Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reliant, Scimitar GTE, any good?

• 23-01-2009 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭

I have my eye on a Scimitar GTE, are they any good, any of you own one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

yeah great donor car fro a Cortina..overdrive gearbox too usually...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

corktina wrote: »
    yeah great donor car fro a Cortina..overdrive gearbox too usually...
    Snap,i was gonna say capri though..:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

are you trying to say that they are only suitable as donors for cortina's & capri's

Just joking,they arent really my favourite car.They have fibreglass bodies and ford running gear,so i would imagine it would be easy to run and maintain.

i want something cheap, easy to maintain, comfortable, quick, ... it's a toss up between one of these or an mg b gt.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭superboy

I feckin LOVE these!!! Great bargain IMO, for what they are. Mechanical issues not really present as they are"powered by Ford." Some bits (esp trim) are hard to come by. Chassis condition is crucial. (So climb under it!!!) other than that check the body for crazing/cracks before you part with cash.
    Good Luck with the purchase!!!!:)

I don't spend big money on classic cars, less than 2k a time, I buy them just for the fun of it, nice to drive and easy to fix, I have a range rover classic and an mg midget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Range Rover classic, nice. Often thought about buying one o them.

ye, I have always liked them, love the V8 ones but they drink petrol like a pisshead in a brewery so I have the 200 TDi one

i was joshing too...I kin love em, saw one in 1968 in the showroom and drooled all over the showroom window.....check the chassis carefully in case of rot...

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

A nice car for the money. Beware of the dogs out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭bo-bo

cracking car, used to own one myself - an se6a.

all the above advice is sound - make sure the o/d unit works though, its a few hundred euro a pop to replace.

electrics can be a problem due to poor earthing, trunions need regular greasing and window seals are a bit of a problem to get hold of.

my personal preference is for the essex engined variants rather than the later cologne models.

you can find great support at http://www.scimitarweb.com

best of luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Doesn't some guy on here have one? I think his name is 'Shagman' or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

CamperMan wrote: »
    i want something cheap, easy to maintain, comfortable, quick, ... it's a toss up between one of these or an mg b gt.....

get the gte, dont waste your time with a rusty mg :rolleyes:

S.I.R wrote: »

dead right...quote from Friends " How cool are we!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭dutchcat

S.I.R wrote: »
    +1 MG [more grief]

literally just after getting a text of a mate/dealer....

if your looking for british classics germany/north france is a Very safe bet... he'll be going over next weekend to grab a capri so AFAIK its goingto be 1k less then british prices ( 2kish less then irish )

Grab em while their cheap boys and girls. ( wait.... girls don't drive classics :( )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Avoid them in black,

They could easily be mistaken for a hearse. :D

28117378_164b6a75a0.jpg?v=0

is it a big job to fix a faulty overdrive on one of these?

Avoid them in black,

They could easily be mistaken for a hearse. :D

28117378_164b6a75a0.jpg?v=0

they look nothing like a hearse.. not even in black.. now... I would not mind the one shown in the above pic... very nice.

this one is the one I want but slightly out of my budget.. £3400 ono

478458.jpg

what about this one on PistonHeads for £1500??

857778-2.jpg

forgot how much i liked these cars,think im gonna get me one,now look what u started:pac:.......diggin out practical classics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

dutchcat wrote: »
    forgot how much i liked these cars,think im gonna get me one,now look what u started:pac:.......diggin out practical classics

Do you remember that one in Myrtle park in the 80ies, I used to get a lift into tech in it.

unfortunately after counting all my loose change up and contacting the seller of this fine Scimitar.... it's sold! :mad:

478458.jpg

Not fussed on the red one, the later ones look far better.....

Do you remember that one in Myrtle park in the 80ies, I used to get a lift into tech in it.
    remember it well, he had 2 of them greedy git:pac:

unfortunately after counting all my loose change up and contacting the seller of this fine Scimitar.... it's sold! :mad:

478458.jpg

theres a few on evil bay at the mo

478458.jpg

them ford wheels look rather well on it also...

just needs a slightly darker interior...

Nice rpactical motor either way...

will pick one up in the years to come should the oppertunity arrise ( and they normally do :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Ford wheels ??

Where ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭MorrisCooper

Kevin O'Riordan near Fermoy, Co. Cork is a bit of a guru on them and has several at his garage. He's also into stuff like early Saab turbos and Citroen XMs

I can PM you his number if you want to talk Scimitars with him.

Billy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

478458.jpg

Anyone else think they should have made the rear side windows bigger, continue line the from the front windows more horizontally

Blue850 wrote: »
    478458.jpg

Anyone else think they should have made the rear side windows bigger, continue line the from the front windows more horizontally

NO!!... I like the design of these, the sides look good and so does the front, the only thing that spoils it, it the big glass tailgate..

