Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

teachers and their wages. bs.

• 20-01-2009 1:31pm

the fekin cheek of them.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/teachers-brand-pay-and-pensions-cuts-unacceptable-1607171.html

oh so i'm in college doing a degree for no reason, what can i possibly do after? become a teacher.

a friend of mine this summer will earn 2900euro a month for 15 hours of work a week.

wage at 15euro x 15hours a week. grand. get paid for doing nothing.

plus 30euro x 15hours a week for taking kids to cinema and field trips etc.

why the feck isn't it part of their normal wage to do the field trips and cinema? instead of double pay on top or regular pay.

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Yeah, why bother invest in kids/education. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

why the feck isn't it part of their normal wage to do the field trips and cinema? instead of double pay on top or regular pay.

:mad:

Because they are teachers (i.e they teach) not parents i.e. (parenting)

Savman wrote: »
    why overpay?

government deficit goin into an overpaid pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Savman wrote: »

That's not investing in kids, thats the teachers pay check.

There is a difference, investing in kids would be using the double time pay to replace the prefab's littered around the country that leak or have insufficient heating.

as far as i'm concerned, 45euro an hour to go to the cinema with kids is too much.

amirite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Not all the kids of this country are little angels.

I presume you haven't had the misfortune of standing in front of a class of these miscreants.

I know a couple of teachers who teach in Inner City Dublin schools...and TBH the pay they get is not enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Rants about teachers are tired and old. The media constantly stir sh1t about them on slow-news days and the ignorant masses lap it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Genuine teachers aren't in it for the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I have absolutely **** all sympathy for teachers. I work all year round like many others, those bastards get months and months of holidays and get paid for it and are still complaining at the prospect of losing some euros.

Their argument is that the job is hard but christ, they shouldn't have taken it then should they? And if I remember correctly, when I was in school I had a lot of teachers who hadn't a clue HOW to teach. There were only a few which really stuck out in my memory that were great. Also, correcting tests and homework is part of your job so stop moaning about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

When things were good and the cost of living was going up, people were demanding pay increases and striking if they didn't receive them.

Now the cost of living is going way down, the cost of food, rent, oil etc is continuing to drop so why shouldn't wages drop with it? Because people want even more money? Tough sh1t tbh. Drop wages, drop the minimum wage significantly and lets focus on attracting foreign investment again so at least people have jobs to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Give the teachers electric cattle prods and reduce their pay, I'm sure most of them would go along with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Wagon wrote: »
    I have absolutely **** all sympathy for teachers. I work all year round like many others, those bastards get months and months of holidays and get paid for it and are still complaining at the prospect of losing some euros.

Their argument is that the job is hard but christ, they shouldn't have taken it then should they? And if I remember correctly, when I was in school I had a lot of teachers who hadn't a clue HOW to teach. There were only a few which really stuck out in my memory that were great. Also, correcting tests and homework is part of your job so stop moaning about it.
    Absolutely, there's some appalling teachers who are not only paid extremely well for the bad job they do, but have an almost unrivalled job security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

What annoys me about teachers is they can't even be sacked for say their whole class failing. I know Government jobs are a job for life here but it's a bit much in it stretching that far. If a teacher can't be sacked for not being able to teach then could a lorry driver not be sacked for not being able to drive? I don't think so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I'm teaching right now.......shhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

having experienced being an English language teacher, I can say its a fcking difficult job requiring fairly consistent concentration for long hours. Now some teachers are crap and take the p1ss, but its a well paid job for a reason. They get sh1t from the admin, the parents and their kids. The holidays are there to prevent nervous breakdowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    What annoys me about teachers is they can't even be sacked for say their whole class failing. I know Government jobs are a job for life here but it's a bit much in it stretching that far. If a teacher can't be sacked for not being able to teach then could a lorry driver not be sacked for not being able to drive? I don't think so

For what it's worth, a lot of teachers are actually against the current job security setup. Especially the younger more idealistic teachers who are good at their jobs but cannot get places at schools because a bunch of relics from the 70s who have lost the will/ability to teach are unsackable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

amifullofshite

FYP.

stovelid wrote: »
    FYP.

Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

javaboy wrote: »
    For what it's worth, a lot of teachers are actually against the current job security setup. Especially the younger more idealistic teachers who are good at their jobs but cannot get places at schools because a bunch of relics from the 70s who have lost the will/ability to teach are unsackable.

