Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Elections in Kerry 2009

• 19-01-2009 3:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭

Lets have a thread dedicated to the Local Elections due to be held on June 5th 2009.

What candidates have declared their intention to run and for what parties?
    Will their be much movement in the chambers in the towns as regards party numbers I wonder.

All opinions welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭dh0661

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Will their be much movement in the chambers in the towns as regards party numbers I wonder.
    Great idea - I'd say that FF are going to get a hammering in this election, but probably not seeing that it's only the locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

dh0661 wrote: »
    Great idea - I'd say that FF are going to get a hammering in this election, but probably not seeing that it's only the locals.

Literally when they knock on my door. I've just bought one in the sales and am eager to try it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Terry O'Brien will be running for Labour again. He did well in the last locals and had a good stab at the National elections but the M&S issue cost him a lot of votes. Still polled very well for a first timer (although he is sticking to local politics from now on).

BTW, he is a good friend of mine before anyone asks.

careca wrote: »
    Terry O'Brien will be running for Labour again. He did well in the last locals and had a good stab at the National elections but the M&S issue cost him a lot of votes. Still polled very well for a first timer (although he is sticking to local politics from now on).

BTW, he is a good friend of mine before anyone asks.

The M&S issue will cost a lot of votes for all of those who were arrogant enough to think that they could get away with messing M&S around, and deservedly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

They all spout much the same sweet chat when it comes to election time,then you hear f**k all the rest of the year.:rolleyes:

In my opinion the whole political set up in this country is archaic and out of date.

Too many snouts in the same trough.

Just saying on another forum that now is the time for a new party to be formed. As one fellow said, if some business men, doctors, lawyers, etc got together and had honestly and integrity as their mantra, they could sweep the boards at upcoming elections.

So there ye go lads, get it started, don't just give out about it :D

Just saying on another forum that now is the time for a new party to be formed. As one fellow said, if some business men, doctors, lawyers, etc got together and had honestly and integrity as their mantra, they could sweep the boards at upcoming elections.

I think all of the parties probably started out "honest and true" and had a plan for the benefit of the country, but over the years they've all been digging themselves into a big hole.

As people here don't seem to like "change", the same old useless politicians get voted in time after time, or their sons, daughters or grandchildren. Thinking of 1 FF and 1 FG TD in this neck of the woods, I don't have a clue what they do to earn their crust apart from standing on a lorry trailer on St Patrick's Day to wave to their subjects.

What would we do for a good moan if they ever got anything right?

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I think all of the parties probably started out "honest and true" and had a plan for the benefit of the country, but over the years they've all been digging themselves into a big hole.

As people here don't seem to like "change", the same old useless politicians get voted in time after time, or their sons, daughters or grandchildren. Thinking of 1 FF and 1 FG TD in this neck of the woods, I don't have a clue what they do to earn their crust apart from standing on a lorry trailer on St Patrick's Day to wave to their subjects.

What would we do for a good moan if they ever got anything right?

Very true. Like there will always be a FF seat in North Kerry, regardless of how bad the candidate. Saying that, the current holder of that seat is supposed to be great on the ground in his own area. All politics is local and all that crap.

That's probably why I haven't clapped eyes on him since he first got the seat, in the same way that the FG guy has been abducted by aliens and won't make an appearance until they wheel him out on 17th March. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

That's probably why I haven't clapped eyes on him since he first got the seat, in the same way that the FG guy has been abducted by aliens and won't make an appearance until they wheel him out on 17th March. :rolleyes:
    Point proven...if they did the job for a regular wage would they be as quick to jump on the bandwagon.
    I doubt it.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Oliverdog

What you're describing there is exactly what constituted the typical British and Irish local council 50 years ago - successful local pillars of the community who had a conscientious need to give something back.
    But that was then, and this is now. :(

Oliverdog wrote: »
    What you're describing there is exactly what constituted the typical British and Irish local council 50 years ago - successful local pillars of the community who had a conscientious need to give something back.
    But that was then, and this is now. :(

Yes, when some of them didn't even bother claiming expenses. Now, getting the expenses sorted is the first item on the agenda. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Will all the below get re-elected or is there any fresh blood running?

http://www.kerrycoco.ie/Councillors/getcllrvb3.asp?idmap=2

I hear alot of good things said about Anne McEllistrim despite the party.

