Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want to bulk up in 4 months.....what to do

• 29-01-2009 6:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭

Male
    Weight 10 1/2 stone
    Height 5ft 11in

Ok, so I got into weightlifting at the start of last year. I was doing alrite for around 3 months, I was gettin stronger, felt fitter, better about myself and gained just under a stone which was alot for me!! But to be honest it wasnt near where I wanted to be. Anyway, I went away for a month in june and never got back into it:(Since then ive lost the weight, im skinni(er), have become unfit and am really annoyed that I let it happen!!

Im now just starting back, gettin into eating properly again and back into the weights!!

Ive stalked this forum for about a year so i thought id throw a thread out here in the hope you guys can help me! Im going away in june and i really want to go away looking how i want to look! Im a very confident guy, but my skinny-ness has annoyed me for years!

Basically i need help with:

-Nutrition/Diet

-Exercises

-General tips on bulking up

Tips on anything related!

As I said, I have stalked this forum, so this is what ive learned and would like more tips on!

Diet- plenty of milk, chicken, tuna and eggs.

eat 5/6 times a day every 3/4 hours.

I will be having a protein shake after workouts too(tub left over from last year:P)

Exercises: Squats, deadlifts(scare me), rows(what kind?), bench....

Well.....what have i left out and what should i change?

Im also interested in the most effective abs, shoulder and back exercises!

Sorry for the rant....I really would appreciate advice!!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Eat lots of healthy, protein-rich food & lift heavy weights
    Buy Bodybuilding magazines, and research online

If done efficiently, you could prob gain around 10kgs lean mass in that time frame

Why 4 months?

Fitness & Nutrition should be a life-long goal you keep goin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

unreggd wrote: »
    Eat lots of healthy, protein-rich food & lift heavy weights
    Buy Bodybuilding magazines, and research online

If done efficiently, you could prob gain around 10kgs lean mass in that time frame

Why 4 months?

Fitness & Nutrition should be a life-long goal you keep goin

Cheers!

I know, it is a life long goal, but im setting 4 months as a goal as im going on holiday for a month and i dont want to be the skinniest bloke on the beach.....i want to be able to feel confident and not self consious while im on holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Grand

Well, post up your current programme and daily diet

Use the Nutrition stickies at the top of the forum to work out your daily calorie needs, then make sure u eat more than that every day

Also, try to eat double once a week

Weights wise, you've gotta push yourself

Muscle growth is your body adapting to a new regular stress

Try stickin to the compounds: Bench Press, Squats/Lunges, Chins/Dips

Do u take any supplements?

current diet: "sh*t" sums it up nicely! I eat different things every day, but it goes roughly like this:

morning: piece of fruit
    lunch: tuna sweetcorn roll with a bottle of water
    Dinner: chicken/salmon with little or no veg
    inbetween: chocolate, yogurts, toast, bananas

It doesnt take a genius where im going wrong-everywhere!!

current programme: Literally just started last night so i have no set program as of yet. I tried to ease myself back in to training last night with

Bench press: 3 sets of 12(20kg
    Deadlift: 3 sets of 12(only 20kg)
    dumbell curls: 3 sets of 10(10kg)
    Military press: managed 2 sets of 6, 1 set of 4(20kg)
    1 60 second set of sidebridges

I know im missing a hell of alot in diet and exercises....the lack of exercises was just to get back in the flow!!

help!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 IronLifter

Hey hope i can help you out with this as much as possible.
    For me , even when i miss a day from gym i feel bad , which can be annoying but sure. I can imagine how you feel but i hope if you want this, you intend on going for it and doing it :)

As far as Nutrition/Diet goes, you deffo have to have your protein, these are the building blocks of your body and you need some good quality stuff too. You gotta eat plenty, maybe have 5 -6 meals a day at about 2 , 2n 1/2 hour intervals and to prevent u gaining unnecessary weight make sure you do cardio about 4 times a week for bout 30 mins. About milk, i dont think you need too much , instead drink WATER!! With all your meals, and u should try drink 3 litres or more a day...

Bulk diet:

Meal 1 - oatmeal- 5 eggs -1 whole egg
    Meal 2 - Pasta -chicken- fruit
    Meal 3 - rice - fish - fruit
    Meal 4- Poatoes - chicken - green veg
    Meal 5- Pasta -steak- green veg
    Meal 6- Cassein protein shake - green veg or cottage cheese

Try to aim higher with your calorie intake..Higher than ur 2,500 maybe up to 3,500 or higher.

