Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you ever consider changing your speaking voice?

• 15-01-2009 12:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

Over the festive period there were cameras, camcorders and microphones shoved into Pigheads face on numerous occassions without formal permission having been seeked or granted.

"Fcuk off Mammy" Pighead would protest but each time he was shot down with those annoying words "Ah c'mon son, it's Christmas" Apparently anythings fair game at Christmas. Which is a stupid rule in fairness, although it does allow Pighead to wear ladies clothes at the dinner table without guilt.

Anyway we watched back the recordings Mammy had recorded on her visual recorder and when Pighead looked at the camcorder at himself shouting "Fcuk off Mammy" it sounded wrong. It didn't sound like James Bond crossed with Gabriel Byrne. Not even close. It was far closer to a cross between Screech and Shirley Temple Bar trying to impersonate Steve Staunton. A lovely lovely face with a horrible horrible voice.

Suddenly perfection was no more. Pigheads seriously considering becoming a mute. Or maybe getting one of those Stephen Hawking voice boxes in. One things for sure, this speaking voice has to go.

Do you hate your speaking voice? Who would you like to sound like? If male, have you ever worn a dress?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Yes. Joe Pasquale. No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Nah, I love my voice, I wish I had a little more tonal range but that comes with practice.

Can't say I've dressed up as a women either...

/runs to try on a thong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Inside I sound like an Alsatian, outside I sound like a Chihuahua

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Yea, I think Id rather sound a bit more girly. Sometimes the sound of my own voice annoys me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Puddleduck wrote: »
    Yea, I think Id rather sound a bit more girly. Sometimes the sound of my own voice annoys me
    Do you have a manly butch voice? Pighead likes that. It means you're authoritative. Good trait for a lady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Always wished my voice was little less deep actually.

Yes.
    In order of preferance. I'd like to sound feminine eastern european meets culchie (I'd like to have a Hhheuh), bible belt american or Jamacian. Really.
    Doesn't apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

i used to present a weelky volunteer radio show and while i do LOVE doing the radio stuff i HATE my voice. i really really hate it. it sounds great in my head but when i listen back to recordings of it i want to throw up a bit!! i have a squeeky girly voice...bleugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

You dont want to hear my inside voices...

but im a white barry white on helium.

giddybootz wrote: »

i used to present a weelky volunteer radio show and while i do LOVE doing the radio stuff i HATE my voice. i really really hate it. it sounds great in my head but when i listen back to recordings of it i want to throw up a bit!! i have a squeeky girly voice...bleugh
    Why on earth would somebody who hates their voice put themselves through the torment of hosting a radio show? That's like a man with short stubby smelly scabby fingers entering a lovely digits competition. Play to your strengths giddybootz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Agree with everything you said there Pighead (everything!). I don't like my voice much, its too high. I'm thinking of taking up smoking or gargling with whiskey every night before bed or something. Anyone got any tips on how to make my voice deeper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Bijoux

Agree with everything you said there Pighead (everything!). I don't like my voice much, its too high. I'm thinking of taking up smoking or gargling with whiskey every night before bed or something. Anyone got any tips on how to make my voice deeper?
    Ha, and i assumed you had a deep voice! I want a more airy voice...or id like to sound french or russian...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Bijoux wrote: »
    Ha, and i assumed you had a deep voice! I want a more airy voice...or id like to sound french or russian...

Well its been mentioned once or twice lately that its not very deep, but then I have a telephone voice and a normal voice, and it was the former that was being used, so who knows... I'd still like it deeper though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭giddybootz

Pighead wrote: »
    Why on earth would somebody who hates their voice put themselves through the torment of hosting a radio show? That's like a man with short stubby smelly scabby fingers entering a lovely digits competition. Play to your strengths giddybootz!

ha ha fair question...but other people tell me i sound really good on air but I HATE IT!! the solution.....i try to never listen to anything i have done!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,454 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I have an extremely deep bogger culchie accent. I absolutely HATE it. Like yourself pighead it all sounds good in my head but when i hear it play back to me at all it sounds totally different.

Do you have a manly butch voice? Pighead likes that. It means you're authoritative. Good trait for a lady.

Yes, I sound like an even butcher version of chuck norris.
    I think Ill just start whispering a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I want a barry white voice. Although a samuel l jackson voice would be fun so I could go around shouting at people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

nobody is butcher than chuck norris. Take it back

Or you could just cut yourself off from the outside world and live the rest of your live expressing your opinions through boards.

If you start whispering all the time people will think you are talking about them and they will punch your throat. Which ironically, could actually fix your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Did anyone catch Jonathan Rhys Meyers being interviewed by Sky at the Golden Globes WTF ....very strange pseudo accent ...came accross as an ass!

Or you could just cut yourself off from the outside world and live the rest of your live expressing your opinions through boards.

If you start whispering all the time people will think you are talking about them and they will punch your throat. Which ironically, could actually fix your problem.

But I already do that..

Or they will think Im one of those artsy trend setting folk and think Im so cool they want to be me.

I could be butcher....maybe ...maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I have an extremely deep bogger culchie accent. I absolutely HATE it. Like yourself pighead it all sounds good in my head but when i hear it play back to me at all it sounds totally different.
    I love my bogger accent. Especially when I'm drunk it just seems to suit the mood much better than my well spoken accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Yeah, I have heard my voice on play back and it is not a pretty sight! Why didn't anyone tell me I sounded like that?
    If male, have you ever worn a dress?

