Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Books for a Penny!

• 14-01-2009 5:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭

http://www.awesomebooks.co.uk/Books4mPenny.aspx

I have ordered a lot of books for college through the above site. They are a second hand book site.I have never ordered the books for a penny before today(because usually there seems to be none) but have just ordered 23 of them. Free delivery for 2 or more books which seemed to still work, despite my order coming to 23p!

With the other books I have ordered, have come within a week. And are always in good collection.

I RECEIVED EMAIL ADVISING ME THAT THERE WERE MIS-PRICES ON SITE, AND SO MY ORDER HAS BEEN CANCELLED. SORRY! IT WAS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

site says 59p P&P for first book, and the rest free, so not 100% free postage, but 23 books for about a € is still great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

site says 59p P&P for first book, and the rest free, so not 100% free postage, but 23 books for about a € is still great

Went through world pay at 23p! Got confirmation email from awesome & worldpay saying same, some good stuff for a penny, Green mile by Stephen King, Giddens sociology

(just trying to order more books for a penny and I can't, maybe system now overloaded with book for a penny hunters:()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Is the site broke?? All the 750,000 gone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭smilgy

i think the site is broken as it wont let me pay for the books, seems to be a good bit of revision books which are good for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭dez_warlock

Yeah the site seems to be having problems. Nothing comes up for any category I click on. Thought it was just FF but having the same problem in IE aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

Surely they can't sustain that shipping would cost them a fortune!

I think they pay a set price for a months of service from the shipping provider so it doesn't really matter to them. I think.

My first order went through fine, but after I posted this, I went back to order more and was unable to complete payment:mad:. Maybe I should have waited and ordered even more books and then posted this thread.
    The site can be a bit groggy sometimes, but I have always been able to complete payment easily enough. Ah well, live and learn!

YAY! I finally got through, ordered 11 books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭positron

Not working for me either...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭magicEye

Very slow for me, waiting good minutes for the page to load...
    I can only get access to one page of books, there are 20 titles listed for 1 penny....

but it is painfully slow...

Just gone completely now, I get "An error has occurred while trying to access this URL.Please try again or contact our customer support." as a message on the screen.

Magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Coolaboy

Not working for me either now at 20.43.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭Lumi

Finally managedto order some books but now I cant pay for them. Keep getting this message:
    Cannot find an available route for the purchase. This may be caused by merchant configuration or remote systems failures. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭josh59

Coolaboy wrote: »
    Not working for me either now at 20.43.

Painfully slow and then having registered got this message :

An error has occurred while trying to access this URL
    Please try again or contact our customer support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

nice link ! 600 views already :) everyone on that site of course heh ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

Is that their standard shipping price?

Website seems to have picked up a bit, managed to place an order but to be honest, it seems too good to be true...couldn't find any reviews about the website...I'm gonna keep an eye on the CC statements anyway..

Magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭gnolan

I'm a bit wary myself...having said that i just bought 44 books!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Zynks

magicEye wrote: »
    Website seems to have picked up a bit, managed to place an order but to be honest, it seems too good to be true...couldn't find any reviews about the website...I'm gonna keep an eye on the CC statements anyway..

Magic

Singapore company, server in India and UK url: http://www.who.is/whois-uk/ip-address/awesomebooks.co.uk/
    If they are shipping from Asia, they are pulling some amazing tricks to cover cost of postage

Site actually doesn't work at all for me. Can't browse categories, can only see the first page as linked above (next last etc links bring the same page). I can add things to my cart, but only from the first page. Haven't tried to buy anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

It says that to get free shipping you have to buy 2 or more books, but then it has a * above that. I cant find the text that this * represents. Does anyone know the fine print here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

has to be a scam. scared about giving details. Can you pay by paypal:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭CyberWaste

Wow, this site is buggy, but still got a few books in, not sure though about it.... to be sure im going to use an old 3v card with only like a euro left on it, so if its a scam at least its not that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 orient express

Sounds great, thanks for spreading the word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Seems great apart from that * thingy hanging over the free shipping bit!!