Also creatine 2 x daily and always take fish oils daily too.

Exercises : You only need to limit your workouts with weights to 45 mins a go. And try to use free weights rather than machines. :) Pick different body parts for different days instead of doing one whole workout, like e.g biceps and triceps monday etc..

Abs, I think for sit ups, use the medicine ball its alot more effective than other ways. And alslo the vertical leg crunch. Look up some exercises if your unfamiliar.:D

Squats - deffo , good at building muscle fast . If you havent been doing them much, try your form with just the oylmpic bar and focus on your form. The bar weighs 20kg itself so its perfect. Proper technique is critical so u don't injure yourself.

Bench - The exercise focuses on the development of the pectorial muscle and u can do it on an incline or flat bench. I find this a great exercise :D one of my favs.

Many ppl neglect their triceps, but if u want bigger arms you MUST workout your triceps as it works the back of your arm and makes it look alot thicker. Good exercises for triceps are close grip pulldowns , tricep extensions and tricep dips. For your biceps use concentration curls, cable curls and barbell curls. Also form is very imprtant and use comfortable weight starting.

Back - pulldowns and bent over rows work a trick.
    For your shoulders use shrugs , military press and shoulder press.

Remember , DIET IS EVERYTHING. That will help you bulk up and help you with your training.

If you need any more tips pm me and i'll be happy to help.

Hope you do well ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭corribdude

IronLifter wrote: »
    About milk, i dont think you need too much , instead drink WATER!! With all your meals, and u should try drink 3 litres or more a day...

Can't agree with you about the milk. Im the same height as the op and I was almost exactly the same weight this time last year, I'm 13 stone now and the extra weight is almost soley(?) down to drinking a sh*tload of milk and eating loads of peanuts/peanut butter. I'm not a big food guy and really hate cooking, can just about manage to force myself to make a proper meal in the evenings. Milk and peanut butter are lifesavers imo for guys who dont have much appetite/cant be arsed cooking.

And OP 12 stone is doable in 4 months if you put the effort in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

More coke, More snickers

Agreed. Maybe that wrked 4 u, but did u put on much bodyfat?

Too much milk just leads to the wrong kind of weight gain. As with most things, moderation is the key. I said 'i don't think you need too much' , not that it wasn't important.:)

Peanuts have some quite good fats but still too much can lead too excess unecessary weight. You could use that to bulk but u'll still have to tone up your stomach and do good amounts of cardio.:(

My plan i have put out is quite decent and u dont have to cook all meals. You can get ready made meals and supermarkets do dinners each day. Also to buy chicken fillets isnt expensive and only takes 15 mins:eek: in the oven so u can cook a few and spread em out. No effort needed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 859 ✭✭✭BobbyOLeary

The plan you've put out IS decent, but also over complicated. The OP just needs a simple strength program which focuses on the compound exercises, don't worry about tricep pull-downs and all that malarky, he'll progress much faster with sticking to the big 3 (Squat, Dead and Bench) with some others thrown in. Oh and all that cardio is going to slow down his gains a huge amount.

OP, everytime this question gets asked I answer the same, Starting Strength. I don't mean to sound like a broken record with SS but I know it DOES work. I'm sure there's plenty of other programs out there that are similar but I'm not familiar with them.

Starting Strength is essentially a 3x5 program (3 sets of 5 reps) of the Squat, Deadlift, Bench, Shoulder Press and Power Clean. It would take me ages to explain the program completely and its been done much better here :Starting Strength Wiki

You need to up your calorific intake, it is a tough process that will involve uncomfortable amounts of eating but you can ease into it and after two weeks you'll be used to it. Work up to a gallon of milk a day and try to consume more meat and vegetables. OP, you're the exact type of person that Starting Strength was written for, so get out and drink your milk because, to quote Rip, "We need you Strong!"

thats a good little program 4 him actually :D
    I think if u do that plus maybe some other little exercises for your arms, then do just enuff cardio to make sure u dont gain excess fat n follow soME good diet advice. SORTED:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Don't want to sound like a d1ck but wow can some people make this more complicated than it should be.