Yeah, those old hags, we've all had one of them. To be honest, annual teacher assessment tests should be introduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

the fekin cheek of them.

I agree! Especially when they are clearly not educating the yoof about the perplexing world of capital letters.

*Shakes fist*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I cant understand why teachers with all their time off..have "in service days" during school terms and then the whole school closes???:confused:

Why not during the summer when they are being paid anyway?

Plus I know a teacher in my old school who came in pissed several times and was sent home by the principal...:eek:

Sanctions?? Like hell there was..all brushed under the carpet and no more said about it.

mp3guy wrote: »
    Yeah, those old hags, we've all had one of them. To be honest, annual teacher assessment tests should be introduced.

I've had many more than one unfortunately. :( My old business studies teacher thought she was Sharon Stone's cousin and depending on what day it was, either the wife of a senior Garda or the wife of a certain Irish off-licence chain owner.

mp3guy wrote: »

Apparantly now though there isn't the money to pay for teaching inspectors to go around and inspect any teachers except those on work experience before they get their degree and start properly and those in the first year of teaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Darkbloom

The thing is, though, if you cut teachers' wages dramatically, the people entering the industry aren't going to be the best (not that they are now, or ever were, but they'll be worse). Lower wages and bigger classroom sizes (which would be the impact if they're cutting 1,000 jobs) - doesn't look good for the future.

Incidentally, is this just primary teachers that will be affected, or is it secondary teachers too?

I dont think the job is that well paid TBH

Sure it starts off good (for a 24/25 yr old) and holidays etc

But I am 29 and on €57,500 pa (private sector professional)...who long wld a teacher have to work to hit that figure..best part of 30 years I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

well I remember it well when the teachers were on RTE news outside a conference around 2004 saying how they created they celtic tiger and wanted big pay increases etc etc blah de blah and they want x y and z. Well now that we are in recession can they stand up and say they helped create that also? Same story for all other public servants I guess, way too much time to play politics (alot of TD's are ex-teachers) if you ask me.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

having experienced being an English language teacher, I can say its a fcking difficult job requiring fairly consistent concentration for long hours. Now some teachers are crap and take the p1ss, but its a well paid job for a reason. They get sh1t from the admin, the parents and their kids. The holidays are there to prevent nervous breakdowns.
    I have to concentrate for long hours in my job. I get **** from people all the time and I work longer days and don't get months off at a time (hell, I'm even stuck with the set builders holidays). I don't get paid as much as teachers. I don't have the job security of teachers. So I say f*ck them (and I know some teachers so I mean that! ;);) nudge nudge).

Teaching is nowhere near as difficult a job as it's made out to be. It's not easy by any stretch of the imagination, but it's still not as hard as claimed. I agree with Mp3guy that there should be some sort of assemssment. Maybe not every year, but if a teacher is mucking up a class they should be f*cked out on their ear like anyone else. Job security should be a reward so that maybe people will start working hard and stop the country falling into the crap next time round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I cant understand why teachers with all their time off..have "in service days" during school terms and then the whole school closes???:confused:

Why not during the summer when they are being paid anyway?

Plus I know a teacher in my old school who came in pissed several times and was sent home by the principal...:eek:

Sanctions?? Like hell there was..all brushed under the carpet and no more said about it.

Did you go to school in Mahon??? I had teachers do the same things!!!!!

I know national teachers who bitch on about how hard it is etc etc and the best one...having to correct homework...

Now if reading essays written by 10 yr olds is hard work:eek: then that says more about the teacher than anything else..they havent got a clue.

Did you go to school in Mahon??? I had teachers do the same things!!!!!

No I didnt..it was in a good area:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

There is some folk that clearly have no comprehension of what it takes to be a teacher in today's society.

All I'm reading is crap from those with huge chips on their shoulders from ignorance and/or blindness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

as far as i'm concerned, 45euro an hour to go to the cinema with kids is too much.

amirite

I don't know, I've seen some awful feckin' movies in the cinema lately. 45 euro wouldn't cover the costs of the mental anguish!

Biggins wrote: »
    There is some folk that clearly have no comprehension of what it takes to be a teacher in today's society.

All I'm reading is crap from those with huge chips on their shoulders from ignorance and/or blindness!

I am afraid that is a cop out of a reply...what about a comprehensive rebuttal?

