Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lets uprise like the French

• 29-01-2009 5:50am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

So I was reading this and it got me thinking: arent we all just a nation of feckin moaners and talkers? Why cant we do something similar seeing as our country has been in the toilet for a lot longer than France?

Ok so the French have a reputation for this kind of rebellion, revolution is their thing. That and rudeness. But surely we have enough practise at running amuck over the years too? Our whole history is seeped in not taking any sh*te from anyone, yet here we are, getting raped up the arse by the government for years.

There is so much corruption in our system that it doesnt even register with us when another politician appears on the news for lining his pockets with another brown envelope on a property deal, maybe its the Irish in us thinking "fair play to the chancer, sure he's a harmless oul bollix really" before we take a swig from a Guinness and shout at the big screen cos our team is losing. Why should we give a fcuk?

The French are different. They actually do something when they know their government arent doing the job they've been paid to do. And its as simple as that. If a plumber came into your home and pissed all over your walls instead of fixing a leak would you pay him? The Irish government are been paid by us and they're not doing the job right. If Mary Harney was in charge of healthcare in France would she still be in a job? I doubt she'd still be alive. If I ever find myself in the same vicinity of her it'll take a lot of biting my tongue to not throw something heavy in the direction of her head. She is Minister For Health since the 29th of September 2004 and in that time has overseen the collapse of the system now to the point where it resembles a health scheme of a second world country. Not a third, but a second.

What this country needs is a peaceful protest, en masse. I cant believe there's not a weekly march on the Dail on the state of our hospitals alone. We need to all show up in hundreds of thousands and take the country back into our power. To demonstrate that we really are the "Irish Rebels", and I dont mean eejits with caveman beards and wit standing around like extras in the Michael Collins film. To declare that this is our country and that the government are our employees. Not the other way around.

And if Mary Harney shows up then it'll be a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Stop begrudging me!!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

The French are pussies though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

cant finish what they start...

like Dublin city councils road works division ! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

A nay-shun wonce a-gain...
    A NAY-shun wonce a-gain...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Will there be French wine served during the rebellion?
    You're a lad? Complaining?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

At least we don't smell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Uprising or pub, uprising or pub... Let me know how the uprising goes lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Bloody cheese-eating surrender monkeys :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

KTRIC wrote: »
    Bloody cheese-eating surrender monkeys :rolleyes:

Stay up all night writing that one? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

mental07 wrote: »
    Stay up all night writing that one? :rolleyes:
    hey :rolleyes:

I think this thread is a good example of why we won't....

(Because Irish people are stupid and tell awful jokes.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Ah sure we'll be grand. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

To the OP :

I remember why I don't live in Ireland. It's certainly a country that has a lot of things going for it but people seem to be apathetic to the point that they don't care who does what or how things happen. In Ireland people get voted into power and then they pretty much stay there until the next election no matter how good or bad they are acting. Over here when you get elected you're still kept on a short leash.

Maybe what Ireland lacks is a certain solidarity in protesting. Everyone in the office this morning was affected by the strike yet people don't complain because they realise that it's something that is needed. In fact 2 lads hitch-hiked to work and got here faster than normal because they were picked up straight away. On a normal day you'd probably be there for hours until the cops pulled by to see what you were up to :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Ponster wrote: »
    In fact 2 lads hitch-hiked to work and got here faster than normal because they were picked up straight away. On a normal day you'd probably be there for hours until the cops pulled by to see what you were up to :)

In Ireland you would be raped by a hairy Kerryman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Caoimhín wrote: »
    In Ireland you would be raped by a hairy Kerryman.

I don't think Snyper gets up that early.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

what will we use for weapons ??

they have bread sticks... we have hurls...

they have anti tank tanks... we have... a part time defence force ??

lets hire the poles...

wait...

fluck...

they left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

If anyone for a second thinks that the government in other countries is better than Ireland they are sorely mistaken. Try living in Bangladesh or Nigeria or Iraq. Better still go to Russia - thats almost a European country.

