Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Childhood Guilt

• 31-01-2009 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭

I was thinking today about when we first moved house when I was about 5. My best friend Jamie who lived two doors down ran out to wave us off. I remember him in the bosco slippers we got his for his birthday racing down the driveway. I was very upset because of the move and didn't want him to see me cry so instead of waving back, I ducked under the window and stared at the window lever. So the last memory I have of him, and he has of me, is me ignoring him. :(

I still feel slightly guilty over it. :o

Another one is when I was maybe 6, a press fell on my mam, instead of running to get help like a good daughter, I panicked and stood at the door screaming. Luckily my dad got back from work just at that moment and pulled her out from under a mountain of cups etc. Then I got upset that my Tom & Gerry mug that I got for easter was broken when I should have been worried about her! I still feel bad over that too!

Does anybody else have something silly and childish they did that still occasionally plays on their mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭auditek923

i used to get upset/shame about **** . but now i dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

I stole some Premier league stickers from my friends house and my parents caught me with them the next day, how they knew i stole them ill never know...I must ask actually!

I had to give them back myself... SO SHAMEFUL!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I had high hopes for this thread.

I leave disappointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Hogzy wrote: »
    I stole some Premier league stickers from my friends house and my parents caught me with them the next day, how they knew i stole them ill never know...I must ask actually!

I had to give them back myself... SO SHAMEFUL!!!
    Some friend :rolleyes:

:P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Jaysus. That house you moved to wasn't very safe, was it?

No it wasn't, a few months living there and the thing just dropped off the wall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

My dad got a lend of a van for the weekend. I was 8 and brought all my friends out to 'play' in it. I accidently broke the sliding door through constant opening and closing. It would not open. I jumped out the window and I hid in the wardrobe for 4 hours crying, my dad came up laughing and said I did not break it, just the door got stuck.
    Still I was so scared :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I remember knocking around with this young guy when we were small and I gave him this stick one day to play with.

We were messing around with them. He ran off and tripped and the stick went into his eye and he lost his eye:eek: Jesus the guilt I felt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I remember i used to secreatly torture our neighbours dog when i was 6.

It was at that time i discovered what an erection was.

I remember knocking around with this young guy when we were small and I gave him this stick one day to play with.

We were messing around with them. He ran off and tripped and the stick went into his eye and he lost his eye:eek: Jesus the guilt I felt...
    Really? :eek: You poor thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

When I was six I robbed a load of jewellery and a silver Christmas tree bauble from a department store when I was out shopping with my Mum. (In my defence, it was a pretty damn cool bauble and still hangs from the tree each year...)

I don't remember much, except lots of tears and nervous laughter as a sheepish mother headed back into the store and handed them back to a sales assistant.

I also chopped my little sister's finger off with a pair of kitchen scissors when I was six. It wasn't a good age for me...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I robbed a packet of Eye Poppers chewing gums out of the local shop when I was about 9. I was convinced that I was going to be found out and arrested :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

beks101 wrote: »
    I also chopped my little sister's finger off with a pair of kitchen scissors when I was six. It wasn't a good age for me...:rolleyes:

My conscience was the last thing to develop.....I honest don't regret my badness before the age of 16.

Actually I just remebered my friends Dad died when I was 13, and I was too self conscious and emotionally awkward to hug her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

All right, I admit it I am Lindberg baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

All right, I admit it I am Lindberg baby.

Which would make you almost 80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

Today, 19:29 #4
    snyper

Adverts | Friends I had high hopes for this thread.

I leave disappointed

snyper wrote: »
    I remember i used to secreatly torture our neighbours dog when i was 6.

It was at that time i discovered what an erection was.

I just knew you'd be back :P

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

We were all playing dress up one day in a friends house, now this friend had like 5 million older sisters and we both dressed up in their communion dresses, I remember we were told to stay away from something that was painted but of course we managed to get paint on the dresses, I can still picture her sister wailing and moaning while I stood there awkwardly and shamefaced in her ruined communion dress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

javaboy wrote: »
    Which would make you almost 80.

Yeah so? You young kids today with your music, boards.ie and orgies. Think your so great. Back in my day we didn't ragga muffins like you question everything people said.

Then you people came along and one thing led to another and now women and non white people can vote. Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

I remember the day I made my first confession - My friends and I were walking back in to school after lunch, they were climbing on a wall which the rules said you didn't climb on. The unfair part is that I wasn't, I was a very good girl, even then ;) Anyway, the headmaster caught them, and we all got lines as punishment. I remember being afraid that the priest wouldn't let me make my communion so not confessing to my guilt by association, then hiding in the dining room at home doing the lines so my mammy wouldn't find out I'd been punished. Oh, the shame!!

