Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do with 1 cent coins?

• 25-01-2009 8:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭

Just reading the other thread asking if you'd pick up a coin of the street and it got me thinking. I genuinely can't remember ever using a 1 cent coin to buy anything since the Euro was introduced. There's no point in saving them as you'll probably be earning less than the minimum hourly wage by the time you finish counting them. I just throw them in the bin which feels a bit odd.

So does anyone actually spend them or have any use for them? Could we not get rid of the 1s and 2s and just round everything to the 5? 9.95 instead of 9.99. I'm sure shops will survive without those extra 4 cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Throw them at people queuing for the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

I put them in the bin to help combat inflation.

Eh I spend all the money in my pocket, and when it is empty I replenish the store and start over.
    How is that wrong? Copper snob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

eirebhoy wrote: »
    Just reading the other thread asking if you'd pick up a coin of the street and it got me thinking. I genuinely can't remember ever using a 1 cent coin to buy anything since the Euro was introduced. There's no point in saving them as you'll probably be earning less than the minimum hourly wage by the time you finish counting them. I just throw them in the bin which feels a bit odd.
    So does anyone actually spend them or have any use for them? Could we not get rid of the 1s and 2s and just round everything to the 5? 9.95 instead of 9.99. I'm sure shops will survive without those extra 4 cents.

You throw money in the BIN?!?! That's a Ryanair flight you know!

I just bag up all my change (including the 1c) everytime the change jar fills up, it doesn't take that long like, and I usually have at least a tenner in 1c coins precisely because you get them in change so much and then never spend them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Use them in the tesco/Dunnes self service yokes,nothing like paying for a litre of milk with coppers at three in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I pay my bills with them. It really pisses people off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Sometimes i need them for the bus, they come in handy when you don't have that 5 cent on you to make the fare. They are annoying to carry around though. I can't see shops pricing things at 9.98 o 9.95 though. Almost everything in the shops has 99 at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

Side Drawer in the car,after a while put them in a charity box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

I have a Charlie and The Chocolate Factory money box, all my coppers and 10's and 20's go in there...I really should get a bigger money box if I'm to get some proper cash out of it after a year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭DubLass

Could never throw them in the bin, even if I hoover one up I feel guilty :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Shops round down? Not a hope 9.99 would go to 10.05. Same happened when the Euro came in they all rounded up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Ive built an exact scale model of Brian Cowen out of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Use them in the tesco/Dunnes self service yokes

Find it's the handiest way to get rid of them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Saving them all into bags and when the next election comes around, gonna chuck them at the politicians that come around looking for my vote.

"O' look kids - a moving target - OPEN FIRE!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Bang them into the change hopper in Dunnes.

They charge a 9% service but you get a receipt for use in the Store on that day.

Thats the way to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

use them in the self service checkout in tesco!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I sell them as scrap metal for €1.20 per 100 coins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

Bang them into the change hopper in Dunnes.

They charge a 9% service but you get a receipt for use in the Store on that day.

Thats the way to do it.

So for every 100c you put in you only get 91c? Well, of course, duh!!

Suppose you gotta pay for the service!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

i put them into charity boxes in shops.

-1 for putting them into the bin, not good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

They get jarred (along with 20c 10c 5c and 2c pieces) then bagged for the bank every few months. It feels like free money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Ryanzo

They're there for a reason, they didnt just decide to make them for the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

I shove them up my ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

They go under the desk in my room.

Might make something out of them some day... another desk perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Will that not set off metal detectors M83?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

i put them in the jar with the rest of my coppers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I give mine to Paul Daniels.He is able to do some magic tricks with them.

Although not a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

queen-mise wrote: »

It seems the average person gets a lot more coppers than me though. :) I'd say if I saved my 1s and 2s for the year It'd make up €5-10. I could save a lot more than that for less hassle by putting less water in the kettle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

1c coin, catapult and next door's cat... Need I say more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I put them in an old Lucuzade bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Throw them at people queuing for the dole.

have you a problem wih people on the dole.i'm employed by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭swimforever

queen-mise wrote: »

I do this too-they're just annoying in my purse and I know that I'm never gonna bother to count them out when I'm paying for stuff. I don't even bother waiting for them if I don't need a receipt, I just tell the person behind the counter to put them in the charity box. That way I'm not waiting like an eejit for the sake of 1c!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Save them up in order to stagnate the economy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Davidius wrote: »
    Save them up in order to stagnate the economy.

