Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traffic Corps TV Programme

• 30-01-2009 11:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭

someone said in another thread a while back about tv cameras in traffic corps cars, so i emailed rte an they said
    "a series following the Traffic Corps has been commissioned by RTÉ Television and is in progress. "

should be interesting, no word of when its due though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Thanks Shakin. Really looking forward to that starting! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Thanks Shakin. Really looking forward to that starting! :D

same here, it aint the same when you watch road wars.hopefully it will be on before or during the summer...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Great, an Irish version of "Chips" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭foxtrot-oscar

Great, an Irish version of "Chips" :D
    Yea except itll also include a batter burger and plenty of salt and vinegar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

shakin wrote: »
    someone said in another thread a while back about tv cameras in traffic corps cars, so i emailed rte an they said
    "a series following the Traffic Corps has been commissioned by RTÉ Television and is in progress. "

should be interesting, no word of when its due though

Yeah,I meantioned it a few months back.Seen a camera crew with the traffic cops.AFAIK its based in the north west region.Should be interesting:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

My guess is that the whole thing'll be MAT checkpoints and RTA. No car chases etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Mules sleepin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Traffic corps in Sligo WTF:eek:

It'll be like watching paint dry, nothing but checkpoints and speedtraps and with a voiceover to make it sound like they're saving the world.

I'm betting it starts off with a scenic shot of Ben Bulben :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Happy to see anything at this stage. The Gardai don't feature enough in shows like Road Wars where the public can get a better idea of what they do all day in between takeaway runs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

ScubaDave wrote: »
    Mules sleepin!

That's a scurrilous remark.

I DEMAND a public apology :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Im vewwy vewwy sowwey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Don't forget the hours spent a few feet inside the 50kph zone with a speed gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

jhegarty wrote: »
    Don't forget the hours spent a few feet inside the 50kph zone with a speed gun.

Theres always one isnt there? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Eru wrote: »
    Theres always one isnt there? :rolleyes:
    Ah, people are just jealous about the 10% commission we get on each ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

deadwood wrote: »
    Ah, people are just jealous about the 10% commission we get on each ticket.

Is it as low as that? We're getting 20% I can't give em out quick enough :pac:

It'll be like that old Kit Kat ad.

I totally agree. Donegal I think has the worst road traffic fatalities in the state so I think we know what were in for. It'll be like Customs, 25 minutes long, one mildly exciting bit in the whole series and every time they do do something big they dont find any drugs/ciggarettes etc.

The Garda equivalent will be a car chase starts and then they lose it because 1. the gardai are driving a 1 litre yaris and 2. there are no other cars for about 10 miles.

What about going round with the RSU. I know that the job will never advertise the firearms side of policing but at the moment its the only thing that would be intersting to viewers IMO.

If this goes down badly, there wont be another program of the likes for years to come. RTE could spoil it all for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

donvito99 wrote: »
    1. the gardai are driving a 1 litre yaris

Ah, chief's permission.

I presume that won't be mentioned on TV....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

I totally agree. Donegal I think has the worst road traffic fatalities in the state so I think we know what were in for. It'll be like Customs, 25 minutes long, one mildly exciting bit in the whole series and every time they do do something big they dont find any drugs/ciggarettes etc.

The Garda equivalent will be a car chase starts and then they lose it because 1. the gardai are driving a 1 litre yaris and 2. there are no other cars for about 10 miles.

What about going round with the RSU. I know that the job will never advertise the firearms side of policing but at the moment its the only thing that would be intersting to viewers IMO.

If this goes down badly, there wont be another program of the likes for years to come. RTE could spoil it all for us.

Surely your not suggesting that theres such serious criminals and crime in little old Ireland that cant be handled by uniform Gardai with a stick and a 1l car?