Just checked the current state of play
    11 FF
    8 FG
    3 Independents
    2 Lab
    2 SF
    1 South Kerry Independent Alliance

If the candidates are there FG should be able to come away with most seats in 2009. Labour should be able to double from 2 to 4. Sinn Fein will hold own and maybe increase one. I can see the Independents and FF being the biggest losers.

Prediction 2009
    10 FG
    8 FF
    4 Lab
    3 SF
    2 Independents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I can't seem to locate the names of the declared candidates for FF or FG in Kerry yet ... Would anyone have a link to them? , well that is, if their are any declared to date

from www.radiokerry.ie/news

" 26 Jan 2009
    Kerry Fianna Fáil hopefuls to be interviewed

Interviews are taking place this week to finalise the candidates who'll run for Fianna Fail in this summer's local elections. Candidates hoping to run in the Listowel and Tralee electoral areas, as well as Listowel Town Council, will be interviewed by a panel from the Fianna Fail national executive over the next two days. These interviews will be held in Tralee, while interviews for candidates hoping to run in the Killarney Electoral Area, will be held in Limerick on Thursday. A number of candidates have already been selected, including Breandan Fitzgerald and sitting council Michael O'Shea, who were chosen on Friday night as candidates for the Dingle Electoral Area. A Fianna Fail spokesman told Radio Kerry News that the full team of councilors would be in place by the end of this week. This is the first time that Fianna Fail has opted to hold interviews to select local election candidates. "

Think the interviews are an interesting tactic to use by Fianna Fail this time round

A polygraph would be ideal - so that members of the public can ask them pertinent questions.

from www.radiokerry.ie/news

" 26 Jan 2009
    Kerry Fianna Fáil hopefuls to be interviewed

Interviews are taking place this week to finalise the candidates who'll run for Fianna Fail in this summer's local elections. Candidates hoping to run in the Listowel and Tralee electoral areas, as well as Listowel Town Council, will be interviewed by a panel from the Fianna Fail national executive over the next two days. These interviews will be held in Tralee, while interviews for candidates hoping to run in the Killarney Electoral Area, will be held in Limerick on Thursday. A number of candidates have already been selected, including Breandan Fitzgerald and sitting council Michael O'Shea, who were chosen on Friday night as candidates for the Dingle Electoral Area. A Fianna Fail spokesman told Radio Kerry News that the full team of councilors would be in place by the end of this week. This is the first time that Fianna Fail has opted to hold interviews to select local election candidates. "

Think the interviews are an interesting tactic to use by Fianna Fail this time round

Nice little mileage allowance for those heading to Limerick then! The local hairdressers, hotels and restaurants in for a little windfall:D

Tomthepost wrote: »
    Nice little mileage allowance for those heading to Limerick then! The local hairdressers, hotels and restaurants in for a little windfall:D

Isn't it about 800 miles from Tralee to Limerick as the prospective FF candidates fly?

On mature reflection they will probably fly by individual private jets from Farranfore to Shannon.
    In this way they can have hair done and make-up applied whilst in flight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Kerrylad

Tomthepost wrote: »
    Just checked the current state of play
    11 FF
    8 FG
    3 Independents
    2 Lab
    2 SF
    1 South Kerry Independent Alliance

If the candidates are there FG should be able to come away with most seats in 2009. Labour should be able to double from 2 to 4. Sinn Fein will hold own and maybe increase one. I can see the Independents and FF being the biggest losers.

Prediction 2009
    10 FG
    8 FF
    4 Lab
    3 SF
    2 Independents

hey, i'm a new member and saw the theard and was interested in this.......what i think for 2009 election is that Fine gael will be big big winners while FF will be the worst hit(as expected)labour just to hold there two and same with SF. SKIA should be fine and as for independents i can one of the Healy raes to lose out

Prediction 2009
    11 FG
    9 FF
    2 Lab
    2 SF
    2 Ind
    1 SKIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭ciaeim

hi all
    was reading sunday paper and the highest earner of our 164 tds is j healy rae ,287,000 per annum not bad for 78 year old, says lot about irish politics paying him 57k more than party leaders . not far behind barrack obama. no woder we are in a recession :confused:

