Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

March Madness Weekend @ The Jackpot!!!

• 21-01-2009 3:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭

March Madness Weekend
    March 27th – March 29th
    Just so you can get some planning in for March here is our March Madness weekend. The Weekend kicks off with the Padraig Parkinson Charity Tournament on Friday 27th of March. It promises to be great fun and I'm sure there will be many familiar faces. On Saturday we will be holding our cash league with an estimated €30,000 in prize money. Finally on Sunday the 29th of March we will be holding a team event capped at 27 teams hope to see you all there.....

Friday March 27th 9pm
    €100+€10 No-Limit Hold’em Freezeout
    The Padraig Parkinson Charity Tournament
    In Aid Of
    Dublin Simon Community
    100% of reg fee goes to Dublin Simon Community
    20% of prize pool goes to Dublin Simon Community
    Satellites from 6pm
    1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.) The Jackpot
    2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.) Charity and fun
    3. Date and Location of event 27th March @ The Jackpot
    4. Registration and Start time of event. Reg from 7.30pm game starts at 9pm
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc) must be a member of colossus
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.) tickets can be purchased on the day or you can guarantee your seat by phoning The Jackpot. Capped at 130 players
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.) Hold'em Freezeout
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €100 no rebuy/top-up
    9. Cost of registration €10
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund 80%
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much no
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. no
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. n/a
    13. Starting Chips 7000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. n/a
    15. Blind levels
    25 50
    50 100
    75 150
    100 200
    150 300
    200 400
    300 600
    400 800
    500 1000
    600 1200
    800 1500
    1000 2000
    1500 3000
    etc...

16. Blind timeframes 30 mins all night
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc) 10% of the field on the night
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill yes professional!
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules yes
    20. Is there a tournament director yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. td
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered. yes €4 per person per half hr for €50 games and €6 per person per half hr for €100 game

Saturday March 28th 8pm
    Cash League Final
    Estimated Prize Pool €30,000
    This is a freeroll event. To qualify you must play 50 hours worth of cash games between January 10th and March 27th. The top 18 places will be paid. €500 will be awarded to the player with the most qualifying hours.

Sunday March 29th 4pm
    €100+€10 No-Limit Hold’em Team Event
    4 players per team, limited to 27 teams
    €100+€10 entry fee is per player (€440 per team)
    First 27 teams fully paid will be accepted.
    60% of prize fund will be paid out to the first 3 teams as follows*: 1st €3,500 2nd €2,000 3rd €1,000
    40% of prize fund will be paid out to individuals at the final table as follows*: 1st €1,200 2nd €800 3rd €600 4th €500 5th €400 6th €300 7th €200 8th €150 9th €150

*Subject to 27 teams entered
    1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.) The Jackpot
    2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.) Commercial
    3. Date and Location of event March 29th @ The Jackpot
    4. Registration and Start time of event. Reg up until 2.30pm game starts at 4pm
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc) must be a member of colossus
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.) tickets can be purchased on the day unless sold out or you can guarantee your seat by paying beforehand at the The Jackpot. Capped at 27 teams
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.) Hold'em Freezeout
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €100 no rebuy/top-up
    9. Cost of registration €10
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund 100%
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much no
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. no
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. n/a
    13. Starting Chips 6000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. n/a
    15. Blind levels
    25 50
    50 100
    75 150
    100 200
    150 300
    200 400
    300 600
    400 800
    500 1000
    600 1200
    800 1500
    1000 2000
    1500 3000
    etc...

16. Blind timeframes 30 mins all night
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc) top 3 teams and also final table of individual players. Teams 60% and individuals 40% of total prize money
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill yes professional!
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules yes
    20. Is there a tournament director yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. td
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered. yes €4 per person per half hr for €50 games and €6 per person per half hr for €100 game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭jackdaniels55

ok just to let everyone know there has been plenty of interest in the friday game and spots have already been reserved, its the same for the team event. Both tournies are capped so if you want to play book your seats now to avoid missing out on a great weekend of poker:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭jackdaniels55

ok 12 teams are booked for the team event on the sunday and there has been loads of interest so if you are interested in entering a team please contact us asap!!!! Remember we are capping the team event at 27 teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭thejackpot

ok just so you know we have 14 teams already registered for this including teams from boyles, devilfish and card player and of course our very own jackpot dealer team..... its capped at 27 teams so if you want to be in you need to register soon as we've had loads of interest and are waiting for about 10 teams to get back to us!!!!!

