Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best/worst Irish accent in a film ?

• 19-01-2009 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭

Obviously from a foreign actor:D
    For me I thought John Voigt in the general did a brilliant Irish accent as did Kate Blanchet in Veronica Guerin. They really did their research.
    Kevin Spacey on the other hand was absolutely terrible in ordinary decent criminal. I had to turn the film off after 10 minutes it was so bad!:eek:
    Can anyone suggest any more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bikki

Worst

Richard Gere - The Jackel

Sure to be sure

Best

Brad Pitt - Snatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

Worst- Kevin Spacey, Ordinary Decent Criminal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 delboy1981

Kevin Spacey in Ordinary decent criminal - horrific!

Not as bad but nevertheless awful was Tom Cruise in Far and Away.

For a spine chillingly female attempt - Julia Roberts in Michael Collins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

worst = richard gere in the jackall closely followed by kevin spacey in oridinary decent criminal , tom cruise was woefull in far and away also

best = bradd pitt in the devils own or snatch, yes i said bradd pitt in the devils own , while many claim his accent was crap , its usually people from cookstown( thats where he was meant to be from ) in county tyrone who slag his effort but seriously , to the majority of people in ireland let alone overseas , his accent was pretty right on northern irish , i can forgive him for it perhaps being more crossmaglen than the falls road , its all the same to me

jon voight was terrific in the general too

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

delboy1981 wrote: »
    Not as bad but nevertheless awful was Tom Cruise in Far and Away.

That would be my nomination.. "what a corker ye are Shannon"

Did anyone hear of a child being called "Shannon" in the 19th/early 20th century????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Orson Welles in The Lady Of Shanghai was absolutely terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Gerard Butler was atrocious in PS I love you, but the worst has to be IRISHMAN Pierce Brosnan in Evelyn. "Whare's me daughtaaarrrrr?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Passenger

Johnny Depp in Chocolat was questionable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭smares

Has to be Pierce Brosnan in Evelyn and what makes it worse he was born in Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Daniel Day Lewis' Nordie accent was spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

That would be my nomination.. "what a corker ye are Shannon"

Did anyone hear of a child being called "Shannon" in the 19th/early 20th century????

Or a corker for that matter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

See also the previous threads on this question: here & here. :pac:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

bikki wrote: »
    Worst
    Best

Brad Pitt - Snatch
    Agree with this.

Tom Cruise in Far and Away was the worst for me. Yes worse than Kevin Spacey.

Leo Di Caprio in Gangs of New York was a stinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Gotta be the actor Gerard Butler (i think) in Ps I Love You. I will stress I didnt choose the movie at the time but my friend and I had a remote each. Anytime he spoke I pressed mute and my friend pressed subtitles so we could follow what was going on. Not worth the effort for movie quality but we had a good giggle at how terrible it was.. Awful, just awful.

Acutally Cameron Diaz in Gangs of New York was atrocious also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Emmsy

phasers wrote: »
    Gerard Butler was atrocious in PS I love you, but the worst has to be IRISHMAN Pierce Brosnan in Evelyn. "Whare's me daughtaaarrrrr?"

Seconded. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Linku

I don't understand how Gerard Butler's accent was so atrocious given that he's Scottish, not American.. should be easier

Seconding Cameron Diaz in Gangs of New York and added Kim Cattrall in The Tiger's Tail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

What always makes me laugh about Gaberial Byrne is that He never really looses his accent for any of his Films.

See Ususal Suspects and Assault on Precinct 13 for Examples.

My Nominations would be,

Richard Gere in the Jackal Worst obviously

Daniel Day Lewis in the name of the farther Considering he doesn't have a northern accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Mr. Frost

phasers wrote: »

:pac: That was shocking!

I'll got for Tommy Lee Jones in ''Blown Away''. ''Yer main Geraghty!''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Best-DDL in In the Name of the Father, hands down, top class.

Worst-Gerard Butler in P.S. I Love You, hang your head in shame for using Darby O'Gill as your one and only research piece.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭NedTermo

Boondock Saints (film with Billy Connolly in it with a jacket full of magnums)
    Whoever those two main dudes were they had the worst Irish accents in the history of bad Irish accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

NedTermo wrote: »
    Boondock Saints (film with Billy Connolly in it with a jacket full of magnums)
    Whoever those two main dudes were they had the worst Irish accents in the history of bad Irish accents.

Came to post this. Apparently the movie has cult status. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

the two "irish" lads in the boondock saints.....some movie and #2 on the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

Enlil_Nick wrote: »
    Came to post this. Apparently the movie has cult status. :confused:

yeah man....tis some comedy...one of my favs, it always cracks me up.....LEGEND!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

mada999 wrote: »
    yeah man....tis some comedy...one of my favs, it always cracks me up.....LEGEND!!!!

I Also Agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

When I was watching it I didn't get the feeling they meant it to be a comedy.

What definitely is funny are the ****-ups the director made during it's production, shown in this documentary (note: haven't actually seen this, just read about the director).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Tom Cruise - Far and Away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

BEST AND WORST - Brad Pitt in Snatch

Passenger wrote: »
    Leo Di Caprio in Gangs of New York was a stinker.

the whole movie was so bad , i didnt notice leo,s accent being that bad , i find it extrodinary that this movie got superb reviews for the most part

ziedth wrote: »
    What always makes me laugh about Gaberial Byrne is that He never really looses his accent for any of his Films.

