Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

For all those who start threads about "What kind of car website should I build?"

• 29-01-2009 2:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭

I'm not sure if this is real, but it sure is deadly!

Would you buy from Ling?

http://www.lingscars.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

That website made baby Jesus cry, which made Mary mad...and not even God could help a man with a woman scorned cos he was the man in question.

Holy mother of divine mercy...there has to be a law against sh1te like that:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

She is for real, I saw her on Dragon Dens. The site is insane but I like her style, certainly unique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Gotta hand it to her......she's unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

thats a bird?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Thats one crazy site :eek: looks like it was just thrown in a blender to see what would come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭turnsoutIwas

Its like that site Homer made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

She is for real, I saw her on Dragon Dens. The site is insane but I like her style, certainly unique.

Yea, saw her on that too. Beats Carzone anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Site averages 200,000 hits per month...Seems like a lot for such a horrid site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

For a minute there, i thought ye were praising the website. I was getting worried about ye lads haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Makes the otherwise uber-tacky RyanAir website look positively refined :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

© Copyright 2004 - 2009 LINGsCARS.com. All rights reserved.
    Made in the People's Republic of China (me, not the website... which was handcrafted by Ling, in the UK) :D

What by a 10yr old :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Apparently she has been very successful - a millionaire on the back of that website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭LINGsCARS

Ho, ho, ho, "what a 10 year old" :)

35 actually!

Yep, website is real, I am real, £35million of cars leased per year is real, £355k website income a year is real.

O'Leary is a hero of mine, his website is catching up these days since the re-write.

The reason my business is successful is because I cut out the bs and the costs that normal car sales apply. I had a couple of chaps from the Free State of Ireland fly to see me (on Ryanair) about setting up a similar business but I think the market in ie is too small (that's what they told me).

You know, today I even got blogged by Seth Godin, he doesn't endorse businesses but he gave me a link, saying: "The fourth option is really exciting. From personal YouTube videos to particularly poignant and honest presentations or direct and true sales pitches, the humility, freshness and transparency that comes with an honest performance might actually be better than what a professional could do." - I got the "sales" link.
    Anyway guys, I am Chinese not Catholic, so I can't do miracles... but if I could I might have a go at the Irish market.

Keep drinking the Guinness :) hahaha

- Ling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭F-Stop

Ling is a bit of a genius. It may not be the slickest looking web 2.0 style site - and probably every graphic designers nightmare (ha!). So it is very easy to make fun of it, but hard to slag off the results: it works and it gets attention. As P.T. Barnum said "Every crowd is a silver lining". Top hats off to Ling.

EDIT: oh wow, and Ling checks the internet logs to reply in forums. That's dedication. Hey Ling, give me a car... : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Countermoon

ninty9er wrote: »
    That website made baby Jesus cry,

Nobody ever says that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Anyone setting up a new contract hire company here would be mad or very brave.

Unfortunately, being Chinese, I would probably cook baby Jesus.

(not really for anyone who takes offence)

I watch visitors live on my website, not logs :) It is more fun.

- Ling

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Anyone setting up a new contract hire company here would be mad or very brave.

This may be a good time. Many people are really thinking about how to finance a new car. But I don't know if personal contract hire is available there. I do quite a few cars to the North province, but they have to collect and return them to Stranraer. They also carry a GB reg, if they are bothered.

When traditional industries struggle, new markets always emerge. :) That's what I keep telling myself, anyway. Car dealers in the UK are just 100% miserable, they just moan, but 35% of my business is done outside normal hours (like now) when they have packed up and gone to the pub. They just can't see it.

- Ling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭blackiebest

Bluefoam wrote: »
    Apparently she has been very successful - a millionaire on the back of that website!

True, that girl does it her way, and fair play, she is making it and having the last laugh

Whoa, is that really you Ling, welcome to boards and fair fcuking play to ya girl. May you thrive and if you want to set up here I am at your service;);)

LINGsCARS wrote: »
    This may be a good time.

I think you are right. It wouldn't have worked a year or two ago, now those who want to purchase a new motor are hungry for a better deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Yup i also saw this. She had brought in a pic of a misile or something lol

Ho, ho, ho, "what a 10 year old" :)

35 actually!