ok here's a list for the team event we only have 10 spaces left so if you want to play get your names and a deposit into the Jackpot asap!!!
    4 Boylesports teams
    Jackpot Dealers
    Matties Carlow
    Regency Casino
    Pokerireland
    Paddy Power
    Devilfish Poker
    Fortune Rooms
    Eglington Casino
    Card Player Media
    Lee Devlin
    Bruce Poker
    The Jackpotters

ok we have 35 players registered for the charity event on the Friday night with some of the best known players in the irsish poker scene including 8 past Irish Open champions so get your names into us asap as this event is also capped remember all reg goes to charity!!!
    The team event is almost full only 8 spaces left so if you're planning on playing let us know either pm on boards or phone the Jackpot

Only a few spaces left for teams so if you are interested get in contact with us asap!!!!

ok so there are 5 spaces left for the team event so if you want to play please get in touch with us asap!!!!!

ok 2 spaces left for the team event so phone or pm to book a spot!!! We are also taking deposits for the charity event on the Friday 40 paid up so far!!!

Boylepoker.com and The Jackpot to host ‘Race the Champ’ with Marty Smyth at Poker for the Homeless March Madness weekend

‘Coin Flip’ charity event added to Poker for the Homeless weekend as former Miss World Rosanna Davidson takes on World Champion Marty Smyth in A-K suited vs Q-Q challenge; eight Irish Open champions confirmed, and team event almost sold out
    Race the Champ, starting at 8 p.m. on Friday evening ahead of the main event at 9 p.m., will give players the chance to race pot-limit Omaha world champion Marty Smyth. Marty’s opponent will choose either A-K suited or Q-Q, while Marty will receive the hole card not chosen by his opponent. They then play out the hand with the winner having the highest poker hand.
    Players can buy in for €20 and the first round will see Marty’s opponents allowed multiple rebuys. Players who win their coin flip will progress to the next round until one player remains. If Marty wins, the charity receives all the buy in money, and if his opponent wins he gets to keep half the cash with the charity benefitting from the other half.
    The first hand of Race the Champ will be between former Miss World Rosanna Davidson and Smyth.

Oh and only one spot left on the team event list!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

thejackpot wrote: »
    ok we have 35 players registered for the charity event on the Friday night with some of the best known players in the irsish poker scene including 8 past Irish Open champions so get your names into us asap as this event is also capped remember all reg goes to charity!!!
    The team event is almost full only 8 spaces left so if you're planning on playing let us know either pm on boards or phone the Jackpot

Can you put Nicky Power and Pat Storan down for Fridays game pls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Put me down for the Friday please; Stephen Mc Lean.

Do you have an Irish Open satellite on the Saturday?....Also, confirm pokerireland for the team event on Sunday, lol :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

Put me down for the friday please.

Marc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Team event point-scoring structure please?

Team event is full however we are gonna have a reserve list of 3 teams so you can still put your names down!! Currently the charity event has 60 runners so its already half full this game is capped at 130 players so get back to me if you want to be included!!

no irish open satellite this saturday think we might be a little bit busy:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

Can you hold a place for me on the Friday too please? :)
    Ronan Gallagher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

will you put me down for a place aswell:):)
    Colette Murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭anto77

can u hold a seat for anto m? Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭FuttBucker

please hold a seat for me, Tom Emo, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭pgodkin

Can you please hold a seat for me thanks Philip Godkin, Can drop in buy in tommorrow night sometime

the names above are reg'd... Just to let you know the team event is now full and there are 50 places left in the friday game but we do expect it to be sold out

For those of you who haven't paid already but have reg'd make sure you are there on time (20 mins before the start of the tournament) or else we will give your seats away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Just in case you didnt get the PM, can you put my name down for place on Friday, Ruairi Park

Cheers

Tourney starts at 9pm make sure you're here on time we will allow late entries for the first level but currently its looking like it will sell out!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 thebullets

the poster suggested there were satellites at 6... is this still a runner??

sats from 6 if there is interest probably be a €23 10 handed sng with 2 tickets.... maybe even a couple of blind omaha's just for a bit of fun!!! Dont forget the coin flip challenge against Marty Smyth starts at 8pm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Castlerock

Are there any places left in the tourney? If so can you book a place for me and 3 others (regulars who want to play) - Colm Ryan, Ross O Neill, Warren O Neill & Paul Ryan

Let me know,

Thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Anyone heading in for the early sat? think i may as well give it a go as finished work early today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Save me a seat in the tourny too, if possible. Seeing how I won't have work to worry about.