It depends how the program is put together. If you look at 'Traffic Cops' here this shows utilises clips from various areas and crews and also includes stuff like ASU footage which generally makes for an interesting half-hour/hour's worth of tv. When people hear 'Traffic' they automatically assume radar gun, bus lane, tickets, and while this is part of what traffic units do, they are also quite proactive (here at least) in dealing with crime yet also have the skills and kit to deal with pursuits that crop up, which divisional units might not, which makes for good tv (albeit giving the public an entirely false idea of police work, but hey its only entertainment).

If this format is to be followed then I don't see why a traffic based show can't work as well as it did here.

IMO following RSU would not be feasible for the same reason they haven't filmed 'Armed Response' here; security issues and the police not wishing to glamourise firearms.

metman wrote: »
    IMO following RSU would not be feasible for the same reason they haven't filmed 'Armed Response' here; security issues and the police not wishing to glamourise firearms.

The BBC show Traffic Cops had an episode where they had cameras with an ARU from the Humberside force. The very first incident show was the ARU using the Taser in a Pre-emptive manner. In other words they Tasered a fella before even challenging him. (He was wanted on suspicion of armed robbery and was being tracked by a CCTV operator).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

If there is such a lack of "good" footage, they should mingle it with stuff from road wars. (I know will never happen!).

Regardless, I'll be watching if its made any time this year seen as RTE are behind it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

foreign wrote: »
    The BBC show Traffic Cops had an episode where they had cameras with an ARU from the Humberside force. The very first incident show was the ARU using the Taser in a Pre-emptive manner. In other words they Tasered a fella before even challenging him. (He was wanted on suspicion of armed robbery and was being tracked by a CCTV operator).

Excellent. Well done lads. :D

foreign wrote: »

I haven't seen that one....but good effort! :D

msg11 wrote: »
    If there is such a lack of "good" footage, they should mingle it with stuff from road wars. (I know will never happen!).

Regardless, I'll be watching if its made any time this year seen as RTE are behind it :pac:

I would think that they'd use some footage from the states like Road Wars does and compare the quality of driving and decision making etc. Obviously favouring the Gardai of course.

However, just having a show about the Gardai is a good start. They seem to be a much more closed organisation then the PSNI and British police services and the public need to see what the person is like behind the uniform.

Also, a show like that one where the female copper from Leicestershire complains about the laziness of some of the officers etc would be good exept the Garda one could outline the lack of decent equipment eg radio, uniform, management, funding, vehicles, Garda numbers...

Also, a show like that one where the female copper journalist from Leicestershire complains about the laziness of some of the officers etc would be good exept the Garda one could outline the lack of decent equipment eg radio, uniform, management, funding, vehicles, Garda numbers...

Fixed that for ya :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭rondeco

I have it on great authority from a mate of mine that they recorded a massive chase that started in tallaght and went to dundrum back to tallaght and up the mountains before 'crashing'!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

filming for it was done during the summer for 6 months...

they have to wait a long time to clear all the people in it and anyone on the show has to have there court case seen before it can be on so its ussally a 2 year wait till these are on tv :)

rondeco wrote: »
    I have it on great authority from a mate of mine that they recorded a massive chase that started in tallaght and went to dundrum back to tallaght and up the mountains before 'crashing'!!!
    was talking to my mate the last day about it... looks like they got the above helicoptor was out and all so should look good... also they got a porche going up the m1... he said the speed was off the speedo!!! but he also said that its mostly checking tax and drink driving at the side of the road like customs :(

TV Garda Show gets green light, Sunday Mirror, February 1st 2009

AS if penalty points, speed cameras and on-the-spot breath-tests weren't enough, now beleaguered motorists have a new hazard to face - TV stardom.
    The Garda Traffic Corps are set to star in their own TV show later this year, it was revealed this week.
    An RTE source said: "Don't be expecting 'Cops' or 'Road Wars'. This won't be shock TV with crazy car chases.
    "It's still in production, but it's more likely to focus on how the officers do their job."
    The fly-on-the-wall candid footage of gardai as they quiz suspected criminals by the side of road and intercept dangerous drivers.
    News of the programme - thought to be the first 'reality' TV show to feature working gardai - was leaked by Commissioner Fachtna Murphy.
    According to Big Mountain Productions, which is making the series for RTE, the eight episodes will air in spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

takes a cork commissor to leak it:)

An RTE source said: "Don't be expecting 'Cops' or 'Road Wars'. This won't be shock TV with crazy car chases.