Britain and Ireland generally come in the top 20. Not great but not a disaster. I am no Cowen fan but if you dont like him stop voting for Fianna Fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

We have arrived at the anti - Fianna Fail thread again.
    We have moved from a revolution of a political system, to don't vote Fianna Fail. Lets bring in the other shower of no-hopers:D

Let all on the dole eat cake

kmick wrote: »
    If anyone for a second thinks that the government in other countries is better than Ireland they are sorely mistaken. Try living in Bangladesh or Nigeria or Iraq. Better still go to Russia - thats almost a European country.

Britain and Ireland generally come in the top 20. Not great but not a disaster. I am no Cowen fan but if you dont like him stop voting for Fianna Fail.

we dont have a choice, cultchies have no brains :eek::eek::eek:

Bah dum tshhhh

kmick wrote: »

I doubt it'll make much difference. The point of the OP is that the failings in Irish politics lies not always with the politicians but with those who vote them in and with the expectations the Irish have of their elected representatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

The people arent out on the streets because there is no one to lead them.
    All the supposed "leaders" of our society are closseted up in Leinster house busy doing deals to help themselves and the minority of people they represent.

The general strikes in France are being led by the unions as far as I know.
    Union leaders here are too busy being photographed walking along Merrion St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Have an Election every year.
    Oh, yes , let them know they are only on probation and if they're not up to the job , out they go.:pac:

/ I can dream, can't I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

While we're protesting abovementioned issues, is there any chance we can include a motion of "let's kill 'em all" regarding these horrific, superficial, mind-numbing "reality" "talent" shows?

If so, I'll be there with pitchfork, hurl, whatever's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Actually its a valid question, why are we waiting to take action? What will be the straw that broke the camels back? For years things have been going tits up and the Irish just shrug it off and say 'Sure what can I do?'. Every day you hear people going on about how pissed off they are about the government, yet, have any marches, protests, anything been mentioned? No! Why do we need someone to step up and say 'Follow me' why cant we just think, fcuk it, Ive had enough.
    It irritates me to think that even if someone took the time to organise a protest, nobody would show up. Irritates me more to know people will vote the eejits back in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

We don't have any extreme parties. Not even Sinn Fein are extreme, they are happy to sit around complaining but not organising protests, at least this side of the border.

The government are also very good at turning the people against each other although the people actually seem to be good at that themselves (see North side/South side or Dubs/Culchies).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭justcallmetex

The roits and protests will come OP we're more than a little apathetic as a nation (Flouride)but when hundres of thousands are out of work and when the Dollor finally goes under the sh1t will hit the fan properly. You'll have your mass civil disturbance your looking for.

thebman wrote: »
    The government are also very good at turning the people against each other although the people actually seem to be good at that themselves (see North side/South side or Dubs/Culchies).

True, and dont forget the public/private employment sectors. Im no fan of civil servants but FF seem to be trying the old "divide and conquer".

The roits and protests will come OP we're more than a little apathetic as a nation (Flouride)but when hundres of thousands are out of work and when the Dollor finally goes under the sh1t will hit the fan properly. You'll have your mass civil disturbance your looking for.

I hope the rioters can spell or they could get lost on the way to Dobluin..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I like the way that we don't riot that often.

Just saying.

I'm so shamed! posting on boards without a spell check or even reading over what was typed what has the world come to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Vadrefjorde

I heard the streets are paved with gold in that Dobluin place :D

Actually on a more relative note, it's funny how we've only noticed how France are having a kick off because Sky News started to report on it. Anyone who had taken the time to watch a non biased news channel, i.e. Russia today or euronews would have already picked up on the 10 days of public unrest in Bulgaria, Italy, Greece, not to mention the unrest in the Baltics..
    We won't here of course though;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

As Groundskeeper Willie aptly describes the French "they're a bunch of onion eating surrender monkeys"

Errr ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I don't think Snyper gets up that early.