I think it is reasonable to assume that all the posters here have spent the best part of 20 yrs in school and now prob have friends who are teachers so we are all have first hand experience of the teaching profession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Right, looks like its teachers today.

Will I bring my own Pitchfork/Torch or will there be some supplied on the Band Wagon?

I've always felt that the type of person who gives out about teacher's earnings, are the type who would be down at the school saying their little Jimmy was a little angel whenever he was running amok.

Hard Larry wrote: »

Will I bring my own Pitchfork/Torch or will there be some supplied on the Band Wagon?

We still have some left from the last taxi driver crusade but most of the good ones are gone.

I think postmen are up tomorrow. Bringing down the economy with their excessive salaries and infernal morning whistling.

Biggins wrote: »

Not really. Most people were in school from age 4 to 18 so if we got a ****e teacher then we were there to reap the rewards. I couldn't do long division until i was 10 cos that drunken **** who teached me the year before kept falling asleep in class. If having a chip in your shoulder about people who were incapable to teaching you something is wrong, so be it.

No but just bring some car chase music, you know of the country and western variety

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

I reckon anyone that thinks they get paid too much should try controling and teaching 30 little fcukers every day. It'd be a nightmare! I know the holidays are good, but the thoughts of teaching a class of kids every day are horrible!

Anyway, if it's such a cushy number, nothing stopping anyone becoming one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Trouble2008

If it's not cab drivers, it's farmers or nurses and now teachers...

The Economy is in a RECESSION i believe we should all work towards saving it, would 10% cut kill us?
    NO!!!!

I couldn't do long division until i was 10 cos that drunken **** who teached me the year before kept falling asleep in class.

Was your English teacher an alco as well?

I dont think anyone begrudges teachers getting well paid etc in an often thankless environment.

But the point is they do get paid well and are well compensated. They dont seem to realise how cushy they have it.

What annoys people is that they are constantly moaning, they think everyone else has it better. I mean if they are that miserable why dont they leave?:confused: Like hell they would

Plus the complete lack of accountability and lack of monitoring. Good teachers should be rightly rewarded but crap teachers will stay where they are for years on end waiting for pensions...they lack scrutiny and accountability is what annoys people..IMO

Please dont start the whole spelling crap on this thread..its tired and petty.:rolleyes:

stovelid wrote: »
    Was your English teacher an alco as well?

Yeah but she roamed boards pointing out small spelling mistakes trying to be funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Their argument is that the job is hard but christ, they shouldn't have taken it then should they? And if I remember correctly, when I was in school I had a lot of teachers who hadn't a clue HOW to teach....

OK, so if we pay less, we will get more competent teachers? Huh?

We want high quality education. That means we want high quality educators. When we have a surplus of excellent teachers, then we can consider a cut. Right now, we don't.

I dont think anyone begrudges teachers getting well paid etc in an often thankless environment.

But the point is they do get paid well and are well compensated. They dont seem to realise how cushy they have it.

What annoys people is that they are constantly moaning, they think everyone else has it better. I mean if they are that miserable why dont they leave?:confused: Like hell they would

Plus the complete lack of accountability and lack of monitoring. Good teachers should be rightly rewarded but crap teachers will stay where they are for years on end waiting for pensions...they lack scrutiny and accountability is what annoys people..IMO

I don't think they are particularly well paid, not when you see some of the wages in other sectors.

Also, cuts in teaching affect students, whether by turning talented graduates away from teaching or demoralizing existing teachers.

Agree totally with your points on accountability and lack of monitoring though.

people here on about a teachers job being tough.. is everything else easy like?

a kid annoying the feck out of you is bad but so is an actually stressful job.

OK, so if we pay less, we will get more competent teachers? Huh?

We want high quality education. That means we want high quality educators. When we have a surplus of excellent teachers, then we can consider a cut. Right now, we don't.

No to get competent teachers now you change the requirements needed to study to become a teacher, not keep letting the same ones through

Not really. Most people were in school from age 4 to 18 so if we got a ****e teacher then we were there to reap the rewards. I couldn't do long division until i was 10 cos that drunken **** who teached me the year before kept falling asleep in class. If having a chip in your shoulder about people who were incapable to teaching you something is wrong, so be it.

What age do kids usually learn long-division? Not trying to be funny, I just honestly cannot remember.

Really though..Did your parents not see this? And if they did could they not complain to the school? My school was put into classes on a sliding scale based on ability. Were you in a lower class?