You eat like a sparrow. Eat more. From your original post you know what you should be eating.

Drink milk. As much as you can afford. Up to 4 litres a day, aim for at least 2. Nothing makes skinny guys grow and get stronger like milk.

Squat and deadlift. I know you're scared of deadlifts but please feel free to ask if you've got questions. Get up to 60kg for reps ASAP so the plates are elevating the bar off the ground and all the angles are right. IMO there is no point trying to learn deadlifting on a 20kg bar. It's from a deficit leverage wise and you don't need that.

You don't need to do curl or work on your triceps or your abs. You just need to squat, deadlift and bench. Don't split it out by bodypart. At the start do squats and becnh on the same day and deadlifts on becnh on the same day. Squats and deadlifts on the same day might knacker you though.

It's really easy.

No cardio!

Why would a skinny guy do cardio if his goal is to gain mass?

I just stuck to what he asked 4 n gave him the advice he wanted..:rolleyes:
    Im not presuming he has no clue what he's doing :o
    PEACE:p

The cardio is to stop excess fat!:eek:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

12 stone in 4 months will be easy with any kind of effort. Went from 10.5 to 12 there myself in around 6 months but I do a hell of alot more cardio than weights.

I found mass gainers very effective myself and have put on over 10 kilos without changing the waist size. I kept my same crap diet except I start every day with a mass gainer mixed with milk giving around 1000 cals before I go to work, it does the job

What kind of gainer did u use??
    Thats gd work.

One gainer thats pretty exceptional is MASS X by nutrition X. at 600 cals a shake :p I used it for a good while , i think around 2 months on and gained over a stone. Worth checkin out .

What kind of gainer did u use??
    Thats gd work.

One gainer thats pretty exceptional is MASS X by nutrition X. at 600 cals a shake :p I used it for a good while , i think around 2 months on and gained over a stone. Worth checkin out .

Im actually only on the gainer less than 2 months but im still gaining .5 to .75 of a kilo a week. I went through a bag of serious mass and now im going through ultra mass.
    I think if ye want to gain mass its the best way to go, it would be more effective for me but I do boxing training which slows down the effect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Workout A

Squats
    Bench
    Rows
    Pushodowns
    Abs

Workout B

Deads
    Chins
    Dips
    Curls
    Calves

Workout 3 days per week alternating workout A and B

Loads of milk, chicken, beef, fish, pasta, potatoes, brown bread

simples!

The cardio is to stop excess fat!:eek:?

Man it's too late to go into how that doesn't make sense

it makes sense..
    so u've never heard of doing cardio to keep at a good weight? He wants to bulk up, but not get fat. who does? any clearer??

Wow :confused:.

it makes sense..
    so u've never heard of doing cardio to keep at a good weight? He wants to bulk up, but not get fat. who does? any clearer??

Yes, cardio will cut down your fat. It will also retard any muscle growth. Any clearer??

lol greeeatt. Really take a step back and look at the reality.

If you do cardio, u don't lose ur muscle if you maintain a good weight program.

But , u will, if ur not putting sufficient effort into maintaining your muscle. So whats this guys option in your eyes then? This? :

Do weights , bulk up, GET FAT! and dnt do any cardio? Why??

Ok, well if he ends up fat after , he'll just want to work his bodyfat down again, n he may think thats so important, more so than weights and lose all his muscle as he'll jus do cardio. Thats just stupid.

Y not get it right THE FIRST TIME!

Follow the right diet, do weights, and if your gonna do cardio do your weights first. ;) How can that not be CLEAR???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

lol greeeatt. Really take a step back and look at the reality.

If you do cardio, u don't lose ur muscle if you maintain a good weight program.

But , u will, if ur not putting sufficient effort into maintaining your muscle. So whats this guys option in your eyes then? This? :

Do weights , bulk up, GET FAT! and dnt do any cardio? Why??

Ok, well if he ends up fat after , he'll just want to work his bodyfat down again, n he may think thats so important, more so than weights and lose all his muscle as he'll jus do cardio. Thats just stupid.

Y not get it right THE FIRST TIME!

Follow the right diet, do weights, and if your gonna do cardio do your weights first. ;) How can that not be CLEAR???

