Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Care to protest???

• 29-01-2009 1:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭

As the title suggests, just curious to see are people actually fed up of this government and their developer loving policies?
    Are you prepared to voice your dissatisfaction or just post about it on boards?

Care to protest? 59 votes

Give me my pacquard, i'm ready to protest!!
    0% 0 votes
    The "apathy" option . No what can we do about it!
    72% 43 votes
    No way, things are fine the way they are. (The developer option)
    22% 13 votes
    Pizza and remote control please!
    5% 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

An original thread in AH!!:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

What's the difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

As the title suggests, just curious to see are people actually fed up of this government and their developer loving policies?

How bout you make an online petition for all to sign?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Vadrefjorde

What's the difference?

Brian Cowen doesn't look out the window and see boards.ie ???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yep, already stated in a thread that I am willing to chain myself to the railings of the Dail in protest of this farce of a government!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Protesting won't change anything. Just speak with your vote in the next election

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Biggins wrote: »
    Yep, already stated in a thread that I am willing to chain myself to the railings of the Dail in protest of this farce of a government!

Then why haven't you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

The great thing about the internet is you can claim anything you want and never, ever have to follow through.

Then why haven't you?

Currently trying to organise SERIOUS fellow like-minded people, not just anon internet names.
    To this end I have even set up a new protest .ie site and currently working on establishing a list of ideas/objections that we can all agree, are of concern to us all across party, cultural, regional, religious and non religious lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Hi, I was just under that rock there for the last couple of years.

What's going on?

I'd be up for replacing the government. Not with any of the political parties we have now though. :pac:

Currently trying to organise SERIOUS fellow like-minded people, not just anon internet names.
    To this end I have even set up a new protest .ie site and currently working on establishing a list of ideas/objections that we can all agree, are of concern to us all across party, cultural, regional, religious and non religious lines.

Contradictory?

Also, the fact that no one yet, in the history of forever, has found a way of creating a platform that would work for all people "across party, cultural, regional, religious and non religious lines" doesn't bother you at all? not even a little?

Contradictory?

It will not be for the want of trying.

IvaBigWun wrote: »

Original - not poll - not figures to point at - not fancy colours.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

There is a difference between apathy and realism

Why not try to be a bit more critical than the papers and beat on something/someone other than 'them developers' or 'the government'

Start thinking of ways to campaign for sensible leverage (libson, national wage deal) instead of beating on the same issues you know arent going to lead anywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I'd get involved only I'd get you arrested! We need to get rid of this fat useless C*NT who is running the country, he looks like something that got f*cked out of an early house, he is a disgrace to the country, we are the laughing stock of Europe. Only in this backward kip would you have a morbidly obese walking matress telling everyone else to tighten their belts.

Contradictory?

Also, the fact that no one yet, in the history of forever, has found a way of creating a platform that would work for all people "across party, cultural, regional, religious and non religious lines" doesn't bother you at all? not even a little?

There are always some things that we care about. Health, wealth, kids, family and what happens day to day in the home and sometimes beyond it.

We always don't have to agree on everything, that will never happen and so say different is madness - but for some people, there is and soon will be again, times when numbers need to meet-up and say with one voice "Enough is enough".

The site I am working on is not just one about uniting everyone into one group but uniting all groups (who think similar between themselves) into a collective force when the things that hit home come to pass, when things happen that hits us ALL hard.

Before, during and after those times, otherwise the site I am working on (bought and paid for by myself - I just don't "talk the talk" like some here who just like to just bitch!) can be used hopefully for organisation to utilise for their own cause and aims independently.

Our current MAJOR problem is that there is NO one effective alternative to the schite that are in power at the moment.

Instead we are all too busy back-biting, infighting and picking on worker sections of our communities and forgetting where the real cause of our problems lie.
    AROUND THE BOARD TABLES OF HIGHER MANAGEMENT/GOVERNMENT!

We need to kop ourselves on and wake the fcuk up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Mark200 wrote: »
    Protesting won't change anything. Just speak with your vote in the next election

exactly, the people elected this Govt. so I will be making my protest at the next election.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Original - not poll - not figures to point at - not fancy colours.

Nope. Thread hijack ftl.

Before, during and after those times, otherwise the site I am working on (bought and paid for by myself - I just don't "talk the talk" like some here who just like to just bitch!)

I can buy a site too, doesn't make me che guevara. tbh you'd have been better off chaining yourself to the railings. As for no alternative-well that's your view. Its a pretty self defeating one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Hey where is the

"I can't protest I'm a State funded Stormtrooper-but I will be there when the protest happens in Riot Gear" option?

I can buy a site too, doesn't make me che guevara. tbh you'd have been better off chaining yourself to the railings. As for no alternative-well that's your view. Its a pretty self defeating one.

* Never claimed to be a "guevara" to please don't paint me as one.