Snyper doesn't sleep.
    He waits.

I heard the streets are paved with gold in that Dobluin place :D

Nope, they are poved whit glod.

glod's good enough for me! giz a job???

What banks will give me 15 times my annual glod salary for a mortgage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I'm rised up right now
    For no reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

It's the typical attitude of the Irish people. Whinge, complain, talk ****e about it yet they won't get off their behind in order to do something about it. The attitude of " ahh sure someone else will fix it " is everywhere.

There are a very small number of people in this country who will actually fight for what they believe is right. We have nobody but ourselves to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭thebigredone

we should take a look at iceland where there's been large protests and riots which led to the eventual collapse of their government, that'd be a bit of craic!!

Flyer1 wrote: »
    It's the typical attitude of the Irish people. Whinge, complain, talk ****e about it yet they won't get off their behind in order to do something about it. The attitude of " ahh sure someone else will fix it " is everywhere.

There are a very small number of people in this country who will actually fight for what they believe is right. We have nobody but ourselves to blame.

It is my belief that the reason this buffoon government engaged in this social partnership negotiation, despite the bewilderment of others is purely to keep the very same unions from striking. Despite their inability to govern, they aren't stupid.
    The only organised vehicle that have the brains and capacity in this country to actually take to the streets and organise the protest are the unions.
    You have quite rightly pointed out that us as a population are totally useless.
    Anyone taking it upon themselves to try and organise protests would no doubt find themselves banged up for some offence or other.
    The unions on the other hand have the savvy to fill the streets with protestors, something this government and the rest of their EU counterparts are frightened out of their wits of. And something they have been monitoring very closely, especially given the recent collapse in Iceland, due to street protests.
    So FF have kept it in the bag yet again ;)

we should take a look at iceland where there's been large protests and riots which led to the eventual collapse of their government, that'd be a bit of craic!!

And we'd get our general election too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I like the way that we don't riot that often.

Just saying.

Your in the minority I'm afraid :pac:

Riot the Unbeatable High

I think we need protests not riots but that's just me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Everything that's wrong with this country is purely due to the fact that Irish people are selfish assholes.

But not me. Never! :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

So you're saying the French are revolting?

I've been saying that for years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Lets do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭thebigredone

the unions should march, i dont know anyone who's "happy" in the current situation, but all the whining over pints and big depressed heads on everyone should surely give people a reason to try and make things better for themselves and everyone else, and maybe we could stop being fleeced by the people who made all the mistakes in the first place!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Kind of like our own Ground Zero. Except this would be an economic one. You might be onto something my boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

It is striking to note that all the people who are calling for "pay restraint" and trying to create the impression that they are leading from the front by mentioning that they have just taken a 10% pay cut, are all on lucrative salaries! When they come back to us on 40K a year, lets see if they'll be so quick to take a pay cut....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

the unions should march, i dont know anyone who's "happy" in the current situation, but all the whining over pints and big depressed heads on everyone should surely give people a reason to try and make things better for themselves and everyone else, and maybe we could stop being fleeced by the people who made all the mistakes in the first place!

Or maybe we should all stand outside the Dail with guns and shoot everyone that comes out of it in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

In a similar line to the last thread I posted in, what would rioting/rising up achieve for us except instability in out political classes when clearly what we need is stability. Investors are not exactly going to be queuing up to put money into Ireland when they see such things.

Ireland needs money and needs it badly. We cannot generate this on our own. We will stay in recession until the global economy (namely the US economy) picks up and will probably suffer for sometime afterwards. Really the best any leader, of what ever party, can do is come up with policies which limit the damage done while this goes on and possibly invest in industry which will boom post the bust era.

All this ranting about "I've had enough, lets march/riot/whatever" is incrediably daft and lacking the solidarity which the country needs at this time. In fact, its typical mé fein-ism. We are almost all partly to blame for what has happened to us, some people need to wake up and recognise this.