Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What make of rifle do you shoot?

• 22-01-2009 12:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭

Winchester? Heym? Savage? Steyr? ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

Ruger in .243 and CZ in .22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

sako 75 varmint in .308
    Tikka Tactical in .223
    Side By Side 12g Trusty Baikal.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭emcor

Remington 700 CDL in .223
    12 G O/U Benttosoli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

Tikka t3 lite .223
    Baikal sbs 12g thats like swinging a bag of coal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

Tikka T3 Super Varmint .223
    Miroku MK38 grade 5 trap gun
    Fred Williams side by side hammer gun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Lads,

Are ye putting up a shopping list for crim's? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Sika_Stalker

Ruger M77Mk2 in .25-06 and .220swift
    with a little bit of work done on both of them

Lads,

Are ye putting up a shopping list for crim's? ;)

I am being serious. Lot of robberies I wouldn't be advertising what I have at this stage :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Indeed. I'd strongly recommend that noone post up their home address, a list of their firearms and where they keep their keys :rolleyes:

Bunny, you do realise that all those who have been targeted so far have been RFDs whose addresses were public domain information (and not through boards.ie), right? That you could pick up a copy of the Irish Shooters Digest from Easons and get their addresses?
    And you are aware that unlike the Digest - unless you divulge identity information willingly - you're anonymous in here?

I think you can dial down on the scaremongering a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,909 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Browning A-bolt .243
    Anschutz 1416 .22LR

Sparks wrote: »
    Indeed. I'd strongly recommend that noone post up their home address, a list of their firearms and where they keep their keys :rolleyes:

Bunny, you do realise that all those who have been targeted so far have been RFDs whose addresses were public domain information (and not through boards.ie), right? That you could pick up a copy of the Irish Shooters Digest from Easons and get their addresses?
    And you are aware that unlike the Digest - unless you divulge identity information willingly - you're anonymous in here?

I think you can dial down on the scaremongering a little.

Agree

Yes

Yes

Yes

OK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Anschutz 1807L in .22

Currently pricing a Remington 700 VSF in .308

Also thinking of licensing (not buying, someone else's) Anshutz 1710 in .22 for bunnies, as the target rifle isn't the most useful tool for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I shoot Ruger in 22 hornet drooling over a 10/22 with heavy barrell as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

Steyr .243 with a Zeiss Conquest 6-20x50 and a T8 of course :)

CZ.22lr Leupold 3-9x50

Browning Silver semi

Fabarm Pump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Browning 525 o/u,
    and from tomorrow on I will have my new CZ hornet , might get a few shots at the sly fox over the next couple of weeks.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭endasmail

tikka tactical .223
    12g beretta 686e <awaiting license>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

CZ 527 Lux .223
    Marlin .17 Hmr
    Lanber o/u 12g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

Browning F N euro:),VSF :(,Bettysugdon :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭marlyman

cz .17hmr, leupold 8-25x50, sak supressor
    tikka t3 .223 tactical, bushnell yardage pro, ase utra supressor
    mauser m03 30-06, s&b 6-25x50,
    browning cynergy 12g.

all left handed too. the tikka conversion is thanks to southern rifles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭noel farrell

sako in 25.o6 very flat shooting enough thump for anything in ireland happy hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭derek_g34

Sako TRG-22 .308
    Glock 34 9mm
    Fabarm Pump

Bring on the zombies:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭lordarpad

k_d wrote: »
    Tikka t3 lite .223
    Baikal sbs 12g thats like swinging a bag of coal

sorry to hear that, I was interested in the Baikal sbs

Anschutz 1807L in .22

Currently pricing a Remington 700 VSF in .308

Also thinking of licensing (not buying, someone else's) Anshutz 1710 in .22 for bunnies, as the target rifle isn't the most useful tool for them.
    Hi,sorry if in seem rude,new to Boards and Comfuters!!just noticed your pricing a VSF
    i've had 2,first 1 was a complete piece of sh1t,tool marks,tares etc in lands(visable by eye&bore light),accuracy was non existant,my dealer was 100%but importers insisted on check by their Gsmith who said=perfect,accurate,lapped bore,no problem!it came back worse and with rusted bore!struggled to get replacement but insisted,2nd arrived with damaged stock!(switched with 1st)but perfect barrel and VERY accurate gun,CHECK everything before you buy, to be honest i think 700 actions are over rated,happy with mine now but$$$$$ spent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 jimmyzx

CZ .22lr
    Ruger M77 Mk2 .223 stainless, synthetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

lordarpad wrote: »

lol stay away save up another few bob and get something better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

Dont be put off. mine is at least 20 years old!!, iv handled the newer ones and they are ok,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Dont let that put you off, The Baikal is a great country gun I have one that is 21 years old. indestructable, I say. Ideal for beating ditches. Think about what you want to do with it and if its rough shooting your grand so long as it fits, if it gets damaged your not going to freak.

