Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dun Boyne Castle €50 Freezeout

• 26-01-2009 12:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

Friday 6th February
    Dun Boyne Castle, Dun Boyne
    http://www.dunboynecastlehotel.com/map.php
    Entry €50 Reg €10
    Freeze Out 10,000 Starting Chips
    Blinds 25 minutes first 5 Levels 20 Minutes level 6 onwards
    Starts 8.00 Sharp
    All Entries to the prize fund
    3 Dealers

1. Who is running the event: (Dublin Poker Nights)
    2. The purpose of the event: (Commercial
    3. Date and Location of event: Friday 6th February Dun Boyne Castle
    4. Registration and Start time of event: Reg @ 7.30pm, Start 8.00pm SHARP
    5. Any prerequisites:
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number: Players can pay on the night, Tickets can be purchased at Dun Boyne Castle
    7. Type of Tournament: NL Hold'em, Freezeout.
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc: €50 for entry. No Rebuys/Top-ups.
    9. Cost of registration: €10
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: 100%
    11. Any guaranteed prize pool: €1000 1st Prize
    12. Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels: No Rebuys
    13. Starting Chips: 10k
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts: No Rebuys/ Top-ups
    15. Blind levels: 25 minutes first 5 Levels 20 Minutes level 6 onwards
    16. Blind time frames: See below
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash:
    18. Are there going to be dealers: 3 Dealers
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules: Yes
    20. Is there a tournament director: Yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. TD

Level Duration Blinds
    1 25 Minutes 25-50
    2 25 Minutes 50-100
    3 25 Minutes 75-150
    4 25 Minutes 100-200
    5 25 Minutes 150-300
    Break 10 Minutes
    6 20 minutes 200-400
    7 20 Minutes 300-600
    8 20 Minutes 400-800
    9 20 Minutes 500-1000
    10 20 Minutes 800-1600
    11 20 Minutes 1000-2000
    12 20 Minutes 1500-3000

Blinds will be frozen during the final table play depending on numbers

Any Queries or to register for this event phone 0864046570

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Maddogg

Sweet

Looks like a great tournament with a great structure

see you there :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Looks good . What sort of numbers do you get ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

can some mod please edit the text size larger so i can read it!!!!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

I, d be interested in playing this. Anyone have any idea of the numbers this gets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭ElectraBlue

This is the first time they are doing it (I'm open to correction here!) doubt if anyone will have numbers yet!

The usual DPN crowd has about 18-35 regs for their local €60FO pub games, 60+ for league final, throw in the odd sharks (like Maddogg :p) who only come sniffing around when the prize fund is looking good, I'd guess they'll get 40-55+ players. (Up for a prop bet?! :D)

Might donate myself ;) ...now ain't that value enough to make you play!?? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

can A mod edit the actual thread title? this is a €100 freezeout in the title, but a €50 freezeout everywhere else in the post.

zuroph wrote: »
    can A mod edit the actual thread title? this is a €100 freezeout in the title, but a €50 freezeout everywhere else in the post.

Wow! Well spotted :D

Hmmm a €50 + FO it is...
    I'd have preferred €100 game but I'll give it a go & see what the standard of play is like.
    Even just to give Maddog a run for his money LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭PokerNights

Thanks for the replies,

could Mods please change the title to Dun Boyne Castle €50 Freezeout

the plan is a 50 game for the first month, 100 after that

guaranteed €1000 first prize on the first night

i will post an idea of numbers closer to the time as the hotel are pre selling tickets for this event

regards
    Rob

Dublinpokernigts
    info@dublinpokernights.com

Well the Prize pool is looking rather tasty now Rob!!!

Think i'll defiantly have to make an appearance now ElectraBlue :p ……..

I noticed that its changed to a €60 FO, I would prefer the €100 FO but im sure you can change that at a later date once you get the word around about the tournament.

Ps KoolKid, you would need a 100,000 starting stack & an option of one rebuy to even give me run for my money :D ...............

Maddogg wrote: »
    KoolKid, you would need a 100,000 starting stack & an option of one rebuy to even give me run for my money :D ...............

Your game must have improved so. That league trophy (the donkey one :D) going to your head. See ya friday so. You want to take a last out bet? ;)

Sorry I couldn't make this. Keeping my money to sort out maddog on Sunday..
    (if he doesn't chicken out of it :D)
    How did it go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭afex

is it not next fri d 6th ?

Duh!!!! :o:o

Jaysus Koolkid........

