Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do?

• 25-01-2009 4:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭

What would you do in this scenario and was I correct in my actions?

I was in a shop last night when I noticed two scumbags shoplifting. The security guard was asleep and no one saw the scum stealing the goods. No one, except me. As the scum ran out the door I quickly persued them on foot. I eventually caught the scum and let the fists fly. The scum hit the ground and lay in the gutter. I recovered the stolen items and returned them to the shop. The shop owner was grateful and offered me a job. I reluctanty declined the offer as acceptance would mean I could not keep an eye on the city as I should.

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Feet and perhaps even bullets should have flown too. Fair play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

So do you wear a mask when you're out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,532 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

What would you do?

I'd put more underlines on them words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Steoob

lol. fair play to you man. what did they take?
    haha i cant believe theres people in the world who do what you did. I would never do it but i cant fight so it would be a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Are you batman?:eek:

He wears a pair of his ma's old stockings over his face.

A handy disguise and a reminder of the abusive childhood that made him the Citizen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

You did the right thing.
    I'd keep the mask, get some gloves, get a scrubbing brush - then go clean up the rest of the country.
    Start in the Dail - there is a lot of dirt there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I think you need to study the old diagram again. *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Who does he think he is? you.

/OP, why didn't you make a citizen's arrest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

You could potentially be in a lot of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I was in a shop last night when I noticed two scumbags shoplifting. The security guard was asleep and no one saw the scum stealing the goods.

Take something also. The shop deserves to be ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I was in a shop last night when I noticed two scumbags shoplifting. The security guard was asleep and no one saw the scum stealing the goods. No one, except me. As the scum ran out the door I quickly persued them on foot. I eventually caught the scum and let the fists fly. The scum hit the ground and lay in the gutter. I recovered the stolen items and returned them to the shop. The shop owner was grateful and offered me a job. I reluctanty declined the offer as acceptance would mean I could not keep an eye on the city as I should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭chosen1

Fair play to you but I know I wouldn't try to be a hero in that situation especially if it wasn't my shop. Just think of what happened to that postmaster in Kilkenny a few years ago when he perused your man who committed the robbery. You just never know if one of them was carrying a knife for example

FYP ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Im thinking no. If the scum comes back and realises you work there now, he might come back with extra scum to thank you for making him re-think the shop-lifting.

Kudos btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I would have done the exact same thing as yourself bud. Vilance that you cant get in trouble for.
    I didnt get to do it in about 3-4 years. Seen to fella's trying to rob me next door neighbours scooter so confronted them. They had a key that looked like the proper one so I left em off, just thought they couldnt start the bike. Went to neighbours house and noticed his scootay wasnt there. It was 4 in the morning so I said ah sure feck it, Ill give a knock and if it turns out the scooter is at his amtes or whatever at least he will know Im keeping an eye out.
    Turns out it was his one so I went to look for the lads and couldnt see them so I legged it around me estate.
    When I seen the two of em I let out a roar and ran at them. One of them ran at me, Lads I caught this fooker square on the jaw and he just buckled and ended on the floor, I went ofr his mat ethen and he started screaming at me not to beat him up haha.
    Cops came along and I admitted to hitting him, so they said to me mate, if ya do them your mate (me) would get in trouble for hitting them. Mate just said, ah sure I got it back it be grand.
    Was fun though lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

I wouldve woken the security guard. Then take some goods myself while he was out of the shop chasing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Our hero

*swoons*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Scumbags have too many rights, When they act outside the law, they should loose their rights. Beat the crap out of them i say, it's the only language they will ever understand. Well done OP.:cool:

Fair play
    Biggins wrote: »
    You did the right thing.
    chosen1 wrote: »
    Fair play to you...
    Abigayle wrote: »
    Kudos btw.
    galwayrush wrote: »
    Well done OP.:cool:

He posts without underlining his words and all of a sudden he's entirely credible? How the fúck does that work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Woo dress up, me like.

Save that super hero sh1t for the bedroom though. There are enough nutters on the streets. You're lucky ya were not killed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

He posts without underlining his words and all of a sudden he's entirely credible? How the fúck does that work?

You don't hold the monopoly on masked vigilantes you know. Nobody likes a Green Lantern.

I only posted 'well done' after you fixed the OP's post.:P

javaboy wrote: »
    You don't hold the monopoly on masked vigilantes you know. Nobody likes a Green Lantern.