No, but if I did I'd consider changing my voice. In for a penny, in for a pound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

There's another Irish guy in my office and the day he started I went over to meet him and say hello. I noticed he had a strange accent, with a bit of a hint of American thrown in.

Not two minutes talking to him and strangely his put on accent disappeared when I asked where he lived before arriving in Germany. Oh and he's one of those gimps that wears a scarf in doors and tells you he's from a postal code instead of area / neighbourhood.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Yeah, I have heard my voice on play back and it is not a pretty sight! Why didn't anyone tell me I sounded like that?

"Sight"? :D
    No, but if I did I'd consider changing my voice. In for a penny, in for a pound.

In for a pound? You'll be in for a pounding if I see you in a dress. You got a purdy mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

goddamn limerick city accent...had a nice culchie voice before I moved to the big city :d
    Now I sound like a complete scumbag I think (very respectable one though).
    Although I often put on my phone voice and ppl haven't a clue who's talking to them. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

javaboy wrote: »
    "Sight"? :D

That's right.
    javaboy wrote: »
    You'll be in for a pounding if I see you in a dress. You got a purdy mouth.

And that is wrong. Oh so very wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'd like a Dublin skanger accent so that people will think I'm hard.
    I have also worn a dress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

I'll happily kick you in the nuts for free if you want to sound more like Screech....
    Anyway we watched back the recordings Mammy had recorded on her visual recorder and when Pighead looked at the camcorder at himself shouting "Fcuk off Mammy" it sounded wrong. It didn't sound like James Bond crossed with Gabriel Byrne. Not even close. It was far closer to a cross between Screech and Shirley Temple Bar trying to impersonate Steve Staunton. A lovely lovely face with a horrible horrible voice.

Suddenly perfection was no more. Pigheads seriously considering becoming a mute. Or maybe getting one of those Stephen Hawking voice boxes in. One things for sure, this speaking voice has to go.

Do you hate your speaking voice? Who would you like to sound like? If male, have you ever worn a dress?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

(I hope that's not the youtube video posted earlier, as it's blocked here in work) Anyways I was going to say.

"Hello, Kate. It's me, the guy from the bar. No, seriously it is!"

Yeah I sound like a complete and utter skanger. Not really sure how that happens. For example:

Real life me: "hello there!"
    Playback: "alllllllreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeiiiiiiiiiii bud"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

You're a woman though, aren't you ?

KTRIC wrote: »

All will be revealed when those photos surface. :)

EDIT: @Chin grin: No it's not the video. I just posted a review of the Darth Vader voice changer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,494 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I'd like my voice to sound like Jack Black or Corey Taylor's voice, that way i'd have a cool singing voice and could do vocals for a rock band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

KTRIC wrote: »
    Almost.
    I've been taking steroids, so my cock has almost completely disappeared.

This surprises Pighead.
    This doesn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

Bred in Kildare, but my lovely mummy is english. So I have this posh cross breed accent which i hate. So I find myself "dubbing" it up when I'm around my bf's family!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I have a terrible voice, it's like a disgusting mixture of bogger and paedophile thrown in with just plain dullness. And I slur my words. Awful.

It's true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

Islurmywordstoowhenitalktoofast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

me three, I had to slow my voice down and enunciate better. Have to speak clearly for my job. Pain in the ass.

I still slur a lot when I've been drinking but not sure if that's the drink or the slurring :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Tyranax

My voice is crap, as Frada will testify. Nondescript, with an annoying American twang (where that came from baffles me), it's the kind of thing that'd make you want to punch me. Well, the second thing, outside of my big, fat, gingerbearded face.

Tyranax wrote: »
    My voice is crap, as Frada will testify. Nondescript, with an annoying American twang (where that came from baffles me), it's the kind of thing that'd make you want to punch me. Well, the second thing, outside of my big, fat, gingerbearded face.
    Self esteem issues there buddy. The chicks hate that. Pighead is fatter gingerer and smellier than you yet over the years he has created an image of handsomeness, strength, dazzling love making skills and honour which mean his PM Box is overflowing with unladylike offers of filth and sex talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

his PM Box is overflowing with unladylike offers of filth and sex talk.

Oh yeah, sorry about that Pighead. I just get carried away, you know how it is.

No need for apologies Kadence Cuddly Flannel. Yours are the filthiest, and therefore the best. It's Terry's ones that are a bit unnerving.

"Oooh Pighead, I wish you would come over to my place so I could dress you up as a beer bottle and drink you straight from the bottle, no glass"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

My voice is just like Matt Berry in Darkplace. I love it. Sometimes when I talk to myself I get aroused.

I have also worn a dress. Johns' are easier to mug if they think you are a chick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I don't mind mine, sounds way better in my head though.

I'd want to have Patrick Stewarts voice... brilliance.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I hate the sound of my own voice... I was talking to my bf last week on the phone and there was serious echo/feedback from his end and I could hear everything I said reverberated back to me.. I sound like a little girl :o had to hang up, couldn't stand listening to it.. If I could change it I would.. I love when I have a sore throat and I sound all horse.. Makes me feel secksy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I dont like hearing a play back of myself. Im generally well spoken, but Ive picked up some local lingo since I moved to a cesspool in my mid teens. Hated the place.

Hate it more if anyone points it out :-(

/sucks thumb

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I have a range of voices which I employ for many different situations. Generally all soft and well spoken though. Normally I have what has been described as "no accent" apparently.

And then there's the voices in my head, but they're mostly angry ones :(