Kerrylad wrote: »
    hey, i can see one of the Healy raes to lose out

Not that I am in there area, but I hope that it's not only one.

ciaeim wrote: »
    hi all
    was reading sunday paper and the highest earner of our 164 tds is j healy rae ,287,000 per annum not bad for 78 year old, says lot about irish politics paying him 57k more than party leaders . not far behind barrack obama. no woder we are in a recession :confused:

His voters must think that he's the Messiah, God help us all.:eek:

Not that I am in there area, but I hope that it's not only one.
    just heard that niall 'botty' o callaghan is running for the county council election in killarney area......honestly i cant see him doing good but he should damage the healy rae campaign heavily........that should be fun!!!!!!!!!!

Oh crikey kerrylad, I do hope your not serious :rolleyes: He is probably going to try and hold the FF seat that Colin Miller currently holds seen as he won't be contesting in the next elections, but seriously 'Botty' on the County Council :eek:

Does anyone have a list of the candidates by any chance?

Oh crikey kerrylad, I do hope your not serious :rolleyes: He is probably going to try and hold the FF seat that Colin Miller currently holds seen as he won't be contesting in the next elections, but seriously 'Botty' on the County Council :eek:

Does anyone have a list of the candidates by any chance?

from what i heard he is going as an Independent......god help us if he is elected but seriously, who would vote for him.........candidates for where, Killarney???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭rash

patrick o'donoghues brother (john) is running in place of him on killarney town council.
    presume the following will also stand in killarney
    mick gleeson -
    cathal walsh - fg
    sheila casey - fg
    brian o'leary - ff
    doherty -ff
    donal grady - ind
    sean grady - lab
    botty callaghan
    1x sein fein

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

ciaeim wrote: »
    hi all

The greed is there to be seen. I dislike the current policies that are in government and most oppositions. If I hear one of the candidates mentioning something good for my area then I might reconsider!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭FRANKENFURTER

a friend of mine who drinks in jades bar tells me that sean browne hasnt ruled out putting his name in the hat for town council elections...he has left sinn fein over two years ago but seems to think he still has a chance ..this would not be good for the sinn fein candidate..he got a good return of223 frist preference votes last time.and stands a better chance of transferes without the sinn fein tag..what do you think...also there is going to be a green candidate ..and at least three indos......:pac:sean counihan should regain seat .....at whos expence......and fine gale ran three the last tiome will they do so again....which ffer is going to lose out ???????what is the main issue facing the candidates in killarney .....:confused:

sean browne would defo do damage to sinn fein, seriously weakening their chances of a seat, if any!! fine gael are running two candiadates, cllr shelia casey and well know ex garda cathel walsh...i can see both being elected with cathel being much stronger....i think FF will lose two of the three that they have, with tom dorherty and john o donoughue losing(patricks brother) with o'leary flying the FF flag alone.....the rest i can see staying the same with sean counihan returing to the chamber.....:):)

does any one have any predictions for the killarney electoral area...:confused::confused:. will it be the same return with 2FF 2FG 1IND 1SKIA 1IND/FF.....is their any real threat out there for a seat....is any of the current cllrs under pressure!!

:confused: I think you already answered that question in your previous reply to FRANKENFURTER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭dmeehan

rash wrote: »
    patrick o'donoghues brother (john) is running
    its not John his brother that is running, its junior

he was in the snug in scotts over the weekend talking up his campaign

:confused: I think you already answered that question in your previous reply to FRANKENFURTER

sorry, i meant the county council elections:):)??

dmeehan wrote: »
    its not John his brother that is running, its junior

he was in the snug in scotts over the weekend talking up his campaign

who is junior??? it said in paper it was john his brother:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭dmeehan

who is junior??? it said in paper it was john his brother:confused:
    his son - not sure whether he's is going for Killarney Town or Kerry County council, I think its Killarney Town Council

dmeehan wrote: »
    his son - not sure whether he's is going for Killarney Town or Kerry County council, I think its Killarney Town Council

patrick o donoghue's son is about 10yrs old........are you sure it's not his brother john