Ya can stop now, ya succeeded! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭gerry87

At risk of sucking the fun outta the thread... i did my final year project on the buggers :o

Bottom line... they cost 1.4 cent to make.
    Cost the tax payer €12million each year.
    If you earn over €12 per hour... it's not worth your time to pick one up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I keep thinking of the old saying, "see a penny pick it up" and think it's bad luck if I see a cent coin on the ground and don't pick it up.. Usually put them in a charity box or use them much to the irritation of the sales assistants.

As they are valid legal tender I imagine there may be consequences if all of us stopped using cents and they went out of circulation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

I save 'em all up in a home-made coin box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I put them in "Kids against cancer" jars in the pub. Impresses the chicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I do actually pay for stuff with them! Feck that, its money at the end of the day and ill hold up any queue scrabblin for the little feckers in my purse! Size doesnt matter and all that...:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I build minimalist Dadaist sculptures out of them and sell them to county councils around the country to place in the middle of roundabouts.

Or sometimes I save 'em in a jar with 2c and 5c coins and cash them all in when the jar gets full and use that money to buy a bigger jar and then I repeat the process and soon I'll have a jar big enough for all my money changed into 1c coins and then I'll be the richest man in the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Hagar wrote: »
    1c coin, catapult and next door's cat... Need I say more?

Catapult may cost you more than one cent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

biko wrote: »
    I put them in "Kids against cancer" jars in the pub. Impresses the chicks.

What are kids gonna do against cancer? Sure they'd hardly have any medical knowledge let alone enough to effectively research anti-cancer drugs and treatments. You're wasting your money mate. Wasting your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,815 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Throwing money in the bin is insane.
    It's like the most extreme form of snobbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Save them up, then use them in the shops,I have no problems handing over one euro in one cent coins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I pay for most things with credit card/EC card. Very rare that I have loose change. When I lived in Finland it was great, they just rounded up or down to the nearest 5c, none of this 1c, 2c crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭ProjectColossus

I chuck them in the big metal trough/urinal in my local pub, and make a wish. I must be seriously pissing somebody off at this stage. 5s and 10s too if I'm feeling flush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Anyone know of a bank in town (or Blanch) that has a counting machine you can use for free? I have a tonne of coppers I want to get rid of. Used to shift them in work but the canteen never seems to have the counter out anymore.

I think my local AIB will only accept them if they are in individual bags of 1s, 2s, 10s etc. Which is a load of bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭ProjectColossus

shane86 wrote: »
    Anyone know of a bank in town (or Blanch) that has a counting machine you can use for free? I have a tonne of coppers I want to get rid of. Used to shift them in work but the canteen never seems to have the counter out anymore.

I think my local AIB will only accept them if they are in individual bags of 1s, 2s, 10s etc. Which is a load of bollix.

OFFS it's not that hard to seperate them out yourself. If you can't be arsed to do that, accept the 9% service charge.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,603 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

reasons to get rid of 1c and what it costs (us but approx same for eu )
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Efforts_to_eliminate_the_penny_in_the_United_States

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,603 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

shane86 wrote: »

all those ******* machines charge up to 12.5%

get a young child to count it out for a small % , keep them busy for a day

or just give it to a charity

get a magnet to separate it out the lower value coins and use a weighing scale to work out how much you have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Rory123

Everyday I clear everything under 50c coins (20, 10, 5, 2, 1.) out of my wallet. I put them in a jar. Every 6 months or so I bring the coins to a local convenience store and put them in a coin counting machine. The machine charges about 9% commission for counting the coins. It prints out a receipt of the total amount, minus commission, which can be redeemed for cash at the till. I usually get about €20 out of it.

My brother did this yesterday with a jar he'd been saving for 3 or 4 years and he got €260.

Don't put your money, even if it is a 1c coin in the bin!!!