Boo! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

anto-t wrote: »
    ... it's mostly ... drink driving at the side of the road like customs :(
    Customs go back to the office for that! :D

Not your ornery onager

''This won't be shock TV with crazy car chases.''

So their basically telling us its sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

any one with dates and more info on this yet

may 14th i was told...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Just emailed RTÉ. May get an answer before it airs...

http://tvsales.rte.ie/autumn/content/factual/traffic-cops.html

30 minutes long, following Traffic Units in the DMR and Louth/Meath division.

This observational documentary series follows the activities of the Traffic Corps, at all levels, and all across the country. Focusing on two divisions, the Dublin Metropolitan division and the Louth/Meath division, the series will focus too on the new accident forensic unit operating countrywide.

Guess with the budget cuts members are being expected to cover a larger area. :D

Just got a reply from RTÉ -
    RT&#201 wrote:
    Hi Stephen,

Thanks for the mail,

The programme Traffic Corps is a new 6 part observational documentary series and a TV first for primetime RTE 1 with first time access to the operational side of An Garda Siochana’s National Traffic Division. It is produced for RTÉ by Big Mountain productions and according to their website it is currently in post production. I'm afraid the transmission date on RTÉ has yet to be confirmed. Keep an eye on press listings for further information.

Kind Regards,

Yvonne Owens
    RTÉ Information

http://www.bigmountainproductions.com/fact.html

Clicking on the pdf doesn't work, links to High Society not Traffic Corps. But:
    Traffic Corps is a new 6 part obdoc series and a TV first for primetime RTE 1 with first time access to the operational side of An Garda Siochana’s National Traffic Division. TX Spring 2009.

And the reply from them:
    BMP wrote:
    Hi Stephen,

No specific time/date is scheduled as yet but we would expect it to be aired in late May/June.
    Best to check our website nearer the time or watch national press

Philip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭sickpuppy32

going to focus on the louth/ meath division so lots of rows over if kilcock and maynooth are in the area and should they pass it on to the naas lads yeah? ;) also not to forget speeding through traffic sirens blazing to get the morning donut delivery ! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

To be honest id say its going to be brutal, who wants to watch traffic going around for the day investigating crashes, drink drivers, r.t.a offences, cause thats all management are going to let camera crew put on telly.....

People want to see fights, chases, robberies, drugs etc etc....

I know management wouldn't let that happen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

ah its they're first one at least its a start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

People want to see fights, chases, robberies, drugs etc etc....
    That's what the pub is for!

If they let rte put out a prog like street crime uk etc, it would show the public the s*it we put up with, would help change the minds of the "gardai do nothing" crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

happyhappy wrote: »
    all very true. as i said before on this topic it should be based on units dealing with crime. the public would be very interested in that topic, it would be entertaining ..................what the job is really like.

I thought we were considered entertaining in traffic:p

What the jobis really like? Does traffic not give a serious dig out to the units in yer areas?? TBH and not leading ye on im busier in traffic than i ever was on regular. Public order, drug, answering calls, tickets, rtcs etc etc etc....the list goes on and on

Traffic operate on different channel in DMR, they don't get sent to calls by control and they can't hear other calls really unless they are on scan mode.
    Now thats not to say that the lads don't turn up when they know something is happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Traffic operate on different channel in DMR, they don't get sent to calls by control and they can't hear other calls really unless they are on scan mode.
    Now thats not to say that the lads don't turn up when they know something is happening.

Thats a pain. In the sticks, where i am anyway, were always on the go with the regular and when needed they give us a dig out! Suppose were a kind of a task force.

Iv seen that down the country alright, traffic doing every kind of call.
    Its good to have that back up when ya need it.