.

:o I see that the response so far has not been overwhelmingly positive.... I'm crushed! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Lux. wrote: »
    :o I see that the response so far has not been overwhelmingly positive.... I'm crushed! :P

It's a really easy thing to get wrong. I really like singing, have a decent voice but i don't think i have ever really serenaded anyone. I have sang songs and people were there and those people enjoyed it, thats about it.

It also helps when the other person enjoys hearing your voice, so i am lucky in that my gf likes to hear me sing. She is also lucky in that i won't sing what i can't sing....but i CAN sing Jeff Buckley. Win win.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Yes a few time put one stood out as it was done "Say anything style"

And it was a gut wrenching scraping the bottom of the barrel hugely charged
    emotional ploy to get me to take him back.
    Did it work? ;)