See Ususal Suspects and Assault on Precinct 13 for Examples.

My Nominations would be,

Richard Gere in the Jackal Worst obviously

Daniel Day Lewis in the name of the farther Considering he doesn't have a northern accent.

gabriel byrne cant do an american accent to save his life , while i quite like him , i think hes an over rated actor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭jdscrubs

I remember Cameron Diaz having an "Irish Accent" that she used now & again & when she used it, it wasnt great but dont remember Di Caprio having an Irish Accent.

Best was Brad Pitt as he had the accent of the type of person he played spot cos you cant understand what they say anyway.

Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman had terrible accents in Far&Away.

In Hellboy 2, when they got to the Giants Causeway near the end, they met a legless creature who tried to speak with an Irish Accent, but failed miserably.

jdscrubs wrote: »
    I remember Cameron Diaz having an "Irish Accent" that she used now & again & when she used it, it wasnt great but dont remember Di Caprio having an Irish Accent.

Here they are doing it so abominably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

One more from the Hall of Shame: Julia Roberts as Mary Reilly.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

irish_bob wrote: »
    the whole movie was so bad , i didnt notice leo,s accent being that bad , i find it extrodinary that this movie got superb reviews for the most part

I think it's been an unwritten rule among critics for a long time not to pan anything with Daniel Day Lewis in it.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

As much as I hate Tom Cruise, Far and Away was set in 1880. People didn't go around saying staaary bud, I roide yer ma back then. Does anyone know what the accent from back then was actually like?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Best - John Voight - The General
    Worst - Cruise - Far & Away

"Shannon You're a Corker".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

Brad Pitt, while one of the most annoying men in the world, is a legend for Snatch. Pikey accent was perfect! Really did his homework there.

Seán Connery in The Untouchables, however...(Sideshow Bob grumble)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

My number one would've been Tom Cruise in Far and Away but he's been left miles behind by Lea Thompson in Back to the Future 3 which I watched again recently. She plays Maggie McFly in this one married to Seamus (Michael J Fox) -his accent is probably as crap as Tom's but she took the biscuit when she pronounced 'eastwood' as if it rhymed with 'playstwood'. How annoying:mad:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭DEEP THROAT

Mick Lally, and all the kids in Alexander.

Never knew Macedonians 3000 years ago spoke in a bad stage irish accent:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

the two "irish" lads in the boondock saints.....some movie and #2 on the way!
    tis a good movie alright. They been on about #2 for ages now but didnt see anything about it been made. Must check up on it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Brad Pitt - Snatch

But it wasn't Irish....it wasn't English.....it was just....pikey.

Sean Maguire in Eastenders. It might not be a movie but I still have nightmares. Best thing ever was when he Danny Kendalled off the roof. I haven't watched that show since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Worst - Tom Cruise in 'Far and Away'
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0104231/quotes
    Joseph Donnelly: Tell me! Tell me ya like my hat!
    Shannon Christie: You're not wearing a hat.
    Joseph Donnelly: [yelling] Say it! Say you like my hat!
    Shannon Christie: You're not wearing a hat!

Worst ever.

Also, if we are talking about TV shows, 2nd series of Heroes, everyone who was meant to be Irish and from Cork :rolleyes:
    [after opening the container] Wheres me iPods?!

Was watching 'inside I'm dancing' last night and I thought James McAvoy's Irish accent was flawless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Myth wrote: »
    Was watching 'inside I'm dancing' last night and I thought James McAvoy's Irish accent was flawless.
    Thought the very same myself. The blond who played the helper was English, not that you would have known, her accent was equally flawless. I thought it was a decent enough film actually.

Aidric wrote: »
    Thought the very same myself. The blond who played the helper was English, not that you would have known, her accent was equally flawless. I thought it was a decent enough film actually.

love that film , love how unsentimental it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MonicaBing

Aye begorrah and to be sure the worst Irish Brogue falls on Tommy Lee Jones in Blown Away but runners up have to be, Mickey Rourke in A Prayer for the Dying, Sean Connery In The UnTouchables, Val Kilmer in The Ghost and the Darkness and Julia Roberts In Mary Reilly..

Going off thread a little, how bad was Don Cheadle's Cockney accent in Ocean's , all of em? Sean Connery again for his bad Russian in The Hunt for Red October? Dick Van Dyke's, Cockney again, in Mary Poppins??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Best

Brad Pitt - Snatch

But was it even supposed to be Irish?
    Especially as one of the lines in the film was:
    The Language, its not English, its not Irish, its just.....Pikie.

Hey, maybe I'm wrong but I don't remember any reference in the film to that charecter supposed to be Irish
    Holsten wrote: »
    Daniel Day Lewis' Nordie accent was spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭dougal

mikemac wrote: »
    But was it even supposed to be Irish?
    Especially as one of the lines in the film was:
    The Language, its not English, its not Irish, its just.....Pikie.

Hey, maybe I'm wrong but I don't remember any reference in the film to that charecter supposed to be Irish

True so I think Brad Pitt deserves his best Irish accent for "Devils Own".

Excellent nordie accent for a Yank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 carlrac

Clearly has to be Natascha McElhone in 'Ronin'