Yep, website is real, I am real, £35million of cars leased per year is real, £355k website income a year is real.

O'Leary is a hero of mine, his website is catching up these days since the re-write.

The reason my business is successful is because I cut out the bs and the costs that normal car sales apply. I had a couple of chaps from the Free State of Ireland fly to see me (on Ryanair) about setting up a similar business but I think the market in ie is too small (that's what they told me).

You know, today I even got blogged by Seth Godin, he doesn't endorse businesses but he gave me a link, saying: "The fourth option is really exciting. From personal YouTube videos to particularly poignant and honest presentations or direct and true sales pitches, the humility, freshness and transparency that comes with an honest performance might actually be better than what a professional could do." - I got the "sales" link.
    Anyway guys, I am Chinese not Catholic, so I can't do miracles... but if I could I might have a go at the Irish market.

Keep drinking the Guinness :) hahaha

- Ling

Hah, what is your response to that lads? Is it still a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

This may be a good time. Many people are really thinking about how to finance a new car.
    - Ling

If you think you can offer attractive monthly payments (compared to a HP where the customer can own the car at the end) to a customer, and still underwrite the car so that you don't lose your shirt when you have to dispose of the car at the end of the contract then why not?!

Given the low prices cars are making at the moment, it seems like a tricky prospect.

Whoa, is that really you Ling, welcome to boards and fair fcuking play to ya girl. May you thrive and if you want to set up here I am at your service;);)

Yes. F-stop has a link that proves it. If you are nice he may share it with you. I can't hang around here very much though... my website has 71 people on it and is still busy at the mo.

I have to concentrate on customers, like I told Seth Godin hahahaha, I don't have time to talk rubbish to him all day :)

Someone should seriously contact the companies who provide business leasing in ie, and ask them if the can replicate the UK Personal Contract Hire product (not PCP, ... PCH is pure rental for 2 or 3 years and hand back) Details on my site. Happy to share how I do it, BUT you need finance paper to write it on. Cars are always available, dealers always desperate.

Hope this helps.

-Ling

colm_mcm wrote: »
    If you think you can offer attractive monthly payments (compared to a HP where the customer can own the car at the end) to a customer, and still underwrite the car so that you don't lose your shirt when you have to dispose of the car at the end of the contract then why not?!

Given the low prices cars are making at the moment, it seems like a tricky prospect.
    Finance company owns the car and takes long term risk. I "just" put the customer and fin co together (bit more to it than that).Not my or customers risk at the end. Fin cos have experts to guess residual.

I can do new Fiestas 1.4TDCi Style (aircon) at £129.99+15%vat on 3-year rental. No other costs, includes 3-year road tax. No reason why (apart from extra tax) this shouldn't happen in ie. Except used market can't absorb as many. Small cars are still strong!

- Ling

Yeah, it is Ling. And this is the coolest site usage page I have ever seen.

http://www.lingscars.com/sitemap/

Cars are always available, dealers always desperate.

Yes, that might be the problem. There are different kinds of desperation.

F-Stop wrote: »
    Yeah, it is Ling. And this is the coolest site usage page I have ever seen.

http://www.lingscars.com/sitemap/

Page is backend, under test. may be data protection issues with IPs. Not all pages mapped. They are real visitors. Java server crashes. Also some small copyright issue from Mo-oly, but what the hell. Do me a favour, don't type the Mon... word. Thanks. :)

Just sit back and watch

I like the little browser heads.

But where are the Opera users?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Yes, that might be the problem. There are different kinds of desperation.

I have no idea what I'm looking at there - but it's cool !

Anything that isn't 9-5 (the time, not the Saab :rolleyes:) gets my thumbs up :):)

....never did understand why we can't 'cross-border' finance cars.....bloody great idea imho

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »

Anything that isn't 9-5 (the time, not the Saab :rolleyes:) gets my thumbs up :):)

....never did understand why we can't 'cross-border' finance cars.....bloody great idea imho

If the sips are as bad as the fuineogs wanna follow lings lead:D?