The lads are right. Cardio will retard growth. The chap wants to get bigger. And fook it, a bit of body fat prob isn't a bad thing considering he's a rake now, as I was two years ago.

And for the record, when I bulked, I didn't do cardio and I didn't end up a fat slob.

Now calm down - both kevpants and Bobby post on here a lot more frequently (and in an easier-to-read manner, I might add) so chill, sit back, relax, and maybe learn a thing or two.

The lads are right. Cardio will retard growth. The chap wants to get bigger. And fook it, a bit of body fat prob isn't a bad thing considering he's a rake now, as I was two years ago.

And for the record, when I bulked, I didn't do cardio and I didn't end up a fat slob.

Same here, I didnt get fat when I put on the extra weight, my bodyfat% actually went down. If you bulked by eating chips and chocolate you might have to worry about getting fat, but if it's milk, chicken, peanut butter and eggs you should be alright. I didnt really start to put on alot weight of til I packed in the swimming and the exercise bikes. Cardio, uses calories that could be used for muscle growth and will slow down op's weight gain big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

kevpants wrote: »
    No cardio!

Why would a skinny guy do cardio if his goal is to gain mass?

Stupid, stupid, stupid advice.

A cardio efficient body will left more weight, gain more muscle, supply oxygen rich blood to starve muscles than one not cardio fit.

[RANT]I hate to see this advice given to people, and excuse me if I sound like a pompous ass but sometimes the advice on this forum makes my blood boil [/RANT]

Guys, if your unfit weights alone won't make you fit, and a fit body will ALWAYS work more efficiently than an unfit one, it doesn't matter if your goal is to left more weight, gain size or just want to feel better, people should be cardio fit first and foremost. To ignore this is to admit you don't know how your body works or what ultimately fuels our workouts.

Bcos ppl post more, n u all may no each other, doesnt make me wrong.
    And deffo does not make all you right.

Opinions are opinions, what i've wrote i do myself and it works. Nd i can pass on what i know. At the end of the day, this is to help chilly.

As for your bulking, everyone isnt the same lol so thats y other ppls opinions do matter and don't need to be criticised at every opportunity.

The 'retard growth' phrase is'nt very nice and in all honesty, is quite wrong.
    Your talking about muscle breakdown .
    It is known that during cardio you will lose some muscle but not near as much as u think willl happen. If its just to lose a bit of gut, u won't lose much muscle tissue at all. And regular weight sessions will keep your muscles in top form. I think if you don't understand the body, don't try question ppl who do.

I don't mean to come across any way angry, take it how you may.:o

Bcos ppl post more, n u all may no each other, doesnt make me wrong.
    And deffo does not make all you right.

Opinions are opinions, what i've wrote i do myself and it works. Nd i can pass on what i know. At the end of the day, this is to help chilly.

As for your bulking, everyone isnt the same lol so thats y other ppls opinions do matter and don't need to be criticised at every opportunity.

The 'retard growth' phrase is'nt very nice and in all honesty, is quite wrong.
    Your talking about muscle breakdown .
    It is known that during cardio you will lose some muscle but not near as much as u think willl happen. If its just to lose a bit of gut, u won't lose much muscle tissue at all. And regular weight sessions will keep your muscles in top form. I think if you don't understand the body, don't try question ppl who do.

I don't mean to come across any way angry, take it how you may.:o

Its late and I don't really want to explain it when someone else will do it better. All I'll point out is:
    to retard (third-person singular simple present retards, present participle retarding, simple past and past participle retarded)

1. (transitive) To keep delaying; to continue to hinder; to prevent from progress; to render more slow in progress; to impede; to hinder

retard the march of an army
    retard the motion of a ship

2. (transitive) To put off; to postpone.

to retard the attacks of old age
    to retard a rupture between nations

3. (transitive) To stay back.

:rolleyes:......okkk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Lolz Ironlifter, you're great. You don't want the op to gain the wrong sort of weight, but you're putting him on creatine in your first post. Why?

For muscle building and enhancing athletic performance, creatine is probably the most effective out there mate.
    Also
    Creatine contains zero calories, no fat and 0 carbohydrates. How can supplementation with creatine provide additional calories to the diet and impede fat loss? The increase in lean mass with creatine will provide and increase in that persons metabolic rate thus making it easier to lose weight.