" if brains were dynamite you wouldn't have enough to toss your hair " :D

so have you got many pre reg's for this rob??????

Jaysus Koolkid........

" if brains were dynamite you wouldn't have enough to toss your hair " :D

What hair :p
    You playing this on Friday??

im going to try............

i have to go to a wedding on Sat in monaghan so not sure if im going up on friday night or wait until sat morning!!!

are you?

Hi Maddogg, koolkid

hope to see the two of you tomorrow

alot of interest in the game hoping for 40 players

any problems give me a call 0864046570

regards
    Rob

Dublinpokernigts

Bump,

Numbers looking really good for tonight the hotel have sold 40 tickets and 20 plus dublinpokernights members also attending

some platter’s of sandwiches and some coctkail sausages for the break will be provided

Regards

Rob

Dublinpokernights

Hi Maddogg, koolkid

hope to see the two of you tomorrow

alot of interest in the game hoping for 40 players

any problems give me a call 0864046570

regards
    Rob

Dublinpokernigts

Hi Rob , Unfortunatly can't make this today. Way behind in work with this weather.
    But after the gameplay I got lastnight (Venue shall remain nameless;))
    I'll definalty be giving this a shot.
    I'll PM you my number if your sending out any texts.

i think your afraid of the challange of playing against me :D

i knew you would bottle it!!!!

Next week Ray...Next Week..
    How much you want to put up on last out?

i thought you couldn't afford a Divorce due to the recession :D

i wouldn't want to take all your bankroll

The MadDog is turning into a sane chicken !!!! :D
    Cant afford a divorce thats why its playing once a week :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭NuttKicker

anyone know how many runners, would be interested in this tourney if it was getting a decent turnout is it going to be on weekly/monthly?

NuttKicker wrote: »
    anyone know how many runners, would be interested in this tourney if it was getting a decent turnout is it going to be on weekly/monthly?

There were 40 players approx (Rob can confirm) 4 full tables with dealers plus a few late comers that took up places at the table made by early exiters. Maddog arrived fashionably late by 3 levels(!) :rolleyes: Nice mix: usual DPN regs, few noobies and some really good players. I exited in 10th place: Raised-reraised-AIPF AKs no good against chipleader's 10 10! :rolleyes:

Great game, finished at a respectable 1:30am, there was no rushing to be out before 12:30am like the pubs... €50+10 is too cheap for the structure (10k stack/25 min blinds/fully dealer dealt etc) would prefer to see this as a €100+10 buy-in to attract more players. Some posters up in the locality, East Meath and Dublin 15 area would help too... not all poker players read Boards.

There was a side cash table too, soft, oh soooo soft! Made a niiiiice 500% ROI!!! :D

I would second the €100+€10 . It makes for much better play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭NuttKicker

sounds good would also prefer 100+10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

Played this - like a donkey for the most part. Was about 27 runners i think rather than 40. Great potential tho with superb venue, structure and late bar/closing.
    Agree that it needs advertising and prob a change to 100+10. Wasn't sure if that'd put off some players but most there were suggesting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

There were 40 players approx (Rob can confirm) 4 full tables with dealers plus a few late comers that took up places at the table made by early exiters. Maddog arrived fashionably late by 3 levels(!) :rolleyes: Nice mix: usual DPN regs, few noobies and some really good players. I exited in 10th place: Raised-reraised-AIPF AKs no good against chipleader's 10 10! :rolleyes:

Great game, finished at a respectable 1:30am, there was no rushing to be out before 12:30am like the pubs... €50+10 is too cheap for the structure (10k stack/25 min blinds/fully dealer dealt etc) would prefer to see this as a €100+10 buy-in to attract more players. Some posters up in the locality, East Meath and Dublin 15 area would help too... not all poker players read Boards.

There was a side cash table too, soft, oh soooo soft! Made a niiiiice 500% ROI!!! :D

i was one of the noobies I'm afraid - got to start somewhere! for 60 quid I'd go again - for 110 probably not.... just my 2c !

Think at least 5 who were there wouldn't have paid the 100 (inc. two hotel regulars at my table who just gave it a lash and my cousin who got up to 50k then didn't make final table!).
    Maybe better to build up numbers before upping the money.