* Yes, it is my view but you know what, there is a hell of a lot out there that agree with me. Your free to disagree, I'm sure you have a group of fellow minded thinkers. You will be free to use the site too by the way. No pre-conditions except having good manners!

"Evil persists while good men do nothing" to use a known quote. Let me use another "I will not go quietly into the night" either!

* Never claimed to be a "guevara" to please don't paint me as one.

* Yes, it is my view but you know what, there is a hell of a lot out there that agree with me. Your free to disagree, I'm sure you have a group of fellow minded thinkers. You will be free to use the site too by the way. No pre-conditions except having good manners!

"Evil persists while good men do nothing" to use a known quote. Let me use another "I will not go quietly into the night" either!

Don't worry I wouldn't paint you as a Guevara figure. Are those quotes the height of your protests thus far?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I will go to any revolt.

I can bring guns and tuna sangdwiches.

Don't worry I wouldn't paint you as a Guevara figure. Are those quotes the height of your protests thus far?

No. I'm working on other things besides coming across as a utter troll and a complete whining, picky, bitchy person.

What have you done lately to help Ireland besides helping to stir the pot of foolishness!

efla wrote: »
    There is a difference between apathy and realism

Why not try to be a bit more critical than the papers and beat on something/someone other than 'them developers' or 'the government'

Start thinking of ways to campaign for sensible leverage (libson, national wage deal) instead of beating on the same issues you know arent going to lead anywhere

I have to disagree and i don't believe i am jumping on the bandwagon with the media.
    The media isn't highlighting the future impilcations of our anglo-irish bail out. Consider the "developer button" more of a reference to the current government's policies being governed by the lobbyists. Better still, if you believe you are comfortably insulated from this crisis that you can well afford the measures this government will put in place then click that button.

I don't see the relevance of the lisbon treaty to this, or negotiating on it at this stage. As i posted elsewhere the introduction of a recession into the EU and to the ECB's policies mean any concerns we had about lisbon are long gone in comparison to the current sh1tstorm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

No. I'm working on other things besides coming across as a utter troll and a complete whining, picky, bitchy person.

What have you done lately to help Ireland besides helping to stir the pot of foolishness!

That'll do Big. That'll do.

javaboy wrote: »
    That'll do Big. That'll do.

I totally agree. Sadly there is just some who take sad warped pleasure out of trolling and nothing else.
    Nuff' said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

I have to disagree and i don't believe i am jumping on the bandwagon with the media.
    The media isn't highlighting the future impilcations of our anglo-irish bail out. Consider the "developer button" more of a reference to the current government's policies being governed by the lobbyists. Better still, if you believe you are comfortably insulated from this crisis that you can well afford the measures this government will put in place then click that button.

I don't see the relevance of the lisbon treaty to this, or negotiating on it at this stage. As i posted elsewhere the introduction of a recession into the EU and to the ECB's policies mean any concerns we had about lisbon are long gone in comparison to the current sh1tstorm...

I can, as can most of my colleagues, even if they disagree.

Now that I would protest over...

Returning to the main topic.

We will never agree on many things but when the cuts come to our wages and more taxes are imposed on what we are getting already, it become clearer (hopefully) to many that line is slowly being crossed.

Facing rising still(!) electricity, gas and phone charges, the present government is hitting us all on two fronts alone. Then we have the vat/tax on goods (across border shopping topic and reasons for...), the closing down of cancer services and hospital services, the much money wasted daily on projects un-needed right now (another Dublin frakin' statue!!!), hitting our pensions, not willing to pay back fully the money that was taken wrongly from pensioners (already that was show in court to be taken in the wrong), then we have the many, many "perks" (http://www.herald.ie/national-news/td-expenses-worth-more-than-average-wage-1593304.html) that the mob is getting in the Dail, then we have the banks being rewarded with public money while they give themselves STILL massive bonuses!....
    Meanwhile our elected representatives are just back from a month and a half holiday!!!

...and thats just the tip of the ice berg! :mad::mad::mad:

I mean, COME ON!!!
    Damn right its time to protest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭ben bedlam

Rest assured, when the time comes, the Irish people will voice their dissatifaction with the current government and economic situation by overwhelmingly voting Fianna Fail into power for a fourth consecutive term. We really are smart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Mark200 wrote: »

Well protesting certainly worked with the pensioners and the reversal of the medical card decision.
    Voting on the other hand will change nothing.You'll just be replacing one shower of greedy,self serving politicans with the same neolibral policies, for another. Wether you vote FF,FG,Greens or Labour your giving a resounding vote for capitalism and the inevitable inequality,poverty, environmental destruction and war that comes with it.

I actually felt sick today when I walked past the Mansion house and saw the mayors 09-D-1 shiny Mercedes parked outside.Absolute F*cking cheek,flaunting her obscene wealth while most struggle to pay bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Having a march is they most inefficient way to protest. Voting is the most efficient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I'd love to see the kids doing something mad like chaining themselves to the Dail railings. Fair balls to them if they do it.