I know yeah, but being the big man makes me feel super, man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

I know yeah, but being the big man makes me feel super, man.

But I thought you were Batman:rolleyes:

Tad over powerring!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

let the fists fly..lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I would have done nothing.

Why would I risk getting stabbed to save some shop from losing a few quid.

Tad over powerring!:pac:

Outstanding punnery. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

you would know about it if one of them scums bags had pulled out a hand gun on you... it's not worth the hassle... unless someone is getting attacked by these scumbags...that's different, you would have to do something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭The Citizen

No.
    Steoob wrote: »
    lol. fair play to you man. what did they take?
    haha i cant believe theres people in the world who do what you did. I would never do it but i cant fight so it would be a bad idea.
    The scum took cans of lager, washing up liquid and a newspaper.
    You forgot to randomly underline a load of different words.
    I was asked to stop that by a mod. As much as it angers me I will not use the underlining to highlight the important parts of my posts.
    Ruu wrote: »
    I think you need to study the old diagram again. *sigh*
    Not funny.
    You could potentially be in a lot of trouble.
    That's unlikely. The scum did not see my face and never will.
    themadchef wrote: »
    Woo dress up, me like.

Save that super hero sh1t for the bedroom though. There are enough nutters on the streets. You're lucky ya were not killed :D
    Killed? The battle was short lived and the scum were quickly demolished. Their attempt at combat was laughable. If anyone was in danger of getting killed it was the scum.
    Holsten wrote: »
    I would have done nothing.

Why would I risk getting stabbed to save some shop from losing a few quid.
    It's that kind of attitude that has the city the way it is. Leave the safety of this city in my hands and I'll leave you being a E.

What city would this be?

Stir stir stir...

"Being an E"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

It's that kind of attitude that has the city the way it is. Leave the safety of this city in my hands and I'll leave you being a E.:mad:

We all know the recession was started by the league of shadows and they are responsible for the state of the city. you need to find liam neeson and kick the shhhtones off him

He did the right thing - he put himself at risk because of weapons but if we start fearing that all we see might be carrying a weapon, schite, we might as all stay at home cowering behind our sofas!

The shop owner is in all probably struggling to stay open in competition with the big boys so someone coming along and stealing his stock with a five fingered discount, don't help him either in these economic times.
    We are going to see a lot more of these "discount" attempts in the near future. Baseball bats at the ready please!

Which city is this now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

No.

The scum took cans of lager, washing up liquid and a newspaper.

I would have left them to it.... simply not worth risking your life to protect a few cans of lager, some washing up liquid and a newspaper...., I am baffled why they would have wanted to steal washing up liquid and a newspaper??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I saw the same thing happen on Friday night in that shop at the corner of Aston Quay and Westmoreland Street. Not my problem or my issue to resolve in my opinion, no sign of a security presence in the store, looked to me like they were asking to be robbed.

CamperMan wrote: »
    I am baffled why they would have wanted to steal washing up liquid and a newspaper??

To wash dishes and to catch up on the news?

Outstanding punnery. :D

Just a Flash of inspiration.

Biggins wrote: »
    . Baseball bats at the ready please!

I've made some bats for my family\ friends. Ranging from 12 to 36 inches long, all in dense hardwood. I don't see anything wrong with defending myself / property.

Which city is this now?

I think he means The City, like in the royal sense, as in ALL cities. It's a metaphor. Deep stuff op, very deep stuff

orestes wrote: »
    I think he means The City, like in the royal sense, as in ALL cities. It's a metaphor. Deep stuff op, very deep stuff

Oh, like on Home and Away. Gotcha.

galwayrush wrote: »
    I've made some bats for my family\ friends. Ranging from 12 to 36 inches long, all in dense hardwood. I don't see anything wrong with defending myself / property.

Me got same plus a few other surprises. Same conclusion but we digress. Shop owners shouldn't take any chances at night any more. They should be prepared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Was expecting and hoping for this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWx0qSEPiXs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Was it really worth smahing someone's face because of a few mass-produced items?

Húrin wrote: »
    Was it really worth smahing someone's face because of a few mass-produced items?

It's ok. It didn't actually happen. I should really move this thread to Sci-Fi & Fantasy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

It's ok. It didn't actually happen. I should really move this thread to Sci-Fi & Fantasy.

Theatre and Performing Arts?

Roleplaying forum?