Final table after hard fought game! Went out on the bubble of the pay outs

my best hand was with blind level at 800/1600 and im all in with 99 and get 4 callers flop comes K99 back in the game!!
    Defiantly will play again as it is a great venue and should start pulling in the numbers

Eric split it so it wasn’t a wasted night

it should be a €100 and you will pull more players
    ps i take it your talking about ciaran?

yeah. Kieron wouldn't have paid 110 and would put off some people. would prob make me not drink too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭byrner1

Final table after hard fought game! Went out on the bubble of the pay outs

my best hand was with blind level at 800/1600 and im all in with 99 and get 4 callers flop comes K99 back in the game!!
    Defiantly will play again as it is a great venue and should start pulling in the numbers

Eric split it so it wasn’t a wasted night

it should be a €100 and you will pull more players
    ps i take it your talking about ciaran?

Told you eric wasn't a complete donkey :D

no you told me he was THE COMPLETE DONKEY :D

Every donkey has their day

We had a great game on friday finishing up just before 2.00

The venue is great and with the time i can run a well structured tournament

Results

Venue:-Dun Boyne Castle No. Players:- 29

Date:- 6/02/09 Prize Fund €1450

1 Benny Delaney €475
    2 Eric Nolan €475
    3 Barry Wynne €200
    4 Richard Kavanagh €150
    5 Dave Thorpe €100
    6 Tony O’Toole €50
    7 Ray Maloney
    8 Sean
    9 Thomas G

Benny and Eric tipped two of the dealers thank you

To answer other questions in the post

This will be a weekly tournament
    The game will remain a €50 plus €10 freezeout for now (maybe €100 once a month)
    Clonee, Dunboyne, Dunshaughlin areas were all postered well in advance and will be again
    Scargill thanks for the reply if you would like to pm me your number or text me it on 0864046570 i will have you added onto our text alert system
    NuckNorris 1 i hope you see you there again only way youll get the DublinPokerNights Hoodie
    maddogg unlucky on the bubble the 99 hand with quads was very funny
    byrner1 hope to see you over some friday

Regards
    Rob

Dublinpokernigts

Thanks for the text Rob, hope to see you there friday.

Will take a trip down in the next few week with maddog and will bring Ian along

Still looking good for this tomorrow..
    Any one else heading ?

See you tonight KoolKid

Numbers looking to break the 30 mark

Byrner1 one see you and ian soon

See you tonight KoolKid

Numbers looking to break the 30 mark
    Look forward to it. Is Maddog heading down tonight.

koolkid wrote: »
    Look forward to it. Is Maddog heading down tonight.

I think he will now... :rolleyes: LOL!

Is this tournment 8 or 8-30 ?
    I wouldn't like to arrive late & overshadow Maddogd entrance during the 2 or 3rd level

8:30 sharp, just got the text!

Might be up later... ;)

Was just checking because of the text

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭horsebox1

Hi Rob,

How did last night go?
    The lads told me in the Clonsilla on Wednesday that last week was a great night.

We had a great game on friday finishing up just before 2.00

The venue is great and with the time i can run a well structured tournament

Results

Venue:-Dun Boyne Castle No. Players:- 29

Date:- 6/02/09 Prize Fund €1450

1 Benny Delaney €475
    2 Eric Nolan €475
    3 Barry Wynne €200
    4 Richard Kavanagh €150
    5 Dave Thorpe €100
    6 Tony O’Toole €50
    7 Ray Maloney
    8 Sean
    9 Thomas G

Benny and Eric tipped two of the dealers thank you

To answer other questions in the post

This will be a weekly tournament
    The game will remain a €50 plus €10 freezeout for now (maybe €100 once a month)
    Clonee, Dunboyne, Dunshaughlin areas were all postered well in advance and will be again
    Scargill thanks for the reply if you would like to pm me your number or text me it on 0864046570 i will have you added onto our text alert system
    NuckNorris 1 i hope you see you there again only way youll get the DublinPokerNights Hoodie
    maddogg unlucky on the bubble the 99 hand with quads was very funny
    byrner1 hope to see you over some friday

Regards
    Rob

Dublinpokernigts

It was a good game last night . 27 players I think, Rob will confirm.
    Great atmosphere in the room & a good standard of play.
    Ian was unlucky to go out early with J rag suited dogging his Aces.
    A good game with a good structue I'll certinly be back.
    I'd also play for €100+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭horsebox1

Cheers!
    koolkid wrote: »
    It was a good game last night . 27 players I think, Rob will confirm.
    Great atmosphere in the room & a good standard of play.
    Ian was unlucky to go out early with J rag suited dogging his Aces.
    A good game with a good structue I'll certinly be back.
    I'd also play for €100+

I enjoyed last weeks game. Anyone heading down this Friday?