It does hold water weight if thats what u mean.. But you do certain 'cycles' of creatine and once you stop using, the excess water goes after 7-10 days , but leavig muscle. But thats creatine mono hydrate ;P
    Other forms don't bloat.

For muscle building and enhancing athletic performance, creatine is probably the most effective out there mate.
    Also
    Creatine contains zero calories, no fat and 0 carbohydrates. How can supplementation with creatine provide additional calories to the diet and impede fat loss? The increase in lean mass with creatine will provide and increase in that persons metabolic rate thus making it easier to lose weight.

It does hold water weight if thats what u mean.. But you do certain 'cycles' of creatine and once you stop using, the excess water goes after 7-10 days , but leavig muscle. But thats creatine mono hydrate ;P
    Other forms don't bloat.

Why the hell would you put a beginner on creatine?!

Jesus.... hit the stickies mate. As I said, you might learn a bit. God gave you two ears and one mouth for a reason, so you could listen twice as much as you speak.

This beginner wants a quicker result . And using creatine would significantly help his chances. That's why.

Chilly,If you need any advice on creatine go here
    http://www.absolute-creatine.com/

This beginner wants a quicker result . And using creatine would significantly help his chances. That's why.

Chilly,If you need any advice on creatine go here
    http://www.absolute-creatine.com/

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=58479176#post58479176

Read. Because God, Buddha and everyone in beteween knows, you need to read that more than the OP.

I took the time to read the thread. But i really can't see what you expect me to have seen or say?

You just showed me a thread where someone who didn't know about creatine and bodybuilding in general made an ass out of themselves. So if you trying to imply im in the same boat then fair enough, your opinion. But i do know what i'm saying thank you.

I do not think creatine is a MAGIC POTION LOL... When used properly it deffo helps. And if chilly decides to use it , n use it properly then he will benefit. Very simple. Creatine wudnt be a top seller otherwise.

PS , there was one thing i picked up on there, whenever theres a thread, n u get involved, u manage to piss ppl off.. weird huh...:rolleyes:

Mairt wrote: »

A cardio efficient body will left more weight, gain more muscle, supply oxygen rich blood to starve muscles than one not cardio fit.

[RANT]I hate to see this advice given to people, and excuse me if I sound like a pompous ass but sometimes the advice on this forum makes my blood boil [/RANT]

Guys, if your unfit weights alone won't make you fit, and a fit body will ALWAYS work more efficiently than an unfit one, it doesn't matter if your goal is to left more weight, gain size or just want to feel better, people should be cardio fit first and foremost. To ignore this is to admit you don't know how your body works or what ultimately fuels our workouts.

Repeating the word stupid doesn't make your point any more valid.

Clearly it makes you blood boil because it doesn't tally with your OPINION.

Which is all you are putting forward.

A cardio fit guy will gain more mass and get stronger than a guy who doesn't do cardio.? Wow. You better inform the strongest guys in the world, they weren't aware.

I'd like you to show me the evidence that cardio will help skinny guys who can't add weight to get bigger. I really would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Mairt wrote: »

We're all talking about different things here.

Is cardio the thing to do for a skinny guy who wants to get bigger? No.

Does he need to do cardio to keep fat levels down? No. What he needs to do is to eat good clean food and train hard, keeping junk food out or to a minimum.

Does he need to do cardio to 'fuel his workout' and help him with his weights workouts? Eh, No. What about those guys who can lift massive numbers but who might struggle to catch the bus? Are they not big and strong?

Don't forget weights gives you a cardio workout too, especially at the start when you are not lifting huge weights.

Man it's too late to go into how that doesn't make sense

Now that I have time.....

IronLifter you say the cardio is to burn excess fat?

What does cardio burn?

Calories!

Now what the name of those things skinny guys need to get loads of to grow?

Oh Yeah! Calories.

Can you explain how burning calories is going to help him grow please?

Your argument is akin to telling him to cram in an extra meal like a turkey sandwich at 11am and then telling him not to eat it but to butter the bread, slice the turkey, chop a salad, put it in between the bread..........and throw it in the bin.

Cardio is a waste of energy, calories and gives the guy an extra thing his body has to recover from IN THIS CASE.