Ling, your deadly girl, you make O'Leary look boring:) I hope you make a million by year end

galwaytt wrote: »

It's pretty awesomely done. It's basically live site usage of Ling's website, done in a clever way. Not all pages are covered, according to her, but generally you see where visitors are arriving and where they are going - also what browser they are using. You can also hover over the info icon to see what page that user is looking at. It's a bit buggy, but very creative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Hey Ling, I work in the trade too, but I remember seeing you on Dragons Den, and thought you'd plenty of guts to go on that show. Good to see you here, and even better to hear you're still doing very well for yourself :)

It's pretty awesomely done. It's basically live site usage of Ling's website, done in a clever way. Not all pages are covered, according to her, but generally you see where visitors are arriving and where they are going - also what browser they are using. You can also hover over the info icon to see what page that user is looking at. It's a bit buggy, but very creative.

It is amazing. it is the future and she is writing it. If I remember correctly, she just left the dragons flaberghasted when on the show and left without the money, because they just could not grasp her vision and methods, seriously she makes O,Leary look tame, whatta girl

Hahahaha, I want to use that concept as the website navigation, but it's hard to fit a map on a screen. Tomorrow, I will pull the cars people are looking at into the middle, so people can see what's popular.

If O'leary did this, you could see which destinations people were looking at and pricing up, With his traffic it would be very good. He could have a live map showing which planes were flying where and a load map. Why not see where the planes are? Anyone know him?

I have a lot of respect for the gobsihte Ryanair man, but have never met him.

Really gotta go now, thx for the comments. :) Food!!! Sleep!!! :) Wah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

If the sips are as bad as the fuineogs wanna follow lings lead:D?

sips doing ok, ironically tks to new Regs :D An ill wind etc etc, huh ? ;)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Son

Yes. F-stop has a link that proves it. If you are nice he may share it with you. I can't hang around here very much though... my website has 71 people on it and is still busy at the mo.

-Ling

You just made 71 people blind.....my eyes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

ninty9er wrote: »
    That website made baby Jesus cry, which made Mary mad...and not even God could help a man with a woman scorned cos he was the man in question.

Holy mother of divine mercy...there has to be a law against sh1te like that:eek::eek:
    For a minute there, i thought ye were praising the website. I was getting worried about ye lads haha
    Alun wrote: »
    Makes the otherwise uber-tacky RyanAir website look positively refined :)
    gavredking wrote: »
    Thats one crazy site :eek: looks like it was just thrown in a blender to see what would come out.

She's gone for now. You can come out of hiding. :D

Just to clarify the story, the Dragons did offer here all the money she was after but she refused it:D http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Vtib4WZW_4M Anyone who wants to realize how the internet is the great leveler in business should read her story.

Plenty of 'men gone mice' from earlier in the thread LOL

fekin legend. seen the show ages ago nd went to the site.. initially an eye-soar but when ya actually go browsing cars, it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

robbie99 wrote: »
    She's gone for now. You can come out of hiding. :D

I'm not hiding. I just have nothing further to say on the matter.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Legend or not ...that site would cause you to have an epileptic fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

She's great and personifies hard work, self belief and imagination. She deserves everything that comes her way, and I suspect this may just be a conduit for what awaits. I'm surprised some multinational in need of new thinking has not snapped her up.

peasant wrote: »
    Legend or not ...that site would cause you to have an epileptic fit.

It sure would, if you were a car dealer.... The lidl/ryanair/aldi etc. model put into the auto industry. The million euro showroom's and helicopter out the back is history and that is good news for us who wnat to get the best value for money we can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Fair play to you Ling for your success, and for coming on here and giving us an insight into it.

I stand by my original post though, your website needs simplification - I can't figure out what I'm looking at!! :confused::eek:

Again, fair play for making a go of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

It sure would, if you were a car dealer.... The lidl/ryanair/aldi etc. model put into the auto industry. The million euro showroom's and helicopter out the back is history and that is good news for us who wnat to get the best value for money we can
    We're not talking about her business model, or RyanAir's for that matter, but the retina scorching, flashing, multicoloured crap on the website.

Aldi/Lidl can sell cheap stuff and still have a website that doesn't look like it was designed by a committee of Bebo users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Slightly OT but

Ling's missle truck: Spec: 7.0 V8 petrol, 150bhp, 7 tonne, 6x6, Russian built Zil 131, ex-People's Liberation Army

what a heap, 7l engine and only 150bhp:confused:

rocket11.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

But can you imagine the torque!?!