Friend of mine as a lovely silver pigeon sporter, went out on the first and brought it back with a couple of nice scratches on it (poor divil) he was crying. He now goes rough shooting with a second hand lanber

They used to say that Baikals were made from second hand railway sleepers. My Baikal as made in USSR on it. (a country that doesnt exist for all you kids out there

kakashka wrote: »
    Hi,sorry if in seem rude,new to Boards and Comfuters!!just noticed your pricing a VSF
    i've had 2,first 1 was a complete piece of sh1t,tool marks,tares etc in lands(visable by eye&bore light),accuracy was non existant,my dealer was 100%but importers insisted on check by their Gsmith who said=perfect,accurate,lapped bore,no problem!it came back worse and with rusted bore!struggled to get replacement but insisted,2nd arrived with damaged stock!(switched with 1st)but perfect barrel and VERY accurate gun,CHECK everything before you buy, to be honest i think 700 actions are over rated,happy with mine now but$$$$$ spent

hmm, that's food for thought. I'll definitely see whether I can try it out before I buy it. I do trust the dealer I'm talking to though, entirely sound guy, so I don't think he'll be doing me a bad deal anyway.

I'm primarily interested in the Remington because
    a) I like the action. It feels very solid and reassuring.
    b) It's got a better stock than its competitors.

By all accounts it's accurate enough too. If it'll do around MOA or under I'm happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

cz .22 and lumar scirocco over and under.

Have you handled the VSF?stock(first thing i changed) is too light for me,very nose heavy gun or poorly balanced whichever you prefer,IMHO Howa make a better action(basically copy of 700)and if your on budget i'd take a look at them,issues i had were not with dealer but production quality,my VSF is very accurate as i said but you can also get a lemon,
    my mission was to customise=700.
    good luck with the quest

Have you handled the VSF?stock(first thing i changed) is too light for me,very nose heavy gun or poorly balanced whichever you prefer,IMHO Howa make a better action(basically copy of 700)and if your on budget i'd take a look at them,issues i had were not with dealer but production quality,my VSF is very accurate as i said but you can also get a lemon,
    my mission was to customise=700.
    good luck with the quest

No, but it looks a much nicer and more solid job than its competitors, Savage and Tikka. I'm going for a lefty rifle, so my options are more limited than most, and Howa don't make a lefty that I've seen, and the stocks on the Savage and Tikka both have reports of being a little plastic-feeling.

Obviously I don't want to spend over the odds, but I'm not going to buy a cheaper rifle for the sake of it either. The HS Precision stock on the Remington has good reports from what I've read. As regards being nose-heavy, it is a 26" heavy-contoured barrel, so I suppose that's definitely to be expected, but since my target rifle is the same, it won't come as a surprise either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭lordarpad

Have a look @ Roesler Titan 6. Made in Austria

http://www.jagd-shop.at/english/home.html

There's a shop up north that stocks them. prices are more than reasonable.

contact for the shop:

sales@fieldandstream.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Sako 85 Deluxe .308
    Anschutz lr .22
    Glock 17 9mm
    Beretta o/u

No, but it looks a much nicer and more solid job than its competitors, Savage and Tikka. I'm going for a lefty rifle, so my options are more limited than most, and Howa don't make a lefty that I've seen, and the stocks on the Savage and Tikka both have reports of being a little plastic-feeling.

Obviously I don't want to spend over the odds, but I'm not going to buy a cheaper rifle for the sake of it either. The HS Precision stock on the Remington has good reports from what I've read. As regards being nose-heavy, it is a 26" heavy-contoured barrel, so I suppose that's definitely to be expected, but since my target rifle is the same, it won't come as a surprise either.
    Yes stock is a nice shape and feels right +alloy spine which you know already i'm sure but finish seems to be just sprayed on and very hard to clean,2nd VSF stock had bald patches from rubbing in cardboard packaging1st seemed to have far smoother better finish

Odd. Cheers for the report though, definitely food for thought. Suppose there's a possibility that, being left-handed, the lower production volume should technically result in better quality control, but what should be the case rarely matches what is in fact the case.

How accurate is yours now anyway? Original barrel? any custom work to the action?

Odd. Cheers for the report though, definitely food for thought. Suppose there's a possibility that, being left-handed, the lower production volume should technically result in better quality control, but what should be the case rarely matches what is in fact the case.

How accurate is yours now anyway? Original barrel? any custom work to the action?
    I guess barrel's would be same L or RH
    Shooting very well,clover leaf at 100m,original barrel,action=
    Pacific T&G OS bolt body
    Tubb speed lock alloy Fpin
    Tubb Cr silicon Fpin spring
    Tubb sako style extractor
    3position safety/shroud
    Holland B handle
    PRI extended 1913 rail
    and still working on it
    and only seems to like 167gr Lapua scennarHPBT

I guess barrel's would be same L or RH
    Shooting very well,clover leaf at 100m,original barrel,action=
    Pacific T&G OS bolt body
    Tubb speed lock alloy Fpin
    Tubb Cr silicon Fpin spring
    Tubb sako style extractor
    3position safety/shroud
    Holland B handle
    PRI extended 1913 rail
    and still working on it
    and only seems to like 167gr Lapua scennarHPBT

Barrel, yes, action, no, but you're right, if it's a bad barrel, there's going to be a lot of bitching and moaning to get it sorted.