The OP didn't ask for life advise on general fitness. He wants to get bigger. The cardio argument is not valid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭madmik

if two men are lifting weights 3 times a week and both eating 4000 calories a day

the man who does cardio as well will be leaner+have less muscle

i am living proof,i was the same as the op-10stone at 5"11

i stopped the cardio and continued the strength training and i put on over 3 stone of muscle and am now a shade over 13 stone

I started boxing again(very cardio based) (while still doing the strength training)and my gains stopped almost instantly

i never gained anything until i stopped all the crazy cardio i was doing

lifting heavy weights is hard to recover from (from your bodys point of view)

if the op is 10 stone now more cardio is the last thing he needs on the path to bulging muscles

lifting heavy weights with not much rest in between in cardio enough for a skinny guy in my opinion

Cardio is a waste of energy, calories and gives the guy an extra thing his body has to recover from IN THIS CASE.

The OP didn't ask for life advise on general fitness. He wants to get bigger. The cardio argument is not valid.

+1.

The ops sole intention is to bulk up in 4 months, not to be more defined(which he actually will be anyway) or have better general fitness.

He's not looking to get fit or have his body work more efficiently, he's looking to get bigger in a timeframe of 4 months. Cardio is just gonna burn off calories that he could be used to build mass.

Gentlemen, I thank you :)

OP, its tried and tested that cardio won't help you bulk. It'll slow it down. So get them meals into ya and get pumping the weights!

thanks for everyones replies, spiralled out of control there for a little bit:D

My general understanding is that cardio in the "packing" stage would slow down the growth rate. Im not dismissing cardio altogether as we all know its needed for a healthy ticker and for general overall fitness. I am however just going to focus on lifting at the moment as i know my body, and i didnt realise that the cardio i was doing all my life(running, football etc) was part reason why i wasnt gaining weight! When I gave up cardio last year i noticed changes so i wont be doing much cardio until I gain the weight im happy with!

Bobby-it looks like an interesting program, but wouldnt high weight and low reps help me with strength but no size? I was reading that high weight and low reps will make you strong but will have a lesser affect on size.... is there any truth in this? I was thinking of 3x12 reps with a challenging weight, thoughts?

my diet thoughts:

-Im upping the milk intake significantly, luckily i like milk:D
    -ive bought non salted peanut butter, only 1.50 a jar, and its lovely!(peanut butter and banana sambos on wholegrain bread mmm)
    -chomping on a load of organic peanuts through out the day(organic is just a bonus:P)
    -More chicken fillets, steak, tuna steak(can someone tell me where to get like 10 chicken fillets for 10 euro in south Dublin?)
    -pasta
    -fish(which ones are best?)
    -potatoes
    -more fruit+veg(any specific recommendations? Ive heard broccoli is good?)

Anything missing

Colly- whats the name of the mass gainer you use and where do you buy it? It would be handy to get in 1000 cals in the morning with brekkie!

Iron, cheers for the reply! I do take a multi vit tab and 2 omega 3 caps every day so that helps!

Routine:

Dave, this routine seems good....

Workout A

Squats
    Bench
    Rows
    Pushodowns
    Abs

Workout B

Deads
    Chins
    Dips
    Curls
    Calves

this routine seems good.... everyone think this is good,maybe change or throw in something different? With the bench should I do flat and incline?

Cheers lads, keep the advice coming.....im like a sponge!!......not soft, but i absorb info:D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Jesus, what a train wreck of a thread. Good work everyone :D

IronLifters cardio comment has been blown way out of proportion. Cut the guy some slack :rolleyes: He recommended that chillywilly do cardio to avoid what usually happens on here.

i.e. skinny guy eats all around him and ends up a a fat guy with big belly and double chin. I guess that is not what chillywilly is looking for. Hopefully he won't come back in 4 months after his hols and create a thread looking to loose the belly. Strong does not equal fit. Fat does not equal fit. I guess that is what IronLifter was getting at.

People giving advice would be better off steering chillywilly towards a long term strategy rather than a 4 month binge.

4 days cardio is too much. However don't neglect cardio totally as you'll end up bigger and unable to move your bulk efficiently. A set of 1km sprint intervals on a treadmill (after a decent weights session) will burn about 70-90 cals. Do this at least once a week. If you are still piling on the lbs then you may be able to handle 2km without affecting your overall skinny to muscular transition. If you don't gain weight with 1km intervals then eat more.