I think the * means that the postage is free worldwide, meaning UK, Europe, and North America, but 1.49 elsewhere.

http://www.awesomebooks.co.uk/shippinginformation.aspx

Site is certainly not a scam, since i started college in Sept, I have ordered loads of books (usually around 1.99) and all have been successfully delivered. One had been bought on another site(prob abebooks) before I put in an order and I was refunded(twice!) for that.

Now admittedly I have not ordered any of the 1p offers, but lets hope! Site is 100% genuine and have good customer service.

How much are they usually? Say a modern best seller paperback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭nava

Any of the cathergories I click I see no books listed, anyone with same problem.

Also I don't think is a scam as it looks like the payment is done by a 3rd party company "worldpay" so credit card info should be secure.

If you want a modern bestseller paperback, I don't know if this is the site for you! I have only bought text books from them, usually older editions of books that would cost up to 50euro new. I haven't paid any more than 1.99 for a wide range of sociology,psychology, social care books. Just put a search in for a title you are looking for and see what price it is! Sorry I cant help you more

lindtee wrote: »
    If you want a modern bestseller paperback, I don't know if this is the site for you! I have only bought text books from them, usually older editions of books that would cost up to 50euro new. I haven't paid any more than 1.99 for a wide range of sociology,psychology, social care books. Just put a search in for a title you are looking for and see what price it is! Sorry I cant help you more
    Im trying to search for Green mile by stephen king since you said you got it but the site never loads anything just a blank space in middle of the page. Fair annoying !

nava wrote: »
    Any of the cathergories I click I see no books listed, anyone with same problem.

Also I don't think is a scam as it looks like the payment is done by a 3rd party company "worldpay" so credit card info should be secure.

Actually, the site itself is often groggy and a bit crap to be honest, I'd say its doesn't cope well with lots of hits. But as I mentioned previously, it is genuine, customer care is good, books arrive as described within a week usually. Its worth ordering if you can put up with the stress of browsing and searching through the site. I've often felt like fecking the laptop out the window viewing the site, but I have not found anywhere as cheap or as reliable to order my books!

How do you pay on this website, like other sites??

CyberWaste wrote: »
    How do you pay on this website, like other sites??

Not sure what you mean? You go to basket and proceed from there, I managed to put another order in 30 mins ago, but I tried another one yet again and am getting the-

Cannot find an available route for the purchase. This may be caused by merchant configuration or remote system failure
    I would have liked to get all the books in one go, but after a while the site goes too bonky!

(Edit-00.35 I give up The site is too annoying at this hour of the nightI have ordered 34 books already in total so that will have to be enough if the whole thing goes through)

Not sure what you mean? You go to basket and proceed from there, I managed to put another order in 30 mins ago, but I tried another one yet again and am getting the-

Cannot find an available route for the purchase. This may be caused by merchant configuration or remote system failure
    I would have liked to get all the books in one go, but after a while the site goes too bonky!

(Edit-00.35 I give up The site is too annoying at this hour of the nightI have ordered 34 books already in total so that will have to be enough if the whole thing goes through)
    Ah no its grand, I thought when you click confirm that was it like most other sites, where you enter your creddit card details first. Ordered 21 books, cheers lindtee!

Just wondering now will they all come separate or in one big box, with customs and all?

We'll have to wait and see! I really hope that they do deliver now. Although if it is true they pay a flat monthly fee for shipping perhaps they just do this to get rid of loads of books from their warehouse at no extra cost to themselves(I'm still on the site trying to order more books...not going well-but I am addicted to trying to get more books at this stage, I won't sleep til I get 10 more)

Thanks again OP. Ordered a total of 110 books for 1.10 GBP, something immoral and surreal about that. What ye guys think the chances are of getting any of these??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭madmik

its impossible to sell books for a penny each with free shipping

maybe they need to reduce the storage costs by getting rid of them or something but theres no way u can sell books like this,rent webspace,pay worldpay for handling transactions,store the stock,then ship them not to mention copyright owners who own the content of the books and staff wages to run the whole show,and then offer free shipping just takes the piss completely

be careful they credit cards details are really entered on the worldpay page and not some fraud site

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
    Just email telling me there was a pricing error and my order has been cancelled. Sorry about this guys, Grrrrrrrrrrr.

