Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irishtimes Fantasy Rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭crisco10

Id be up for it....link doesnt work though. is that just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭yogidc26

The pin for the league is 369

Name: boards.ie-Rugby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Might give this a go. Tried it last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Ok, I'm in.
    Team name is 7th Nation

Last years top 10 teams are here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55434069&postcount=54

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Blisterman wrote: »

Just realised now I came 6th!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

TDM for the win!

Surely a good tactic is to load your forwards up with backrowers? Wish they seperated it out into positions a bit better. I didn't do the above mind, I picked people for each position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

Just made my team. Scummy ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Podge_irl wrote: »
    TDM for the win!

Surely a good tactic is to load your forwards up with backrowers? Wish they seperated it out into positions a bit better. I didn't do the above mind, I picked people for each position.

I've been a lot less honest than you Podge, no doubt 'twill avail me not a jot and I'll languish at the bottom of the league all tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Nice one, just joined. Nooptis Nuts. I invariably ****e at these things, the only fantasy league I ever won was for Euro something, where I picked the whole Czech Rep team and they ended up runners up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭jam_on_toast

http://www.guinnessfantasyrugby.com/gateway.html

This one is a bit more challenging. You only have a limited amount of points to select a team from so you cant just pick an all star team.
    The positions are divided up and you get to pick a captain who scores double points.

Winner gets a Lions package! (not on me, on guinness just in case somebody holds me to it!!)

http://www.guinnessfantasyrugby.com/gateway.html

This one is a bit more challenging. You only have a limited amount of points to select a team from so you cant just pick an all star team.
    The positions are divided up and you get to pick a captain who scores double points.

Winner gets a Lions package! (not on me, on guinness just in case somebody holds me to it!!)

Blast, only available to residents of Ireland...

Ah jaysus, another league?

I'm just going to stick with the Irish Times one....can't be arsed joining another one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

Adding my team to the Irish times one now. Here comes G-Force :-p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

Added mine

FTW.

Rushed through it, might make some changes later

Bugger, Moody's out for the 6N,(just goes from bad to worse for England) will have to change mine....also gambling on fact that Jones beats hook to no.10 for wales....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭twinytwo

im in... certain trends in the teams:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

The Irish Times one is rubbish. Stick with the Guinness league its a real fantasy league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

twinytwo wrote: »
    im in... certain trends in the teams:rolleyes:

The inclusion of a certain Scot?

The only Scot I have is White. :pac: I think a certain Welsh full back seems to be in most peoples teams!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Created a league for the guinness one too

name: boards-rugby
    pass: boards-rugby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I've entered. Come on team super.

Have accepted yourselves into the mini-league - apparently it might take some time before you show up though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭christo82

Any fantasy league from Loreal this year? I was in last year's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Just joined both leagues! Come on Chunks XV

Probably made two sh1te teams but sure it's a bit of craic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Have joined :) Let's see how this goes!

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

The Wrong Stuff are now in the running for both leagues!

Cool, think i've accepted everyone to the guinness one anyhow.

If you apply and i haven't accepted you after say, about 24 hours, give this thread a bump and remind me to check it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭twinytwo

woo no one has drico.... he will prob end up scoring 5 or 6 tries now:rolleyes:

Cool, think i've accepted everyone to the guinness one anyhow.

If you apply and i haven't accepted you after say, about 24 hours, give this thread a bump and remind me to check it.

Just joined the Guinness league. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭dave13

Joined the guinness one as 'The Scrummers'(pending approval) . IT looks a bit crap.

How can you see what leagues you are in on the Guinness one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

This time I did it right...Am a pending member for the IrishTimes Fantasy League.

Aerial Ping-Pong FTW!

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

joined the guiness league there

Joined Guinesss league

Geese69

Irish bias but its hard to know what the french coach or johnson will do regards actually playing players consistently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Joined both leagues, both as teamname 'Scorched Earth'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Joined Guinesss league

Geese69

Irish bias but its hard to know what the french coach or johnson will do regards actually playing players consistently.

Thinking the same thing. So I largely stuck with Italy, Ireland and Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Eireannach

Joined Irishtimes league, pending approval. McGuire 15. Good luck lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Just registered somefools to have a go at the leagues as well:D

i'm updating about once a day at the mo, as before, if it lags more than that, gimme a shout here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

I'm in too.... much prefer the Guinness one too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭ironingbored

The Irish Times one is crap. You can pick any eight forwards (all try scoring backrowers) and any backs (same as above).

Will try the Guinness one now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

The Irish Times one is rubbish. Stick with the Guinness league its a real fantasy league.
    +1. Very basic.
    Vincent Clerc is also missing from the site for no apparent reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Disco Bandit

goin to give the guinness one a go, never done one before lets give it socks

the disco bandits ftw!

+1. Very basic.
    Vincent Clerc is also missing from the site for no apparent reason.

Presumably because he wasn't named in the initial French 30 man squad (at least I don't think he was).

Some of the prices in the Guinness are kind of funny though. Bob Casey is one of the more expensive locks!

Funny quirk I just noticed on the Guinness one: playing 60+ minutes is +2 points for that player, however, a loss for that team is -3 for that player.

So you're better off having a player who wont come on that a player from a team you know will lose, if you think there isnt a chance of them scoring a try.

Funny quirk I just noticed on the Guinness one: playing 60+ minutes is +2 points for that player, however, a loss for that team is -3 for that player.

So you're better off having a player who wont come on that a player from a team you know will lose, if you think there isnt a chance of them scoring a try.

Hmm....maybe I shouldn't have put quite so many Italians in my pack. But they were the best players! I don't want to live in a world where Sergio Parisse can lose you points in a fantasy league!

Yeah i've fooled around with my scots and italians so unless they're potential try scorers, they're guys who aren't even in the 22. I feel dirty now though :(

edit: oh, potentially if both Ireland and Wales were to lose this weekend, i'd be completely screwed :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

I tried picking my team for the irish times fantasy game and loads of players are missing. WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Disco Bandit

its hard not to want to have an all ireland/wales lineup with sebastian cheval for good measure... damn rules.