John odonoghue is a younger brother of patrick.he should hold onto the seat that was held for years by his dad maurice who sadly for the family and killarney in general died .the seat was taken by patrick who is now caught up in an ethics trial he has pleaded guilty so now has to give up his seat.it is a town council seat ;););) i have a feeling he will hold his seat at the expence of brian o leary ...not a good time for auctioneers to be knocking on doors i would say....here goes my prediction for what its worth
    1.d ogrady
    2.s ogrady
    3.m glesson
    4.botty
    5.s casey
    6.t dotherty
    7.j odonoghue
    8.s counihan
    9.c walsh/b oleary/indo...would fancy browne if he runs his bar is poupuler with young guys from town and if he can mobilise them he has a good chance.......heres where you heard it first folks......get a price and back

If this Sean Browne guy is serious about running and getting elected, then someone should tell him he would want to be getting his name out there asap. I have had just about every known candidate thus far knock on my door. You know, being honest, I don't even know what Sean Browne actually looks like.

FAIRPOINT not sure if its even through but my buddy seems pretty sure .......how many do you know too look at you only ever see them evry 4 yrs hahahahah..what you prediction

John odonoghue is a younger brother of patrick.he should hold onto the seat that was held for years by his dad maurice who sadly for the family and killarney in general died .the seat was taken by patrick who is now caught up in an ethics trial he has pleaded guilty so now has to give up his seat.it is a town council seat ;););) i have a feeling he will hold his seat at the expence of brian o leary ...not a good time for auctioneers to be knocking on doors i would say....here goes my prediction for what its worth
    1.d ogrady
    2.s ogrady
    3.m glesson
    4.botty
    5.s casey
    6.t dotherty
    7.j odonoghue
    8.s counihan
    9.c walsh/b oleary/indo...would fancy browne if he runs his bar is poupuler with young guys from town and if he can mobilise them he has a good chance.......heres where you heard it first folks......get a price and back

i'd have to change a couple of those to be honest...
    1.m glesson
    2.d grady
    3.s o grady
    4.c walsh
    5.b o leary
    6.botty
    7.s casey
    8.s counihan
    9.m courtney/j o donoughue???
    :pac::pac:

i understood that m courtney wasnt running:p

fair enough. when was that announced??

I expect the FF candidates will be borrowing the bullet-proof Pope-mobile when they pluck up enough courage to go electioneering. :eek:

I think m courtney is running, my father seems to think so too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Oliverdog

Yes, when some of them didn't even bother claiming expenses. Now, getting the expenses sorted is the first item on the agenda. :(

I think you may be right. This, from today's piece by Simon Heffer in the Daily Telegraph, about Jacqui Smith' expenses, says it all . . .

It is now a national sport to disparage those who govern us, and I own up to my own participation in it. It has to stop. But it won't stop until the present House of Commons takes the lead and abolishes the system that creates these parasites, to encourage more people of genuine talent, and with an ethic of public service, to enter politics. Until then, being an MP will remain a meal ticket, sometimes for a whole family, that serves no one except the tribune of the people who is, until found out, being spared the dole queue.

Courtney had an ad in fridays advertiser looking for support so he is running.
    very few candidates seem to have websites, can only see sites for Brendan Cronin & Donal Grady. Others only have profile pages on party sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 countesshouse

Getting fed up at this stage reading leaflets that are popped in the letterbox.Some of the candidates do not even bother ringing the door bell.Had one that did but all i heard was "running in June,appreciate your vote".
    The conversation was zero and in my mind this candidate will not be getting my vote!!What we need in the Kerry Region is someone that is able to speak up for the County. with unemployment after rising considerably (the building trade,tourist trade and every trade that this county relies on to survive) i have not heard one candidate address any of these issues.No wonder they wouldn't when a few weeks ago our Minister for Tourism decided to fly by helicopter for a quick meeting into our lovely quiet County.At least Kerry hit the National and local news for a day or two,and i would say that is all the publicity we are going to get for a long while yet.
    Lets vote for someone that will speak up on issues affecting our County.:mad:

rash wrote: »
    Courtney had an ad in fridays advertiser looking for support so he is running.
    very few candidates seem to have websites, can only see sites for Brendan Cronin & Donal Grady. Others only have profile pages on party sites.

have seen in the paper last week(think it was kerryman) that Brendan Cronin has announced that his son, kevin is his campaign manager(director of election) for his campaign......that should be interesting to see how that goes:):) think he is only 19 or some thing!!!