But I wonder what they'd be protesting against.

I'm no economist, but as far as I'm aware the current crisis is as a result of the global downturn, as well as some nutcase in AIB loaning himself enough money to buy the moon.

The rest of the stuff (health, infrastructure etc) was problematic long before BIFFO took over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

D wrote: »
    Having a march is they most inefficient way to protest. Voting is the most efficient.

I'd rather have a march than a referendum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Hard Larry wrote: »
    Hey where is the

"I can't protest I'm a State funded Stormtrooper-but I will be there when the protest happens in Riot Gear" option?

I was wondering that myself.

HOLD THE LINE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭sunshinegirl

The people are the power,if everyone took an hour of there time and stood outside a desiginated areas to protest the government would have to listen.
    They cant ignore 3million people protesting, people who think by just complaining to a work collegue,friend,in the supermarket to a randomer will fix anything is barking up the wrong tree. The French have the right idea,stop work for an hour ,a day and show your disgust.It isnt hard,it makes a point.
    Im sure when the government bring in the water charges shortly the public will have something to say about it,but then again some people are too lazy, or like to be made fools of by the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Protesting is only for socialists and students....and old people (surprisingly):pac:

panda100 wrote: »
    ...your giving a resounding vote for capitalism and the inevitable inequality,poverty, environmental destruction and war that comes with it.

Argghhhhh, it's happened, the communists have sunk their marxist claws into Ireland, quick! everyone grab the nearest copy of Atlas Shrugged and hold on for dear life!

Say what you want about FF, I'd rather them than Joe Higgins.

Valmont wrote: »
    ...I'd rather them than Joe Higgins.

Jeasus, haven't heard his name in a while!
    Is that old sod still alive??? :eek:

Jeasus, haven't heard his name in a while!
    Is that old sod still alive??? :eek:

Not only is he alive, but putting up socialist posters all around the streets of our fair city!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If I was still living there, I'd be with you. Protesting is a lot like voting - if you don't use your right to do it and make your voice heard, then you can hardly turn around and criticise the consequences.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Not only is he alive, but putting up socialist posters all around the streets of our fair city!

Fair Fecks to him,at least he doesnt sit idly by.He is informing the people,you can choose to listen or be blindly led. Im sure you will be out protesting when your wages are cut shortly or you pension is no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Why is it that any fvcktard with a sign can Protest? What ever happened to Organisation, real fvckin goals, something to achieve.

If you want to oust our current government, how the fvck do you plan to do it? Who do you want in their place.

This Amateur sh1t is killing me. Come up with a real plan, an organistation, a political party with real aims, goals, and educated people.

Holding some sh1tty sign and yelling in the streets with anything less than 500 people GETS YOU NOWHERE!

You should think large scale, get people with real fvcking skills, people who know what they are doing.

You want to protest to feel like you are doing something, that is not the same thing as actually doing something.

Fvck everybody who thinks that they are strong alone.

A peaceful protest that draws out Huge amounts of na Gardaí is the way to go. but the only way to get that is to really have a large amount of people.

Joe Hill Said it Best....ORGANISE!!!!

100 people with signs and shouting are an annoyance that we zone out.

1000 people get us to Acknowledge them.

But 20,000. That gets our Attention.

So Unless you have 20,000 or more people willing to fight for what you want, get back in your Box.

Start a real plan, that actually might work. None of this fantasy bullsh1t that anyone with a piece of fvcking cardboard and a Marker can do.

People laugh at protesters who are not organised. Mediocrity is not OK. Our government is Mediocre at best, but there is not one Political Party in this country that I trust!!! Not fvcking one.

So we need a new one. and that bollix Declan Ganley and his CIA backed libertas. If we had accepted the Lisbon Treaty, Dell would not have moved to Poland. Maybe India, but not fvcking poland.

Now if you want to really protest, get off your fvcking arse and put some real effort in. Recruit enough protesters to get your Message across. Stop being stupid and thinking One Man can actually change anything. Barrack Obama, one man. but he is a Symbol for many men. YOU Are not.

But with the correct clearly organised message, you can be. but it would take some real fvcking work.

Now any questions?

Why do you use so many bad words...

you beat me to it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Because I was typing straight from my head, and it usually helps getting the point across.

I admire your passion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Minidazzler: Remember they tried to take the medical card away from old people, protesting caused them to reverse their decision. Granted some backbenchers influenced them, but we can do the same.

I don't want to wait until the next general election. I want action, now. Yes, the world is in recession, but the Irish Governments solution so far is to squeeze every cent we have from us. They spent millions bailing out banks, but has that benefited us?

Brian Cowen wants me to be patriotic, give me a reason to. I'm proud to be Irish, but the government is a joke. I think he should just GTFO out along with Brian Lenihan and let someone else try.

Biggins, Vadrefjorde, I'm with you, I want to protest, peacefully. I look forward to the site.