I also remember being caught writing in one of the library books at school, felt considerable guilt over that. I was a bit older at that stage, 5th or 6th class. At least I had done something to be guilty about!

Oooh, and I remember when my mother was pregnant with my youngest sister, I tied a shoe lace to the handle of a drawer, and mammy tripped on it and fell. I felt awful, thought I'd killed the baby. I still don't think I've admitted to her that it was me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I stole a couple of pound from my mothers purse and bought a stupid catapult and plastic plane thing. I was playing with it in my room when i lost grip of the catapult handle and it came back and bashed me in the eye. It was so painful but i was upstairs on my own and no-one heard my screams. Later on that night my mother noticed my eye was all red and bloodshot, i told her i banged it off a door handle:rolleyes:. Anyway, a few months later i had an eye exam in school and they realised i only had 40% sight in the banged eye. I had to go up to hospital and have an operation for a detached retina, i went the following week as the longer it was left the worse my sight would get. It cost about 10000 punts in the 80's. Thank god we had VHI and it cost mum and dad nothing. But i feel bad about it till now and have never told anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

auditek923 wrote: »
    i used to get upset/shame about **** . but now i dont

Funny you should mention that.

When I was a kid, and first came across the art of self-loving, I sometimes felt the same, but for a very strange reason.

I used to think that my deceased grandparents were watching me, so I had to be a bit more 'discreet'. :o

Made for some very uncomfortable climaxes, let me tell you. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Yes!

But, due to their embarrassing nature, I cannot divulge any additional information.

Pretty pointless post this. :o

(This'll be one of those things I'll still obsess over 20 years later.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I used to feel guilty about everything, but i became a more balanced person once i became a Buddist Catholic. I still have all the guilt but am now able to rise above it.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Really? :eek: You poor thing!

Yep really, I could never look his mother in the eye afterwards (excuse the pun).

They moved off shortly after it happened and would you believe the guy actually died when he was about 9 from some illness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭jiltloop

beks101 wrote: »
    When I was six I robbed a load of jewellery and a silver Christmas tree bauble from a department store when I was out shopping with my Mum. (In my defence, it was a pretty damn cool bauble and still hangs from the tree each year...)

I don't remember much, except lots of tears and nervous laughter as a sheepish mother headed back into the store and handed them back to a sales assistant.

If your ma dropped it back to the store how was the xmas bauble hanging on your tree? Did your ma decide it was too nice to give back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

When my friend and I were very young we used to play with a wee fella of a similar age who lived beside us. I always thought he was a girl 'cos of his blonde page boy hair cut. He was quite possessive of my friend and sometimes he used to convince her to not let me into her garden to play. To my joy, his family moved to an estate the other end of town.
    About 3 yrs later he passed me in school in the corridor and looked at me as if to say hello. I turned my head and looked the other way, secretly delighted with myself, I was 10 by this time. Shortly after this I heard he'd been killed...knocked down by a car after running out from behind the school bus. I've never forgotten that, RIP Thomas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭hellodolly

When i was 8 my mam asked me to go up to check on my baby sister in her cot (she was about 7-8 months old at the time). She was standing in her cot wanting to get out. i was too short to pick her out properly so i decided to drag her out by her arm. I obviously hurt her while i dragged her over the bars and she started screaming in pain. i panicked and dropped her back into the cot and ran back downstairs, told mammy she was grand and went outside, leaving the poor thing in agony and nobody knew why...i felt sooo guilty!!!!!!!!!!!!

i got pay-back though. While out in the garden panicking that i was going to get into trouble, i'd picked up a reasonbly big stone and was tossing it up in the air and catching it. i got bored, so i tossed it up high in the air and began to walk away. The stone came back down and connected with the top of my head, nearly knocking me out! i was sick as a dog and had a terrible headache for the rest of the day... deserved i know :o

p.s. Said baby is due her first child in March. Needless to say, i won't be offering to babysit :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

jiltloop wrote: »
    If your ma dropped it back to the store how was the xmas bauble hanging on your tree? Did your ma decide it was too nice to give back?

I took the bauble from one of the trees on display. The reaction to all the nicked jewellery was so bad I figured I'd kill the woman if she found anything else...(and as I said, pretty funky bauble...)

Guess I didn't feel that guilty after all :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭tommmy1979

I don't like this thread it's making me feel guilty about all the naughty things i did when i was little boy :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Does anybody else have something silly and childish they did that still occasionally plays on their mind.

I feel kinda guilty about that time I pushed you down the stairs and you hit the glass panel at the end.

Heh..

..sorry :o

An apology after all these years. :o I've never felt so close to you!

**huuuugs**

LOL I was waiting to see if you'd post that.