As I recall, the dealer talked to the importers, who had one in stock (I was shocked they had a lefty, but there may have been a miscommunication somewhere and they in fact don't), so I might ask him to get hold of it and I can have a look and make sure everything is up to standard. Not handing over hard-earned cash otherwise.

Barrel, yes, action, no, but you're right, if it's a bad barrel, there's going to be a lot of bitching and moaning to get it sorted.

As I recall, the dealer talked to the importers, who had one in stock (I was shocked they had a lefty, but there may have been a miscommunication somewhere and they in fact don't), so I might ask him to get hold of it and I can have a look and make sure everything is up to standard. Not handing over hard-earned cash otherwise.
    Would be surprised if they had LH VSF in stock to be honest
    not sure what your intend to use VSF for but
    another thing to note is newer type trigger is not adjustable
    sorry but i dont know when they changed and as far as i'm aware you cant tell without taking stock off,in standard spec it's truely horrible
    also IMO floor plate mag is equally horrible(thrown out with my stock)
    you should at least handle 1,IMO nothing like a 22 BR rifle

Would be surprised if they had LH VSF in stock to be honest
    not sure what your intend to use VSF for but
    another thing to note is newer type trigger is not adjustable
    sorry but i dont know when they changed and as far as i'm aware you cant tell without taking stock off,in standard spec it's truely horrible
    also IMO floor plate mag is equally horrible(thrown out with my stock)
    you should at least handle 1,IMO nothing like a 22 BR rifle

Use would be deer and long range targets.

As far as I know it is adjustable, it's just not immediately apparent how to do it. I'll cope with a trigger upgrade if needs be anyway. Don't have a problem with floorplate mags either, never really understood the hatred personally.

I will do, should get a chance to have a look at it and test-fire it anyway before I buy, dealer is a sound guy. Besides, I shoot a free rifle, it's meant to be shot standing. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

35 year old Anschutz hornet with a 3-9x40 Zeiss Conquest. Rifle shoots overlapping groups at 100 yards. Unfortunatley I'm not as good as the rifle.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭medicman

Tikka T3 Lite .270 with T8 mod and Swarovski Z6 scope

Beretta FS92 Inox 9mm

Miroku o/u

I love my toy's, Family or shooting? family or shooting? family or shooting? mmmmmmmmmmmm???

Use would be deer and long range targets.

As far as I know it is adjustable, it's just not immediately apparent how to do it. I'll cope with a trigger upgrade if needs be anyway. Don't have a problem with floorplate mags either, never really understood the hatred personally.

I will do, should get a chance to have a look at it and test-fire it anyway before I buy, dealer is a sound guy. Besides, I shoot a free rifle, it's meant to be shot standing. ;)
    Floor plate's are dangerous,breach unload is not safe,simple as.
    newer trigger may be described as adjustable but in reality it's not.
    as far as off the shoulder goes=suggest you start stocking up on creatine!:D(mine touching 9kg)

newer trigger may be described as adjustable but in reality it's not.
    as far as off the shoulder goes=suggest you start stocking up on creatine!:D(mine touching 9kg)

Why unsafe? Never heard that before. Also,isn't it hinged floorplate, so can just be opened at the bottom?

Yeah, 8kg free rifle with iron sights, and I scope it up for bunnies, so I'll take me chances. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

blazer might have some thing to say about that .you dont have to chamber the round to take it out

jwshooter wrote: »
    blazer might have some thing to say about that .you dont have to chamber the round to take it out
    You dont have to of course,but according to my Remington owners manual that is the primary way to empty magazine.as i said before,changed mine asap to suit myself. no experience of Blazer system.

Why unsafe? Never heard that before. Also,isn't it hinged floorplate, so can just be opened at the bottom?

Yeah, 8kg free rifle with iron sights, and I scope it up for bunnies, so I'll take me chances. ;)
    VSF ideal for bunnies!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

You dont have to of course,but according to my Remington owners manual that is the primary way to empty magazine.as i said before,changed mine asap to suit myself. no experience of Blazer system.

thats any rifle with a blind mag ,just push the bullet forward to till it comes free of the mag and it will roll out ..
    you dont have to or should not chamber the round to un load a rifle.
    especially a remmie as it has no over ride safety system.

thats any rifle with a blind mag ,just push the bullet forward to till it comes free of the mag and it will roll out ..
    you dont have to or should not chamber the round to un load a rifle.
    especially a remmie as it has no over ride safety system.
    VSF does not have a blind mag.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

VSF ideal for bunnies!:rolleyes:

He was talking about his free rifle, an Anschutz 1813 in .22lr.

IRLConor wrote: »
    He was talking about his free rifle, an Anschutz 1813 in .22lr.
    And i WAS talking about VSF .308