If its too good to be true then it probably is. I'm so cross!
    (and embarrassed I wasted everyones time, sorry again:o:o:o)

part of email sent to me-

Unfortunately, there was a pricing error on the site and as such, we have had to cancel the above books from your order. Please accept our apologies for the obvious inconvenience, we never wish to waste our customers time or cause them any distress.

The refund should be confirmed in full very shortly by Worldpay - our credit card processor.

Warmest Regards,

Eliza

Customer Satisfaction

AwesomeBooks
    elizabeth@awesomebooks.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
    Just email telling me there was a pricing error and my order has been cancelled. Sorry about this guys, Grrrrrrrrrrr.

If its too good to be true then it probably is. I'm so cross!
    (and embarrassed I wasted everyones time, sorry again:o:o:o)

part of email sent to me-

etc

boo urns, i just put an order in, i opened the link to the site earlier and it sat in my tabs until i picked a bunch of books a few mins ago. but the completed the process and sent me a confirmation email.

how long did the cancellation email take to come in?

Put my first order in about 5,30 and got the email about 1.00am, then for the next order I got the email a couple of hours later. The good news is that I seem to be getting the one 1p book,:rolleyes::rolleyes: ("The good study guide" which is what I should have been doing last night)I put in with an order earlier yesterday. books for college-came to about 8 stg for 5 books(including the one for a penny)

Will prob use them again, despite the time wasted ordering loads of books for a penny. They still work out cheaper than most second hand sites-as postage is free with 2 books or more, and I pay 1.89-1.99 per book ordered. If anyone is genuinely for second hand books for college or whatever order them and throw in 1 or 2 books for a penny with them.

The 1p section is still up, so I don't know what the story is now, because they were quick on the ball to cancel the order.

Again Sorry for wasting everyones time last night:(

Morning,

My order was cancelled too, same text: Unfortunately, there was a pricing error on the site and as such, we have had to cancel the above books from your order. Please accept our apologies for the obvious inconvenience, we never wish to waste our customers time or cause them any distress.

Too bad for the couple of hours wasted last night going through the 1p section!!!

Magic

Have the same emails in my inbox, strangely though the website says my order is now being packed. Unfortunately, i'm sure that will right itself.

Does anyone know the ins and outs with respect to the legality of advertising a product and then withdrawing it after purchase??

gnolan wrote: »
    Have the same emails in my inbox, strangely though the website says my order is now being packed. Unfortunately, i'm sure that will right itself.

Does anyone know the ins and outs with respect to the legality of advertising a product and then withdrawing it after purchase??

From bitter past experiences(mostly with cdwow but a few other companies too), websites are well within their rights to cancel orders if there has been a misprice error. Usually written into the terms and conditions, but maybe just maybe you might get the books if they are packing!(wishful thinking). Really, I should have known this offer was a mistake and not posted the bargain alert, especially since the whole process of ordering was painfully slow. But it was worth a punt:o

Edit-Strangely enough the order number on the email cancelling my order is different to the order number that appears in my details on the site and says packing.........

If it was a pricing error, like they say, why do they still have the books for a penny available to purchase; tis pretty annoying

They are not very good at maintaining their website I imagine. Maybe they are so silly at managing it that we'll get the books anyways plus the refund:confused: Can't find terms and conditions on the website to check them.

Maybe. Anyone else got there orders being packed at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭fifib

but if its a pricing error why does it says on site " Click here for books from only a penny" :confused: :rolleyes:

I get the same message, order being packed for shipping although the email that I got in the morning about the cancellation of my order was from a person, not an automated response...so I assume it's just the system that's following the usual steps with an order and they won't honour the orders for the 1p books.

I flicked through the terms and conditions last night before placing the order, they come up just before the payment step, there was no mention of the 1p books or any conditions associated with this offer, they only included returns and stuff like that.

Magic