I just cant make myself like them whatever way i look at them,the styling doesnt sit at all right in my eyes.

obviously there are cars out there that make you drool, but I can't afford those sorts of cars... (Aston Martin, Porsche, Maserati, De Tomaso, Alfa Romeo....) , this was made by the same crowd that made the awful 3 wheeler, so coming from them, the Scimitar is pretty good... I prefer the design of this over a Ford Capri, Opel Manta or a similar type of sports/hatch of that period....

To be honest, they do look better than Reliant's other sick creations:

672803140_8c9ed1a86f.jpg?v=0

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Ha,yes indeed!:D

this was made by the same crowd that made the awful 3 wheeler,

672803140_8c9ed1a86f.jpg?v=0
    Ha,yes indeed!:D

Right youse three, outside, NOW! ;)

macplaxton wrote: »
    Right youse three, outside, NOW! ;)
    :oJust joking,my old man would kill me for dissing the three wheeler,he had a Regal van many moons ago,and the mother turned it up on its side ah la the mr Bean programmes when she was learning to drive...:p
    It was very similar to this one..
    224813963_0b1f37c946.jpg?v=0

Sorry for thread hijacking,but iv just looked down through that guys flickr album and saw this....:eek::(
    2528191803_0de96cd2b8_o.jpg
    How sad is that....:(

Sorry for thread hijacking,but iv just looked down through that guys flickr album and saw this....:eek::(

not sad at all... it's hilarious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

HAHAHAHA!!!
    Brilliant!

A friend of mine was a mechanic in the Corporation back in the 80's (some of you may remember the corporation had these vans) and was called out to a break down somewhere in the city centre.
    As far as I remember they went out in a bin lorry, couldnt solve the problem on the side of the road so they decided to tow the 3 wheeler back to the garage.
    When the lads got into the bin lorry they decided to have a bit of craic with the lad steering the Reliant behind them and proceeded to drive like lunatics around town just to frighten him!

Eventually there were cars flashing lights beeping horns and pedestrians with jaws on the ground pointing at them.
    They pulled over and found the Reliant on its side!
    They had pulled it along for ages without realising! Some sight.

HAHAHAHA!!!
    Brilliant!

A friend of mine was a mechanic in the Corporation back in the 80's (some of you may remember the corporation had these vans) and was called out to a break down somewhere in the city centre.
    As far as I remember they went out in a bin lorry, couldnt solve the problem on the side of the road so they decided to tow the 3 wheeler back to the garage.
    When the lads got into the bin lorry they decided to have a bit of craic with the lad steering the Reliant behind them and proceeded to drive like lunatics around town just to frighten him!

Eventually there were cars flashing lights beeping horns and pedestrians with jaws on the ground pointing at them.

you don't even need to be towed by a garbage truck to get one of these things on their sides... have you driven one.. I tried one and never again....

how did we end up talking about these sh!tters.... back to the Scimitar... I have one now, getting it on Sunday.

I wonder how much the insurance paid out on that................ £1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

you don't even need to be towed by a garbage truck to get one of these things on their sides... have you driven one.. I tried one and never again....

how did we end up talking about these sh!tters.... back to the Scimitar... I have one now, getting it on Sunday.

Never driven one, I've driven a Bond Bug, cant imagine they are much different!!

Elvis was (still is) very gutted about the incident. A lot of time and effort went into restoring that Supervan III. (and featured in a book on restoring Reliant Regals)

Back to Scimitars or should I say older vehicles in general (and especially if they have GRP bodies). Make sure the fuel lines and connectors are kept in A1 condition, as fires can turn your pride and joy into a charred wreck in a few minutes.
    I wonder how much the insurance paid out on that................ £1?

£3000, actually.

No thats something i would like to see a pic of!!:p:p

The vehicle details for UWX 875L are:

Date of Liability 01 03 2009
    Date of First Registration 04 01 1973
    Year of Manufacture 1972
    Cylinder Capacity (cc) 700CC
    CO2 Emissions Not Available
    Fuel Type Petrol
    Export Marker Not Applicable
    Vehicle Status Licence Not Due
    Vehicle Colour TURQUOISE
    Vehicle Type Approval null

Still has 2 months tax left on it!

No thats something i would like to see a pic of!!:p:p

1180876926_d1eac4fb7e.jpg?v=0

My cousin has an '84 Reliant Rialto, and the engine bay caught fire not long ago after a leak in the petrol line, causing petrol to go all over the exhaust manifold. Luckily he put the fire out just in time before it burnt the whole car to the ground (and the shed it was in too).

What exactly caused that blue Regal to go up in flames?

EDIT: Nevermind, I found the article.

What exactly caused that blue Regal to go up in flames?
    I think it was petrol too...

macplaxton wrote: »
    Elvis was (still is) very gutted about the incident. A lot of time and effort went into restoring that Supervan III.
    I bet it did,thats why i said it was sad,reliant or not it was still a car that took lots of time and effort to make as good as it was.
    Just read this.. http://www.3wheelers.com/uwx875l21a.html