Yes when we were kids and lolly had just started walking, I was helping her down the stairs, she decided she didn't need my help and instead of saying "I can do it" she shoved me down the stairs. I fell from the top to the bottom, hit the glass panel, then noticed she was starting to roll down the stairs and ran back up to save her with blood pouring down my face. Just coz I'm so deadly!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

That's ...
    Touching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

No thats the first hint we had of just how sick and twisted the young lolly was :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

It was senior infants. A fellow classmate was leaning back in his chair yawning. So I pick up my rubber and lob it at him hoping to hit him. It ends up going into his open mouth. He starts choking! I look away, panicking.

I think he ended up swallowing it. Strange thing was he never bothered to find out what it was or how it happened.
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Strange thing was he never bothered to find out what it was or how it happened.
    :o

He's probably erased it from his memory.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

javaboy wrote: »
    He's probably erased it from his memory.

Oh god.

Banned.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

My mam gave me 20p for the raffle in school. I lost it. It still rankles. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭c-note

my brother and i found an injured crow (broken wing) when i was about 5/6 and he was 4/5:
    he said we should catch it and bandage its wing and nurse it back to health.
    I decided the best thing to do was to put it out of its misery:
    so i found a big stick and chased it around beating it with the stick,
    eventually it seemed to give up and i stood over it hitting it with the stick over and over (ever see the southpark where kartman tries to kill kyle? with an inflatable baseball bat?) but the crow wouldnt die it just sort of hissed and writhed more and more, and i realised i wasnt strong enough to kill it, so ran away!
    my little bro was very upset.
    i felt pretty dumb and guilty as i'd only made things worse.
    but i learned my lesson, the next injured crow i found i just rested my heel on its head and put all my weight on it, works much better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

c-note wrote: »
    my brother and i found an injured crow (broken wing) when i was about 5/6 and he was 4/5:
    eventually it seemed to give up and i stood over it hitting it with the stick over and over (ever see the southpark where kartman tries to kill kyle? with an inflatable baseball bat?) but the crow wouldnt die it just sort of hissed and writhed more and more, and i realised i wasnt strong enough to kill it, so ran away!
    but i learned my lesson, the next injured crow i found i just rested my heel on its head and put all my weight on it, works much better!
    And here is a future serial killer.....

I think you win. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

I was quite mean to my little brother when I was a child...

I remember putting him in the laundry basket and rolling him down the stairs...

When he was out playing with his friends and needed to pee he'd ALWAYS wait til the last minute and then leg it down the road and hammer on the front door to be let in. One day I heard him hammering on the door and walked really slowly towards it, saying "Sorry? What? Sorry I can't hear you?" Kept him waiting for ages, wouldn't open the door and the poor little fella p!ssed himself :o

I feel so ashamed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

There's this guy, can't remember his name, but he has a messed-up face and has a pretty high-profile charity named after him to fundraise for surgery to fix his face. Anyway he lived near me when I was little and I'd see him out and about when I was playing with my friends, but none of us would play with him because we thought he was an alien because of his face :( I feel a bit bad about it now, but I don't think he knew we thought he was an alien because he never came up to us.

I remember an epic tantrum I had once where I flung my slippers into the fire and they burned there. I feel pretty guilty about it as my parents were just heading out for the night and were leaving me with a pretty young babysitter, she must have been terrified I'd set the house on fire while she was minding me! Also they were really cute slippers :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

No thats the first hint we had of just how sick and twisted the young lolly was :D

I was not/am not sick and/or twisted. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

A lad in my class got his friend to ask me out for him. Only problem was, I didn't fancy this chap and I not only rejected him but I said a few horrible things to him. I still think it's one of the nastiest things I've ever done in my life :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

So the last memory I have of him, and he has of me, is me ignoring him. :(

Aw...

I remember knocking down a birds nest so i could see the baby birds, the drop killed the babys, and my dad beat me to within an inch of my life...

It was a swallows nest so whenever i go up to dads i see the remains of it in the corner of the shed and the guilt washes over me again:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

At the age of 14 my 13 year old neighbourhood friend thought it would be a laugh to show me a topless picture of his mother. She was still milf material then but was an absolute stunner in the pic taken in her 20's.

I pocketed it when he left the room.

It became prime **** material for a few days till one night I thought someone was about to come into my room, I quickly stuffed it under the mattress. When the danger had passed I was horrified to discover that in my haste to hide it I had pushed it through a gap in the frame of the built in bed. There was no way I could retreave it and no way to return it to my friends photo album like I had intended.

We moved out a year or so later. Sometime in the last 15 years someone is bound to have dismantled that built in bed and found the picture and realised that they had in their hands a topless photo of the 'oul one across the street.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Ahhh. Thats heartbreaking:(