Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Treadmill in Argos

• 31-01-2009 9:28pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering if this seems like a good treadmill? It's a lot cheaper than most which is why I'm considering getting it.
    http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/3357004/Trail/searchtext%3ETREADMILL.htm
    I don't know much about treadmills- is a max. speed of 10km/h about average? I wouldn't be wanting it for sprints or anything.
    Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

is there any reason u cant run outside?

itd be much better.....

most cheap treadmills are crap to be honest and the good ones are not bought for less than four digits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Caderyn wrote: »
    Just wondering if this seems like a good treadmill? It's a lot cheaper than most which is why I'm considering getting it.
    http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/3357004/Trail/searchtext%3ETREADMILL.htm
    I don't know much about treadmills- is a max. speed of 10km/h about average? I wouldn't be wanting it for sprints or anything.
    Thanks.

You will definitely want one faster than 10kmph, I reckon at least 15kmph.
    10kmph is just about jogging slowly for most people like. And then it mightn't be a good idea to always have it up full everytime ya use it, get a 15kmph!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

delllat wrote: »
    is there any reason u cant run outside?
    itd be much better.....
    Well it's hard to get motivated in this weather! I figure get used to the treadmill for a few months then when I'm more used to walking and the weather picks up I can venture outside! :eek:There's a Reebok one in argos for about €350 which has a max speed of 14 km/h- maybe I'll go with that... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

u dont feel the cold when ur running but its your call..........

delllat wrote: »
    u dont feel the cold when ur running but its your call..........
    I know- I'm a wuss. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Caderyn wrote: »
    Well it's hard to get motivated in this weather!

If you are going to let the weather put you off then realy Ireland isn't the place for you.

You won't believe me but it doesn't rain that much in Ireland. I say that as someone who walks, cycles, uses a moped to work. I'd crawl to work before using Dublin Bus!!

And it's actually mild out this weekend despite all the predication of a cold snap.
    Save your money on a treadmill, buy proper running shoes, some decent gear, an ipod and enjoy yourself. :)

Oh, if you insist on buying a treadmill, realy buy a quality one. The bargain ones you see mightn't be the standard you'll see in most gyms. Hey, you might get a bargain but I'm thinking you'll get a poor quality clothes horse ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

if you wont run outside you probably wont run on a threadmill.... they're the most boring yokes ever to run on

outside is the betterplace by far... your watching where your running like curbs and dog poo and you have different things to look every few mins.... all this takes your mind off the monotony of running alone and really makes it easier.

dont be afraid to just get out there and go... if you cant run far no worries...run for a bit walk for a bit... dont try kill your self first time out... take it bit by bit. before you know it you'l be running a nice distance ;)

you might be better off using the money on gym membership..use the treadmill there... then when your ready for the outside world if you still want to you can pack in the gym...which i bet you wont want to do

EDIT: like the lads said... the expensive treadmills are the only ones worth having. when you do decide to go and do your training outside your left with this monstrosity in the corner of your living room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭madmik

a gym style treadmill costs in the region of 3000-6000

maybe be even more thesedays

ur not going to get anything decent for 299euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭MrGee

I bought a treadmill from argus last summer for around 500 euro and its great, only thing is 10 km per hour isnt fast enough, like someone said its like jogging, so you wont be able to do sprints on it. The one you mention is reduced from 600 so should be decent enough.
    Ive had no problems with mine and it was less then the original cost of yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

mikemac wrote: »
    If you are going to let the weather put you off then realy Ireland isn't the place for you.

Jesus man....It's freezin' outside. I plan to go running later, but it's gonna take some willpower. It's definitely cold enough atm to put off most people. I really dislike treadmills myself, but given the option of one tonight I'd certainly take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

If you are just looking to lose weight I would recommend lifting weights at home.
    Khannie wrote: »
    Jesus man....It's freezin' outside. I plan to go running later, but it's gonna take some willpower.
    I actually like the cold, I just cycle faster to keep warm. I actually do not like cycling on warm days.

mikemac wrote: »
    Well considering I was born here, have a job here and all my family and friends are here I'm kinda stuck with it! Besides, buying a treadmill would probably cost less in the long term than emigration. ;)
    Thanks for all the advice guys. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Treadmills are boring as **** once the novelty wears off and when you're running inside the house next to your couch/bed/bath it's damn easy to just... ya know... turn it off when the going gets tough.

Run outside and in a direction away from your house for a set time/distance because that way you have to run back as well. Chuck the treadmill idea. It's not even as useful as an exercise bike for drying washing on once you stop using it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i hate running on treadmills buy a good pair of runners for 100euro a pair of sweat pants for 25 a woolie hat for 20 and a hoodie for 30 and get outside.

after 2 mins of jogging you wont notice the cold and wit ha hat on the rain really dosnt matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

another thing to consider about treadmills is that because of the motor and moving belt, they generally require more maintenence than other cadrio gym equipment. If you're only doing an hour walking every night, it might not be a big consideration but if you are serious about training on one, it's a consideration. I would second the suggestion that gym membership is a good idea. You'll have a range of machines to use, some supervision and there is also the social aspect of gyms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Despite my prophecising doom, I actually really enjoyed my run last night....freezing cold and all. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭fugazied

I would agree with the other posters here unfortunately x.gif, if you get a treadmill you should at least combine it with running outside. The reason is simple - exercise on a treadmill is boring and it's difficult to get the exercise 'habit' when doing something so boring. I have an expensive bike trainer and I find that riding in the real world is an easier habit and aso gives a better workout because there are more variables (temperature, obstacles, wind etc).
    If you REALLY just want to use a treadmill, that one looks ok for the money, but be prepared for parts to require replacement.