Names Bryan Mulhall

Anyone heading in for the early sat? think i may as well give it a go as finished work early today!!

Im heading in after work as well for the sats. May as well warm up for the main event. I think with the responses here there will be enough interest in satellites to have few. Look out for me, ill be the guy pushing blind every hand lol

put me down for a sat also... coming from laois but shud be there for 6...

conor sweeney

thebullets wrote: »
    put me down for a sat also... coming from laois but shud be there for 6...

conor sweeney

Thats dedication right there lol.

Also your name is oddly familiar to me, please provide a full and extensive family and school history lol. Prob will know u to see

related to padraig...

btw.... poker success is not hereditary!!!

thebullets wrote: »
    related to padraig...

btw.... poker success is not hereditary!!!

We're all related to Padraig in some small way anyway lol. Can only hope i get his table, he's usually a laugh a minute

even better if he ships u some of his chips!!!

c u there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Castlerock

is there any seats left for this??

how do i reserve a few?

is padraig parkinson gonna pot size bluff me if he senses weakness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

Hi could you reserve 4 seats for tonight.

Carl O'Connell
    TJ Tracy
    Dave Kinane
    Pat Mitchell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

Suppose it was normal enough losing the 35k pot in level 3 with the effective nuts on the turn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭wendelsailor

Note to self: I can't see into someone's soul.......................

Edit: After seven Pints

AKQJ10 wrote: »
    Suppose it was normal enough losing the 35k pot in level 3 with the effective nuts on the turn
    Note to self: I can't see into someone's soul.......................

Edit: After seven Pints

i should have won anyone lookin for im float down the liffy:o

Firstly i'd like to thank all of you who attended on behalf of the Jackpot and the Simon Community it was a great night and the money raised will be put to good use currently we have raised just over 3 grand so well done to you all!!!
    The tournament itself had 92 runners
    1st Damien Balfe 2200
    2nd Phlip Godkin 1200
    3rd Noel McMahon 910
    4th Connor Sweeney 750
    5th Steve Chambers 500
    6th Daisy 500
    7th Eamonn Connelly 500
    8th Anto M 400
    9th 400

Hopefully Sunday will be equally as successful, once again thanks to all who supported us!!!!

Great craic, good tournament,
    out in 12th QQ V AK all in for 160K pot
    K flop A turn, coat on by river.

Had a great time, Jackpot looks good, nice new chips.... great atmosphere
    wrecked today though.

smurph wrote: »
    Great craic, good tournament,
    out in 12th QQ V AK all in for 160K pot
    K flop A turn, coat on by river.

Had a great time, Jackpot looks good, nice new chips.... great atmosphere
    wrecked today though.

Wild unlucky sumrph and after u dogged a set of three's on the turn with a straight flush on the river and all (all in pre) no justice

The guy u lost to won it in the end and to say he didnt play (and run) well would be a complete lie, the kid couldnt find the fold button the whole FT, although i had him all in for his tourny life with A7c Vs KQo, flop an A turn a Q river K!

Taking down the Fitz game tonight so that will pull be back from the edge of the liffy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Samoa Joe

pgodkin wrote: »
    Wild unlucky sumrph and after u dogged a set of three's on the turn with a straight flush on the river and all (all in pre) no justice

The guy u lost to won it in the end and to say he didnt play (and run) well would be a complete lie, the kid couldnt find the fold button the whole FT, although i had him all in for his tourny life with A7c Vs KQo, flop an A turn a Q river K!

Taking down the Fitz game tonight so that will pull be back from the edge of the liffy!!

:( That was against me

do u rem a certain 45o hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Congrats on the 2nd place Phillip.

KevIRL wrote: »
    Congrats on the 2nd place Phillip.

Thanks Kev, Running hotter than Jesus is Fun! :D

Edit: The Charity got a great lift in the end, as Qutoed from Barry G book (Ace on The River) "All that money is lost from the poker world forever Squander on the poor and needy" Possible the funiest thing i ever heard!

do u rem a certain 45o hand

Lol was that you? I didnt call for the ruling but that was hilarious!

Guys we are blogging live from the final table being held at the Jackpot.

It can be found at the link below

http://www.boylesports.com/sections/poker/

lol yep, like something ya see on da internet. Nothing compared to my J 10 re-shove V AJ all in J 10 4 flop,,,, go red sit back down,, stack chips, do not get eye contact.... hide donkey ears:rolleyes:

PS FOR THOSE PLAYING THE TEAM EVENT TODAY DON'T FORGET THE CLOCKS WENT FORWARD LAST NIGHT....