Monitor your weight, diet and training closely. Start a fitness log (up there //), start a food log at www.fitday.com and be consistent. Take it as a long term commitment, not just 4 months. 4 months is a decent amount of time to alter your appearance & health for the good if you start now.

BossArky wrote: »
    Jesus, what a train wreck of a thread. Good work everyone :D

IronLifters cardio comment has been blown way out of proportion. Cut the guy some slack :rolleyes: He recommended that chillywilly do cardio to avoid what usually happens on here.

i.e. skinny guy eats all around him and ends up a a fat guy with big belly and double chin. I guess that is not what chillywilly is looking for. Hopefully he won't come back in 4 months after his hols and create a thread looking to loose the belly. Strong does not equal fit. Fat does not equal fit. I guess that is what IronLifter was getting at.

People giving advice would be better off steering chillywilly towards a long term strategy rather than a 4 month binge.

4 days cardio is too much. However don't neglect cardio totally as you'll end up bigger and unable to move your bulk efficiently. A set of 1km sprint intervals on a treadmill (after a decent weights session) will burn about 70-90 cals. Do this at least once a week. If you are still piling on the lbs then you may be able to handle 2km without affecting your overall skinny to muscular transition. If you don't gain weight with 1km intervals then eat more.

Monitor your weight, diet and training closely. Start a fitness log (up there //), start a food log at www.fitday.com and be consistent. Take it as a long term commitment, not just 4 months. 4 months is a decent amount of time to alter your appearance & health for the good if you start now.

cheers BossArky, just signed up for fitday, very handy!!;)

Colly- whats the name of the mass gainer you use and where do you buy it? It would be handy to get in 1000 cals in the morning with brekkie!

I use either serious mass or ultra mass. What I do exactly is mix 1 scoop (the mass gainer size scoop) of the mass gainer with 1 scoop of synta 6 (the synta 6 size scoop) with around 750 ml of milk blended together.
    The synta 6 sweetens it up a bit and adds an extra bit of protein.
    Ye's be doing well to take that WITH a breakfast, that is my breakfast. Thats filling enough but if ye can handle more and really want to speed it up then add more mass gainer.
    It's very effective, when you take it ye feel a bit bloated so it kind of makes ye think it'll turn ye into a fat bastard in no time, it won't though, you'll pack on lean mass especially seeing as your not doing the cardio I am.
    A stone and a half in 4 months will be very easy.
    Ye can buy it in any supplement store

colly10 wrote: »
    I use either serious mass or ultra mass. What I do exactly is mix 1 scoop (the mass gainer size scoop) of the mass gainer with 1 scoop of synta 6 (the synta 6 size scoop) with around 750 ml of milk blended together.
    The synta 6 sweetens it up a bit and adds an extra bit of protein.
    Ye's be doing well to take that WITH a breakfast, that is my breakfast. Thats filling enough but if ye can handle more and really want to speed it up then add more mass gainer.
    It's very effective, when you take it ye feel a bit bloated so it kind of makes ye think it'll turn ye into a fat bastard in no time, it won't though, you'll pack on lean mass especially seeing as your not doing the cardio I am.
    A stone and a half in 4 months will be very easy.
    Ye can buy it in any supplement store

cheers ill have a look into it!!

Bobby-it looks like an interesting program, but wouldnt high weight and low reps help me with strength but no size?

At your size and weight? No. Starting Strength focuses on the big compound exercises which lead to the largest neuroendocrine response and so will help you to get big faster. You can't really get much stronger without getting bigger, especially at 10.5 stone. 4 months of SS and you will be much bigger AND stronger. Follow a good diet and SS and its guaranteed. Personally I find it hard to maintain good form on anything over 8 reps with a decent weight. 3x5 means you'll only ever have to do 5 reps, maybe its just me but I find I'm able to keep my form good for at least those 5.

SS also has the nice addition of being purely compound lift based so it will give you a good basing in what are your most important lifts for the rest of your weightlifting career!

Good work on the diet by the way. Milk is your friend, as is any lean protein source and vegetables. Brocolli is good, probably my favorite, carrots and peas are also good and easy to cook.
    The 'retard growth' phrase is'nt very nice

Eh? Read it again, and a dictionary, then get back to me about how "nice" it was.